“Strauss: Metamorphoses & Wind Sonatina No. 1” is the second album in a series of six that the Mozarteumorchester Salzburg will release on the Berlin Classics label until 2025. For this album, the orchestra has chosen the internationally renowned conductor Riccardo Minasi. Originally, a concert under his baton was to take place at Salzburg’s “Großes Festspielhaus” in the 2020/21 season, but like so many events, it had to be canceled. Instead, the decision was made to record with repertoire whose instrumentation sizes were appropriate to the conditions: Richard Strauss “Metamorphosen” for 23 solo strings and the first Sonatina for 16 wind instruments. The repertoire thus selected highlights the individual sections of the orchestra, strings and winds, and illustrates the orchestra’s flexibility in seemingly effortlessly realigning itself for the repertoire at hand. It further demonstrates that the orchestra’s constant preoccupation with its core repertoire informs its approach to the music of later eras – impressively heard on the current album of High Romantic music by the late Richard Stauss.

However, the decision for the first wind sonatina is also a link to the first album “Mozart: Serenades”. “Gran Partita”, Mozart’s serenade for winds, served Strauss as a model for the wind sonatina. The designation sonatina is just as much a trivialization as the assignment of Mozart’s work to the genre of the serenade. Measured by the musical content, it is rather a full-blown wind symphony. Strauss composed it after recovering from a severe case of the flu and commented on it with the subtitle “From the workshop of an invalid.” In general, Strauss likes to refer to his late instrumental works as “workshop works, so that the right wrist, freed from the baton, does not fall asleep prematurely.” And so the circle of understatements closes.

However, the new album does not begin with the first wind sonatina, but with the equally beautiful and sad “Metamorphosen”. The destruction at the end of World War 2 led Strauss into a despairing mood “My beautiful Dresden-Weimar-Munich, all gone!” In this troubled emotional state, Strauss begins to write a septet for strings, which he expands into a large work for 23 solo strings after receiving an official commission from the Swiss conductor Paul Sacher. In the last bars, a musical quotation from Beethoven’s “Eroica” is heard – the funeral march theme, with which Strauss once again emphasizes his personal consternation. All these feelings are made perceptible by the extremely differentiated interpretation of conductor and orchestra.

The Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg, founded with the participation of Constanze Mozart in 1841, today enjoys the highest reputation worldwide for its lively and stylistically conscious Mozart interpretations. This album shows that the orchestra can easily operate beyond this core repertoire and is quite justifiably now also appreciated for interpretations of 19th/20th and 21st century music. A successful look over the repertoire horizon!

Strauss: Metamorphosen & Wind Sonatina No. 1 Mozarteumorchester Salzburg & Riccardo Minasi

Artist

Mozarteumorchester Salzburg
Riccardo Minasi

Composer

Richard Strauss

Further information

Genre

Klassik
Sinfonische Musik / Orchestermusik

Publication date

03.11.2023



"Strauss: Metamorphoses & Wind Sonatina No. 1" is the second album in a series of six that the Mozarteumorchester Salzburg will release on the Berlin Classics label until 2025. For this album, the orchestra has chosen the internationally renowned conductor Riccardo Minasi. Originally, a concert under his baton was to take place at Salzburg's "Großes Festspielhaus" in the 2020/21 season, but like so many events, it had to be canceled. Instead, the decision was made to record with repertoire whose instrumentation sizes were appropriate to the conditions: Richard Strauss "Metamorphosen" for 23 solo strings and the first Sonatina for 16 wind instruments. The repertoire thus selected highlights the individual sections of the orchestra, strings and winds, and illustrates the orchestra's flexibility in seemingly effortlessly realigning itself for the repertoire at hand. It further demonstrates that the orchestra's constant preoccupation with its core repertoire informs its approach to the music of later eras - impressively heard on the current album of High Romantic music by the late Richard Stauss.



However, the decision for the first wind sonatina is also a link to the first album "Mozart: Serenades". "Gran Partita", Mozart's serenade for winds, served Strauss as a model for the wind sonatina. The designation sonatina is just as much a trivialization as the assignment of Mozart's work to the genre of the serenade. Measured by the musical content, it is rather a full-blown wind symphony. Strauss composed it after recovering from a severe case of the flu and commented on it with the subtitle "From the workshop of an invalid." In general, Strauss likes to refer to his late instrumental works as "workshop works, so that the right wrist, freed from the baton, does not fall asleep prematurely." And so the circle of understatements closes.



However, the new album does not begin with the first wind sonatina, but with the equally beautiful and sad “Metamorphosen”. The destruction at the end of World War 2 led Strauss into a despairing mood "My beautiful Dresden-Weimar-Munich, all gone!" In this troubled emotional state, Strauss begins to write a septet for strings, which he expands into a large work for 23 solo strings after receiving an official commission from the Swiss conductor Paul Sacher. In the last bars, a musical quotation from Beethoven's "Eroica" is heard - the funeral march theme, with which Strauss once again emphasizes his personal consternation. All these feelings are made perceptible by the extremely differentiated interpretation of conductor and orchestra.



The Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg, founded with the participation of Constanze Mozart in 1841, today enjoys the highest reputation worldwide for its lively and stylistically conscious Mozart interpretations. This album shows that the orchestra can easily operate beyond this core repertoire and is quite justifiably now also appreciated for interpretations of 19th/20th and 21st century music. A successful look over the repertoire horizon!

Tracklist - These are the tracks you will hear on the album

Strauss: Metamorphosen & Wind Sonatina No. 1
Mozarteumorchester Salzburg & Riccardo Minasi
1
Metamorphosen, TrV 290
2
I. Allegro Moderato
3
II. Romanze und Menuett
4
III. Finale, Molto Allegro

More videos from Mozarteumorchester Salzburg & Riccardo Minasi

previous
next
Dominik Wagner - Stille Nacht, heilige Nacht (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Felix Klieser - Bach: Weihnachtsoratorium, BWV 248:
Claire Huangci in Frankfurt - F. Schubert: Sonate Nr. 18 in G-Dur,  D 894 (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Felix Klieser - A Golden Christmas (Offizieller Albumtrailer)
Dominik Wagner - Queen: Bohemian Rhapsody (Double Bass Version) (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Ragnhild Hemsing - Vinterstemning (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Dominik Wagner - J. S. Bach: Suite No.1, BWV 1007 - Sarabande (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Claire Huangci in Frankfurt - Franz Schubert: Liebesbotschaft (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Matthias Höfs - Beethoven: Piano Sonata Nr. 8, Op. 13
Schumann Quartett - Erwin Schulhoff: Alla Tarantella (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Ragnhild Hemsing - Vetrahalling (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Matthias Kirschnereit - Bill Evans: Time Rememered (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Dominik Wagner - J. S. Bach: Suite No.1, BWV 1007 - Prelude (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Ragnhild Hemsing - Langeberglåtten (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Matthias Kirschnereit - Claude Debussy: Mouvement (Offizielles Musikvideo)
{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com

„Strauss: Metamorphosen & Wind Sonatina No. 1“ ist das zweite Album aus einer Reihe von sechs, die das Mozarteumorchester Salzburg bei dem Label Berlin Classics bis 2025 veröffentlicht wird. Für dieses Album hat sich das Orchester für den international renommierten Dirigenten Riccardo Minasi entschieden. Ursprünglich sollte ein Konzert unter seiner Leitung im Salzburger Großen Festspielhaus in der Saison 2020/21 stattfinden, welches aber wie so viel Veranstaltungen abgesagt werden musste. Man entschied sich stattdessen für eine Aufnahm mit Repertoire, dessen Besetzungsgrößen den Bedingungen angemessen war: Richard Strauss „Metamorphosen“ für 23 Solostreicher und der ersten Sonatine für 16 Bläser. Das so ausgewählte Repertoire hebt die einzelnen Abteilungen des Orchesters, Streicher und Bläser, hervor und verdeutlicht die Flexibilität des Orchesters, das sich scheinbar mühelos für das jeweilige Repertoire neu ausrichtet. Es zeigt darüber hinaus, dass die ständige Beschäftigung mit seinem Kernrepertoire den Umgang des Orchesters mit der Musik späterer Epochen prägt – eindrücklich zu hören auf dem aktuellen Album mit hochromantischer Musik des späten Richard Stauss.

Die Entscheidung für die erste Bläsersonatine ist aber auch eine Anknüpfung an das erste Album „Mozart: Serenades“. Als Vorbild zur Bläsersonatine diente Strauss „Gran Partita“, Mozarts Serenade für Bläser. Die Bezeichnung Sonatine ist ebenso eine Verharmlosung wie die Zuordnung Mozarts Werk zur Gattung der Serenade. Gemessen am musikalischen Gehalt handelt es sich doch eher um eine ausgewachsene Bläsersinfonie. Strauss komponierte diese nach der Genesung einer schweren Grippe und kommentierte sie mit dem Untertitel „Aus der Werkstatt eines Invaliden“. Generell bezeichnet Strauss gerne seine späten Instrumentalwerke als “Werkstattarbeiten, damit das vom Taktstock befreite rechte Handgelenk nicht vorzeitig einschläft”. So schließt sich der Kreis an Untertreibungen.

Das neue Album beginnt allerdings nicht mit der ersten Bläsersonatine, sondern mit den gleichermaßen schönen wie traurigen Metamorphosen. Die Zerstörungen Ende des 2. Weltkriegs führten bei Strauss zu einer verzweifelten Stimmung „Mein schönes Dresden-Weimar-München, alles dahin!“ In dieser aufgewühlten Gefühlslage beginnt Strauss, ein Septett für Streicher zu schreiben, welches er nach einem offiziellen Kompositionsauftrag des Schweizer Dirigenten Paul Sacher zu einem großen Werk für 23 Solostreicher erweitert. In den letzten Takten erklingt ein musikalisches Zitat aus Beethovens „Eroica“ – das Trauermarschthema, womit Strauss noch einmal seine persönliche Betroffenheit betont. Spürbar werden all diese Empfindungen durch eine äußerst differenziert Klanggestaltung von Dirigent und Orchester.

Das Mozarteumorchester Salzburg, unter Mitwirkung von Constanze Mozart 1841 gegründet, genießt heute weltweit höchstes Ansehen für seine lebendigen und stilbewussten Mozart-Interpretationen. Dieses Album zeigt, dass das Orchester ohne Weiteres über dieses Kernrepertoire hinaus agieren kann und völlig zu Recht inzwischen auch für Interpretationen der Musik des 19./20. und 21. Jahrhunderts geschätzt wird. Ein gelungener Blick über den Repertoire-Tellerrand!

Strauss: Metamorphosen & Wind Sonatina No. 1 Mozarteumorchester Salzburg & Riccardo Minasi

Künstler

Mozarteumorchester Salzburg
Riccardo Minasi

Komponisten

Richard Strauss

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Klassik
Sinfonische Musik / Orchestermusik

Erscheinungsdatum

03.11.2023



„Strauss: Metamorphosen & Wind Sonatina No. 1“ ist das zweite Album aus einer Reihe von sechs, die das Mozarteumorchester Salzburg bei dem Label Berlin Classics bis 2025 veröffentlicht wird. Für dieses Album hat sich das Orchester für den international renommierten Dirigenten Riccardo Minasi entschieden. Ursprünglich sollte ein Konzert unter seiner Leitung im Salzburger Großen Festspielhaus in der Saison 2020/21 stattfinden, welches aber wie so viel Veranstaltungen abgesagt werden musste. Man entschied sich stattdessen für eine Aufnahm mit Repertoire, dessen Besetzungsgrößen den Bedingungen angemessen war: Richard Strauss „Metamorphosen“ für 23 Solostreicher und der ersten Sonatine für 16 Bläser. Das so ausgewählte Repertoire hebt die einzelnen Abteilungen des Orchesters, Streicher und Bläser, hervor und verdeutlicht die Flexibilität des Orchesters, das sich scheinbar mühelos für das jeweilige Repertoire neu ausrichtet. Es zeigt darüber hinaus, dass die ständige Beschäftigung mit seinem Kernrepertoire den Umgang des Orchesters mit der Musik späterer Epochen prägt – eindrücklich zu hören auf dem aktuellen Album mit hochromantischer Musik des späten Richard Stauss.



Die Entscheidung für die erste Bläsersonatine ist aber auch eine Anknüpfung an das erste Album „Mozart: Serenades“. Als Vorbild zur Bläsersonatine diente Strauss „Gran Partita“, Mozarts Serenade für Bläser. Die Bezeichnung Sonatine ist ebenso eine Verharmlosung wie die Zuordnung Mozarts Werk zur Gattung der Serenade. Gemessen am musikalischen Gehalt handelt es sich doch eher um eine ausgewachsene Bläsersinfonie. Strauss komponierte diese nach der Genesung einer schweren Grippe und kommentierte sie mit dem Untertitel „Aus der Werkstatt eines Invaliden“. Generell bezeichnet Strauss gerne seine späten Instrumentalwerke als “Werkstattarbeiten, damit das vom Taktstock befreite rechte Handgelenk nicht vorzeitig einschläft”. So schließt sich der Kreis an Untertreibungen.



Das neue Album beginnt allerdings nicht mit der ersten Bläsersonatine, sondern mit den gleichermaßen schönen wie traurigen Metamorphosen. Die Zerstörungen Ende des 2. Weltkriegs führten bei Strauss zu einer verzweifelten Stimmung „Mein schönes Dresden-Weimar-München, alles dahin!“ In dieser aufgewühlten Gefühlslage beginnt Strauss, ein Septett für Streicher zu schreiben, welches er nach einem offiziellen Kompositionsauftrag des Schweizer Dirigenten Paul Sacher zu einem großen Werk für 23 Solostreicher erweitert. In den letzten Takten erklingt ein musikalisches Zitat aus Beethovens „Eroica“ - das Trauermarschthema, womit Strauss noch einmal seine persönliche Betroffenheit betont. Spürbar werden all diese Empfindungen durch eine äußerst differenziert Klanggestaltung von Dirigent und Orchester.



Das Mozarteumorchester Salzburg, unter Mitwirkung von Constanze Mozart 1841 gegründet, genießt heute weltweit höchstes Ansehen für seine lebendigen und stilbewussten Mozart-Interpretationen. Dieses Album zeigt, dass das Orchester ohne Weiteres über dieses Kernrepertoire hinaus agieren kann und völlig zu Recht inzwischen auch für Interpretationen der Musik des 19./20. und 21. Jahrhunderts geschätzt wird. Ein gelungener Blick über den Repertoire-Tellerrand!

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

Strauss: Metamorphosen & Wind Sonatina No. 1
Mozarteumorchester Salzburg & Riccardo Minasi
1
Metamorphosen, TrV 290
2
I. Allegro Moderato
3
II. Romanze und Menuett
4
III. Finale, Molto Allegro

Weitere Videos von Mozarteumorchester Salzburg & Riccardo Minasi

zurück
weiter
Anouchka & Katharina Hack - N. Boulanger: Trois Pièces (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Salaputia Brass - Léo Ferré: Paris Canaille (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Asya Fateyeva, Bo Wiget, Matthias Loibner & Emil Kuyumcuyan: Raimbaut de Vaqueiras - Kalenda Maya
Salaputia Brass - Erik Satie: Je te veux (Offizielles Musik Video)
Dominik Wagner - Stille Nacht, heilige Nacht (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Felix Klieser - Bach: Weihnachtsoratorium, BWV 248:
Claire Huangci in Frankfurt - F. Schubert: Sonate Nr. 18 in G-Dur,  D 894 (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Felix Klieser - A Golden Christmas (Offizieller Albumtrailer)
Dominik Wagner - Queen: Bohemian Rhapsody (Double Bass Version) (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Ragnhild Hemsing - Vinterstemning (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Dominik Wagner - J. S. Bach: Suite No.1, BWV 1007 - Sarabande (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Claire Huangci in Frankfurt - Franz Schubert: Liebesbotschaft (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Matthias Höfs - Beethoven: Piano Sonata Nr. 8, Op. 13
Schumann Quartett - Erwin Schulhoff: Alla Tarantella (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Ragnhild Hemsing - Vetrahalling (Offizielles Musikvideo)
{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com