The tragic fate of composer Oskar Böhme long went unresearched. His music suffered a similar fate. On his new album “Oskar Böhme – Trumpet Concerto & Pieces” the trumpeter Matthias Höfs is joined by The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen in a performance of his most ambitious works that aims to win a hearing both for his striking and sensitive music and for the story of his life. The album will be released by Berlin Classics on September 30.

The Trumpet Concerto – which is the only Romantic 19th-century concerto for trumpet – is presented here in Matthias Höfs’s own orchestration. It is a challenging work that holds the attention with its dramatic narrative and powerful cadenzas.

The “pieces” on this album display the full stylistic spectrum of Böhme’s oeuvre. “Entsagung” is memorable for its soft tone colours that admirably bring out its restrained sorrow. “Soirée de St. Petersbourg” evokes the image of the city at night with its illuminated palaces and glittering canals. His “Russian Dance” is heard on this album in a version for mixed ensemble. The musical language that pervades this piece illustrates Böhme’s fateful affinity with his adopted homeland. The furious haste of “La Napolitaine, Tarantelle” once again proves the capability of the fully fledged trumpeter. The ambitious Trumpet Sextet in E flat minor brings to a close our journey through selected works of Oskar Böhme.

For many years little or no information was available about the composer. Oskar Böhme was born into a family of musicians near Dresden in 1870; he studied in Germany and Hungary and then emigrated to Russia, where he even changed his nationality in order to improve his chances of a place in one of the great orchestras. Despite his efforts to achieve perfect integration into Russian society, his German origins proved fateful when the Bolsheviks seized power – after years of persecution, he was executed for “anti-Soviet activities” on October 3, 1938.

“Oskar Böhme – Trumpet Concerto & Pieces” is the third album that Matthias Höfs has recorded with the German Chamber Orchestra of Bremen. After the trumpet concertos of Telemann and Bach, soloist and orchestra continue their fruitful cooperation with this Böhme album.

Oskar Böhme Trumpet Concerto & Pieces Matthias Höfs & Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen

Artist

Matthias Höfs
Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen

Composer

Oskar Böhme

Further information

Genre

Klassik

Publication date:

30.09.2022



The tragic fate of composer Oskar Böhme long went unresearched. His music suffered a similar fate. On his new album “Oskar Böhme – Trumpet Concerto & Pieces” the trumpeter Matthias Höfs is joined by The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen in a performance of his most ambitious works that aims to win a hearing both for his striking and sensitive music and for the story of his life. The album will be released by Berlin Classics on September 30.



The Trumpet Concerto – which is the only Romantic 19th-century concerto for trumpet – is presented here in Matthias Höfs’s own orchestration. It is a challenging work that holds the attention with its dramatic narrative and powerful cadenzas.



The “pieces” on this album display the full stylistic spectrum of Böhme’s oeuvre. “Entsagung” is memorable for its soft tone colours that admirably bring out its restrained sorrow. “Soirée de St. Petersbourg” evokes the image of the city at night with its illuminated palaces and glittering canals. His “Russian Dance” is heard on this album in a version for mixed ensemble. The musical language that pervades this piece illustrates Böhme’s fateful affinity with his adopted homeland. The furious haste of “La Napolitaine, Tarantelle” once again proves the capability of the fully fledged trumpeter. The ambitious Trumpet Sextet in E flat minor brings to a close our journey through selected works of Oskar Böhme.

For many years little or no information was available about the composer. Oskar Böhme was born into a family of musicians near Dresden in 1870; he studied in Germany and Hungary and then emigrated to Russia, where he even changed his nationality in order to improve his chances of a place in one of the great orchestras. Despite his efforts to achieve perfect integration into Russian society, his German origins proved fateful when the Bolsheviks seized power – after years of persecution, he was executed for “anti-Soviet activities” on October 3, 1938.



“Oskar Böhme – Trumpet Concerto & Pieces” is the third album that Matthias Höfs has recorded with the German Chamber Orchestra of Bremen. After the trumpet concertos of Telemann and Bach, soloist and orchestra continue their fruitful cooperation with this Böhme album.

More videos from Berlin Classics

previous
next
The Zurich Chamber Singers & Christian Erny - Anton Bruckner: Ave Maria | #berlinclassics #AveMaria
Marina Baranova - White Letters (Offizielles Musikvideo) #berlinclassics
The Zurich Chamber Singers - Locus Iste (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Matthias Höfs - Oskar Böhme: Liebeslied (Offizielles Musikvideo) #berlinclassics
The Zurich Chamber Singers & Christian Erny - Bruckner: Palestrina - Jesu, rex admirabilis
Matthias Höfs & The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen: Oskar Böhme - Entsagung, Op. 19
Matthias Kirschnereit - Piano Concerto in D Major, Hob.XVIII:11: III. Rondo all'Ungarese | #Haydn
Tassilo Probst & Maxim Lando: Bartók - Sonata for violin & piano in E Minor, III. Vivace
Tassilo Probst & Maxim Lando - Achron: Sonata for violin and piano, no. 2,  Op. 45 #berlinclassics
The Zurich Chamber Singers & Christian Erny - Anton Bruckner: Os justi, WAB 30 | #berlinclassics
Berlin Classics - Channel Trailer | Classical Music
Muffat | Armonico Tributo: Sonata II: I. Grave & II. Allegro | Concerto Copenhagen (Music Video)
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Ravel - Pièce en forme de Habanera (for Trumpet & Harp)
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Ibert - Entr'acte (For Trumpet and Harp) #Ukraine #Spenden
Eckart Runge & Jacques Ammon - Miles Davis: Blue in Green (arr. for cello & piano) #BerlinClassics

Other publications by Matthias Höfs & Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com

Das tragische Schicksal des Komponisten Oskar Böhme blieb lange unerforscht. Ähnlich verhält es sich mit seinem musikalischen Schaffen. Auf seinem neuen Album „Oskar Böhme – Trumpet Concerto & Pieces“ präsentiert der Trompeter Matthias Höfs gemeinsam mit Der Deutschen Kammerphilharmonie Bremen seine musikalisch ambitioniertesten Werke und verschafft damit nicht nur seiner zündenden und gefühlvollen Musik, sondern auch seiner Lebensgeschichte Gehör. Das Album erscheint am 30. September bei Berlin Classics.

Für das Trompetenkonzert – es ist das einzige romantische Konzert des 19. Jahrhunderts für Trompete – hat Matthias Höfs eine eigene Orchestrierung vorgenommen. Es ist ein anspruchsvolles Werk, das mit Dramatik und stürmischen Kadenzen überzeugt.

Die „Pieces“ auf diesem Album präsentieren die stilistische Bandbreite Böhmes Schaffens. „Entsagung“ bringt die weiche Klangfarbe durch seine Traurigkeit zur Geltung. „Soirée de St. Petersbourg“ evoziert ein Bild der nächtlichen Stadt, mitsamt ihren erleuchteten Palästen und glitzernden Kanäle. Den „Russischen Tanz“ erklingt auf diesem Album in einer Fassung für gemischtes Ensemble. Durch dieses Stück zeigt sich durch die Sprache der Musik die verhängnisvolle Verbundenheit Böhmes zu seiner Wahlheimat. Das rasante Tempo in „La Napolitaine, Tarantelle“ stellt das Können des arrivierten Trompeters ein weiteres Mal unter Beweis. Mit dem ambitionierten „Trompeten-Sextett in es-Moll“ endet die Reise durch verschiedene Werke von Oskar Böhme.

Über den Komponisten waren lange Zeit nur wenige oder gar keine Informationen verfügbar. Oskar Böhme wurde 1870 in einer Musikerfamilie in der Nähe von Dresden geboren, studierte in Deutschland und Ungarn und wanderte dann nach Russland aus, wo er sogar seine Nationalität wechselte, um seine Chancen auf einen Platz in einem der großen Orchester zu verbessern. Trotz seiner Bemühungen um eine perfekte Integration in die russische Gesellschaft wurde ihm seine deutsche Herkunft bei der Machtübernahme durch die Bolschewiki zum Verhängnis – er wurde 1938 wegen „antisowjetischer Umtriebe“ hingerichtet.

„Oskar Böhme – Trumpet Concerto & Pieces“ ist nun schon das dritte Album, das Matthias Höfs gemeinsam mit Der Deutschen Kammerphilharmonie Bremen eingespielt hat. Nach den Trompetenkonzerten von Telemann und Bach setzt das Böhme-Album die fruchtbare Kooperation zwischen Solist und Orchester fort.

Oskar Böhme Trumpet Concerto & Pieces Matthias Höfs & Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen

Komponisten

Oskar Böhme

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Klassik

Erscheinungsdatum:

30.09.2022



Das tragische Schicksal des Komponisten Oskar Böhme blieb lange unerforscht. Ähnlich verhält es sich mit seinem musikalischen Schaffen. Auf seinem neuen Album „Oskar Böhme – Trumpet Concerto & Pieces“ präsentiert der Trompeter Matthias Höfs gemeinsam mit Der Deutschen Kammerphilharmonie Bremen seine musikalisch ambitioniertesten Werke und verschafft damit nicht nur seiner zündenden und gefühlvollen Musik, sondern auch seiner Lebensgeschichte Gehör. Das Album erscheint am 30. September bei Berlin Classics.



Für das Trompetenkonzert – es ist das einzige romantische Konzert des 19. Jahrhunderts für Trompete – hat Matthias Höfs eine eigene Orchestrierung vorgenommen. Es ist ein anspruchsvolles Werk, das mit Dramatik und stürmischen Kadenzen überzeugt.

Die „Pieces“ auf diesem Album präsentieren die stilistische Bandbreite Böhmes Schaffens. „Entsagung“ bringt die weiche Klangfarbe durch seine Traurigkeit zur Geltung. „Soirée de St. Petersbourg“ evoziert ein Bild der nächtlichen Stadt, mitsamt ihren erleuchteten Palästen und glitzernden Kanäle. Den „Russischen Tanz“ erklingt auf diesem Album in einer Fassung für gemischtes Ensemble. Durch dieses Stück zeigt sich durch die Sprache der Musik die verhängnisvolle Verbundenheit Böhmes zu seiner Wahlheimat. Das rasante Tempo in „La Napolitaine, Tarantelle“ stellt das Können des arrivierten Trompeters ein weiteres Mal unter Beweis. Mit dem ambitionierten „Trompeten-Sextett in es-Moll“ endet die Reise durch verschiedene Werke von Oskar Böhme.

Über den Komponisten waren lange Zeit nur wenige oder gar keine Informationen verfügbar. Oskar Böhme wurde 1870 in einer Musikerfamilie in der Nähe von Dresden geboren, studierte in Deutschland und Ungarn und wanderte dann nach Russland aus, wo er sogar seine Nationalität wechselte, um seine Chancen auf einen Platz in einem der großen Orchester zu verbessern. Trotz seiner Bemühungen um eine perfekte Integration in die russische Gesellschaft wurde ihm seine deutsche Herkunft bei der Machtübernahme durch die Bolschewiki zum Verhängnis – er wurde 1938 wegen „antisowjetischer Umtriebe“ hingerichtet.



„Oskar Böhme – Trumpet Concerto & Pieces“ ist nun schon das dritte Album, das Matthias Höfs gemeinsam mit Der Deutschen Kammerphilharmonie Bremen eingespielt hat. Nach den Trompetenkonzerten von Telemann und Bach setzt das Böhme-Album die fruchtbare Kooperation zwischen Solist und Orchester fort.

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

Oskar Böhme Trumpet Concerto & Pieces
Matthias Höfs & Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen
1 Trumpet Concerto, Op. 18: I. Allegro moderato
2 Trumpet Concerto, Op. 18: II. Adagio religioso. Allegretto
3 Trumpet Concerto, Op. 18: III. Rondo. Allegro scherzando
4 Entsagung, Op. 19 (Arr. by Stephan Peiffer)
5 Soirée de St. Petersbourg, Op. 23
6 Danse Russe, Op. 32 (Arr. for trumpet & chamber ensemble by Stephan Peiffer)
7 Liebeslied, Op. 22, No. 2 (Arr. for trumpet & chamber ensemble by Stephan Peiffer)
8 La Napolitaine, Tarantella, Op. 25 (Arr. for trumpet & chamber ensemble by Matthias Höfs)
9 Trompeten-Sextett, Op. 30: I. Adagio ma non tanto. Allegro molto
10 Trompeten-Sextett, Op. 30: II. Scherzo. Allegro vivace
11 Trompeten-Sextett, Op. 30: III. Rondo. Allegro scherzando
12 Trompeten-Sextett, Op. 30: IV. Allegro con spirito

Weitere Videos von Matthias Höfs & Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen

zurück
weiter
Matthias Höfs - G. F. Händel: Sonate in F-Dur, Op. 1, HWV 369
Matthias Höfs - Der Mond ist aufgegangen (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Matthias Höfs - Festive Trumpets for Christmas (Offizieller Albumtrailer)
Matthias Höfs: Händel - Sonate in F-Dur, Op. 1, Nr. 11, HWV 369: II. Allegro
Matthias Höfs, Nils Landgren & JazzHall Large Ensemble - Summertime -- call for donations
Matthias Höfs & Ensemble - W. A. Mozart: Quartet F major No. 30, KV 370 - call for donations
Matthias Höfs & Ensemble - Erik Morales: The North Star Suite (Bach-Weihnachtsoratorium/ Trompete)
Matthias Höfs - Jubilee | Trumpet Music Video feat. 60 Students All Around The World | Wolf Kerschek
Matthias Höfs - Ravel: Pavane pour une infante défunte | Arr. for Trumpet & Harp w/Anaëlle Tourret
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret - La Luna sobre la Llanura (Wolf Kerschek) | Trumpet & Harp
Tillmann & Matthias Höfs: Max Bruch, Acht Stücke, op. 83: II. Allegro con moto | Horn & Trompete
Tillmann & Matthias Höfs: Bruch, Acht Stücke, op. 83: I. Andante (arr. für Horn und Trompete)
Matthias Höfs: Trumpet Excerpts - Fantasy (Stephan Peiffer) - Split Screen Music Video
The Trumpets of Matthias Höfs (Official Album Trailer)
Matthias Höfs Brass Project: Beethoven for Brass (Offizieller Trailer)

Weitere Veröffentlichungen von Matthias Höfs & Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com