Four hands, 88 keys: Intimate piano psychograms from Olympus

With „Apollo & Dionysus“ the German-Greek sisters Danae and Kiveli Dörken are now, after several successful solo and ensemble recordings, presenting their first joint piano duet album: a studio debut with a sophisticated concept and breathtaking virtuosity.

Two sisters on one instrument. Each an exceptional pianist in her own right with an individual temperament; together, an inseparable single entity with identical musical DNA. Kiveli and Danae Dörken, an “orchestra of four hands” (Thüringische Landeszeitung), have been setting new benchmarks for years as a piano duo, both with their pianistic prowess (Kölner Stadt-Anzeiger: “a miracle of ease, charm and feeling”) and their exceptional programmes. The two German-Greek sisters also regularly show that they are a born duo in every regard with their quirky and informative podcast “The Sister Trill”, joint education projects (“Rhapsody in School” and “Klassik hautnah” or “MoToKey”/Tonali) and the Molyvos International Music Festival, which they founded in 2015 on the island of Lesbos.

Greece, with its culture, is the real inner homeland of the two sisters, born in Wuppertal and Düsseldorf. They began studying piano with Karl-Heinz Kämmerling at the ages of 11 and seven respectively as the youngest students in the history of the Hochschule Hannover, later continuing to work with Lars Vogt. During the summers of their childhood, their grandmother on Lesbos used to tell them stories of the Olympian gods. “And, like many Greek children, we also visited the Oracle of Delphi,” recalls Kiveli, the younger of the two, “where we realised that a good decision always involves both divine characteristics: ratio and emotion.”

These two poles of human existence – and particularly of artistic activity – are personified in Greek mythology by two gods: Apollo and Dionysus, sons of Zeus. The former stands for moderation, order and clarity, the latter for irrationality, chaos, amorphousness. And the two Dörken sisters see themselves as embodying this bipolarity: the chaotic, the wild – the Dionysian – aspects belong more to Kiveli’s nature, the older sister says, while order and clarity – the Apollonian attributes – are more Danae’s thing, according to the younger. Their new album, on which they present a very intimate look at their sisterly and artistic self-image with surprising and original repertoire combinations, thus bears the almost self-referential title of “Apollo & Dionysus”.

The core of the new album is Maurice Ravel’s Suite No. 2 from “Daphnis et Chloé”: “This piece has a particular significance for us because the Dionysian and Apollonian energies in it are equally balanced,” Danae says. “Apollo and Dionysus appear in it as advice-giving gods. The story illustrates very well what we want to express with the whole CD: that the synthesis of both worldviews, the rational, Apollonian one and the emotional Dionysian one, is important for discovering and developing one’s own personality.” The two “Songs Without Words” (Lieder ohne Worte) op. 38 No. 6 and op. 67 No. 2 by Mendelssohn, in four-handed arrangements by Carl Czerny, can, however, definitely be assigned to the Apollonian side: since the mid-1800s, in the Jewish Hasidic tradition, the song without words was considered a higher form of art and the expression of spiritual purity. In contrast, the “Hungarian Dances” by Johannes Brahms (Nos. 4 and 5 are recorded here) , which belong to the sisters’ core repertoire, allow one to feel a kind of mediation between the two spheres in the way (purported) folk music is translated into a formal classical language: “For us, these two dances, with their tempered exoticism, are a kind of synthesis of the Dionysian and the Apollonian.” The duo then becomes virtually ecstatic in Manuel de Falla’s “Dos Danzas”, and a similar energy, verging on a complete loss of control, is displayed in the popular “Zorba’s Dance” by Mikis Theodorakis in an arrangement by the Dörkens themselves: “It is perhaps one of the best-known Greek party songs and thus clearly belongs to Dionysus’s realm. For us, this melody and its sirtaki rhythm symbolise absolute joie de vivre, a celebration of the moment.” Albert Roussel’s “Danse de Bacchus”, an excerpt form the “Bacchus et Ariane” Suite No. 2 in the arrangement by Wolfgang Renz, also expresses intoxicated abandonment: “The way the piece is built up shows the effects of alcohol from slight tipsiness to uncontrolled staggering,” says Danae. “At one stage, things get very quiet; that perhaps represents the comatose consequences of wine. But then, a motive in the right hand of the first piano flashes a little mischievous or, better, diabolical grin that lets us know that the ecstatic dance will start all over again tomorrow.” The two pieces selected from the “12 Morceaux” op. 48 by Reinhold Glière, for their part, once more reflect the opposite aspect of the album’s theme: “The Arabesque is a short, passionate dance that carries you along immediately,” Danae says. “You feel straight away that you can’t escape its unstoppable power. The Fughetta, on the other hand, is a very structured piece; everything has its place; there is a plan. Apollo also stands for coherence, and the way the voices and themes are organised here creates a perfectly constructed musical entity.” The same goes for the most modern piece on the CD: the third movement from “Four Movements for Two Pianos” by Philip Glass is based on mathematical order; it makes shifts in that order, along with the resulting new order, perceptible to the listener. The album concludes with Claude Debussy’s “Reverie”: for the two pianists, “a treasure full of nostalgia, whose melody depicts a musical utopia and thus points the way to Apollo’s world.”

On “Apollo & Dionysus”, Kiveli and Danae Dörken present a programme that is both innovative and clever, a kind of musical visiting card for this highly energetic, life-affirming, stylistically versatile pair of sisters with their breathtaking pianistic abilities. For them, the piano duet is the most intimate form of chamber music – “a highly exposed art form, side by side on the same instrument” – that requires the most profound trust. And that is precisely what is conveyed on this CD with a seldom-heard naturalness in the course of a captivating musical journey of four hands on 88 keys.

Apollo & Dionysus Danae Dörken & Kiveli Dörken

Artist

Danae Dörken
Kiveli Dörken

Composer

Albert Roussel
Claude Debussy
Felix Mendelssohn
Johannes Brahms
Manuel de Falla

Further information

Genre

Klassik
Klavier

Publication date

25.08.2023



Four hands, 88 keys: Intimate piano psychograms from Olympus



With „Apollo & Dionysus“ the German-Greek sisters Danae and Kiveli Dörken are now, after several successful solo and ensemble recordings, presenting their first joint piano duet album: a studio debut with a sophisticated concept and breathtaking virtuosity.



Two sisters on one instrument. Each an exceptional pianist in her own right with an individual temperament; together, an inseparable single entity with identical musical DNA. Kiveli and Danae Dörken, an "orchestra of four hands" (Thüringische Landeszeitung), have been setting new benchmarks for years as a piano duo, both with their pianistic prowess (Kölner Stadt-Anzeiger: "a miracle of ease, charm and feeling") and their exceptional programmes. The two German-Greek sisters also regularly show that they are a born duo in every regard with their quirky and informative podcast "The Sister Trill", joint education projects ("Rhapsody in School" and "Klassik hautnah" or "MoToKey"/Tonali) and the Molyvos International Music Festival, which they founded in 2015 on the island of Lesbos.



Greece, with its culture, is the real inner homeland of the two sisters, born in Wuppertal and Düsseldorf. They began studying piano with Karl-Heinz Kämmerling at the ages of 11 and seven respectively as the youngest students in the history of the Hochschule Hannover, later continuing to work with Lars Vogt. During the summers of their childhood, their grandmother on Lesbos used to tell them stories of the Olympian gods. "And, like many Greek children, we also visited the Oracle of Delphi," recalls Kiveli, the younger of the two, "where we realised that a good decision always involves both divine characteristics: ratio and emotion."



These two poles of human existence – and particularly of artistic activity – are personified in Greek mythology by two gods: Apollo and Dionysus, sons of Zeus. The former stands for moderation, order and clarity, the latter for irrationality, chaos, amorphousness. And the two Dörken sisters see themselves as embodying this bipolarity: the chaotic, the wild – the Dionysian – aspects belong more to Kiveli's nature, the older sister says, while order and clarity – the Apollonian attributes – are more Danae's thing, according to the younger. Their new album, on which they present a very intimate look at their sisterly and artistic self-image with surprising and original repertoire combinations, thus bears the almost self-referential title of "Apollo & Dionysus".



The core of the new album is Maurice Ravel's Suite No. 2 from "Daphnis et Chloé": "This piece has a particular significance for us because the Dionysian and Apollonian energies in it are equally balanced," Danae says. "Apollo and Dionysus appear in it as advice-giving gods. The story illustrates very well what we want to express with the whole CD: that the synthesis of both worldviews, the rational, Apollonian one and the emotional Dionysian one, is important for discovering and developing one's own personality." The two "Songs Without Words" (Lieder ohne Worte) op. 38 No. 6 and op. 67 No. 2 by Mendelssohn, in four-handed arrangements by Carl Czerny, can, however, definitely be assigned to the Apollonian side: since the mid-1800s, in the Jewish Hasidic tradition, the song without words was considered a higher form of art and the expression of spiritual purity. In contrast, the "Hungarian Dances" by Johannes Brahms (Nos. 4 and 5 are recorded here) , which belong to the sisters' core repertoire, allow one to feel a kind of mediation between the two spheres in the way (purported) folk music is translated into a formal classical language: "For us, these two dances, with their tempered exoticism, are a kind of synthesis of the Dionysian and the Apollonian." The duo then becomes virtually ecstatic in Manuel de Falla's "Dos Danzas", and a similar energy, verging on a complete loss of control, is displayed in the popular "Zorba's Dance" by Mikis Theodorakis in an arrangement by the Dörkens themselves: "It is perhaps one of the best-known Greek party songs and thus clearly belongs to Dionysus's realm. For us, this melody and its sirtaki rhythm symbolise absolute joie de vivre, a celebration of the moment." Albert Roussel's "Danse de Bacchus", an excerpt form the "Bacchus et Ariane" Suite No. 2 in the arrangement by Wolfgang Renz, also expresses intoxicated abandonment: "The way the piece is built up shows the effects of alcohol from slight tipsiness to uncontrolled staggering," says Danae. "At one stage, things get very quiet; that perhaps represents the comatose consequences of wine. But then, a motive in the right hand of the first piano flashes a little mischievous or, better, diabolical grin that lets us know that the ecstatic dance will start all over again tomorrow." The two pieces selected from the "12 Morceaux" op. 48 by Reinhold Glière, for their part, once more reflect the opposite aspect of the album's theme: "The Arabesque is a short, passionate dance that carries you along immediately," Danae says. "You feel straight away that you can't escape its unstoppable power. The Fughetta, on the other hand, is a very structured piece; everything has its place; there is a plan. Apollo also stands for coherence, and the way the voices and themes are organised here creates a perfectly constructed musical entity." The same goes for the most modern piece on the CD: the third movement from "Four Movements for Two Pianos" by Philip Glass is based on mathematical order; it makes shifts in that order, along with the resulting new order, perceptible to the listener. The album concludes with Claude Debussy's "Reverie": for the two pianists, "a treasure full of nostalgia, whose melody depicts a musical utopia and thus points the way to Apollo's world."



On "Apollo & Dionysus", Kiveli and Danae Dörken present a programme that is both innovative and clever, a kind of musical visiting card for this highly energetic, life-affirming, stylistically versatile pair of sisters with their breathtaking pianistic abilities. For them, the piano duet is the most intimate form of chamber music – "a highly exposed art form, side by side on the same instrument" – that requires the most profound trust. And that is precisely what is conveyed on this CD with a seldom-heard naturalness in the course of a captivating musical journey of four hands on 88 keys.

Tracklist - These are the tracks you will hear on the album

Apollo & Dionysus
Danae Dörken & Kiveli Dörken
1
Spanish Dance No. 1
2
Spanish Dance No. 2
3
No. 6, Duetto
4
Ungarischer Tanz No. 4
5
Daphnis et Chloé Suite No. 2
6
No. 10, Fughetta
7
III.
8
"Dance of Bacchus"
9
No. 7, Arabesque
10
No. 2
11
Ungarischer Tanz No. 5
12
Zorba's Dance
13
Rêverie

More videos from Danae Dörken & Kiveli Dörken

previous
next
Dominik Wagner - Stille Nacht, heilige Nacht (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Felix Klieser - Bach: Weihnachtsoratorium, BWV 248:
Claire Huangci in Frankfurt - F. Schubert: Sonate Nr. 18 in G-Dur,  D 894 (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Felix Klieser - A Golden Christmas (Offizieller Albumtrailer)
Dominik Wagner - Queen: Bohemian Rhapsody (Double Bass Version) (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Ragnhild Hemsing - Vinterstemning (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Dominik Wagner - J. S. Bach: Suite No.1, BWV 1007 - Sarabande (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Claire Huangci in Frankfurt - Franz Schubert: Liebesbotschaft (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Matthias Höfs - Beethoven: Piano Sonata Nr. 8, Op. 13
Schumann Quartett - Erwin Schulhoff: Alla Tarantella (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Ragnhild Hemsing - Vetrahalling (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Matthias Kirschnereit - Bill Evans: Time Rememered (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Dominik Wagner - J. S. Bach: Suite No.1, BWV 1007 - Prelude (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Ragnhild Hemsing - Langeberglåtten (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Matthias Kirschnereit - Claude Debussy: Mouvement (Offizielles Musikvideo)

Other publications by Danae Dörken & Kiveli Dörken

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com

Vier Hände, 88 Tasten: intime Klavier-Psychogramme aus dem Olymp

Mit „Apollo & Dionysus“ präsentieren die deutsch-griechischen Schwestern Danae und Kiveli Dörken nach erfolgreichen Solo- und Ensembleeinspielungen nun ihr erstes gemeinsames Klavierduo-Album: ein Studiodebüt von konzeptioneller Raffinesse und atemberaubender Virtuosität.

Zwei Schwestern, ein Instrument. Jede für sich eine außergewöhnliche Pianistin von je eigenem Temperament, zusammen eine untrennbare Einheit mit identischer Musik-DNA. Kiveli und Danae Dörken, ein „Orchester aus vier Händen“ (Thüringische Landeszeitung), setzen seit Jahren als Klavierduo Maßstäbe: und das sowohl mit ihrer pianistischen Leistung (Kölner Stadt-Anzeiger: „ein Wunder an Leichtigkeit, Charme und Gefühl“) als auch durch ihre außergewöhnlichen Programme. Dass die beiden in jeglicher Hinsicht ein geborenes Duo sind, zeigen die griechisch-deutschen Schwestern regelmäßig auch in ihrem launig-informativen Podcast „The Sister Trill“, gemeinsamen Education-Projekten („Rhapsody in School“ und „Klassik hautnah“ oder „MoToKey“/Tonali) sowie bei dem 2015 von ihnen ins Leben gerufenen „Molyvos International Music Festival“ auf der Insel Lesbos.

Überhaupt ist Griechenland mit seiner Kultur die innere Heimat der in Wuppertal und Düsseldorf geborenen Schwestern, die mit elf bzw. sieben Jahren als jüngste Studentinnen in der Geschichte der Hochschule Hannover ein Klavierstudium bei Karl-Heinz Kämmerling begannen und dieses später bei Lars Vogt fortsetzten. In den Sommern ihrer Kindheit erzählte ihnen ihre Großmutter auf Lesbos Geschichten aus der olympischen Götterwelt. „Und wie viele griechische Kinder besuchten wir irgendwann auch das Orakel von Delphi“, erinnert sich mit Kiveli die jüngere der beiden, „wo wir begriffen, dass zu einer guten Entscheidung immer beide göttliche Eigenschaften gehören: Ratio und Emotion.“

Diese beiden Pole der menschlichen Existenz – und speziell auch des Künstlertums – sind in der griechischen Mythologie durch zwei Götter personifiziert, nämlich die Zeus-Söhne Apollon und Dionysos. Ersterer steht für das Maß, die Ordnung und Klarheit, Letzterer für das Irrationale, Chaotische, Ungeformte. Und die beiden Dörken-Schwestern erkennen sich gegenseitig in dieser Bipolarität wieder: Das Chaotisch, Wilde, also Dionysische sei eher Kivelis Natur, sagt die Ältere, das Geordnete, Klare, also Apollinische gehöre mehr zu Danae, ergänzt die Jüngere. Und so trägt ihr neues Album den fast selbstreferenziellen Titel „Apollo & Dionysus“, auf dem sie mit überraschenden und originellen Repertoire-Verbindungen einen sehr intimen Blick auf das schwesterlich-künstlerische Selbstverständnis freigeben.

Das Herzstück des neuen Albums bildet Maurice Ravels Suite Nr. 2 aus „Daphnis et Chloé“: „Das Stück berührt uns in besonderer Weise, weil sich in ihm dionysische und apollinische Energien die Waage halten“, erläutert Danae. „Apollo und Dionysos kommen darin als Rat gebende Götter vor. Die Erzählung illustriert sehr gut, was wir auch mit der gesamten CD ausdrücken wollen: dass die Synthese beider Weltanschauungen wichtig ist, der rational-apollinischen und der emotional-dionysischen, um die eigene Persönlichkeit zu finden und zu entwickeln.“ Eindeutig der apollinischen Fraktion zuzuordnen sind die beiden Mendelssohn‘schen „Lieder ohne Worte“ op. 38,6 und 67,2 in vierhändigen Arrangements von Carl Czerny, galt doch in der jüdisch-chassidischen Tradition seit Mitte des 18. Jahrhunderts der Gesang ohne Worte als höhere Kunst und Ausdruck spiritueller Reinheit. Bei den „Ungarischen Tänzen“ von Johannes Brahms (hier sind Nr. 4 und 5 eingespielt), die zum Urrepertoire der Schwestern zählen, ist dagegen eine Vermittlung zwischen beiden Sphären durch die Überführung von (vermeintlicher) Volksmusik in klassische Formensprache erkennbar: „Für uns stellen diese beiden Tänze in ihrer gezähmten Exotik eine Art Synthese aus Dionysischem und Apollinischem dar.“ Geradezu ekstatisch zeigt sich das Duo dann bei Manuel de Fallas „Dos Danzas“, und eine vergleichbare Energie bis hin zum Nahezu-Kontrollverlust offenbart auch der populäre „Zorba‘s Dance“ von Mikis Theodorakis in einem Dörken-eigenen Arrangement: „Es ist vielleicht eines der bekanntesten griechischen Party-Lieder und gehört damit klar in Dionysos‘ Reich. Für uns stehen diese Melodie und ihr Sirtaki-Rhythmus für absolute Lebensfreude, für die Feier des Moments.“ Auch bei Albert Roussels „Danse de Bacchus“, einem Ausschnitt aus der „Bacchus et Ariane“-Suite Nr. 1 in der Bearbeitung von Wolfgang Renz, wird sich dem Rausch ergeben: „Der Aufbau des Stücks zeigt die Wirkung des Alkohols vom leichten Schwips bis zum unkontrollierten Torkeln“, so Danae. „Irgendwann wird es ganz ruhig, vielleicht ist das die komatöse Konsequenz des Weines. Doch dann blitzt ein kleines Grinsen mit dem Motiv in der rechten Hand des ersten Klaviers auf, verschmitzt oder besser teuflisch, das signalisiert: Morgen wird der rauschhafte Tanz wieder von vorn losgehen.“ Dagegen spiegeln die zwei ausgewählten Stücke aus den „12 Morceaux“ op. 48 von Reinhold Glière wieder die gegenläufigen Prinzipien des Album-Themas: „Die Arabesque ist ein kurzer, leidenschaftlicher Tanz, der einen direkt mitreißt“, erläutert Danae. „Man spürt sofort, dass man sich der unaufhaltbaren Kraft darin nicht entziehen kann. Hingegen ist die Fughetta ein sehr strukturiertes Stück, alles hat seinen Platz, es gibt einen Plan. Apollo steht ja auch für die Logik und so entsteht hier in Stimm- und Themenführung ein perfekt konstruiertes Musikgebilde.“ Das gilt auch für die modernste Komposition der CD: Der dritte Satz aus „Four Movements for Two Pianos“ von Philip Glass basiert auf mathematischer Ordnung und macht deren Verschieben und eine sich daraus ergebende Neuordnung hörerlebbar. Den Abschluss des Albums markiert Claude Debussys „Reverie“: für die Pianistinnen „eine Kostbarkeit voller Nostalgie, deren Melodie eine musikalische Utopie zeichnet und damit den Weg in Apollos Welt weist.“

Auf „Apollo & Dionysus“ präsentieren Kiveli und Danae Dörken ein ebenso innovativ wie klug zusammengestelltes Programm, das als klingende Visitenkarte für dieses hochenergetisch-lebensbejahende, stilistisch facettenreiche und pianistisch atemberaubende Schwesternpaar daherkommt. Das Klavierduo sei für sie die intimste Form der Kammermusik: „eine entblößende Kunst, so dicht an dicht am selben Instrument“ – und dazu brauche es tiefstes Vertrauen. Genau das vermittelt sich auf dieser CD in einer sonst nur selten zu hörenden Selbstverständlichkeit im Laufe dieser fesselnden Klangreise von vier Händen auf 88 Tasten.

Apollo & Dionysus Danae Dörken & Kiveli Dörken

Künstler

Danae Dörken
Kiveli Dörken

Komponisten

Albert Roussel
Claude Debussy
Felix Mendelssohn
Johannes Brahms
Manuel de Falla

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Klassik
Klavier

Erscheinungsdatum

25.08.2023





Vier Hände, 88 Tasten: intime Klavier-Psychogramme aus dem Olymp



Mit „Apollo & Dionysus“ präsentieren die deutsch-griechischen Schwestern Danae und Kiveli Dörken nach erfolgreichen Solo- und Ensembleeinspielungen nun ihr erstes gemeinsames Klavierduo-Album: ein Studiodebüt von konzeptioneller Raffinesse und atemberaubender Virtuosität.



Zwei Schwestern, ein Instrument. Jede für sich eine außergewöhnliche Pianistin von je eigenem Temperament, zusammen eine untrennbare Einheit mit identischer Musik-DNA. Kiveli und Danae Dörken, ein „Orchester aus vier Händen“ (Thüringische Landeszeitung), setzen seit Jahren als Klavierduo Maßstäbe: und das sowohl mit ihrer pianistischen Leistung (Kölner Stadt-Anzeiger: „ein Wunder an Leichtigkeit, Charme und Gefühl“) als auch durch ihre außergewöhnlichen Programme. Dass die beiden in jeglicher Hinsicht ein geborenes Duo sind, zeigen die griechisch-deutschen Schwestern regelmäßig auch in ihrem launig-informativen Podcast „The Sister Trill“, gemeinsamen Education-Projekten („Rhapsody in School“ und „Klassik hautnah“ oder „MoToKey“/Tonali) sowie bei dem 2015 von ihnen ins Leben gerufenen „Molyvos International Music Festival“ auf der Insel Lesbos.



Überhaupt ist Griechenland mit seiner Kultur die innere Heimat der in Wuppertal und Düsseldorf geborenen Schwestern, die mit elf bzw. sieben Jahren als jüngste Studentinnen in der Geschichte der Hochschule Hannover ein Klavierstudium bei Karl-Heinz Kämmerling begannen und dieses später bei Lars Vogt fortsetzten. In den Sommern ihrer Kindheit erzählte ihnen ihre Großmutter auf Lesbos Geschichten aus der olympischen Götterwelt. „Und wie viele griechische Kinder besuchten wir irgendwann auch das Orakel von Delphi“, erinnert sich mit Kiveli die jüngere der beiden, „wo wir begriffen, dass zu einer guten Entscheidung immer beide göttliche Eigenschaften gehören: Ratio und Emotion.“



Diese beiden Pole der menschlichen Existenz – und speziell auch des Künstlertums – sind in der griechischen Mythologie durch zwei Götter personifiziert, nämlich die Zeus-Söhne Apollon und Dionysos. Ersterer steht für das Maß, die Ordnung und Klarheit, Letzterer für das Irrationale, Chaotische, Ungeformte. Und die beiden Dörken-Schwestern erkennen sich gegenseitig in dieser Bipolarität wieder: Das Chaotisch, Wilde, also Dionysische sei eher Kivelis Natur, sagt die Ältere, das Geordnete, Klare, also Apollinische gehöre mehr zu Danae, ergänzt die Jüngere. Und so trägt ihr neues Album den fast selbstreferenziellen Titel „Apollo & Dionysus“, auf dem sie mit überraschenden und originellen Repertoire-Verbindungen einen sehr intimen Blick auf das schwesterlich-künstlerische Selbstverständnis freigeben.



Das Herzstück des neuen Albums bildet Maurice Ravels Suite Nr. 2 aus „Daphnis et Chloé“: „Das Stück berührt uns in besonderer Weise, weil sich in ihm dionysische und apollinische Energien die Waage halten“, erläutert Danae. „Apollo und Dionysos kommen darin als Rat gebende Götter vor. Die Erzählung illustriert sehr gut, was wir auch mit der gesamten CD ausdrücken wollen: dass die Synthese beider Weltanschauungen wichtig ist, der rational-apollinischen und der emotional-dionysischen, um die eigene Persönlichkeit zu finden und zu entwickeln.“ Eindeutig der apollinischen Fraktion zuzuordnen sind die beiden Mendelssohn‘schen „Lieder ohne Worte“ op. 38,6 und 67,2 in vierhändigen Arrangements von Carl Czerny, galt doch in der jüdisch-chassidischen Tradition seit Mitte des 18. Jahrhunderts der Gesang ohne Worte als höhere Kunst und Ausdruck spiritueller Reinheit. Bei den „Ungarischen Tänzen“ von Johannes Brahms (hier sind Nr. 4 und 5 eingespielt), die zum Urrepertoire der Schwestern zählen, ist dagegen eine Vermittlung zwischen beiden Sphären durch die Überführung von (vermeintlicher) Volksmusik in klassische Formensprache erkennbar: „Für uns stellen diese beiden Tänze in ihrer gezähmten Exotik eine Art Synthese aus Dionysischem und Apollinischem dar.“ Geradezu ekstatisch zeigt sich das Duo dann bei Manuel de Fallas „Dos Danzas“, und eine vergleichbare Energie bis hin zum Nahezu-Kontrollverlust offenbart auch der populäre „Zorba‘s Dance“ von Mikis Theodorakis in einem Dörken-eigenen Arrangement: „Es ist vielleicht eines der bekanntesten griechischen Party-Lieder und gehört damit klar in Dionysos‘ Reich. Für uns stehen diese Melodie und ihr Sirtaki-Rhythmus für absolute Lebensfreude, für die Feier des Moments.“ Auch bei Albert Roussels „Danse de Bacchus“, einem Ausschnitt aus der „Bacchus et Ariane“-Suite Nr. 1 in der Bearbeitung von Wolfgang Renz, wird sich dem Rausch ergeben: „Der Aufbau des Stücks zeigt die Wirkung des Alkohols vom leichten Schwips bis zum unkontrollierten Torkeln“, so Danae. „Irgendwann wird es ganz ruhig, vielleicht ist das die komatöse Konsequenz des Weines. Doch dann blitzt ein kleines Grinsen mit dem Motiv in der rechten Hand des ersten Klaviers auf, verschmitzt oder besser teuflisch, das signalisiert: Morgen wird der rauschhafte Tanz wieder von vorn losgehen.“ Dagegen spiegeln die zwei ausgewählten Stücke aus den „12 Morceaux“ op. 48 von Reinhold Glière wieder die gegenläufigen Prinzipien des Album-Themas: „Die Arabesque ist ein kurzer, leidenschaftlicher Tanz, der einen direkt mitreißt“, erläutert Danae. „Man spürt sofort, dass man sich der unaufhaltbaren Kraft darin nicht entziehen kann. Hingegen ist die Fughetta ein sehr strukturiertes Stück, alles hat seinen Platz, es gibt einen Plan. Apollo steht ja auch für die Logik und so entsteht hier in Stimm- und Themenführung ein perfekt konstruiertes Musikgebilde.“ Das gilt auch für die modernste Komposition der CD: Der dritte Satz aus „Four Movements for Two Pianos“ von Philip Glass basiert auf mathematischer Ordnung und macht deren Verschieben und eine sich daraus ergebende Neuordnung hörerlebbar. Den Abschluss des Albums markiert Claude Debussys „Reverie“: für die Pianistinnen „eine Kostbarkeit voller Nostalgie, deren Melodie eine musikalische Utopie zeichnet und damit den Weg in Apollos Welt weist.“



Auf „Apollo & Dionysus“ präsentieren Kiveli und Danae Dörken ein ebenso innovativ wie klug zusammengestelltes Programm, das als klingende Visitenkarte für dieses hochenergetisch-lebensbejahende, stilistisch facettenreiche und pianistisch atemberaubende Schwesternpaar daherkommt. Das Klavierduo sei für sie die intimste Form der Kammermusik: „eine entblößende Kunst, so dicht an dicht am selben Instrument“ – und dazu brauche es tiefstes Vertrauen. Genau das vermittelt sich auf dieser CD in einer sonst nur selten zu hörenden Selbstverständlichkeit im Laufe dieser fesselnden Klangreise von vier Händen auf 88 Tasten.

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

Apollo & Dionysus
Danae Dörken & Kiveli Dörken
1
Spanish Dance No. 1
2
Spanish Dance No. 2
3
No. 6, Duetto
4
Ungarischer Tanz No. 4
5
Daphnis et Chloé Suite No. 2
6
No. 10, Fughetta
7
III.
8
"Dance of Bacchus"
9
No. 7, Arabesque
10
No. 2
11
Ungarischer Tanz No. 5
12
Zorba's Dance
13
Rêverie

Weitere Videos von Danae Dörken & Kiveli Dörken

zurück
weiter
Salaputia Brass - Je veux (Arr. für Brass Ensemble) [Offizielles Musikvideo]
Salaputia Brass - G. Fauré: Après une rêve, Op. 7, No. 1 (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Beethoven - Klaviersonate Nr. 28, op. 101: I. Allegretto, ma non troppo (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Asya Fateyeva: Bernart de Ventadorn - Can Vei La Lauzetta Mover (Das Lerchenlied)
Anouchka & Katharina Hack - N. Boulanger: Trois Pièces (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Salaputia Brass - Léo Ferré: Paris Canaille (Offizielles Musikvideo)
SIGNUM saxophone quartet: Haydn - String Quartet No. 37 B Minor, Op. 33: IV. Finale: Presto
Katharina Konradi & Cosmos Quartet - Greensleeves (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Asya Fateyeva, Bo Wiget, Matthias Loibner & Emil Kuyumcuyan: Raimbaut de Vaqueiras - Kalenda Maya
Beethoven - Klaviersonate Nr. 8 in c-Moll, op. 13 „Pathétique“: II. Adagio (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Asya Fateyeva, Bo Wiget, Matthias Loibner, Emil Kuyumcuyan: Bertrand Plé - Interlude III
SIGNUM saxophone quartet - AC/DC: Thunderstruck (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Salaputia Brass - Erik Satie: Je te veux (Offizielles Musik Video)
Katharina Konradi & Cosmos Quartet - Les feuilles mortes (Offizielles Musikvideo)
SIGNUM saxophone quartet, Eckart Runge: Prayer (from Jewish Life) - Ernest Bloch

Weitere Veröffentlichungen von Danae Dörken & Kiveli Dörken

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com