“A wave of intrigue for the exotic guitar swept across Vienna during the first half of the 19th century and Schubert and Diabelli were in the midst of this so-called “Guitaromania”. Schubert never owned a piano, but had access to guitars and possibly even owned one or two. Also, many of Schubert’s close friends played guitar, including Mayrhofer, Vogl, Hüttenbrenner and Grillparzer. Schubert composed at a desk, not using any instrument, but many of his song accompaniments have an uncanny resemblance to guitar patterns. An example of this is his song Die Nacht, which was in most likelihood composed for guitar and voice – the accompaniment bearing a strong resemblance to the piano part of “Wohin?” from Die schöne Müllerin.”

Ammiel Bushakevitz, guitarist, pianist and author of these lines, found a musical ally in soprano Katharina Konradi and in this recording of Schubert songs for piano and guitar.

The recording, co-produced with BR-KLASSIK and now released by Berlin Classics, is dedicated to the theme of “Insomnia”, Sleeplessness. Katharina Konradi writes about it:

“Night and sleep are two important companions of mine, they heal everything, and can restore our world to order over and over again. Even if it is only for the time that they last. The meaning of night as a healer is something that it took me time to understand. Doubt and fears, joy or sorrow: I try to put all that aside over night and decide the next morning what is true and what is not.”

The decision to arrange some of the Schubert songs for guitar was made intuitively by the musicians – Konradi’s soprano is, in Bushakevitz’s opinion, suited like no other for this delicate combination of instrument and voice. Katharina Konradi names the unique challenge of this combination as follows:

“With the guitar I had to set my voice at a new level, find a more intimate, lighter and maybe more relaxed tone. Because when I sing to the guitar, my bodily tension is different. I feel myself closer to my accompanist, almost as if we had a tacit agreement that we were making music just for ourselves. The great challenge then is to draw the audience into this intimacy and make them part of something almost secret.“

Insomnia Katharina Konradi & Ammiel Bushakevitz

Artist

Katharina Konradi
Ammiel Bushakevitz

Composer

Franz Schubert

Further information

Genre

Klassik
Kunstlied Sopran

Publication date

28.04.2023



“A wave of intrigue for the exotic guitar swept across Vienna during the first half of the 19th century and Schubert and Diabelli were in the midst of this so-called “Guitaromania”. Schubert never owned a piano, but had access to guitars and possibly even owned one or two. Also, many of Schubert’s close friends played guitar, including Mayrhofer, Vogl, Hüttenbrenner and Grillparzer. Schubert composed at a desk, not using any instrument, but many of his song accompaniments have an uncanny resemblance to guitar patterns. An example of this is his song Die Nacht, which was in most likelihood composed for guitar and voice – the accompaniment bearing a strong resemblance to the piano part of “Wohin?” from Die schöne Müllerin.”



Ammiel Bushakevitz, guitarist, pianist and author of these lines, found a musical ally in soprano Katharina Konradi and in this recording of Schubert songs for piano and guitar.



The recording, co-produced with BR-KLASSIK and now released by Berlin Classics, is dedicated to the theme of "Insomnia", Sleeplessness. Katharina Konradi writes about it:



“Night and sleep are two important companions of mine, they heal everything, and can restore our world to order over and over again. Even if it is only for the time that they last. The meaning of night as a healer is something that it took me time to understand. Doubt and fears, joy or sorrow: I try to put all that aside over night and decide the next morning what is true and what is not.”



The decision to arrange some of the Schubert songs for guitar was made intuitively by the musicians - Konradi's soprano is, in Bushakevitz's opinion, suited like no other for this delicate combination of instrument and voice. Katharina Konradi names the unique challenge of this combination as follows:



“With the guitar I had to set my voice at a new level, find a more intimate, lighter and maybe more relaxed tone. Because when I sing to the guitar, my bodily tension is different. I feel myself closer to my accompanist, almost as if we had a tacit agreement that we were making music just for ourselves. The great challenge then is to draw the audience into this intimacy and make them part of something almost secret.“

Tracklist - These are the tracks you will hear on the album

Insomnia
Katharina Konradi & Ammiel Bushakevitz
1
An die untergehende Sonne, D. 457
2
Im Abendrot, D. 799
3
An mein Herz, D. 860
4
Berthas Lied in der Nacht, D. 653
5
Die Nacht
6
Die Sterne, D. 939
7
No. 4, Ständchen
8
An den Mond, D. 296
9
Der Geistertanz, D. 116
10
Des Fischers Liebesglück, D. 933
11
Lied der Anne Lyle, D. 830
12
An die Nachtigall, D. 196
13
Meeres Stille, D. 216
14
Der zürnenden Diana, D. 707
15
Gesang der Norna, D. 831
16
No. 1, Romanze
17
Der Zwerg, D. 771
18
Nacht und Träume, D. 827

More videos from Katharina Konradi & Ammiel Bushakevitz

previous
next
Dominik Wagner - Stille Nacht, heilige Nacht (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Felix Klieser - Bach: Weihnachtsoratorium, BWV 248:
Claire Huangci in Frankfurt - F. Schubert: Sonate Nr. 18 in G-Dur,  D 894 (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Felix Klieser - A Golden Christmas (Offizieller Albumtrailer)
Dominik Wagner - Queen: Bohemian Rhapsody (Double Bass Version) (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Ragnhild Hemsing - Vinterstemning (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Dominik Wagner - J. S. Bach: Suite No.1, BWV 1007 - Sarabande (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Claire Huangci in Frankfurt - Franz Schubert: Liebesbotschaft (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Matthias Höfs - Beethoven: Piano Sonata Nr. 8, Op. 13
Schumann Quartett - Erwin Schulhoff: Alla Tarantella (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Ragnhild Hemsing - Vetrahalling (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Matthias Kirschnereit - Bill Evans: Time Rememered (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Dominik Wagner - J. S. Bach: Suite No.1, BWV 1007 - Prelude (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Ragnhild Hemsing - Langeberglåtten (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Matthias Kirschnereit - Claude Debussy: Mouvement (Offizielles Musikvideo)

Other publications by Katharina Konradi & Ammiel Bushakevitz

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com

„Eine Welle der Begeisterung für die Gitarre schwappte in der ersten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts über Wien, und Schubert und Diabelli befanden sich mitten in dieser sogenannten “Guitaromanie”. Schubert besaß nie ein Klavier, hatte aber Zugang zu Gitarren und besaß möglicherweise sogar eine oder zwei. Außerdem spielten viele von Schuberts engen Freunden Gitarre, darunter Mayrhofer, Vogl, Hüttenbrenner und Grillparzer. Schubert komponierte am Schreibtisch, ohne ein Instrument zu benutzen, aber viele seiner Liedbegleitungen haben eine unheimliche Ähnlichkeit mit Gitarrenmustern. Ein Beispiel dafür ist sein Lied Die Nacht, das höchstwahrscheinlich für Gitarre und Gesang komponiert wurde ¬– die Begleitung hat große Ähnlichkeit mit dem Klavierpart von „Wohin?“ aus Die schöne Müllerin.“

Ammiel Bushakevitz, Gitarrist, Pianist und außerdem Autor dieser Zeilen, fand in der Sopranistin Katharina Konradi eine musikalisch Verbündete in der vorliegenden Aufnahme von Schubert-Liedern für Klavier und Gitarre.

Die Aufnahme, die mit dem BR-KLASSIK koproduziert wurde und jetzt bei Berlin Classics erscheint, widmet sich dem Thema „Insomnia“, der Schlaflosigkeit. Katharina Konradi schreibt dazu:

„Nacht und Schlaf sind für mich zwei wichtige Gefährten, die alles heilen, und die unsere Welt immer wieder aufs Neue in Ordnung bringen können. Denn in der Nacht intensivieren sich die Gefühle und trüben die Wahrnehmung. Somit ist die Nacht eine perfekte Zeit, wie es die Epoche der Romantik zeigt, um die tiefsten Abgründe und höchsten Gefühle zu durchleuchten… Niemand weiß, was wahr ist und was nicht.“

Die Entscheidung, einige der Schubert-Lieder für Gitarre zu bearbeiten, trafen die Musiker intuitiv – Konradis Sopran ist nach Bushakevitz‘ Ansicht geeignet wie keine zweite für diese feinnervige Kombination von Instrument und Stimme. Katharina Konradi benennt die Herausforderung so:

„Bei der Gitarre musste ich eine neue Einstellung für die Stimme finden, eine intimere, leichtere und vielleicht sogar entspanntere. Denn wenn ich zur Gitarre singe, ist auch meine Körperspannung eine andere. Ich fühle mich näher zu meinem Begleiter, fast so, als musizierten wir in stiller Übereinkunft nur für uns. Die große Aufgabe ist es dann, das Publikum in diese Intimität mit einzubeziehen und Teil von etwas beinahe Heimlichen werden zu lassen.“

Insomnia Katharina Konradi & Ammiel Bushakevitz

Künstler

Katharina Konradi
Ammiel Bushakevitz

Komponisten

Franz Schubert

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Klassik
Kunstlied Sopran

Erscheinungsdatum

28.04.2023



„Eine Welle der Begeisterung für die Gitarre schwappte in der ersten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts über Wien, und Schubert und Diabelli befanden sich mitten in dieser sogenannten "Guitaromanie". Schubert besaß nie ein Klavier, hatte aber Zugang zu Gitarren und besaß möglicherweise sogar eine oder zwei. Außerdem spielten viele von Schuberts engen Freunden Gitarre, darunter Mayrhofer, Vogl, Hüttenbrenner und Grillparzer. Schubert komponierte am Schreibtisch, ohne ein Instrument zu benutzen, aber viele seiner Liedbegleitungen haben eine unheimliche Ähnlichkeit mit Gitarrenmustern. Ein Beispiel dafür ist sein Lied Die Nacht, das höchstwahrscheinlich für Gitarre und Gesang komponiert wurde ¬– die Begleitung hat große Ähnlichkeit mit dem Klavierpart von „Wohin?“ aus Die schöne Müllerin.“



Ammiel Bushakevitz, Gitarrist, Pianist und außerdem Autor dieser Zeilen, fand in der Sopranistin Katharina Konradi eine musikalisch Verbündete in der vorliegenden Aufnahme von Schubert-Liedern für Klavier und Gitarre.



Die Aufnahme, die mit dem BR-KLASSIK koproduziert wurde und jetzt bei Berlin Classics erscheint, widmet sich dem Thema „Insomnia“, der Schlaflosigkeit. Katharina Konradi schreibt dazu:



„Nacht und Schlaf sind für mich zwei wichtige Gefährten, die alles heilen, und die unsere Welt immer wieder aufs Neue in Ordnung bringen können. Denn in der Nacht intensivieren sich die Gefühle und trüben die Wahrnehmung. Somit ist die Nacht eine perfekte Zeit, wie es die Epoche der Romantik zeigt, um die tiefsten Abgründe und höchsten Gefühle zu durchleuchten... Niemand weiß, was wahr ist und was nicht.“



Die Entscheidung, einige der Schubert-Lieder für Gitarre zu bearbeiten, trafen die Musiker intuitiv – Konradis Sopran ist nach Bushakevitz‘ Ansicht geeignet wie keine zweite für diese feinnervige Kombination von Instrument und Stimme. Katharina Konradi benennt die Herausforderung so:



„Bei der Gitarre musste ich eine neue Einstellung für die Stimme finden, eine intimere, leichtere und vielleicht sogar entspanntere. Denn wenn ich zur Gitarre singe, ist auch meine Körperspannung eine andere. Ich fühle mich näher zu meinem Begleiter, fast so, als musizierten wir in stiller Übereinkunft nur für uns. Die große Aufgabe ist es dann, das Publikum in diese Intimität mit einzubeziehen und Teil von etwas beinahe Heimlichen werden zu lassen.“

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

Insomnia
Katharina Konradi & Ammiel Bushakevitz
1
An die untergehende Sonne, D. 457
2
Im Abendrot, D. 799
3
An mein Herz, D. 860
4
Berthas Lied in der Nacht, D. 653
5
Die Nacht
6
Die Sterne, D. 939
7
No. 4, Ständchen
8
An den Mond, D. 296
9
Der Geistertanz, D. 116
10
Des Fischers Liebesglück, D. 933
11
Lied der Anne Lyle, D. 830
12
An die Nachtigall, D. 196
13
Meeres Stille, D. 216
14
Der zürnenden Diana, D. 707
15
Gesang der Norna, D. 831
16
No. 1, Romanze
17
Der Zwerg, D. 771
18
Nacht und Träume, D. 827

Weitere Videos von Katharina Konradi & Ammiel Bushakevitz

zurück
weiter
Salaputia Brass - G. Fauré: Après une rêve, Op. 7, No. 1 (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Beethoven - Klaviersonate Nr. 28, op. 101: I. Allegretto, ma non troppo (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Asya Fateyeva: Bernart de Ventadorn - Can Vei La Lauzetta Mover (Das Lerchenlied)
Anouchka & Katharina Hack - N. Boulanger: Trois Pièces (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Salaputia Brass - Léo Ferré: Paris Canaille (Offizielles Musikvideo)
SIGNUM saxophone quartet: Haydn - String Quartet No. 37 B Minor, Op. 33: IV. Finale: Presto
Katharina Konradi & Cosmos Quartet - Greensleeves (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Salaputia Brass - Je veux (Arr. für Brass Ensemble) [Offizielles Musikvideo]
Asya Fateyeva, Bo Wiget, Matthias Loibner & Emil Kuyumcuyan: Raimbaut de Vaqueiras - Kalenda Maya
Beethoven - Klaviersonate Nr. 8 in c-Moll, op. 13 „Pathétique“: II. Adagio (Offizielles Musikvideo)
SIGNUM saxophone quartet - AC/DC: Thunderstruck (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Salaputia Brass - Erik Satie: Je te veux (Offizielles Musik Video)
Katharina Konradi & Cosmos Quartet - Les feuilles mortes (Offizielles Musikvideo)
SIGNUM saxophone quartet, Eckart Runge: Prayer (from Jewish Life) - Ernest Bloch
Anouchka & Katharina Hack: Stravinsky - Serenata from Suite Italienne

Weitere Veröffentlichungen von Katharina Konradi & Ammiel Bushakevitz

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com