The German-Greek pianist Danae Dörken has known the 24 books of Homer’s Odyssey since childhood. “The Odyssey has fascinated me ever since I was small. Even when I was a little girl, my grandparents would read it to me before I went to sleep,” she recalls in her booklet talk with Jesper Klein. The wanderer’s tale from classical antiquity is a story of travelling, making mistakes, going astray, a tale of dreams and landings, and for Danae Dörken it is more contemporary than ever: “I see this as a highly topical story. I believe we are embarked upon a modern Odyssey.” Today’s many challenges, like climate change or worldwide migration as a result of extreme hardship and often violence, keep bringing modern society to unavoidable forks in the road. And the road taken can be very quickly revealed as a dead end, causing a further change of direction. Corona precautions have repeatedly reminded us of that during the past two years.
Rather than losing heart, Danae Dörken finds it “exciting to be living at such a point in time … on such a journey, there are hopeful moments and moments of despair”. And so she has ventured out on her debut album “Odyssee” from Berlin Classics on a quite deliberate musical journey. The album’s release date is April 22, 2022.
This journey begins with Fazıl Say’s piece about loneliness, Black Earth. Then we hear the enchanting voices of the Sirènes from Claude Debussy’s Trois Nocturnes, seductively conveyed by the piano, followed by Charles Gounod’s Souvenance, music of remembrance, which praises life as worth remembering despite all its challenges. Franz Liszt’s Das Wandern focuses on the simple process of moving on. “Felix Mendelssohn’s expansive Fantasie op. 28, rich in lively figuration in the outer movements and the most Classical piece on the album, is actually a piece about travel in the truest sense of the word,” writes Jesper Klein in the booklet. During her research for “Odyssee”, Danae Dörken came across a different kind of piece, Waiting for Friday by Syrian composer Kinan Azmeh – a piece that begins very modestly and casually, only to ascend into immensely dramatic heights and so – says Dörken – to signal that things turn out badly. Not all journeys have a happy ending. In the case of Manos Hatzidakisʼ Waltz of lost dreams, which she heard as a child on a wide variety of instruments, Danae Dörken is reminded at once of Greek dance music: “Greek songs are more often about hard times than good times. It is characteristic of Greek music to celebrate life even when things are difficult,” she reflects. Waltz of lost dreams gives the feel of this Greek mentality. The album’s conclusion comes in the last piece but one, Charles Gounod’s Marche funèbre dʼune marionnette, a funeral march for a puppet, only to release the travelling listener on a reassuring note with Vangelisʼ Moonlight Reflections, dreamily drifting music.
“The proper ending of the journey is the funeral march, as I see it,” maintains Dörken in the booklet. For all her musical engagement, the artist with roots on the Greek island of Lesbos is constantly taking a political stance. With her album “Odyssee”, the pianist also means to draw attention to the never-ending odysseys of fellow human beings driven to flight, many thousands of whom have been forced to stay on the island of Lesbos. “As a Greek woman from Lesbos I am constantly confronted with the refugee crisis, of course. We should like to send the message that humanity is paramount. All the same, it is not enough for the people there to show compassion. It is not a problem that the islanders can solve on their own.” The album “Odyssee” is also an appeal to all of us to understand, to be aware not only of our own journey through life, but to have fellow-feeling for the odyssey of society, of humanity, in our own dealings with others.
The poet Argyris Eftaliotis (1849-1923) is buried on the beach of Eftalou. He translated Homer’s Odyssey into modern Greek. He wrote: “To love the light, you must feel the darkness.”

Odyssee Danae Dörken

Composer

Charles Gounod
Claude Debussy
Fazıl Say
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy
Franz Liszt

Further information

Genre

Klassik
Klavier

Publication date

22.04.2022



The German-Greek pianist Danae Dörken has known the 24 books of Homer’s Odyssey since childhood. “The Odyssey has fascinated me ever since I was small. Even when I was a little girl, my grandparents would read it to me before I went to sleep,” she recalls in her booklet talk with Jesper Klein. The wanderer’s tale from classical antiquity is a story of travelling, making mistakes, going astray, a tale of dreams and landings, and for Danae Dörken it is more contemporary than ever: “I see this as a highly topical story. I believe we are embarked upon a modern Odyssey.” Today’s many challenges, like climate change or worldwide migration as a result of extreme hardship and often violence, keep bringing modern society to unavoidable forks in the road. And the road taken can be very quickly revealed as a dead end, causing a further change of direction. Corona precautions have repeatedly reminded us of that during the past two years.

Rather than losing heart, Danae Dörken finds it “exciting to be living at such a point in time … on such a journey, there are hopeful moments and moments of despair”. And so she has ventured out on her debut album “Odyssee” from Berlin Classics on a quite deliberate musical journey. The album’s release date is April 22, 2022.

This journey begins with Fazıl Say’s piece about loneliness, Black Earth. Then we hear the enchanting voices of the Sirènes from Claude Debussy’s Trois Nocturnes, seductively conveyed by the piano, followed by Charles Gounod’s Souvenance, music of remembrance, which praises life as worth remembering despite all its challenges. Franz Liszt’s Das Wandern focuses on the simple process of moving on. “Felix Mendelssohn’s expansive Fantasie op. 28, rich in lively figuration in the outer movements and the most Classical piece on the album, is actually a piece about travel in the truest sense of the word,” writes Jesper Klein in the booklet. During her research for “Odyssee”, Danae Dörken came across a different kind of piece, Waiting for Friday by Syrian composer Kinan Azmeh – a piece that begins very modestly and casually, only to ascend into immensely dramatic heights and so – says Dörken – to signal that things turn out badly. Not all journeys have a happy ending. In the case of Manos Hatzidakisʼ Waltz of lost dreams, which she heard as a child on a wide variety of instruments, Danae Dörken is reminded at once of Greek dance music: “Greek songs are more often about hard times than good times. It is characteristic of Greek music to celebrate life even when things are difficult,” she reflects. Waltz of lost dreams gives the feel of this Greek mentality. The album’s conclusion comes in the last piece but one, Charles Gounod’s Marche funèbre dʼune marionnette, a funeral march for a puppet, only to release the travelling listener on a reassuring note with Vangelisʼ Moonlight Reflections, dreamily drifting music.

“The proper ending of the journey is the funeral march, as I see it,” maintains Dörken in the booklet. For all her musical engagement, the artist with roots on the Greek island of Lesbos is constantly taking a political stance. With her album “Odyssee”, the pianist also means to draw attention to the never-ending odysseys of fellow human beings driven to flight, many thousands of whom have been forced to stay on the island of Lesbos. “As a Greek woman from Lesbos I am constantly confronted with the refugee crisis, of course. We should like to send the message that humanity is paramount. All the same, it is not enough for the people there to show compassion. It is not a problem that the islanders can solve on their own.” The album “Odyssee” is also an appeal to all of us to understand, to be aware not only of our own journey through life, but to have fellow-feeling for the odyssey of society, of humanity, in our own dealings with others.

The poet Argyris Eftaliotis (1849-1923) is buried on the beach of Eftalou. He translated Homer’s Odyssey into modern Greek. He wrote: “To love the light, you must feel the darkness.”

Tracklist - These are the tracks you will hear on the album

Odyssee
Danae Dörken
1
Black Earth
2
Sirènes
3
Souvenance
4
Das Wandern, S. 565 No. 1
5
Fantasie in F-Sharp Minor, Op. 28
6
Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune, L. 86
7
Waiting For Friday
8
2. Au lac de Wallenstadt
9
Waltz of lost Dreams
10
Marche funèbre d'une marionnette, CG 583
11
Moonlight Reflections

More videos from Danae Dörken

previous
next
Asya Fateyeva - Pons de Capduelh: Us Gais Conortz Me Fai Gajaman Far (Official Music Video)
Asya Fateyeva, Bo Wiget, Matthias Loibner, Emil Kuyumcuyan: Bertrand Plé - Interlude III
Salaputia Brass - Je veux (Arr. für Brass Ensemble) [Offizielles Musikvideo]
Salaputia Brass - G. Fauré: Après une rêve, Op. 7, No. 1 (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Beethoven - Klaviersonate Nr. 28, op. 101: I. Allegretto, ma non troppo (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Asya Fateyeva: Bernart de Ventadorn - Can Vei La Lauzetta Mover (Das Lerchenlied)
Anouchka & Katharina Hack - N. Boulanger: Trois Pièces (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Salaputia Brass - Léo Ferré: Paris Canaille (Offizielles Musikvideo)
SIGNUM saxophone quartet: Haydn - String Quartet No. 37 B Minor, Op. 33: IV. Finale: Presto
Katharina Konradi & Cosmos Quartet - Greensleeves (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Asya Fateyeva, Bo Wiget, Matthias Loibner & Emil Kuyumcuyan: Raimbaut de Vaqueiras - Kalenda Maya
Beethoven - Klaviersonate Nr. 8 in c-Moll, op. 13 „Pathétique“: II. Adagio (Offizielles Musikvideo)
SIGNUM saxophone quartet - AC/DC: Thunderstruck (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Salaputia Brass - Erik Satie: Je te veux (Offizielles Musik Video)
Katharina Konradi & Cosmos Quartet - Les feuilles mortes (Offizielles Musikvideo)

Other publications by Danae Dörken

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com

Die deutsch-griechische Pianistin Danae Dörken kennt die 24 Gesänge von Homers Odyssee seit ihrer Kindheit auswendig. „Die Odyssee hat mich von klein auf fasziniert. Schon als Kind wurde sie mir als Gute-Nacht-Geschichte von meinen Großeltern vorgelesen“, erzählt sie im Booklet-Gespräch mit Jesper Klein. Die antike Irrfahrt ist eine Geschichte vom Reisen, Irren, Verirren, vom Träumen und Anlanden und für Danae Dörken zeitgemäßer denn je: „Für mich ist es eine sehr aktuelle Geschichte. Ich glaube, dass wir eine moderne Odyssee durchmachen.“ Die vielen heutigen Herausforderungen wie der Klimawandel oder auch die weltweite Migration aufgrund von existentieller Not und vielerorts Gewalt bringen die moderne Gesellschaft immer wieder an grundlegende Scheidewege. Und der beschrittene Weg kann sich in kurzer Zeit als Sackgasse herausstellen, der zum Kurswechsel führt – die Corona-Maßnahmen haben uns das in den letzten zwei Jahren immer wieder vor Augen geführt.
Statt daran zu zerbrechen, findet Danae Dörken es „spannend, in einer solchen Zeit zu leben. … auf so einer Reise gibt es hoffnungsvolle und verzweifelte Momente.“ Und so begibt sie sich auf ihrem Debüt Album „Odyssee“ bei Berlin Classics auf eine ganz bewusste musikalische Reise. Das Album erscheint am 22. April 2022.
Diese Reise beginnt mit Fazıl Says Stück über die Einsamkeit Black Earth. Es tönen dann die Sirènes aus Claude Debussys Trois Nocturnes, die das Klavier betörend singen lassen, gefolgt von Charles Gounods Souvenance, einer Erinnerungsmusik, die das Leben trotz aller Herausforderungen als erinnerungswert lobpreist. Mit Franz Liszts Das Wandern wird der bloße Aspekt des Fortkommens in den Vordergrund gestellt. „Auch Felix Mendelssohns ausladende Fantasie op. 28, reich an bewegten Spielfiguren in den Rahmensätzen und das klassischste Stück des Albums, ist zunächst eine Reisemusik im wahrsten Sinne“, so Jesper Klein im Booklet-Text. Bei der Recherche für „Odyssee“ stieß Danae Dörken aber auch auf Waiting for Friday des syrischen Komponisten Kinan Azmeh – ein Stück, das sehr unscheinbar und beiläufig beginnt, um sich dann in eine immense Dramatik zu steigern und so – laut Dörken – von einem unheilvollen Ende künden. Nicht alle Reisen enden glücklich. Bei Manos Hatzidakisʼ Waltz of lost dreams, den sie als Kind auf ganz verschiedenen Instrumenten hörte, denkt Danae Dörken sofort an griechische Tanzmusik: „Die griechischen Lieder handeln mehr von den schwierigen als von den schönen Momenten. Es ist ein Merkmal der griechischen Musik, das Leben auch in den schwierigen Momenten zu feiern“, erzählt sie. In Waltz of lost dreams spürt man etwas von dieser griechischen Mentalität. Das Album schließt im vorletzten Stück mit Charles Gounods Marche funèbre dʼune marionnette, also einem Trauermarsch und entlässt den mitreisenden Hörer dann wieder versöhnlich durch Vangelisʼ Moonlight Reflections, einer traumgleich schwebenden Musik.
„Das richtige Ende der Reise ist für mich der Trauermarsch,“ so Dörken jedoch im Booklet. Die Künstlerin mit Wurzeln auf der griechischen Insel Lesbos positioniert sich neben ihrem musikalischen Engagement auch immer wieder politisch. Mit dem Album „Odyssee“ möchte die Pianistin auch auf die schier endlosen Odysseen der zur Flucht getriebenen Mitmenschen aufmerksam machen, von denen viele Tausende zum Halt auf der Insel Lesbos gezwungen sind. „Als Griechin aus Lesbos bin ich natürlich viel mit der Flüchtlingskrise konfrontiert. Wir möchten vermitteln, dass Menschlichkeit an erster Stelle steht. Es reicht aber nicht, dass sich die Leute dort ein Herz fassen. Das Problem können die Bewohner der Insel nicht allein lösen.“ Das Album „Odyssee“ ist auch als Appell an uns alle zu verstehen, nicht nur die eigene Lebensreise im Blick zu haben, sondern mitmenschlich die Odyssee der Gesellschaft, der Menschheit an sich beim eigenen Handeln zumindest mitzudenken.
Am Strand von Eftalou ist der Dichter Argyris Eftaliotis (1849 – 1923) begraben. Er übersetzte einst Homers Odyssee ins Neugriechische. Er schrieb: „Du musst Dunkelheit spüren, um das Licht zu lieben.“

Odyssee Danae Dörken

Künstler

Danae Dörken

Komponisten

Charles Gounod
Claude Debussy
Fazıl Say
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy
Franz Liszt

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Klassik
Klavier

Erscheinungsdatum

22.04.2022



Die deutsch-griechische Pianistin Danae Dörken kennt die 24 Gesänge von Homers Odyssee seit ihrer Kindheit auswendig. „Die Odyssee hat mich von klein auf fasziniert. Schon als Kind wurde sie mir als Gute-Nacht-Geschichte von meinen Großeltern vorgelesen“, erzählt sie im Booklet-Gespräch mit Jesper Klein. Die antike Irrfahrt ist eine Geschichte vom Reisen, Irren, Verirren, vom Träumen und Anlanden und für Danae Dörken zeitgemäßer denn je: „Für mich ist es eine sehr aktuelle Geschichte. Ich glaube, dass wir eine moderne Odyssee durchmachen.“ Die vielen heutigen Herausforderungen wie der Klimawandel oder auch die weltweite Migration aufgrund von existentieller Not und vielerorts Gewalt bringen die moderne Gesellschaft immer wieder an grundlegende Scheidewege. Und der beschrittene Weg kann sich in kurzer Zeit als Sackgasse herausstellen, der zum Kurswechsel führt – die Corona-Maßnahmen haben uns das in den letzten zwei Jahren immer wieder vor Augen geführt.

Statt daran zu zerbrechen, findet Danae Dörken es „spannend, in einer solchen Zeit zu leben. … auf so einer Reise gibt es hoffnungsvolle und verzweifelte Momente.“ Und so begibt sie sich auf ihrem Debüt Album „Odyssee“ bei Berlin Classics auf eine ganz bewusste musikalische Reise. Das Album erscheint am 22. April 2022.

Diese Reise beginnt mit Fazıl Says Stück über die Einsamkeit Black Earth. Es tönen dann die Sirènes aus Claude Debussys Trois Nocturnes, die das Klavier betörend singen lassen, gefolgt von Charles Gounods Souvenance, einer Erinnerungsmusik, die das Leben trotz aller Herausforderungen als erinnerungswert lobpreist. Mit Franz Liszts Das Wandern wird der bloße Aspekt des Fortkommens in den Vordergrund gestellt. „Auch Felix Mendelssohns ausladende Fantasie op. 28, reich an bewegten Spielfiguren in den Rahmensätzen und das klassischste Stück des Albums, ist zunächst eine Reisemusik im wahrsten Sinne“, so Jesper Klein im Booklet-Text. Bei der Recherche für „Odyssee“ stieß Danae Dörken aber auch auf Waiting for Friday des syrischen Komponisten Kinan Azmeh – ein Stück, das sehr unscheinbar und beiläufig beginnt, um sich dann in eine immense Dramatik zu steigern und so – laut Dörken – von einem unheilvollen Ende künden. Nicht alle Reisen enden glücklich. Bei Manos Hatzidakisʼ Waltz of lost dreams, den sie als Kind auf ganz verschiedenen Instrumenten hörte, denkt Danae Dörken sofort an griechische Tanzmusik: „Die griechischen Lieder handeln mehr von den schwierigen als von den schönen Momenten. Es ist ein Merkmal der griechischen Musik, das Leben auch in den schwierigen Momenten zu feiern“, erzählt sie. In Waltz of lost dreams spürt man etwas von dieser griechischen Mentalität. Das Album schließt im vorletzten Stück mit Charles Gounods Marche funèbre dʼune marionnette, also einem Trauermarsch und entlässt den mitreisenden Hörer dann wieder versöhnlich durch Vangelisʼ Moonlight Reflections, einer traumgleich schwebenden Musik.

„Das richtige Ende der Reise ist für mich der Trauermarsch,“ so Dörken jedoch im Booklet. Die Künstlerin mit Wurzeln auf der griechischen Insel Lesbos positioniert sich neben ihrem musikalischen Engagement auch immer wieder politisch. Mit dem Album „Odyssee“ möchte die Pianistin auch auf die schier endlosen Odysseen der zur Flucht getriebenen Mitmenschen aufmerksam machen, von denen viele Tausende zum Halt auf der Insel Lesbos gezwungen sind. „Als Griechin aus Lesbos bin ich natürlich viel mit der Flüchtlingskrise konfrontiert. Wir möchten vermitteln, dass Menschlichkeit an erster Stelle steht. Es reicht aber nicht, dass sich die Leute dort ein Herz fassen. Das Problem können die Bewohner der Insel nicht allein lösen.“ Das Album „Odyssee“ ist auch als Appell an uns alle zu verstehen, nicht nur die eigene Lebensreise im Blick zu haben, sondern mitmenschlich die Odyssee der Gesellschaft, der Menschheit an sich beim eigenen Handeln zumindest mitzudenken.

Am Strand von Eftalou ist der Dichter Argyris Eftaliotis (1849 – 1923) begraben. Er übersetzte einst Homers Odyssee ins Neugriechische. Er schrieb: „Du musst Dunkelheit spüren, um das Licht zu lieben.“

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

Odyssee
Danae Dörken
1
Black Earth
2
Sirènes
3
Souvenance
4
Das Wandern, S. 565 No. 1
5
Fantasie in F-Sharp Minor, Op. 28
6
Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune, L. 86
7
Waiting For Friday
8
2. Au lac de Wallenstadt
9
Waltz of lost Dreams
10
Marche funèbre d'une marionnette, CG 583
11
Moonlight Reflections

Weitere Videos von Danae Dörken

zurück
weiter
Salaputia Brass - Je veux (Arr. für Brass Ensemble) [Offizielles Musikvideo]
Salaputia Brass - G. Fauré: Après une rêve, Op. 7, No. 1 (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Beethoven - Klaviersonate Nr. 28, op. 101: I. Allegretto, ma non troppo (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Asya Fateyeva: Bernart de Ventadorn - Can Vei La Lauzetta Mover (Das Lerchenlied)
Anouchka & Katharina Hack - N. Boulanger: Trois Pièces (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Salaputia Brass - Léo Ferré: Paris Canaille (Offizielles Musikvideo)
SIGNUM saxophone quartet: Haydn - String Quartet No. 37 B Minor, Op. 33: IV. Finale: Presto
Katharina Konradi & Cosmos Quartet - Greensleeves (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Asya Fateyeva, Bo Wiget, Matthias Loibner & Emil Kuyumcuyan: Raimbaut de Vaqueiras - Kalenda Maya
Beethoven - Klaviersonate Nr. 8 in c-Moll, op. 13 „Pathétique“: II. Adagio (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Asya Fateyeva, Bo Wiget, Matthias Loibner, Emil Kuyumcuyan: Bertrand Plé - Interlude III
SIGNUM saxophone quartet - AC/DC: Thunderstruck (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Salaputia Brass - Erik Satie: Je te veux (Offizielles Musik Video)
Katharina Konradi & Cosmos Quartet - Les feuilles mortes (Offizielles Musikvideo)
SIGNUM saxophone quartet, Eckart Runge: Prayer (from Jewish Life) - Ernest Bloch

Weitere Veröffentlichungen von Danae Dörken

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com