On this album, trumpeter Matthias Höft and organist Matthias Janz engage with English composers from the Renaissance to the late Baroque. The two northern Germans met in the St. Marien Church in Flensburg and have united the works under three headings: “Old English Dances”, “Song Tunes” and “Trumpet Voluntaries”. Almost all works were originally composed for flute, recorder and organ, or harpsichord and organ. All arrangements are by Matthias Höfs and Matthias Janz, both of whom use modern instruments. It was certainly very helpful that Matthias Höfs can not only masterfully arrange music, but also, together with the Thein company, develop his own trumpets. “With natural trumpet and historical organ, our repertoire selected for this CD would not be playable” write the two in the booklet of this recording.

The album begins with an arrangement of the world-famous tune “Greensleeves” and moves into English dances by William Byrd, John Bull, Giles Farnaby, Sergent Major Kennedy and Robert Johnson. These dances are from a collection of Elizabethan dance movements for harpsichord, mostly from the Fitzwilliam Virginial Book, written around 1600.
This is followed by a concerto by the flute virtuoso John Baston and a sonata by the blind composer, organist and violinist John Stanley.

In the other six pieces Matthias Höft lets his trumpet sing. All works were published in the song collection “The Musical Entertainer” by George Bickham in 1737. In addition to three anonymous sources, the composers here are William Turner, George Monro and George Frideric Handel.

Again a concerto and a sonata are heard in the following – this time by Robert Woodcock and G. F. Händel. Then William Boyce opens the last, festive and above all very upbeat chapter of the album with his “Trumpet Voluntary No. 1”. The following pieces by John Stanley and Simon Stubley were already very popular works during their lifetimes. In the original for harpsichord and organ, now masterfully transposed for trumpet and organ.

An English Concert Matthias Höfs & Matthias Janz

Artist

Matthias Höfs
Matthias Janz

Composer

Anonymous
Anthony Holborne
George Frideric Handel
George Monro
Giles Farnaby

Further information

Genre

Klassik
Trompete

Publication date

24.11.2023





On this album, trumpeter Matthias Höft and organist Matthias Janz engage with English composers from the Renaissance to the late Baroque. The two northern Germans met in the St. Marien Church in Flensburg and have united the works under three headings: "Old English Dances", "Song Tunes" and "Trumpet Voluntaries". Almost all works were originally composed for flute, recorder and organ, or harpsichord and organ. All arrangements are by Matthias Höfs and Matthias Janz, both of whom use modern instruments. It was certainly very helpful that Matthias Höfs can not only masterfully arrange music, but also, together with the Thein company, develop his own trumpets. "With natural trumpet and historical organ, our repertoire selected for this CD would not be playable" write the two in the booklet of this recording.



The album begins with an arrangement of the world-famous tune "Greensleeves" and moves into English dances by William Byrd, John Bull, Giles Farnaby, Sergent Major Kennedy and Robert Johnson. These dances are from a collection of Elizabethan dance movements for harpsichord, mostly from the Fitzwilliam Virginial Book, written around 1600.

This is followed by a concerto by the flute virtuoso John Baston and a sonata by the blind composer, organist and violinist John Stanley.



In the other six pieces Matthias Höft lets his trumpet sing. All works were published in the song collection "The Musical Entertainer" by George Bickham in 1737. In addition to three anonymous sources, the composers here are William Turner, George Monro and George Frideric Handel.



Again a concerto and a sonata are heard in the following - this time by Robert Woodcock and G. F. Händel. Then William Boyce opens the last, festive and above all very upbeat chapter of the album with his "Trumpet Voluntary No. 1". The following pieces by John Stanley and Simon Stubley were already very popular works during their lifetimes. In the original for harpsichord and organ, now masterfully transposed for trumpet and organ.

Tracklist - These are the tracks you will hear on the album

An English Concert
Matthias Höfs & Matthias Janz
1
Greensleeves To a Ground
2
The Old Spagnoletta
3
A Gigg
4
The Fairy Masque
5
A Gigg "Doctor Bull's Myself"
6
Galliard, "Heigh Ho Holiday"
7
Alman
8
The New Sa-Hoo
9
Corrant
10
"A Toye"
11
Concert No. 2: Allegro - Adagio - Presto
12
Sonata No. 1: Adagio - Allegro - Menuett
13
On Mira's Singing and Beauty
14
The Address to Sylvia
15
The Loving Fearful Nymph
16
Parents, Ancient and Modern
17
The Judgement of Paris
18
The Meeting in The Morning
19
Concert No. 3: Allegro - Siciliano - Vivace
20
Sonata, Op. 1, No. 5: Adagio - Allegro - Adagio - Bourrée - Menuetto - Bourée da Capo
21
Trumpet Voluntary No. 1
22
Adagio
23
Trumpet Voluntary, Op. 6 No. 5
24
Adagio
25
Trumpet Voluntary

More videos from Matthias Höfs & Matthias Janz

previous
next
Matthias Höfs & Christian Schmitt - G. F. Handel: Sonata in F Major, Op. 1, No. 11, HWV 369: II.
Matthias Höfs & Matthias Janz - An English Concert
Matthias Höfs - Beethoven: Piano Sonata Nr. 8, Op. 13
Matthias Höfs & Ensemble: Oskar Böhme - Allegro con spirito aus dem Blechbläsersextett es-moll op.30
Matthias Höfs & Ensemble - Samuel Scheidt: Canzon Cornetto SSWV 56 (Arr. für vier Trompeten)
Matthias Höfs & Ensemble - Maria durch ein Dornwald ging (arr. by P.J. Lawrence) #berlinclassics
Matthias Höfs - Oskar Böhme: Liebeslied (Offizielles Musikvideo) #berlinclassics
Matthias Höfs & The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen: Oskar Böhme - Entsagung, Op. 19
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Ravel - Pièce en forme de Habanera (for Trumpet & Harp)
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Ibert - Entr'acte (For Trumpet and Harp) #Ukraine #Spenden
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Debussy - The Girl with the Flaxen Hair #Ukraine #Spenden
Matthias Höfs - Unity For Peace (Bach Choral Nr. 9 „So sei nun, Seele, deine“) #UnityForPeace
Matthias Höfs - G. F. Händel: Sonate in F-Dur, Op. 1, HWV 369
Matthias Höfs - Bach Trumpet Concertos [FULL ALBUM STREAM]
Matthias Höfs - Der Mond ist aufgegangen (Offizielles Musikvideo)
{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com

Mit englischen Komponisten von der Renaissance bis hin zum Spätbarock beschäftigen sich der Trompeter Matthias Höft und der Organist Matthias Janz auf diesem Album. Die beiden Norddeutschen trafen sich in der St. Marien-Kirche in Flensburg und haben die Werke unter drei Überschriften vereint: „Old English Dances“, „Song Tunes“ und „Trumpet Voluntaries“. Fast alle Werke sind im Original für Flöte, Blockflöte und Orgel, bzw. Cembalo und Orgel komponiert worden. Alle Bearbeitungen stammen von Matthias Höfs und Matthias Janz, die beide auf moderne Instrumente zurückgreifen. Dabei war es sicherlich sehr hilfreich, dass Matthias Höfs nicht nur Musik meisterhaft bearbeiten kann, sondern auch, zusammen mit der Firma Thein, eigene Trompeten entwickelt. „Mit Naturtrompete und historischer Orgel wäre unser für diese CD ausgewähltes Repertoire nicht spielbar“ schreiben die beiden im Booklet dieser Aufnahme.

Das Album beginnt mit einer Bearbeitung der weltbekannten Melodie „Greensleeves“ und geht über in englische Tänze von William Byrd, John Bull, Giles Farnaby, Sergent Major Kennedy und Robert Johnson. Diese Tänze entstammen einer Sammlung von Elisabethanischen Tanzsätzen für Cembalo, überwiegend aus dem Fitzwilliam Virginial Book, das um das Jahr 1600 entstanden ist.

Es folgen ein Concert des Flöten-Virtuosen John Baston und eine Sonate des blinden Komponisten, Organisten und Geigers John Stanley. In den weiteren sechs Stücken lässt Matthias Höft seine Trompete singen. Alle Werke sind in der Liedsammlung „The Musical Entertainer“ von George Bickham aus dem Jahr 1737 erschienen. Neben drei anonymen Quellen sind die Komponisten hier William Turner, George Monro und Georg Friedrich Händel versammelt.

Wieder erklingen im Folgenden ein Concert und eine Sonate – dieses mal von Robert Woodcock und G. F. Händel. Dann eröffnet William Boyce mit seinem „Trumpet Voluntary Nr. 1“ das letzte, festliche und vor allem sehr beschwingte Kapitel des Albums. Die folgenden Stücke von John Stanley und Simon Stubley waren schon zu deren Lebzeiten sehr beliebte Werke. Im Original für Cembalo und Orgel, nun meisterhaft für Trompete und Orgel umgesetzt.

An English Concert Matthias Höfs & Matthias Janz

Künstler

Matthias Höfs
Matthias Janz

Komponisten

Anonymous
Anthony Holborne
George Frideric Handel
George Monro
Giles Farnaby

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Klassik
Trompete

Erscheinungsdatum

24.11.2023





Mit englischen Komponisten von der Renaissance bis hin zum Spätbarock beschäftigen sich der Trompeter Matthias Höft und der Organist Matthias Janz auf diesem Album. Die beiden Norddeutschen trafen sich in der St. Marien-Kirche in Flensburg und haben die Werke unter drei Überschriften vereint: „Old English Dances“, „Song Tunes“ und „Trumpet Voluntaries“. Fast alle Werke sind im Original für Flöte, Blockflöte und Orgel, bzw. Cembalo und Orgel komponiert worden. Alle Bearbeitungen stammen von Matthias Höfs und Matthias Janz, die beide auf moderne Instrumente zurückgreifen. Dabei war es sicherlich sehr hilfreich, dass Matthias Höfs nicht nur Musik meisterhaft bearbeiten kann, sondern auch, zusammen mit der Firma Thein, eigene Trompeten entwickelt. „Mit Naturtrompete und historischer Orgel wäre unser für diese CD ausgewähltes Repertoire nicht spielbar“ schreiben die beiden im Booklet dieser Aufnahme.



Das Album beginnt mit einer Bearbeitung der weltbekannten Melodie „Greensleeves“ und geht über in englische Tänze von William Byrd, John Bull, Giles Farnaby, Sergent Major Kennedy und Robert Johnson. Diese Tänze entstammen einer Sammlung von Elisabethanischen Tanzsätzen für Cembalo, überwiegend aus dem Fitzwilliam Virginial Book, das um das Jahr 1600 entstanden ist.



Es folgen ein Concert des Flöten-Virtuosen John Baston und eine Sonate des blinden Komponisten, Organisten und Geigers John Stanley. In den weiteren sechs Stücken lässt Matthias Höft seine Trompete singen. Alle Werke sind in der Liedsammlung „The Musical Entertainer“ von George Bickham aus dem Jahr 1737 erschienen. Neben drei anonymen Quellen sind die Komponisten hier William Turner, George Monro und Georg Friedrich Händel versammelt.



Wieder erklingen im Folgenden ein Concert und eine Sonate – dieses mal von Robert Woodcock und G. F. Händel. Dann eröffnet William Boyce mit seinem „Trumpet Voluntary Nr. 1“ das letzte, festliche und vor allem sehr beschwingte Kapitel des Albums. Die folgenden Stücke von John Stanley und Simon Stubley waren schon zu deren Lebzeiten sehr beliebte Werke. Im Original für Cembalo und Orgel, nun meisterhaft für Trompete und Orgel umgesetzt.

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

An English Concert
Matthias Höfs & Matthias Janz
1
Greensleeves To a Ground
2
The Old Spagnoletta
3
A Gigg
4
The Fairy Masque
5
A Gigg "Doctor Bull's Myself"
6
Galliard, "Heigh Ho Holiday"
7
Alman
8
The New Sa-Hoo
9
Corrant
10
"A Toye"
11
Concert No. 2: Allegro - Adagio - Presto
12
Sonata No. 1: Adagio - Allegro - Menuett
13
On Mira's Singing and Beauty
14
The Address to Sylvia
15
The Loving Fearful Nymph
16
Parents, Ancient and Modern
17
The Judgement of Paris
18
The Meeting in The Morning
19
Concert No. 3: Allegro - Siciliano - Vivace
20
Sonata, Op. 1, No. 5: Adagio - Allegro - Adagio - Bourrée - Menuetto - Bourée da Capo
21
Trumpet Voluntary No. 1
22
Adagio
23
Trumpet Voluntary, Op. 6 No. 5
24
Adagio
25
Trumpet Voluntary

Weitere Videos von Matthias Höfs & Matthias Janz

zurück
weiter
Matthias Höfs & Christian Schmitt - G. F. Handel: Sonata in F Major, Op. 1, No. 11, HWV 369: II.
Matthias Höfs & Matthias Janz - An English Concert
Matthias Höfs - Beethoven: Piano Sonata Nr. 8, Op. 13
Matthias Höfs & Ensemble: Oskar Böhme - Allegro con spirito aus dem Blechbläsersextett es-moll op.30
Matthias Höfs & Ensemble - Samuel Scheidt: Canzon Cornetto SSWV 56 (Arr. für vier Trompeten)
Matthias Höfs & Ensemble - Maria durch ein Dornwald ging (arr. by P.J. Lawrence) #berlinclassics
Matthias Höfs - Oskar Böhme: Liebeslied (Offizielles Musikvideo) #berlinclassics
Matthias Höfs & The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen: Oskar Böhme - Entsagung, Op. 19
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Ravel - Pièce en forme de Habanera (for Trumpet & Harp)
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Ibert - Entr'acte (For Trumpet and Harp) #Ukraine #Spenden
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Debussy - The Girl with the Flaxen Hair #Ukraine #Spenden
Matthias Höfs - Unity For Peace (Bach Choral Nr. 9 „So sei nun, Seele, deine“) #UnityForPeace
Matthias Höfs - G. F. Händel: Sonate in F-Dur, Op. 1, HWV 369
Matthias Höfs - Bach Trumpet Concertos [FULL ALBUM STREAM]
Matthias Höfs - Der Mond ist aufgegangen (Offizielles Musikvideo)
{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com