Mozart: Serenades

The Mozarteumorchester Salzburg looks back on a history of more than 180 years. It was founded in 1841 with the involvement of Constanze Mozart. Today it enjoys a worldwide reputation for its lively and purposeful Mozart interpretations. Its permanent guest conductors include Constantinos Carydis, Andrew Manze, and the Spanish conductor and violinist Roberto González-Monjas. They all contribute to the orchestra’s ability to constantly regroup and align itself for the repertoire at hand. Of course, the constant preoccupation with the classical period is part of the formative element, but in the meantime the orchestra is also appreciated for interpretations of the music of the 19th/20th and 21st centuries. Together with the Berlin Classics label, the Mozarteumorchester Salzburg will embark on an exciting journey starting in August 2023. With six album releases planned through 2025, the orchestra will be able to show its full range and passion for playing.

The very first release is already a highlight and shows how close the orchestra’s connection is to its hometown of Salzburg. August 11 marks the release of the first album in the series, featuring Serenades No. 6 and No. 4 by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, conducted by Roberto González-Monjas. Serenades, or open-air summer night musics, have been popular in Salzburg since the early 18th century. It was great fun and pure entertainment for everyone involved. Mozart wrote his first serenade at the age of 13 and immediately made himself an indispensable part of Salzburg’s summer activities.

The recording does not begin with summer music, however, but with Serenade No. 6, which most likely accompanied the autumn carnival celebrations in the prince-archbishop’s residence palace. Even though it is light music, it is by no means easy to play. Mozart has two string ensembles compete against each other and involves them in a musical dialogue. At the time, the first string ensemble consisted of professionals, the other of amateur musicians. Already here the whole genius of Mozart is expressed and is realized in the same way by the Mozarteumorchester.

Mozart wrote Serenade No. 4 for the summer graduation ceremony of the Benedictine University. It is the so-called final music. At that time, the orchestra had to march while playing from the Bishop’s Palace across the city bridge to the University Square. Mozart let his ingenious wit and charm flow into the music here as well.

The Mozarteumorchester Salzburg and conductor Roberto González-Monjas let all the joy of playing and reverence for Mozart’s music flow into the recording here. In both works, the conductor also reaches for the leading violin and lets other orchestra members shine as soloists with Sophia Herbig on violin, Milan Radić on viola, Brita Burgschwendtner on double bass and Michael Mitterlehner-Romm on timpani.

With this album series, the Mozarteumorchester Salzburg, through inspired interpretations, demonstrates stylistic excellence in the diversity of the classical repertoire, while remaining true to its principle of maintaining a deep connection between the music and the city of Salzburg. The world may be its guest.

Mozart: Serenades Mozarteumorchester Salzburg & Roberto González-Monjas

Artist

Mozarteumorchester Salzburg
Roberto González-Monjas

Composer

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Further information

Genre

Klassik
Sinfonische Musik / Orchestermusik

Publication date

11.08.2023



Mozart: Serenades



The Mozarteumorchester Salzburg looks back on a history of more than 180 years. It was founded in 1841 with the involvement of Constanze Mozart. Today it enjoys a worldwide reputation for its lively and purposeful Mozart interpretations. Its permanent guest conductors include Constantinos Carydis, Andrew Manze, and the Spanish conductor and violinist Roberto González-Monjas. They all contribute to the orchestra's ability to constantly regroup and align itself for the repertoire at hand. Of course, the constant preoccupation with the classical period is part of the formative element, but in the meantime the orchestra is also appreciated for interpretations of the music of the 19th/20th and 21st centuries. Together with the Berlin Classics label, the Mozarteumorchester Salzburg will embark on an exciting journey starting in August 2023. With six album releases planned through 2025, the orchestra will be able to show its full range and passion for playing.



The very first release is already a highlight and shows how close the orchestra's connection is to its hometown of Salzburg. August 11 marks the release of the first album in the series, featuring Serenades No. 6 and No. 4 by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, conducted by Roberto González-Monjas. Serenades, or open-air summer night musics, have been popular in Salzburg since the early 18th century. It was great fun and pure entertainment for everyone involved. Mozart wrote his first serenade at the age of 13 and immediately made himself an indispensable part of Salzburg's summer activities.



The recording does not begin with summer music, however, but with Serenade No. 6, which most likely accompanied the autumn carnival celebrations in the prince-archbishop's residence palace. Even though it is light music, it is by no means easy to play. Mozart has two string ensembles compete against each other and involves them in a musical dialogue. At the time, the first string ensemble consisted of professionals, the other of amateur musicians. Already here the whole genius of Mozart is expressed and is realized in the same way by the Mozarteumorchester.



Mozart wrote Serenade No. 4 for the summer graduation ceremony of the Benedictine University. It is the so-called final music. At that time, the orchestra had to march while playing from the Bishop's Palace across the city bridge to the University Square. Mozart let his ingenious wit and charm flow into the music here as well.



The Mozarteumorchester Salzburg and conductor Roberto González-Monjas let all the joy of playing and reverence for Mozart's music flow into the recording here. In both works, the conductor also reaches for the leading violin and lets other orchestra members shine as soloists with Sophia Herbig on violin, Milan Radić on viola, Brita Burgschwendtner on double bass and Michael Mitterlehner-Romm on timpani.



With this album series, the Mozarteumorchester Salzburg, through inspired interpretations, demonstrates stylistic excellence in the diversity of the classical repertoire, while remaining true to its principle of maintaining a deep connection between the music and the city of Salzburg. The world may be its guest.

Tracklist - These are the tracks you will hear on the album

Mozart: Serenades
Mozarteumorchester Salzburg & Roberto González-Monjas
1
I. Marcia. Maestoso
2
II. Menuetto
3
III. Rondeau. Allegretto
4
March in D Major, K.237/189C
5
I. Andante Maestoso. Allegro Assai
6
II. Andante
7
III. Menuetto
8
IV. Allegro
9
V. Menuetto
10
VI. Andante
11
VII. Menuetto
12
VIII. Prestissimo

More videos from Mozarteumorchester Salzburg & Roberto González-Monjas

previous
next
Dominik Wagner - Stille Nacht, heilige Nacht (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Felix Klieser - Bach: Weihnachtsoratorium, BWV 248:
Claire Huangci in Frankfurt - F. Schubert: Sonate Nr. 18 in G-Dur,  D 894 (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Felix Klieser - A Golden Christmas (Offizieller Albumtrailer)
Dominik Wagner - Queen: Bohemian Rhapsody (Double Bass Version) (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Ragnhild Hemsing - Vinterstemning (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Dominik Wagner - J. S. Bach: Suite No.1, BWV 1007 - Sarabande (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Claire Huangci in Frankfurt - Franz Schubert: Liebesbotschaft (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Matthias Höfs - Beethoven: Piano Sonata Nr. 8, Op. 13
Schumann Quartett - Erwin Schulhoff: Alla Tarantella (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Ragnhild Hemsing - Vetrahalling (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Matthias Kirschnereit - Bill Evans: Time Rememered (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Dominik Wagner - J. S. Bach: Suite No.1, BWV 1007 - Prelude (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Ragnhild Hemsing - Langeberglåtten (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Matthias Kirschnereit - Claude Debussy: Mouvement (Offizielles Musikvideo)
{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com

Mozart: Serenades

Das Mozarteumorchester Salzburg blickt auf eine über 180jährige Geschichte zurück. Gegründet wurde es im Jahr 1841 unter der Mitwirkung von Constanze Mozart. Heute genießt es eine weltweite Reputation für seine lebendigen und zielbewussten Mozart-Interpretationen. Zu seinen ständigen Gastdirigenten gehören der Grieche Constantinos Carydis, der Brite Andrew Manze, sowie der spanische Dirigent und Geiger Roberto González-Monjas. Sie alle tragen dazu bei, dass das Orchester sich immer wieder neu formieren und für das jeweilige Repertoire ausrichten kann. Natürlich gehört die ständige Beschäftigung mit der Klassik-Epoche zum prägenden Element, aber inzwischen wird das Orchester auch für Interpretationen der Musik des 19./20. Und 21. Jahrhunderts geschätzt. Zusammen mit dem Label Berlin Classics begibt sich das Mozarteumorchester Salzburg ab August 2023 auf eine spannende Reise. Mit geplanten sechs Album-Veröffentlichungen bis zum Jahr 2025 wird das Orchester seine ganze Bandbreite und Spielleidenschaft zeigen können.

Gleich die erste Veröffentlichung ist ein kleiner Paukenschlag und zeigt, wie eng die Verbindung des Orchesters zur Heimatstadt Salzburg ist. Am 11. August erscheint das erste Album der Reihe mit den Serenaden Nr. 6 und Nr. 4 von Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, unter der Leitung von Roberto González-Monjas. Serenaden, oder Sommer-Nachts-Musiken unter freiem Himmel waren in Salzburg seit dem frühen 18. Jahrhundert sehr beliebt. Es war für alle Beteiligten ein großer Spaß und pure Unterhaltung. Schon im Alter von 13 Jahren schrieb Mozart seine erste Serenade und machte sich damit gleich zum unverzichtbaren Bestandteil der Salzburger Sommeraktivitäten.

Die Aufnahme beginnt aber nicht mit einer Sommermusik, sondern mit der Serenade Nr. 6, die höchstwahrscheinlich die herbstlichen Karnevalsfeiern im fürsterzbischöflichen Residenzschloss begleitet haben. Auch wenn es Unterhaltungsmusik ist, leicht zu spielen ist sie auf keinen Fall. Mozart lässt hier quasi zwei Streicheensemble gegeneinander antreten und verwickelt sie in eine musikalische Diskussion. Dabei bestand damals das erste Streichensemble aus Profis, das andere aus Amateurmusikern. Schon hier kommt die ganze Genialität Mozarts zum Ausdruck und wird vom Mozarteumorchester ebenso umgesetzt.

Die Serenade Nr. 4 schrieb Mozart für die sommerliche Abschlussveranstaltung der Benediktineruniversität. Es handelt sich dabei um die sogenannte Finalmusik. Das Orchester musste damals spielend vom Bischofspalast über die Stadtbrücke bis zum Universitätsplatz marschieren. Mozart ließ auch hier seinen genialen Witz und Charme in die Musik einfließen.

Das Mozarteumorchester Salzburg und der Dirigent Roberto González-Monjas lassen hier die gesamte Spielfreude und Verehrung für Mozarts Musik in die Aufnahme fließen. Bei beiden Werken greift der Dirigent auch zur führenden Violine und lässt mit Sophia Herbig an der Violine, Milan Radić an der Bratsche, Brita Burgschwendtner am Kontrabass und Michael Mitterlehner-Romm an der Pauke noch weitere Orchestermitglieder als Solisten glänzen.

Mit dieser Album-Reihe beweist das Mozarteumorchester Salzburg, durch inspirierte Interpretationen, Stilsicherheit in der Vielfalt des Klassik-Repertoires und bleibt dabei seinem Grundsatz treu, eine tiefe Verbindung zwischen der Musik und der Stadt Salzburg aufrecht zu erhalten. Die Welt darf dabei zu Gast sein.

Mozart: Serenades Mozarteumorchester Salzburg & Roberto González-Monjas

Künstler

Mozarteumorchester Salzburg
Roberto González-Monjas

Komponisten

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Klassik
Sinfonische Musik / Orchestermusik

Erscheinungsdatum

11.08.2023



Mozart: Serenades



Das Mozarteumorchester Salzburg blickt auf eine über 180jährige Geschichte zurück. Gegründet wurde es im Jahr 1841 unter der Mitwirkung von Constanze Mozart. Heute genießt es eine weltweite Reputation für seine lebendigen und zielbewussten Mozart-Interpretationen. Zu seinen ständigen Gastdirigenten gehören der Grieche Constantinos Carydis, der Brite Andrew Manze, sowie der spanische Dirigent und Geiger Roberto González-Monjas. Sie alle tragen dazu bei, dass das Orchester sich immer wieder neu formieren und für das jeweilige Repertoire ausrichten kann. Natürlich gehört die ständige Beschäftigung mit der Klassik-Epoche zum prägenden Element, aber inzwischen wird das Orchester auch für Interpretationen der Musik des 19./20. Und 21. Jahrhunderts geschätzt. Zusammen mit dem Label Berlin Classics begibt sich das Mozarteumorchester Salzburg ab August 2023 auf eine spannende Reise. Mit geplanten sechs Album-Veröffentlichungen bis zum Jahr 2025 wird das Orchester seine ganze Bandbreite und Spielleidenschaft zeigen können.



Gleich die erste Veröffentlichung ist ein kleiner Paukenschlag und zeigt, wie eng die Verbindung des Orchesters zur Heimatstadt Salzburg ist. Am 11. August erscheint das erste Album der Reihe mit den Serenaden Nr. 6 und Nr. 4 von Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, unter der Leitung von Roberto González-Monjas. Serenaden, oder Sommer-Nachts-Musiken unter freiem Himmel waren in Salzburg seit dem frühen 18. Jahrhundert sehr beliebt. Es war für alle Beteiligten ein großer Spaß und pure Unterhaltung. Schon im Alter von 13 Jahren schrieb Mozart seine erste Serenade und machte sich damit gleich zum unverzichtbaren Bestandteil der Salzburger Sommeraktivitäten.



Die Aufnahme beginnt aber nicht mit einer Sommermusik, sondern mit der Serenade Nr. 6, die höchstwahrscheinlich die herbstlichen Karnevalsfeiern im fürsterzbischöflichen Residenzschloss begleitet haben. Auch wenn es Unterhaltungsmusik ist, leicht zu spielen ist sie auf keinen Fall. Mozart lässt hier quasi zwei Streicheensemble gegeneinander antreten und verwickelt sie in eine musikalische Diskussion. Dabei bestand damals das erste Streichensemble aus Profis, das andere aus Amateurmusikern. Schon hier kommt die ganze Genialität Mozarts zum Ausdruck und wird vom Mozarteumorchester ebenso umgesetzt.



Die Serenade Nr. 4 schrieb Mozart für die sommerliche Abschlussveranstaltung der Benediktineruniversität. Es handelt sich dabei um die sogenannte Finalmusik. Das Orchester musste damals spielend vom Bischofspalast über die Stadtbrücke bis zum Universitätsplatz marschieren. Mozart ließ auch hier seinen genialen Witz und Charme in die Musik einfließen.



Das Mozarteumorchester Salzburg und der Dirigent Roberto González-Monjas lassen hier die gesamte Spielfreude und Verehrung für Mozarts Musik in die Aufnahme fließen. Bei beiden Werken greift der Dirigent auch zur führenden Violine und lässt mit Sophia Herbig an der Violine, Milan Radić an der Bratsche, Brita Burgschwendtner am Kontrabass und Michael Mitterlehner-Romm an der Pauke noch weitere Orchestermitglieder als Solisten glänzen.



Mit dieser Album-Reihe beweist das Mozarteumorchester Salzburg, durch inspirierte Interpretationen, Stilsicherheit in der Vielfalt des Klassik-Repertoires und bleibt dabei seinem Grundsatz treu, eine tiefe Verbindung zwischen der Musik und der Stadt Salzburg aufrecht zu erhalten. Die Welt darf dabei zu Gast sein.

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

Mozart: Serenades
Mozarteumorchester Salzburg & Roberto González-Monjas
1
I. Marcia. Maestoso
2
II. Menuetto
3
III. Rondeau. Allegretto
4
March in D Major, K.237/189C
5
I. Andante Maestoso. Allegro Assai
6
II. Andante
7
III. Menuetto
8
IV. Allegro
9
V. Menuetto
10
VI. Andante
11
VII. Menuetto
12
VIII. Prestissimo

Weitere Videos von Mozarteumorchester Salzburg & Roberto González-Monjas

zurück
weiter
Salaputia Brass - Je veux (Arr. für Brass Ensemble) [Offizielles Musikvideo]
Salaputia Brass - G. Fauré: Après une rêve, Op. 7, No. 1 (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Beethoven - Klaviersonate Nr. 28, op. 101: I. Allegretto, ma non troppo (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Asya Fateyeva: Bernart de Ventadorn - Can Vei La Lauzetta Mover (Das Lerchenlied)
Anouchka & Katharina Hack - N. Boulanger: Trois Pièces (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Salaputia Brass - Léo Ferré: Paris Canaille (Offizielles Musikvideo)
SIGNUM saxophone quartet: Haydn - String Quartet No. 37 B Minor, Op. 33: IV. Finale: Presto
Katharina Konradi & Cosmos Quartet - Greensleeves (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Asya Fateyeva, Bo Wiget, Matthias Loibner & Emil Kuyumcuyan: Raimbaut de Vaqueiras - Kalenda Maya
Beethoven - Klaviersonate Nr. 8 in c-Moll, op. 13 „Pathétique“: II. Adagio (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Asya Fateyeva, Bo Wiget, Matthias Loibner, Emil Kuyumcuyan: Bertrand Plé - Interlude III
SIGNUM saxophone quartet - AC/DC: Thunderstruck (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Salaputia Brass - Erik Satie: Je te veux (Offizielles Musik Video)
Katharina Konradi & Cosmos Quartet - Les feuilles mortes (Offizielles Musikvideo)
SIGNUM saxophone quartet, Eckart Runge: Prayer (from Jewish Life) - Ernest Bloch
{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com