The chamber combination of trombone and piano is unusual and charming. On Sapphire, Peter Steiner and his pianist partner Constanze Hochwartner give an insight into how this combination can work, thereby exploding the myth of commonly-held preconceptions about what the trombone is capable of. It is not just the instrument that shall sound on the Day of Judgment; it can sing tenderly and sweetly, producing a myriad of timbres that sparkle like a sapphire.
With his trombone, the solo instrument that is rarely featured in the field of classical music, Peter Steiner is at home all over the world. After studying at the Mozarteum and the Juilliard School in New York, the young Austrian not only won three solo instrument competitions staged by the International Trombone Association ITA as the first trombonist ever to achieve the feat; he went on tour round the world, from Brazil via the USA to Japan. In 2017 he got to know the young pianist and organist Constanze Hochwartner, with whom he recorded the album Sapphire in Columbus/Georgia, USA.
The programme of the album combines arrangements of works by Mozart and Puccini with melodies by Bernstein and complements contemporary trombone literature with film music from the movie “The Godfather”. Peter Steiner wishes to illustrate how versatile his instrument is, and the sounds he produces are indeed astounding. Soft sounds that range through all the registers alternate with catchy and powerfully mesmerising musical concepts.

Sapphire Peter Steiner & Constanze Hochwartner

Artist

Peter Steiner
Constanze Hochwartner

Composer

Fritz Kreisler
Ricardo Mollá
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Further information

Genre

Klassik Crossover / Populärklassik
Posaune

Publication date

19.07.2019



The chamber combination of trombone and piano is unusual and charming. On Sapphire, Peter Steiner and his pianist partner Constanze Hochwartner give an insight into how this combination can work, thereby exploding the myth of commonly-held preconceptions about what the trombone is capable of. It is not just the instrument that shall sound on the Day of Judgment; it can sing tenderly and sweetly, producing a myriad of timbres that sparkle like a sapphire.

With his trombone, the solo instrument that is rarely featured in the field of classical music, Peter Steiner is at home all over the world. After studying at the Mozarteum and the Juilliard School in New York, the young Austrian not only won three solo instrument competitions staged by the International Trombone Association ITA as the first trombonist ever to achieve the feat; he went on tour round the world, from Brazil via the USA to Japan. In 2017 he got to know the young pianist and organist Constanze Hochwartner, with whom he recorded the album Sapphire in Columbus/Georgia, USA.

The programme of the album combines arrangements of works by Mozart and Puccini with melodies by Bernstein and complements contemporary trombone literature with film music from the movie "The Godfather". Peter Steiner wishes to illustrate how versatile his instrument is, and the sounds he produces are indeed astounding. Soft sounds that range through all the registers alternate with catchy and powerfully mesmerising musical concepts.

Tracklist - These are the tracks you will hear on the album

Sapphire
Peter Steiner & Constanze Hochwartner
1
Rondo "Alla turca" (From Piano Sonata No. 11, K. 331)
2
Somewhere (From West Side Story)
3
Hora staccato
4
Che gelida Manina (From la bohème, SC 67)
5
Fly or Die
6
Parla più Piano (From The Godfather)
7
Fantasia Concertante
8
Liebesfreud
9
I. Up (From Arrows of Time)
10
II. Slow-Freely (From Arrows of Time)
11
III. Fast (From Arrows of Time)
12
Nana

More videos from Peter Steiner & Constanze Hochwartner

previous
next
Asya Fateyeva - Pons de Capduelh: Us Gais Conortz Me Fai Gajaman Far (Official Music Video)
Asya Fateyeva, Bo Wiget, Matthias Loibner, Emil Kuyumcuyan: Bertrand Plé - Interlude III
Salaputia Brass - Je veux (Arr. für Brass Ensemble) [Offizielles Musikvideo]
Salaputia Brass - G. Fauré: Après une rêve, Op. 7, No. 1 (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Beethoven - Klaviersonate Nr. 28, op. 101: I. Allegretto, ma non troppo (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Asya Fateyeva: Bernart de Ventadorn - Can Vei La Lauzetta Mover (Das Lerchenlied)
Anouchka & Katharina Hack - N. Boulanger: Trois Pièces (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Salaputia Brass - Léo Ferré: Paris Canaille (Offizielles Musikvideo)
SIGNUM saxophone quartet: Haydn - String Quartet No. 37 B Minor, Op. 33: IV. Finale: Presto
Katharina Konradi & Cosmos Quartet - Greensleeves (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Asya Fateyeva, Bo Wiget, Matthias Loibner & Emil Kuyumcuyan: Raimbaut de Vaqueiras - Kalenda Maya
Beethoven - Klaviersonate Nr. 8 in c-Moll, op. 13 „Pathétique“: II. Adagio (Offizielles Musikvideo)
SIGNUM saxophone quartet - AC/DC: Thunderstruck (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Salaputia Brass - Erik Satie: Je te veux (Offizielles Musik Video)
Katharina Konradi & Cosmos Quartet - Les feuilles mortes (Offizielles Musikvideo)

Other publications by Peter Steiner & Constanze Hochwartner

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com

Die Kammermusik-Kombination Posaune & Klavier ist ungewöhnlich und reizvoll. Peter Steiner und seine pianistische Partnerin Constanze Hochwartner geben auf Sapphire einen Einblick, wie sich das anhören kann und sprengen das Bild dessen, was man landläufig denkt, das mit der Posaune möglich ist. Diese kann nämlich nicht nur am Letzten Tage erschallen, sondern ebenso zart und lieblich singen: eine Vielzahl an Klangfarben, die funkeln wie ein Saphir.
Mit seinem zumindest in der klassischen Musik recht selten anzutreffenden Solo-Instrument Posaune ist Peter Steiner auf der ganzen Welt zuhause. Nach seinem Studium am Mozarteum und der Julliard School New York gewann der junge Österreicher nicht nur als erster Posaunist überhaupt Preise dreier Solowettbewerbe der „International Trombone Association ITA“, sondern tourt rund um den Globus, von Brasilien über die USA bis nach Japan. 2017 lernte er die junge Pianistin und Organistin Constanze Hochwartner kennen, mit der er in Colombus/Georgia, USA das Album Sapphire einspielte.
Das Programm des Albums vereint sowohl Arrangements von Mozart und Puccini mit Melodien von Bernstein und zeitgenössische Posaunen-Literatur mit Filmmusik aus Der Pate. Peter Steiner möchte einen Einblick geben, wie vielfältig sein Instrument ist. Und es ist wirklich erstaunlich, was er aus der Posaune herauszuholen vermag. Sanfte Klänge, die sich zart durch alle Register ziehen, wechseln sich ab mit griffig-kraftvollen, zupackenden Ansätzen.

Sapphire Peter Steiner & Constanze Hochwartner

Künstler

Peter Steiner
Constanze Hochwartner

Komponisten

Fritz Kreisler
Ricardo Mollá
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Klassik Crossover / Populärklassik
Posaune

Erscheinungsdatum

19.07.2019



Die Kammermusik-Kombination Posaune & Klavier ist ungewöhnlich und reizvoll. Peter Steiner und seine pianistische Partnerin Constanze Hochwartner geben auf Sapphire einen Einblick, wie sich das anhören kann und sprengen das Bild dessen, was man landläufig denkt, das mit der Posaune möglich ist. Diese kann nämlich nicht nur am Letzten Tage erschallen, sondern ebenso zart und lieblich singen: eine Vielzahl an Klangfarben, die funkeln wie ein Saphir.

Mit seinem zumindest in der klassischen Musik recht selten anzutreffenden Solo-Instrument Posaune ist Peter Steiner auf der ganzen Welt zuhause. Nach seinem Studium am Mozarteum und der Julliard School New York gewann der junge Österreicher nicht nur als erster Posaunist überhaupt Preise dreier Solowettbewerbe der „International Trombone Association ITA“, sondern tourt rund um den Globus, von Brasilien über die USA bis nach Japan. 2017 lernte er die junge Pianistin und Organistin Constanze Hochwartner kennen, mit der er in Colombus/Georgia, USA das Album Sapphire einspielte.

Das Programm des Albums vereint sowohl Arrangements von Mozart und Puccini mit Melodien von Bernstein und zeitgenössische Posaunen-Literatur mit Filmmusik aus Der Pate. Peter Steiner möchte einen Einblick geben, wie vielfältig sein Instrument ist. Und es ist wirklich erstaunlich, was er aus der Posaune herauszuholen vermag. Sanfte Klänge, die sich zart durch alle Register ziehen, wechseln sich ab mit griffig-kraftvollen, zupackenden Ansätzen.

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

Sapphire
Peter Steiner & Constanze Hochwartner
1
Rondo "Alla turca" (From Piano Sonata No. 11, K. 331)
2
Somewhere (From West Side Story)
3
Hora staccato
4
Che gelida Manina (From la bohème, SC 67)
5
Fly or Die
6
Parla più Piano (From The Godfather)
7
Fantasia Concertante
8
Liebesfreud
9
I. Up (From Arrows of Time)
10
II. Slow-Freely (From Arrows of Time)
11
III. Fast (From Arrows of Time)
12
Nana

Weitere Videos von Peter Steiner & Constanze Hochwartner

zurück
weiter
Salaputia Brass - G. Fauré: Après une rêve, Op. 7, No. 1 (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Beethoven - Klaviersonate Nr. 28, op. 101: I. Allegretto, ma non troppo (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Asya Fateyeva: Bernart de Ventadorn - Can Vei La Lauzetta Mover (Das Lerchenlied)
Anouchka & Katharina Hack - N. Boulanger: Trois Pièces (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Salaputia Brass - Léo Ferré: Paris Canaille (Offizielles Musikvideo)
SIGNUM saxophone quartet: Haydn - String Quartet No. 37 B Minor, Op. 33: IV. Finale: Presto
Katharina Konradi & Cosmos Quartet - Greensleeves (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Salaputia Brass - Je veux (Arr. für Brass Ensemble) [Offizielles Musikvideo]
Asya Fateyeva, Bo Wiget, Matthias Loibner & Emil Kuyumcuyan: Raimbaut de Vaqueiras - Kalenda Maya
Beethoven - Klaviersonate Nr. 8 in c-Moll, op. 13 „Pathétique“: II. Adagio (Offizielles Musikvideo)
SIGNUM saxophone quartet - AC/DC: Thunderstruck (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Salaputia Brass - Erik Satie: Je te veux (Offizielles Musik Video)
Katharina Konradi & Cosmos Quartet - Les feuilles mortes (Offizielles Musikvideo)
SIGNUM saxophone quartet, Eckart Runge: Prayer (from Jewish Life) - Ernest Bloch
Anouchka & Katharina Hack: Stravinsky - Serenata from Suite Italienne

Weitere Veröffentlichungen von Peter Steiner & Constanze Hochwartner

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com