They modestly call themselves “little guys” (lat. salaputia), and yet they know outrageously well how to create thematically sophisticated programs and make music at the highest level. Having already released four albums, the 12 likeable musicians of the young brass ensemble Salaputia Brass are now presenting their debut album on Berlin Classics. Chansons sans paroles is a compilation of 34 songs from the rich history of French chanson. The original adaptations and new arrangements are convincing even without lyrics. The singing is given over to the wind instruments of the ensemble, whose members hold various solo positions in top German orchestras (Konzerthausorchester Berlin, Staatskapelle Dresden, Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg).
The translation of the album title “Songs without words” inevitably brings Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy to mind. His song-like character pieces were intended to inspire the imagination purely instrumentally. The same applies to Chansons sans paroles. “After our programs with symphonic and folk sounds, a lighter, floating, more colourful mixture of sounds needed to follow,” explains Peter Dörpinghaus, trumpeter in the ensemble. “We are trying to break new ground,” continues his ensemble colleague Felix Baur (horn). “This album is not intended to be a typical popular hit. Rather something for the ears and head.” Even without prior knowledge of the original chanson lyrics, this music does not fail to make an impact.
Salaputia Brass go beyond the pure brass spectrum and include percussion instruments and melodically tuned mallet instruments. Already in the opener “So ist Paris”, a drumset is clearly one of the driving forces. The medley goes straight to the heart of all chanson lovers and contains other catchy tunes such as “Les Champs-Elysées” and “La vie en rose”. The arrangements by Heinz Bröcker have been skillfully arranged by Martin Wagemann (solo trumpeter in the orchestra of the Deutsche Oper Berlin).
The album is divided into four major sections, divided by three sensitive arrangements by Peter Dörpinghaus: “Après une rêve” and “Au bord de l’eau” by Gabriel Fauré as well as “Vocalise-ètude en forme de Habanera” by Maurice Ravel. The first of these sections is dedicated to works by the French artists’ group “Groupe des Six”. By using mutes and a variety of different instruments, Peter Dörpinghaus lends his arrangements new timbres. Particularly vivid examples are “Rosemonde” by Arthur Honegger or “Romance sans paroles” by Louis Dureys.
The next section is also richly colorful in sound. The “Sept Chansons” by Francis Poulanc, shine in a whole new light. “Our sound engineer Thomas Bößl, who knows the cycle from his days singing in a choir, almost didn’t recognize some of the pieces,” smiles Peter Dörpinghaus.
The next section opens up a sublime world of sound with Renaissance works such as Pierre Passereau’s “Il est bel et bon”, Orlando di Lasso’s “Bonjour mon coeur”, Pierre Sandrin’s “Dulce mémoire” or Pierre de Manchicourt’s “Faulte d’argent”. The seven chansons by Erik Satie “Chansons de Caf’ Conc'” form the last part of the album. The charming arrangements by Rainer Hoffmann (bass trombonist in the Frankfurt Opera and Museum Orchestra and arranger) demonstrate originality. A special musical guest here is the well-known singer Max Raabe, who whistles the melody to “Les Oiseaux”.
Fun fact: one piece on the album was only written during the recording process. After the French composer Thierry Escaich (*1965) had listened to the first recordings, he adapted Pierre Sandrin’s “Puisque vivre en servitude” into his “Old Song”.
The album comes to a lively close with a hit-song by the Nouvell chanson singer Zaz, “Je veux” (I want) in a charming arrangement by Swedish trombonist and arranger Lars Karlin. Chansons sans paroles spans a wide historical arc and leads from the Renaissance madrigals to the present day. The expressive power of the wind instruments in this stylistic range is impressive and makes you want more!

Chansons sans paroles Salaputia Brass

Artist

Salaputia Brass

Composer

Arthur Honegger
Cole Porter
Darius Milhaud
Erik Satie
Francis Poulenc

Further information

Genre

Klassik
Musik für Kammerensemble
Blechbläserensemble

Publication date

10.05.2024



They modestly call themselves "little guys" (lat. salaputia), and yet they know outrageously well how to create thematically sophisticated programs and make music at the highest level. Having already released four albums, the 12 likeable musicians of the young brass ensemble Salaputia Brass are now presenting their debut album on Berlin Classics. Chansons sans paroles is a compilation of 34 songs from the rich history of French chanson. The original adaptations and new arrangements are convincing even without lyrics. The singing is given over to the wind instruments of the ensemble, whose members hold various solo positions in top German orchestras (Konzerthausorchester Berlin, Staatskapelle Dresden, Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg).

The translation of the album title "Songs without words" inevitably brings Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy to mind. His song-like character pieces were intended to inspire the imagination purely instrumentally. The same applies to Chansons sans paroles. "After our programs with symphonic and folk sounds, a lighter, floating, more colourful mixture of sounds needed to follow," explains Peter Dörpinghaus, trumpeter in the ensemble. "We are trying to break new ground," continues his ensemble colleague Felix Baur (horn). "This album is not intended to be a typical popular hit. Rather something for the ears and head." Even without prior knowledge of the original chanson lyrics, this music does not fail to make an impact.

Salaputia Brass go beyond the pure brass spectrum and include percussion instruments and melodically tuned mallet instruments. Already in the opener "So ist Paris", a drumset is clearly one of the driving forces. The medley goes straight to the heart of all chanson lovers and contains other catchy tunes such as "Les Champs-Elysées" and "La vie en rose". The arrangements by Heinz Bröcker have been skillfully arranged by Martin Wagemann (solo trumpeter in the orchestra of the Deutsche Oper Berlin).

The album is divided into four major sections, divided by three sensitive arrangements by Peter Dörpinghaus: "Après une rêve" and "Au bord de l'eau" by Gabriel Fauré as well as "Vocalise-ètude en forme de Habanera" by Maurice Ravel. The first of these sections is dedicated to works by the French artists' group "Groupe des Six". By using mutes and a variety of different instruments, Peter Dörpinghaus lends his arrangements new timbres. Particularly vivid examples are "Rosemonde" by Arthur Honegger or "Romance sans paroles" by Louis Dureys.

The next section is also richly colorful in sound. The "Sept Chansons" by Francis Poulanc, shine in a whole new light. "Our sound engineer Thomas Bößl, who knows the cycle from his days singing in a choir, almost didn't recognize some of the pieces," smiles Peter Dörpinghaus.

The next section opens up a sublime world of sound with Renaissance works such as Pierre Passereau's "Il est bel et bon", Orlando di Lasso's "Bonjour mon coeur", Pierre Sandrin's "Dulce mémoire" or Pierre de Manchicourt's "Faulte d'argent". The seven chansons by Erik Satie "Chansons de Caf' Conc'" form the last part of the album. The charming arrangements by Rainer Hoffmann (bass trombonist in the Frankfurt Opera and Museum Orchestra and arranger) demonstrate originality. A special musical guest here is the well-known singer Max Raabe, who whistles the melody to "Les Oiseaux".

Fun fact: one piece on the album was only written during the recording process. After the French composer Thierry Escaich (*1965) had listened to the first recordings, he adapted Pierre Sandrin's "Puisque vivre en servitude" into his "Old Song".

The album comes to a lively close with a hit-song by the Nouvell chanson singer Zaz, "Je veux" (I want) in a charming arrangement by Swedish trombonist and arranger Lars Karlin. Chansons sans paroles spans a wide historical arc and leads from the Renaissance madrigals to the present day. The expressive power of the wind instruments in this stylistic range is impressive and makes you want more!

Tracklist - These are the tracks you will hear on the album

Chansons sans paroles
Salaputia Brass
1
So ist Paris
2
Paris Canaille
3
No. 1, Après une rêve
4
On a dit mal de mon ami
5
No. 4, Comme un verre de Venise
6
No. 1, Mon Histoire
7
No. 5, Rosemonde
8
Romance sans paroles, Op. 21
9
No. 1, Fumée
10
No. 3, École de guerre
11
No. 2, Fêtes galantes
12
No. 1, Au bord de l'eau
13
I. La blanche neige
14
II. A peine défigurée
15
III. Par une nuit nouvelle
16
IV. Tous les droits
17
V. Belle er ressemblante
18
VI. Marie
19
VII. Luire
20
Bon jour mon coeur, bon jour ma douce vie
21
Dulce mémoire
22
Puisque vivre en servitude
23
Il est bel et bon
24
Ce qui m'est deu et ordonné
25
Faulte d'argent
26
Old Song
27
Vocalise-ètude en forme de Habanera
28
Allons-y chochotte
29
Chez le docteur
30
Je te veux
31
La diva de "l'Empire"
32
L'omnibus automobile
33
Les Oiseaux
34
Tendrement
35
Je veux

More videos from Salaputia Brass

previous
next
Salaputia Brass - Je veux (Arr. für Brass Ensemble) [Offizielles Musikvideo]
Salaputia Brass - G. Fauré: Après une rêve, Op. 7, No. 1 (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Beethoven - Klaviersonate Nr. 28, op. 101: I. Allegretto, ma non troppo (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Asya Fateyeva: Bernart de Ventadorn - Can Vei La Lauzetta Mover (Das Lerchenlied)
Anouchka & Katharina Hack - N. Boulanger: Trois Pièces (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Salaputia Brass - Léo Ferré: Paris Canaille (Offizielles Musikvideo)
SIGNUM saxophone quartet: Haydn - String Quartet No. 37 B Minor, Op. 33: IV. Finale: Presto
Katharina Konradi & Cosmos Quartet - Greensleeves (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Asya Fateyeva, Bo Wiget, Matthias Loibner & Emil Kuyumcuyan: Raimbaut de Vaqueiras - Kalenda Maya
Beethoven - Klaviersonate Nr. 8 in c-Moll, op. 13 „Pathétique“: II. Adagio (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Asya Fateyeva, Bo Wiget, Matthias Loibner, Emil Kuyumcuyan: Bertrand Plé - Interlude III
SIGNUM saxophone quartet - AC/DC: Thunderstruck (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Salaputia Brass - Erik Satie: Je te veux (Offizielles Musik Video)
Katharina Konradi & Cosmos Quartet - Les feuilles mortes (Offizielles Musikvideo)
SIGNUM saxophone quartet, Eckart Runge: Prayer (from Jewish Life) - Ernest Bloch
{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com

Sie nennen sich bescheiden „Kerlchen“ (lat. salaputia), und verstehen es dennoch unverschämt gut, Programme thematisch raffiniert zu gestalten und auf höchstem Niveau zu musizieren. Nach bereits vier veröffentlichten Alben stellen die 12 sympathischen Musiker des jungen Blechbläser-Ensembles Salaputia Brass ihr Debüt-Album bei Berlin Classics vor. Chansons sans paroles ist eine Zusammenstellung von insgesamt 34 Liedern aus der reichen Geschichte des französischen Chansons. Die originellen Bearbeitungen und neuen Arrangements überzeugen auch ohne Text. Das Singen wird eindrucksvoll den Blasinstrumenten des Ensembles überlassen, dessen Mitglieder verschiedene Solopositionen in deutschen Spitzenorchestern bekleiden (Konzerthausorchester Berlin, Staatskapelle Dresden, Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg).
Die deutsche Übersetzung des Albumtitels „Lieder ohne Worte“ lässt unweigerlich an Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy denken. Seine liedhaften Charakterstücke sollten rein instrumental die Fantasie beflügeln. Ähnliches gilt für Chansons sans paroles. „Nach Programmen mit sinfonischen sowie mit volkstümlichen Klängen sollte nun eine leichtere, schwimmende, farbenreichere Klangmischung folgen“ erklärt Peter Dörpinghaus Trompeter im Ensemble. „Wir versuchen, neue Wege zu gehen“, führt sein Ensemble-Kollege Felix Baur (Horn) weiter aus. „So soll dieses Album keine typische Gassenhauer-Folge sein. Eher etwas für Ohren und Kopf.“ Auch ohne Vorkenntnis der ursprünglichen Chanson-Texte verfehlt diese Musik ihre Wirkung nicht.
Salaputia Brass gehen über das reine Blechbläserspektrum hinaus und beziehen Schlaginstrumente und melodisch gestimmte Stabspiele (Mallet-Instrumente) mit ein. Schon beim Opener „So ist Paris“ gehört ein Schlagzeug klar zu den treibenden Kräften. Das Medley zielt direkt ins Herz aller Chanson-Liebhaber und enthält weitere Ohrwürmer wie „Les Champs-Elysées“ oder „La vie en rose“. Die Arrangements von Heinz Bröcker hat Martin Wagemann (Solotrompeter im Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin) geschickt bearbeitet.
Das Album ist in vier größere Abschnitte gegliedert, unterteilt von drei feinfühligen Arrangements von Peter Dörpinghaus: „Après une rêve“ und „Au bord de l’eau“ von Gabriel Fauré sowie „Vocalise-ètude en forme de Habanera“ von Maurice Ravel. Der erste dieser Abschnitte widmet sich Werken der französischen Künstlergruppe „Groupe des Six“. Durch die Verwendung von Dämpfern und einer Vielfalt an unterschiedlichen Instrumenten verleiht Peter Dörpinghaus seinen Arrangements hier neue Klangfarben. Besonders anschauliche Beispiele dafür sind „Rosemonde“ von Arthur Honegger oder „Romance sans paroles“ von Louis Dureys.
Ein klangmalerischer Farbenreichtum wohnt auch dem nächsten Abschnitt inne. Die „Sept Chansons“ von Francis Poulanc, erstrahlen in einem ganz neuen Licht. „Unser Toningenieur Thomas Bößl, der den Zyklus aus Chorzeiten kennt, hat manche Stücke fast nicht wiedererkannt.“ schmunzelt Peter Dörpinghaus.
Eine erhabene Klangwelt eröffnet der nächste Abschnitt mit Renaissance-Werken wie Pierre Passereaus „Il est bel et bon“, Orlando di Lassos‘ „Bonjour mon coeur“, Pierre Sandrins „Dulce mémoire“ oder Pierre de Manchicourts „Faulte d’argent“.
Die sieben Chansons von Erik Satie „Chansons de Caf’ Conc’“ bilden den letzten Teil des Albums. Die reizvollen Arrangements von Rainer Hoffmann (Bassposaunist im Frankfurter Opern- und Museumsorchester und Arrangeur) beweisen Originalität. Ein besonderer musikalischer Gast ist hier der bekannte Sänger Max Raabe, der die Melodie zu „Les Oiseaux“ pfeift.
Fun-Fact: Ein Werk des Albums entstand erst während der Aufnahmen. Nachdem der französischen Komponisten Thierry Escaich (*1965) die ersten Mitschnitte angehört hatte, verarbeitete er Pierre Sandrins „Puisque vivre en servitude“ in seinem „Old Song“.
Schwungvoller Abschluss des Albums ist ein Hit der Nouvell-Chanson-Sängerin Zaz „Je veux“ (Ich will) in einem charmanten Arrangement des schwedischen Posaunisten und Arrangeurs Lars Karlin.
Chansons sans paroles spannt einen weiten historischen Bogen und führt vom Renaissance-Madrigal bis ins heute. Die Ausdruckskraft der Bläser in dieser stilistischen Bandbreite ist beeindruckend und macht Lust auf mehr!

Chansons sans paroles Salaputia Brass

Künstler

Salaputia Brass

Komponisten

Arthur Honegger
Cole Porter
Darius Milhaud
Erik Satie
Francis Poulenc

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Klassik
Musik für Kammerensemble
Blechbläserensemble

Erscheinungsdatum

10.05.2024



Sie nennen sich bescheiden „Kerlchen“ (lat. salaputia), und verstehen es dennoch unverschämt gut, Programme thematisch raffiniert zu gestalten und auf höchstem Niveau zu musizieren. Nach bereits vier veröffentlichten Alben stellen die 12 sympathischen Musiker des jungen Blechbläser-Ensembles Salaputia Brass ihr Debüt-Album bei Berlin Classics vor. Chansons sans paroles ist eine Zusammenstellung von insgesamt 34 Liedern aus der reichen Geschichte des französischen Chansons. Die originellen Bearbeitungen und neuen Arrangements überzeugen auch ohne Text. Das Singen wird eindrucksvoll den Blasinstrumenten des Ensembles überlassen, dessen Mitglieder verschiedene Solopositionen in deutschen Spitzenorchestern bekleiden (Konzerthausorchester Berlin, Staatskapelle Dresden, Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg).

Die deutsche Übersetzung des Albumtitels „Lieder ohne Worte“ lässt unweigerlich an Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy denken. Seine liedhaften Charakterstücke sollten rein instrumental die Fantasie beflügeln. Ähnliches gilt für Chansons sans paroles. „Nach Programmen mit sinfonischen sowie mit volkstümlichen Klängen sollte nun eine leichtere, schwimmende, farbenreichere Klangmischung folgen“ erklärt Peter Dörpinghaus Trompeter im Ensemble. „Wir versuchen, neue Wege zu gehen“, führt sein Ensemble-Kollege Felix Baur (Horn) weiter aus. „So soll dieses Album keine typische Gassenhauer-Folge sein. Eher etwas für Ohren und Kopf.“ Auch ohne Vorkenntnis der ursprünglichen Chanson-Texte verfehlt diese Musik ihre Wirkung nicht.

Salaputia Brass gehen über das reine Blechbläserspektrum hinaus und beziehen Schlaginstrumente und melodisch gestimmte Stabspiele (Mallet-Instrumente) mit ein. Schon beim Opener „So ist Paris“ gehört ein Schlagzeug klar zu den treibenden Kräften. Das Medley zielt direkt ins Herz aller Chanson-Liebhaber und enthält weitere Ohrwürmer wie „Les Champs-Elysées“ oder „La vie en rose“. Die Arrangements von Heinz Bröcker hat Martin Wagemann (Solotrompeter im Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin) geschickt bearbeitet.

Das Album ist in vier größere Abschnitte gegliedert, unterteilt von drei feinfühligen Arrangements von Peter Dörpinghaus: „Après une rêve“ und „Au bord de l'eau“ von Gabriel Fauré sowie „Vocalise-ètude en forme de Habanera“ von Maurice Ravel. Der erste dieser Abschnitte widmet sich Werken der französischen Künstlergruppe „Groupe des Six“. Durch die Verwendung von Dämpfern und einer Vielfalt an unterschiedlichen Instrumenten verleiht Peter Dörpinghaus seinen Arrangements hier neue Klangfarben. Besonders anschauliche Beispiele dafür sind „Rosemonde“ von Arthur Honegger oder „Romance sans paroles“ von Louis Dureys.

Ein klangmalerischer Farbenreichtum wohnt auch dem nächsten Abschnitt inne. Die „Sept Chansons“ von Francis Poulanc, erstrahlen in einem ganz neuen Licht. „Unser Toningenieur Thomas Bößl, der den Zyklus aus Chorzeiten kennt, hat manche Stücke fast nicht wiedererkannt.“ schmunzelt Peter Dörpinghaus.

Eine erhabene Klangwelt eröffnet der nächste Abschnitt mit Renaissance-Werken wie Pierre Passereaus „Il est bel et bon“, Orlando di Lassos‘ „Bonjour mon coeur“, Pierre Sandrins „Dulce mémoire“ oder Pierre de Manchicourts „Faulte d'argent“.

Die sieben Chansons von Erik Satie „Chansons de Caf’ Conc’“ bilden den letzten Teil des Albums. Die reizvollen Arrangements von Rainer Hoffmann (Bassposaunist im Frankfurter Opern- und Museumsorchester und Arrangeur) beweisen Originalität. Ein besonderer musikalischer Gast ist hier der bekannte Sänger Max Raabe, der die Melodie zu „Les Oiseaux“ pfeift.

Fun-Fact: Ein Werk des Albums entstand erst während der Aufnahmen. Nachdem der französischen Komponisten Thierry Escaich (*1965) die ersten Mitschnitte angehört hatte, verarbeitete er Pierre Sandrins „Puisque vivre en servitude“ in seinem „Old Song“.

Schwungvoller Abschluss des Albums ist ein Hit der Nouvell-Chanson-Sängerin Zaz „Je veux“ (Ich will) in einem charmanten Arrangement des schwedischen Posaunisten und Arrangeurs Lars Karlin.

Chansons sans paroles spannt einen weiten historischen Bogen und führt vom Renaissance-Madrigal bis ins heute. Die Ausdruckskraft der Bläser in dieser stilistischen Bandbreite ist beeindruckend und macht Lust auf mehr!

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

Chansons sans paroles
Salaputia Brass
1
So ist Paris
2
Paris Canaille
3
No. 1, Après une rêve
4
On a dit mal de mon ami
5
No. 4, Comme un verre de Venise
6
No. 1, Mon Histoire
7
No. 5, Rosemonde
8
Romance sans paroles, Op. 21
9
No. 1, Fumée
10
No. 3, École de guerre
11
No. 2, Fêtes galantes
12
No. 1, Au bord de l'eau
13
I. La blanche neige
14
II. A peine défigurée
15
III. Par une nuit nouvelle
16
IV. Tous les droits
17
V. Belle er ressemblante
18
VI. Marie
19
VII. Luire
20
Bon jour mon coeur, bon jour ma douce vie
21
Dulce mémoire
22
Puisque vivre en servitude
23
Il est bel et bon
24
Ce qui m'est deu et ordonné
25
Faulte d'argent
26
Old Song
27
Vocalise-ètude en forme de Habanera
28
Allons-y chochotte
29
Chez le docteur
30
Je te veux
31
La diva de "l'Empire"
32
L'omnibus automobile
33
Les Oiseaux
34
Tendrement
35
Je veux

Weitere Videos von Salaputia Brass

zurück
weiter
Salaputia Brass - Je veux (Arr. für Brass Ensemble) [Offizielles Musikvideo]
Salaputia Brass - G. Fauré: Après une rêve, Op. 7, No. 1 (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Beethoven - Klaviersonate Nr. 28, op. 101: I. Allegretto, ma non troppo (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Asya Fateyeva: Bernart de Ventadorn - Can Vei La Lauzetta Mover (Das Lerchenlied)
Anouchka & Katharina Hack - N. Boulanger: Trois Pièces (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Salaputia Brass - Léo Ferré: Paris Canaille (Offizielles Musikvideo)
SIGNUM saxophone quartet: Haydn - String Quartet No. 37 B Minor, Op. 33: IV. Finale: Presto
Katharina Konradi & Cosmos Quartet - Greensleeves (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Asya Fateyeva, Bo Wiget, Matthias Loibner & Emil Kuyumcuyan: Raimbaut de Vaqueiras - Kalenda Maya
Beethoven - Klaviersonate Nr. 8 in c-Moll, op. 13 „Pathétique“: II. Adagio (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Asya Fateyeva, Bo Wiget, Matthias Loibner, Emil Kuyumcuyan: Bertrand Plé - Interlude III
SIGNUM saxophone quartet - AC/DC: Thunderstruck (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Salaputia Brass - Erik Satie: Je te veux (Offizielles Musik Video)
Katharina Konradi & Cosmos Quartet - Les feuilles mortes (Offizielles Musikvideo)
SIGNUM saxophone quartet, Eckart Runge: Prayer (from Jewish Life) - Ernest Bloch
{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com