“Landscapes” is a journey in sound to the roots of the Schumann Quartet, a foursome made up of the three brothers Erik, Ken and Mark Schumann and the viola player Liisa Randalu. Four very different works contribute their personal stories to form a magical whole. At the album’s hub is Arvo Pärt’s composition “Fratres”, meaning “brothers”. The Schumann Quartet rehearsed the work with Pärt in Viimsi in Estonia and recorded it there. The personal contact with the composer came through Pärt’s Estonian compatriot Liisa Randalu.

The biographical and contextual links that are particularly evident in this piece, while influencing the whole choice of works in this Berlin Classics debut, are almost incidental to the instinctive companionship of the quartet’s members. The Schumann Quartet was founded about five years ago, but its unique playing culture means it already has an international reputation as one of the best quartets around. “One look, and I know how he/she would like to play the music at that moment,” says Ken Schumann about the mystical communion within the ensemble. It is this intuitive exchange between one another and the wish to raise this communication to the maximum degree, “to see what the tension and our joint spontaneity can take,” that makes the quartet so exceptional and that has been captured on “Landscapes”. The Schumann Quartet find that the only way they can really project a work is live, “because all sense of imitation is gone and you are automatically true to yourself”, and so the recordings of Joseph Haydn’s “Sunrise” Quartet op. 76/4, Tōru Takemitsu’s “Landscape I for string quartet” and Béla Bartók’s Second String Quartet, Sz. 67 were recorded in June 2016 as a studio concert in front of an audience in the Bauer Studios in Ludwigsburg. “Fratres” was recorded one month later after an intensive series of rehearsals with Arvo Pärt in the Lutheran Church of St James in Viimsi, Estonia.

In line with the backgrounds of the quartet’s four members (the Schumann brothers are German, of Romanian-Japanese origin) the pieces on this album come from those various parts of the world: the album is a compilation of Estonian, Japanese, Hungarian and Austro-German works. The collection of pieces is tied together with the ribbon of “Landscapes” and is an integral part of the Schumann Quartet’s live programme. Magical associations.

Landscapes Schumann Quartett

Composer

Arvo Pärt

Béla Bartók

Franz Joseph Haydn

Toru Takemitsu

Further information

Genre

Streichquartett

Publication date:

10.03.2017



“Landscapes” is a journey in sound to the roots of the Schumann Quartet, a foursome made up of the three brothers Erik, Ken and Mark Schumann and the viola player Liisa Randalu. Four very different works contribute their personal stories to form a magical whole. At the album’s hub is Arvo Pärt’s composition “Fratres”, meaning “brothers”. The Schumann Quartet rehearsed the work with Pärt in Viimsi in Estonia and recorded it there. The personal contact with the composer came through Pärt’s Estonian compatriot Liisa Randalu.



The biographical and contextual links that are particularly evident in this piece, while influencing the whole choice of works in this Berlin Classics debut, are almost incidental to the instinctive companionship of the quartet’s members. The Schumann Quartet was founded about five years ago, but its unique playing culture means it already has an international reputation as one of the best quartets around. “One look, and I know how he/she would like to play the music at that moment,” says Ken Schumann about the mystical communion within the ensemble. It is this intuitive exchange between one another and the wish to raise this communication to the maximum degree, “to see what the tension and our joint spontaneity can take,” that makes the quartet so exceptional and that has been captured on “Landscapes”. The Schumann Quartet find that the only way they can really project a work is live, “because all sense of imitation is gone and you are automatically true to yourself”, and so the recordings of Joseph Haydn’s “Sunrise” Quartet op. 76/4, Tōru Takemitsu’s “Landscape I for string quartet” and Béla Bartók’s Second String Quartet, Sz. 67 were recorded in June 2016 as a studio concert in front of an audience in the Bauer Studios in Ludwigsburg. “Fratres” was recorded one month later after an intensive series of rehearsals with Arvo Pärt in the Lutheran Church of St James in Viimsi, Estonia.



In line with the backgrounds of the quartet’s four members (the Schumann brothers are German, of Romanian-Japanese origin) the pieces on this album come from those various parts of the world: the album is a compilation of Estonian, Japanese, Hungarian and Austro-German works. The collection of pieces is tied together with the ribbon of “Landscapes” and is an integral part of the Schumann Quartet’s live programme. Magical associations.

Tracklist - These are the tracks you will hear on the album

Landscapes
Schumann Quartett
1 String Quartet in B-Flat Major, Op. 76/4, Hob.III:78 "Sunrise": I. Allegro con spirito
2 String Quartet in B-Flat Major, Op. 76/4, Hob.III:78 "Sunrise": II. Adagio
3 String Quartet in B-Flat Major, Op. 76/4, Hob.III:78 "Sunrise": III. Menuetto - Capriccio Presto
4 String Quartet in B-Flat Major, Op. 76/4, Hob.III:78 "Sunrise": IV. Finale
5 Landscape for String Quartet
6 String Quartet No. 2, Sz. 67: I. Moderato
7 String Quartet No. 2, Sz. 67: II. Allegro molto capriccioso
8 String Quartet No. 2, Sz. 67: III. Lento
9 Fratres

More videos from Berlin Classics

previous
next
The Zurich Chamber Singers & Christian Erny - Bruckner: Palestrina - Jesu, rex admirabilis
Matthias Höfs & The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen: Oskar Böhme - Entsagung, Op. 19
Matthias Kirschnereit - Piano Concerto in D Major, Hob.XVIII:11: III. Rondo all'Ungarese | #Haydn
Tassilo Probst & Maxim Lando: Bartók - Sonata for violin & piano in E Minor, III. Vivace
Tassilo Probst & Maxim Lando - Achron: Sonata for violin and piano, no. 2,  Op. 45 #berlinclassics
The Zurich Chamber Singers & Christian Erny - Anton Bruckner: Os justi, WAB 30 | #berlinclassics
Berlin Classics - Channel Trailer | Classical Music
Muffat | Armonico Tributo: Sonata II: I. Grave & II. Allegro | Concerto Copenhagen (Music Video)
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Ravel - Pièce en forme de Habanera (for Trumpet & Harp)
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Ibert - Entr'acte (For Trumpet and Harp) #Ukraine #Spenden
Eckart Runge & Jacques Ammon - Miles Davis: Blue in Green (arr. for cello & piano) #BerlinClassics
Sebastian Manz & Herbert Schuch - Gade - Fantasy Pieces, Op. 43: No. 2, Allegro vivace
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Debussy - The Girl with the Flaxen Hair #Ukraine #Spenden
Spark & Valer Sabadus - Seemann (Rammstein Cover) #BerlinClassics
Sophie Dervaux & Mozarteumorchester Salzburg - Vanhal: Concerto in C Major

Other publications by Schumann Quartett

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com

„Landscapes“ ist eine klangmalerische Reise zu den Wurzeln des Schumann Quartetts bestehend aus den drei Brüdern Erik, Ken und Mark Schumann und der Bratschistin Liisa Randalu. Vier von Grund auf verschiedene Werke werden durch ihre persönlichen Geschichten zu einer magischen Einheit verwoben. Im Zentrum des Albums steht dabei Arvo Pärts Komposition „Fratres“, deren Titel „Brüder“ bedeutet. Gemeinsam mit Pärt hat das Schumann Quartett das Werk in Viimsi in Estland einstudiert und aufgenommen. Der persönliche Kontakt zu Pärt ist durch die ebenfalls aus Estland stammende Liisa Randalu entstanden.

Die biographischen und inhaltlichen Zusammenhänge, die sich besonders an diesem Stück zeigen, aber die gesamte Werkauswahl des Berlin Classics Debüts durchziehen, sind geradezu beiläufig aus der traumwandlerischen Verbundenheit der Quartettmitglieder entstanden. Das Schumann Quartett ist zwar erst vor ca. 5 Jahren gegründet worden, gilt aber bereits heute wegen seiner einmaligen Spielkultur international als eines der besten Quartette überhaupt. „Ein Blick, und ich weiß, wie er/sie die Musik in dem Moment spielen möchte“ sagt Ken Schumann über die magische Kommunikation innerhalb des Ensembles. Es ist dieser intuitive Umgang miteinander und der Wunsch diese Kommunikation bis zum Äußersten zu treiben, „zu probieren, wie die Spannung und unsere gemeinsame Spontaneität trägt“, der das Quartett so herausragend macht und auf „Landscapes“ eingefangen wurde. Da sich für das Schumann Quartett ein Werk nur live richtig entwickelt, „weil jede Imitation wegfällt und man automatisch ehrlich zu sich selbst wird“ sind die Aufnahmen von Joseph Haydns „Sonnenaufgangsquartett” op. 76/4, Tōru Takemitsus „Landscape I for string quartet” und Béla Bartóks Streichquartett Nr. 2, Sz. 67 im Juni 2016 als Studiokonzert vor Publikum in den Bauer Studios Ludwigsburg entstanden. „Fratres“ ist ein Monat später nach einer intensiven Probephase mit Arvo Pärt in der Ev. luth. St-Jakob-Kirche in Viimsi, Estland aufgezeichnet worden.

Entsprechend der Biographien der Quartettmitglieder (die Schumann-Brüder sind deutsch, rumänisch-japanischer Herkunft) entstammen die Stück des Albums diesen Teilen der Welt: ein estnisches, ein japanisches, ein ungarisches und ein österreichisch-deutsches Stück sind auf dem Album versammelt. Die Stückauswahl ist zusätzlich über die inhaltliche Klammer „Landscapes“ verbunden und fester Teil des Live-Programms des Schumann Quartetts. Magische Verbindungen.

Landscapes Schumann Quartett

Komponisten

Arvo Pärt

Béla Bartók

Franz Joseph Haydn

Toru Takemitsu

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Streichquartett

Erscheinungsdatum:

10.03.2017



„Landscapes“ ist eine klangmalerische Reise zu den Wurzeln des Schumann Quartetts bestehend aus den drei Brüdern Erik, Ken und Mark Schumann und der Bratschistin Liisa Randalu. Vier von Grund auf verschiedene Werke werden durch ihre persönlichen Geschichten zu einer magischen Einheit verwoben. Im Zentrum des Albums steht dabei Arvo Pärts Komposition „Fratres“, deren Titel „Brüder“ bedeutet. Gemeinsam mit Pärt hat das Schumann Quartett das Werk in Viimsi in Estland einstudiert und aufgenommen. Der persönliche Kontakt zu Pärt ist durch die ebenfalls aus Estland stammende Liisa Randalu entstanden.



Die biographischen und inhaltlichen Zusammenhänge, die sich besonders an diesem Stück zeigen, aber die gesamte Werkauswahl des Berlin Classics Debüts durchziehen, sind geradezu beiläufig aus der traumwandlerischen Verbundenheit der Quartettmitglieder entstanden. Das Schumann Quartett ist zwar erst vor ca. 5 Jahren gegründet worden, gilt aber bereits heute wegen seiner einmaligen Spielkultur international als eines der besten Quartette überhaupt. „Ein Blick, und ich weiß, wie er/sie die Musik in dem Moment spielen möchte“ sagt Ken Schumann über die magische Kommunikation innerhalb des Ensembles. Es ist dieser intuitive Umgang miteinander und der Wunsch diese Kommunikation bis zum Äußersten zu treiben, „zu probieren, wie die Spannung und unsere gemeinsame Spontaneität trägt“, der das Quartett so herausragend macht und auf „Landscapes“ eingefangen wurde. Da sich für das Schumann Quartett ein Werk nur live richtig entwickelt, „weil jede Imitation wegfällt und man automatisch ehrlich zu sich selbst wird“ sind die Aufnahmen von Joseph Haydns „Sonnenaufgangsquartett” op. 76/4, Tōru Takemitsus „Landscape I for string quartet” und Béla Bartóks Streichquartett Nr. 2, Sz. 67 im Juni 2016 als Studiokonzert vor Publikum in den Bauer Studios Ludwigsburg entstanden. „Fratres“ ist ein Monat später nach einer intensiven Probephase mit Arvo Pärt in der Ev. luth. St-Jakob-Kirche in Viimsi, Estland aufgezeichnet worden.



Entsprechend der Biographien der Quartettmitglieder (die Schumann-Brüder sind deutsch, rumänisch-japanischer Herkunft) entstammen die Stück des Albums diesen Teilen der Welt: ein estnisches, ein japanisches, ein ungarisches und ein österreichisch-deutsches Stück sind auf dem Album versammelt. Die Stückauswahl ist zusätzlich über die inhaltliche Klammer „Landscapes“ verbunden und fester Teil des Live-Programms des Schumann Quartetts. Magische Verbindungen.

Weitere Videos von Berlin Classics

zurück
weiter
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Ibert - Entr'acte (For Trumpet and Harp) #Ukraine #Spenden
Eckart Runge & Jacques Ammon - Miles Davis: Blue in Green (arr. for cello & piano) #BerlinClassics
Sebastian Manz & Herbert Schuch - Gade - Fantasy Pieces, Op. 43: No. 2, Allegro vivace
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Debussy - The Girl with the Flaxen Hair #Ukraine #Spenden
Spark & Valer Sabadus - Seemann (Rammstein Cover) #BerlinClassics
Sophie Dervaux & Mozarteumorchester Salzburg - Vanhal: Concerto in C Major
Luisa Imorde - Couperin: Pièces de clavecin: Le Tic-Toc-Choc ou Les Maillotins
Sebastian Manz & Herbert Schuch - Schumann: Fantasy Piece, Op. 73, No. 1, Zart und mit Ausdruck
Danae Dörken - Odyssee (Official Albumtrailer) #BerlinClassics #DanaeDörken
Sophie Dervaux - Hummel: Grand Concerto in F Major: I. Allegro moderato (Teaser)
Luisa Imorde: François Couperin - Cinquieme Prelude (Offizielles Musikvideo) #BerlinClassics
Danae Dörken: Kinan Azmeh - Waiting for Friday (Offizielles Musikvideo) #BerlinClassics
Eckart Runge, Jacques Ammon - Bach: Allegro (From Gamba Sonata G Minor, BWV 1029) #BerlinClassics
Felix Klieser & Zemlinsky Quartett - Haydn: Horn Concerto No. 1: III. Allegro (Arrangement)

Weitere Veröffentlichungen von Schumann Quartett

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}