Founded in 1841 with the participation of Constanze Mozart, the Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg enjoys a worldwide reputation for its lively and stylistically aware interpretations. It combines Viennese classical music with the music of the 19th, 20th and 21st centuries in a variety of ways. The orchestra’s constant engagement with its core repertoire also shapes its approach to the music of later eras.

In collaboration with Berlin Classics, the orchestra has set out to released a series of six albums showcasing the diversity and joy of playing of the ensemble from Mozart’s birthplace. Following the Mozart Serenades, music by Richard Strauss and Hans Werner Henze, the fourth album will now be released on August 16. With Bruckner: Symphony in D minor “Nullte” WAB 100, the Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg pays tribute to the great Austrian Romantic composer in the year of his 200th birthday. In the year of his death, Bruckner, who was always plagued by self-doubt, wrote on the score of his Symphony in D minor “Discarded, completely invalid, annulled, only an attempt”. A crossed-out zero was to declare it null and void. This is how the work got its nickname “Zeroth”, although chronologically it is his second symphony. It was not premiered until 100 years after Bruckner’s death and is still rarely found on concert programs today, although it offers all the merits of a Bruckner symphony.

This captivating recording is conducted by the British-Austrian conductor Ivor Bolton. He was musical director of the Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg from 2004 to 2015 and is still its honorary conductor today. Under his direction, a performance cycle was created in Salzburg that included all nine “official” Bruckner symphonies. This was followed in 2018 by a performance of the unofficial “Zeroth”, which will now be released on CD in the Bruckner Year 2024. The strong connection between ensemble and conductor can be felt and heard on this recording.

As unrivaled interpreters of the Mozart style, the Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg makes an absolutely worthwhile contribution to the stylistics of Romanticism with Bruckner: Symphony in D minor “Nullte” WAB 100. A recording that should not be missed!

Bruckner: Symphonie in D-Moll 'Nullte', WAB 100 Ivor Bolton & Mozarteumorchester Salzburg

Artist

Ivor Bolton
Mozarteumorchester Salzburg

Composer

Anton Bruckner

Further information

Genre

Klassik
Sinfonische Musik / Orchestermusik
Romantic

Publication date

16.08.2024



Founded in 1841 with the participation of Constanze Mozart, the Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg enjoys a worldwide reputation for its lively and stylistically aware interpretations. It combines Viennese classical music with the music of the 19th, 20th and 21st centuries in a variety of ways. The orchestra's constant engagement with its core repertoire also shapes its approach to the music of later eras.



In collaboration with Berlin Classics, the orchestra has set out to released a series of six albums showcasing the diversity and joy of playing of the ensemble from Mozart's birthplace. Following the Mozart Serenades, music by Richard Strauss and Hans Werner Henze, the fourth album will now be released on August 16. With Bruckner: Symphony in D minor "Nullte" WAB 100, the Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg pays tribute to the great Austrian Romantic composer in the year of his 200th birthday. In the year of his death, Bruckner, who was always plagued by self-doubt, wrote on the score of his Symphony in D minor "Discarded, completely invalid, annulled, only an attempt". A crossed-out zero was to declare it null and void. This is how the work got its nickname "Zeroth", although chronologically it is his second symphony. It was not premiered until 100 years after Bruckner's death and is still rarely found on concert programs today, although it offers all the merits of a Bruckner symphony.



This captivating recording is conducted by the British-Austrian conductor Ivor Bolton. He was musical director of the Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg from 2004 to 2015 and is still its honorary conductor today. Under his direction, a performance cycle was created in Salzburg that included all nine "official" Bruckner symphonies. This was followed in 2018 by a performance of the unofficial "Zeroth", which will now be released on CD in the Bruckner Year 2024. The strong connection between ensemble and conductor can be felt and heard on this recording.



As unrivaled interpreters of the Mozart style, the Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg makes an absolutely worthwhile contribution to the stylistics of Romanticism with Bruckner: Symphony in D minor "Nullte" WAB 100. A recording that should not be missed!

Tracklist - These are the tracks you will hear on the album

Bruckner: Symphonie in D-Moll 'Nullte', WAB 100
Ivor Bolton & Mozarteumorchester Salzburg
1
I. Allegro
2
II. Andante
3
III. Scherzo. Presto
4
IV. Finale. Moderato

More videos from Ivor Bolton & Mozarteumorchester Salzburg

previous
next
Asya Fateyeva - Pons de Capduelh: Us Gais Conortz Me Fai Gajaman Far (Official Music Video)
Asya Fateyeva, Bo Wiget, Matthias Loibner, Emil Kuyumcuyan: Bertrand Plé - Interlude III
Salaputia Brass - Je veux (Arr. für Brass Ensemble) [Offizielles Musikvideo]
Salaputia Brass - G. Fauré: Après une rêve, Op. 7, No. 1 (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Beethoven - Klaviersonate Nr. 28, op. 101: I. Allegretto, ma non troppo (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Asya Fateyeva: Bernart de Ventadorn - Can Vei La Lauzetta Mover (Das Lerchenlied)
Anouchka & Katharina Hack - N. Boulanger: Trois Pièces (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Salaputia Brass - Léo Ferré: Paris Canaille (Offizielles Musikvideo)
SIGNUM saxophone quartet: Haydn - String Quartet No. 37 B Minor, Op. 33: IV. Finale: Presto
Katharina Konradi & Cosmos Quartet - Greensleeves (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Asya Fateyeva, Bo Wiget, Matthias Loibner & Emil Kuyumcuyan: Raimbaut de Vaqueiras - Kalenda Maya
Beethoven - Klaviersonate Nr. 8 in c-Moll, op. 13 „Pathétique“: II. Adagio (Offizielles Musikvideo)
SIGNUM saxophone quartet - AC/DC: Thunderstruck (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Salaputia Brass - Erik Satie: Je te veux (Offizielles Musik Video)
Katharina Konradi & Cosmos Quartet - Les feuilles mortes (Offizielles Musikvideo)
{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com

Das 1841 unter Mitwirkung von Constanze Mozart gegründete Mozarteumorchester Salzburg genießt weltweit höchstes Ansehen für seine lebendigen und stilbewussten Interpretationen. Es verbindet in vielfältiger Weise die Wiener Klassik mit der Musik des 19./20. und 21. Jahrhunderts. Die ständige Beschäftigung des Orchesters mit seinem Kernrepertoire prägt auch seinen Umgang mit der Musik späterer Epochen.

In Zusammenarbeit mit Berlin Classics zeigt das Orchester in einer Reihe von sechs Alben die Vielfältigkeit und Spielfreude des Ensembles aus Mozarts Geburtsstadt auf. Nach den Mozart-Serenaden, der Musik von Richard Strauss und Hans Werner Henze erscheint nun am 16. August das vierte Album. Mit Bruckner: Symphony in D minor “Nullte” WAB 100 würdigt das Mozarteumorchester Salzburg den großen österreichischen Komponisten der Romantik im Jahr seines 200. Geburtstages. Der stets von Selbstzweifel geplagte Bruckner schrieb in seinem Todesjahr auf die Partitur seiner Symphonie in d-Moll »Verworfen, ganz ungüültig, annulliert, nur ein Versuch«. Eine durchgestrichene Null sollte sie für nichtig erklären. So bekam das Werk seinen Beinamen „Nullte“, obwohl sie chronologisch gesehen seine zweite Symphonie ist. Erst 100 Jahre nach Bruckners Tod wurde sie uraufgeführt und ist bis heute nur selten auf Konzertprogrammen zu finden, obwohl sie alle Vorzüge einer Bruckner Symphonie bietet.

Die Leitung dieser fesselnden Aufnahme übernimmt der britisch-österreichische Dirigent Ivor Bolton. Er war in den Jahren 2004 bis 2015 musikalischer Leiter des Mozarteumorchesters Salzburg und ist bis heute dessen Ehrendirigent. Unter seiner Leitung entstand ein Aufführungszyklus in Salzburg, der alle neun „offiziellen“ Bruckner Symphonien beinhaltete. 2018 folgte dann die Aufführung der inoffiziellen »Nullten«, die nun im Bruckner-Jahr 2024 auf CD erscheint. Die starke Verbindung zwischen Ensemble und Dirigent ist auf der vorliegenden Aufnahme spür- und hörbar.

Als konkurrenzlose Interpreten des Mozart-Stils leistet das Mozarteumorchester Salzburg mit Bruckner: Symphony in D minor “Nullte” WAB 100 so einen absolut hörenswerten Beitrag zur Stilistik der Romantik. Eine Aufnahme, die man sich nicht entgehen lassen sollte!

Bruckner: Symphonie in D-Moll 'Nullte', WAB 100 Ivor Bolton & Mozarteumorchester Salzburg

Künstler

Ivor Bolton
Mozarteumorchester Salzburg

Komponisten

Anton Bruckner

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Klassik
Sinfonische Musik / Orchestermusik
Romantic

Erscheinungsdatum

16.08.2024



Das 1841 unter Mitwirkung von Constanze Mozart gegründete Mozarteumorchester Salzburg genießt weltweit höchstes Ansehen für seine lebendigen und stilbewussten Interpretationen. Es verbindet in vielfältiger Weise die Wiener Klassik mit der Musik des 19./20. und 21. Jahrhunderts. Die ständige Beschäftigung des Orchesters mit seinem Kernrepertoire prägt auch seinen Umgang mit der Musik späterer Epochen.



In Zusammenarbeit mit Berlin Classics zeigt das Orchester in einer Reihe von sechs Alben die Vielfältigkeit und Spielfreude des Ensembles aus Mozarts Geburtsstadt auf. Nach den Mozart-Serenaden, der Musik von Richard Strauss und Hans Werner Henze erscheint nun am 16. August das vierte Album. Mit Bruckner: Symphony in D minor "Nullte" WAB 100 würdigt das Mozarteumorchester Salzburg den großen österreichischen Komponisten der Romantik im Jahr seines 200. Geburtstages. Der stets von Selbstzweifel geplagte Bruckner schrieb in seinem Todesjahr auf die Partitur seiner Symphonie in d-Moll »Verworfen, ganz ungüültig, annulliert, nur ein Versuch«. Eine durchgestrichene Null sollte sie für nichtig erklären. So bekam das Werk seinen Beinamen „Nullte“, obwohl sie chronologisch gesehen seine zweite Symphonie ist. Erst 100 Jahre nach Bruckners Tod wurde sie uraufgeführt und ist bis heute nur selten auf Konzertprogrammen zu finden, obwohl sie alle Vorzüge einer Bruckner Symphonie bietet.



Die Leitung dieser fesselnden Aufnahme übernimmt der britisch-österreichische Dirigent Ivor Bolton. Er war in den Jahren 2004 bis 2015 musikalischer Leiter des Mozarteumorchesters Salzburg und ist bis heute dessen Ehrendirigent. Unter seiner Leitung entstand ein Aufführungszyklus in Salzburg, der alle neun „offiziellen“ Bruckner Symphonien beinhaltete. 2018 folgte dann die Aufführung der inoffiziellen »Nullten«, die nun im Bruckner-Jahr 2024 auf CD erscheint. Die starke Verbindung zwischen Ensemble und Dirigent ist auf der vorliegenden Aufnahme spür- und hörbar.



Als konkurrenzlose Interpreten des Mozart-Stils leistet das Mozarteumorchester Salzburg mit Bruckner: Symphony in D minor "Nullte" WAB 100 so einen absolut hörenswerten Beitrag zur Stilistik der Romantik. Eine Aufnahme, die man sich nicht entgehen lassen sollte!

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

Bruckner: Symphonie in D-Moll 'Nullte', WAB 100
Ivor Bolton & Mozarteumorchester Salzburg
1
I. Allegro
2
II. Andante
3
III. Scherzo. Presto
4
IV. Finale. Moderato

Weitere Videos von Ivor Bolton & Mozarteumorchester Salzburg

zurück
weiter
Asya Fateyeva - Pons de Capduelh: Us Gais Conortz Me Fai Gajaman Far (Official Music Video)
Asya Fateyeva, Bo Wiget, Matthias Loibner, Emil Kuyumcuyan: Bertrand Plé - Interlude III
Salaputia Brass - Je veux (Arr. für Brass Ensemble) [Offizielles Musikvideo]
Salaputia Brass - G. Fauré: Après une rêve, Op. 7, No. 1 (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Beethoven - Klaviersonate Nr. 28, op. 101: I. Allegretto, ma non troppo (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Asya Fateyeva: Bernart de Ventadorn - Can Vei La Lauzetta Mover (Das Lerchenlied)
Anouchka & Katharina Hack - N. Boulanger: Trois Pièces (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Salaputia Brass - Léo Ferré: Paris Canaille (Offizielles Musikvideo)
SIGNUM saxophone quartet: Haydn - String Quartet No. 37 B Minor, Op. 33: IV. Finale: Presto
Katharina Konradi & Cosmos Quartet - Greensleeves (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Asya Fateyeva, Bo Wiget, Matthias Loibner & Emil Kuyumcuyan: Raimbaut de Vaqueiras - Kalenda Maya
Beethoven - Klaviersonate Nr. 8 in c-Moll, op. 13 „Pathétique“: II. Adagio (Offizielles Musikvideo)
SIGNUM saxophone quartet - AC/DC: Thunderstruck (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Salaputia Brass - Erik Satie: Je te veux (Offizielles Musik Video)
Katharina Konradi & Cosmos Quartet - Les feuilles mortes (Offizielles Musikvideo)
{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com