Having garnered the ultimate accolades from a host of arts review pages for her premiere recording on the Hamburg Elbphilharmonie’s organ and on the double organ of the Taiwanese Kaohsiung Center for the Arts, concert organist Iveta Apkalna now presents her third release on the Berlin Classics label as a triple album. Triptychon spans three centuries and three religious confessions on one single organ: Johann Sebastian Bach, Franz Liszt and Pēteris Vasks can be heard on this, the first release of a recording played in Neubrandenburg’s Concert Church on the organ which she helped to develop and inaugurated.

Apkalna opens the first altar panel with three works by her compatriot and personal friend: alongside Arvo Pärt, Pēteris Vasks is the best known and most often played Baltic composer. “Latvia is Pēteris Vasks and Pēteris Vasks is Latvia,” explains the organist. “I hear the landscape of Latvia in his music, the far horizons of our flat country, the meadows and forests, birdsong and the sea. Pēteris Vasks is undoubtedly a truly Latvian character, though he also breathes the ‘global air’. Otherwise people all around the world would not love his music.”

Johann Sebastian Bach is at the heart of Iveta Apkalna’s triptych – just as he is central to the career of any organist. For her, his Toccata, Adagio and Fugue in C major BWV564, the Trio Sonata in D minor BWV527 and the six Schübler Chorales BWV645–650 represent the greatest possible stylistic, compositional and tonal variety backed up by personal motives. “I believe this is truly a phenomenon: Bach’s music touches everyone, really everyone, and leaves its mark on the lives of every human being, even those who normally have nothing to do with music.”

Franz Liszt, who achieved worldwide fame as a travelling virtuoso and visionary composer, was also a formidable organist who, towards the end of his career, took holy orders. His oeuvre too is close to Iveta Apkalna’s heart; indeed, she defines as a sort of calling card the Prelude and Fugue on B-A-C-H or the Chorale arrangement of “Nun danket alle Gott”, which has a link with Apkalna’s “home organ” in Riga Cathedral, since Franz Liszt contributed the work for the inauguration of the instrument.

The contrast could hardly be greater: Vasks, the pastor’s son with a close spiritual affinity to nature, Bach, the monumental Protestant music-maker, and Liszt, the lounge lizard with his adoring groupies who found his vocation in later life. To play all these works by such highly diverse composers on the same organ is not something to be taken on lightly. The former Marienkirche in Neubrandenburg, which was deconsecrated in 2001 and then revived as a secular concert hall, was gifted an organ in 2017 thanks to the generous sponsorship of businessman Günther Weber. The job of building a new organ was entrusted to two long-established organ-building workshops, Klais (Bonn) and Schuke (Berlin). As the two organ builders Philipp Klais and Martin Schwarz explain: “The concert church in Neubrandenburg has its very own, unique acoustic, one that we organ builders greatly appreciate.” The auditorium has an ideal combination of clarity and reverberation time. This acoustic characteristic was the point of departure in deciding on the tonal concept. This was achieved in close cooperation between the organ workshops in coordination with Iveta Apkalna, whom Günther Weber had requested to provide artistic advice. With its 2852 pipes, measuring between 8 millimetres and almost 7 metres high, the organ has 70 stops. There are 65 pipes in the organ case, the visible part of the instrument: 45 metal pipes in front and 20 wooden ones in the sides of the case. All of the visible pipes are sonorous. Iveta Apkalna is impressed: “The organ sounds incredibly warm, velvet-textured and well rounded. And thanks to its clearly defined 70 stops, it provides the organist, whether playing solo or with orchestra, with every opportunity to play works ranging from the early Baroque through the Romantic literature to modern compositions. Thanks to the detailed process involved and the intensive, friendly collaboration with the two organ-builders Philipp Klais and Martin Schwarz and with the organ’s sponsor Günther Weber, this instrument really turned into a personal love story.”

Triptychon Iveta Apkalna

Composer

Franz Liszt

Johann Sebastian Bach

Pēteris Vasks

Further information

Genre

Orgel

Publication date:

27.08.2021



Having garnered the ultimate accolades from a host of arts review pages for her premiere recording on the Hamburg Elbphilharmonie’s organ and on the double organ of the Taiwanese Kaohsiung Center for the Arts, concert organist Iveta Apkalna now presents her third release on the Berlin Classics label as a triple album. Triptychon spans three centuries and three religious confessions on one single organ: Johann Sebastian Bach, Franz Liszt and Pēteris Vasks can be heard on this, the first release of a recording played in Neubrandenburg’s Concert Church on the organ which she helped to develop and inaugurated.



Apkalna opens the first altar panel with three works by her compatriot and personal friend: alongside Arvo Pärt, Pēteris Vasks is the best known and most often played Baltic composer. “Latvia is Pēteris Vasks and Pēteris Vasks is Latvia,” explains the organist. “I hear the landscape of Latvia in his music, the far horizons of our flat country, the meadows and forests, birdsong and the sea. Pēteris Vasks is undoubtedly a truly Latvian character, though he also breathes the ‘global air’. Otherwise people all around the world would not love his music.”



Johann Sebastian Bach is at the heart of Iveta Apkalna’s triptych – just as he is central to the career of any organist. For her, his Toccata, Adagio and Fugue in C major BWV564, the Trio Sonata in D minor BWV527 and the six Schübler Chorales BWV645–650 represent the greatest possible stylistic, compositional and tonal variety backed up by personal motives. “I believe this is truly a phenomenon: Bach’s music touches everyone, really everyone, and leaves its mark on the lives of every human being, even those who normally have nothing to do with music.”

Franz Liszt, who achieved worldwide fame as a travelling virtuoso and visionary composer, was also a formidable organist who, towards the end of his career, took holy orders. His oeuvre too is close to Iveta Apkalna’s heart; indeed, she defines as a sort of calling card the Prelude and Fugue on B-A-C-H or the Chorale arrangement of “Nun danket alle Gott”, which has a link with Apkalna’s “home organ” in Riga Cathedral, since Franz Liszt contributed the work for the inauguration of the instrument.

The contrast could hardly be greater: Vasks, the pastor’s son with a close spiritual affinity to nature, Bach, the monumental Protestant music-maker, and Liszt, the lounge lizard with his adoring groupies who found his vocation in later life. To play all these works by such highly diverse composers on the same organ is not something to be taken on lightly. The former Marienkirche in Neubrandenburg, which was deconsecrated in 2001 and then revived as a secular concert hall, was gifted an organ in 2017 thanks to the generous sponsorship of businessman Günther Weber. The job of building a new organ was entrusted to two long-established organ-building workshops, Klais (Bonn) and Schuke (Berlin). As the two organ builders Philipp Klais and Martin Schwarz explain: “The concert church in Neubrandenburg has its very own, unique acoustic, one that we organ builders greatly appreciate.” The auditorium has an ideal combination of clarity and reverberation time. This acoustic characteristic was the point of departure in deciding on the tonal concept. This was achieved in close cooperation between the organ workshops in coordination with Iveta Apkalna, whom Günther Weber had requested to provide artistic advice. With its 2852 pipes, measuring between 8 millimetres and almost 7 metres high, the organ has 70 stops. There are 65 pipes in the organ case, the visible part of the instrument: 45 metal pipes in front and 20 wooden ones in the sides of the case. All of the visible pipes are sonorous. Iveta Apkalna is impressed: “The organ sounds incredibly warm, velvet-textured and well rounded. And thanks to its clearly defined 70 stops, it provides the organist, whether playing solo or with orchestra, with every opportunity to play works ranging from the early Baroque through the Romantic literature to modern compositions. Thanks to the detailed process involved and the intensive, friendly collaboration with the two organ-builders Philipp Klais and Martin Schwarz and with the organ’s sponsor Günther Weber, this instrument really turned into a personal love story.”

Tracklist - These are the tracks you will hear on the album

Triptychon
Iveta Apkalna
1 Hymnus
2 Baltā ainava (White Scenery. Winter)
3 Musica seria
4 Toccata, Adagio and Fugue, BWV 564: I. Toccata
5 Toccata, Adagio and Fugue, BWV 564: II. Adagio
6 Toccata, Adagio and Fugue, BWV 564: III. Fugue
7 Trio Sonata, BWV 527: I. Andante
8 Trio Sonata, BWV 527: II. Adagio e dolce
9 Trio Sonata, BWV 527: III. Vivace
10 Schübler Chorales: 1. Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme, BWV 645
11 Schübler Chorales: 2. Wo soll ich fliehen hin, BWV 646
12 Schübler Chorales: 3. Wer nur den lieben Gott lässt walten, BWV 647
13 Schübler Chorales: 4. Meine Seele erhebt den Herren, BWV 648
14 Schübler Chorales: 5. Ach bleib bei uns, Herr Jesu Christ, BWV 649
15 Schübler Chorales: 6. Kommst du nun, Jesu, vom Himmel herunter auf Erden, BWV 650
16 Prelude and Fugue on the Theme B-A-C-H, S.260: Prelude
17 Prelude and Fugue on the Theme B-A-C-H, S.260: Fugue
18 Nun danket alle Gott, S.61
19 Fantasy and Fugue on the chorale "Ad nos, ad salutarem undam", S.259: Fantasy
20 Fantasy and Fugue on the chorale "Ad nos, ad salutarem undam", S.259: Fugue

More videos from Iveta Apkalna

previous
next
Iveta Apkalna - Johann S. Bach: Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme, BWV 645 (Official Music Video)
Iveta Apkalna - Triptychon: Vasks – Bach – Liszt (Official Album Trailer)
Iveta Apkalna at the Weiwuying Concert Hall: Organ Symphony No.5, Op. 42 No. 1: V. Toccata
Iveta Apkalna - Vierne: Organ Symphonie No.3, Op. 28: III. Intermezzo (Official Music Video)
Iveta Apkalna - Elbphilharmonie Hamburg - Light & Dark (Album Trailer) | Orgel
Iveta Apkalna - Light & Dark - Die Orgel der Elbphilharmonie Hamburg (Interview)
Schafe können sicher weiden (Arr. for Organ)
Iveta Apkalna - Light & Dark - Aivars Kalējs: Gebet
Iveta Apkalna - Light & Dark - Thierry Escaich: Évocation II (Teaser)
Fantasy and Fugue on the chorale
Schübler Chorales: 1. Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme, BWV 645
Schübler Chorales: 3. Wer nur den lieben Gott lässt walten, BWV 647

Other publications by Iveta Apkalna

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Nachdem die Konzertorganistin Iveta Apkalna mit den Ersteinspielungen der Orgel der Hamburger Elbphilharmonie und der Doppel-Orgel des taiwanesischen Kaohsiung Center for the Arts höchstes Lob des Feuilletons einholte, legt sie als dritte Veröffentlichung beim Label Berlin Classics nun direkt mit einem Trippel-Album nach. Mit Triptychon spannt die einen Bogen über drei Jahrhunderte und drei Konfessionen an einer Orgel: Johann Sebastian Bach, Franz Liszt und Pēteris Vasks erklingen an der von ihr mitentwickelten, inaugurierten und nun erstmals eingespielten Orgel der Konzertkirche Neubrandenburg.

Mit drei Werken ihres Landsmannes und persönlichen Freunds öffnet Apkalna den ersten Altarflügel. Pēteris Vasks ist neben Arvo Pärt der bedeutendste und meistgespielte Komponist des Baltikums. „Lettland ist Pēteris Vasks und Pēteris Vasks ist Lettland“, so die Organistin. „In seiner Musik höre ich die Landschaft Lettlands, den weiten Horizont unseres flachen Landes, die Wiesen und Wälder, Vogelstimmen und das Meer. Pēteris Vasks ist sicher ein sehr lettischer Charakter, verfügt aber auch über einen ‚Weltatem‘. Sonst würden nicht Menschen auf der ganzen Erde seine Musik lieben.“

Der zentrale Name im Schaffen jeder Organistin und auch im Triptychon Iveta Apkalnas ist Johann Sebastian Bach. Seine Toccata, Adagio und Fuge in C-Dur, die Triosonate BWV 527 und die sechs Schübler-Choräle bilden für die Musikerin eine zugleich größtmögliche stilistische, kompositorische und klangliche Auswahl mit konkreten persönlichen Motiven. „Ich glaube, es ist wirklich ein Phänomen: die Musik Bachs berührt jeden, wirklich jeden, und hinterlässt Spuren im Leben von jedem Menschen, auch denen, die normalerweise gar nichts mit Musik zu tun haben.“

Franz Liszt, der als reisender Virtuose und visionärer Komponist Weltruhm erlangte, war ebenso ein ausgezeichneter Organist, der zum Ende seines Lebens sogar die Priesterweihe erlangte. Auch sein Oeuvre liegt Iveta Apkalna sehr am Herzen, seien es ihre persönliche Visitenkarte, das Präludium und Fuge über B-A-C-H oder die Choralbearbeitung „Nun danket alle Gott“, die eine Verbindung zu Apkalnas „Hausorgel“ im Dom zu Riga darstellt und für deren Einweihung Liszt dieses Werk beisteuerte.

Der Kontrast könnte nicht größer sein: der natur-spirituelle Pfarrerssohn Vasks, der protestantische Musik-Monolith Bach und der von Groupies umschwärmte Salonlöwe und spätberufene Abt Liszt. Die Werke dieser so unterschiedlichen Komponisten an einer Orgel spielen zu können, ist keine Selbstverständlichkeit. Die ehemalige Marienkirche in Neubrandenburg, die 2001 profaniert und zur Konzertkirche umgewandelt wurde, erhielt 2017 dank der großzügigen Stiftung des Unternehmers Günther Weber eine Orgel. Für den Bau beauftragt wurden die alteingesessenen Orgelbau-Werkstätten Klais (Bonn) und Schuke (Berlin). „Die Konzertkirche in Neubrandenburg verfügt über eine sehr eigene, besondere Akustik, die wir Orgelbauer sehr schätzen“, so die beiden Orgelbauer Philipp Klais und Martin Schwarz. Der Saal hat eine ideale Kombination aus Klarheit und Nachhallzeit. Diese akustische Eigenschaft war der Ausgangspunkt bei der Entwicklung des klanglichen Konzepts. Es entstand in enger Kooperation zwischen den beiden Orgelbauwerkstätten in Abstimmung mit Iveta Apkalna, die Günther Weber als künstlerische Beraterin hinzugebeten hatte. Mit insgesamt 2852 Pfeifen, die zwischen 8 Millimeter und fast 7 Meter hoch sind, besitzt die Orgel 70 Register. Im Prospekt, dem sichtbaren Teil des Instruments, stehen insgesamt 65 Pfeifen: 45 Metallpfeifen in der Front und 20 Holzpfeifen in den Seitenprospekten. Iveta Apkalna ist begeistert: „Die Orgel klingt unglaublich warm, samtig und rund. Und sie gibt dem Organisten durch ihre klar definierten 70 Register alle Möglichkeiten, ob solo oder mit Orchester, vom Frühbarock über romantische Literatur bis hin zur Moderne. Durch den umfassenden Prozess und die intensive, freundschaftliche Zusammenarbeit mit den beiden Orgelbauern Philipp Klais und Martin Schwarz sowie dem Stifter Günther Weber ist diese Orgel wirklich zu einer persönlichen Liebesgeschichte geworden.“

Triptychon Iveta Apkalna

Künstler

Komponisten

Franz Liszt

Johann Sebastian Bach

Pēteris Vasks

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Orgel

Erscheinungsdatum:

27.08.2021



Nachdem die Konzertorganistin Iveta Apkalna mit den Ersteinspielungen der Orgel der Hamburger Elbphilharmonie und der Doppel-Orgel des taiwanesischen Kaohsiung Center for the Arts höchstes Lob des Feuilletons einholte, legt sie als dritte Veröffentlichung beim Label Berlin Classics nun direkt mit einem Trippel-Album nach. Mit Triptychon spannt die einen Bogen über drei Jahrhunderte und drei Konfessionen an einer Orgel: Johann Sebastian Bach, Franz Liszt und Pēteris Vasks erklingen an der von ihr mitentwickelten, inaugurierten und nun erstmals eingespielten Orgel der Konzertkirche Neubrandenburg.

Mit drei Werken ihres Landsmannes und persönlichen Freunds öffnet Apkalna den ersten Altarflügel. Pēteris Vasks ist neben Arvo Pärt der bedeutendste und meistgespielte Komponist des Baltikums. „Lettland ist Pēteris Vasks und Pēteris Vasks ist Lettland“, so die Organistin. „In seiner Musik höre ich die Landschaft Lettlands, den weiten Horizont unseres flachen Landes, die Wiesen und Wälder, Vogelstimmen und das Meer. Pēteris Vasks ist sicher ein sehr lettischer Charakter, verfügt aber auch über einen ‚Weltatem‘. Sonst würden nicht Menschen auf der ganzen Erde seine Musik lieben.“

Der zentrale Name im Schaffen jeder Organistin und auch im Triptychon Iveta Apkalnas ist Johann Sebastian Bach. Seine Toccata, Adagio und Fuge in C-Dur, die Triosonate BWV 527 und die sechs Schübler-Choräle bilden für die Musikerin eine zugleich größtmögliche stilistische, kompositorische und klangliche Auswahl mit konkreten persönlichen Motiven. „Ich glaube, es ist wirklich ein Phänomen: die Musik Bachs berührt jeden, wirklich jeden, und hinterlässt Spuren im Leben von jedem Menschen, auch denen, die normalerweise gar nichts mit Musik zu tun haben.“

Franz Liszt, der als reisender Virtuose und visionärer Komponist Weltruhm erlangte, war ebenso ein ausgezeichneter Organist, der zum Ende seines Lebens sogar die Priesterweihe erlangte. Auch sein Oeuvre liegt Iveta Apkalna sehr am Herzen, seien es ihre persönliche Visitenkarte, das Präludium und Fuge über B-A-C-H oder die Choralbearbeitung „Nun danket alle Gott“, die eine Verbindung zu Apkalnas „Hausorgel“ im Dom zu Riga darstellt und für deren Einweihung Liszt dieses Werk beisteuerte.

Der Kontrast könnte nicht größer sein: der natur-spirituelle Pfarrerssohn Vasks, der protestantische Musik-Monolith Bach und der von Groupies umschwärmte Salonlöwe und spätberufene Abt Liszt. Die Werke dieser so unterschiedlichen Komponisten an einer Orgel spielen zu können, ist keine Selbstverständlichkeit. Die ehemalige Marienkirche in Neubrandenburg, die 2001 profaniert und zur Konzertkirche umgewandelt wurde, erhielt 2017 dank der großzügigen Stiftung des Unternehmers Günther Weber eine Orgel. Für den Bau beauftragt wurden die alteingesessenen Orgelbau-Werkstätten Klais (Bonn) und Schuke (Berlin). „Die Konzertkirche in Neubrandenburg verfügt über eine sehr eigene, besondere Akustik, die wir Orgelbauer sehr schätzen“, so die beiden Orgelbauer Philipp Klais und Martin Schwarz. Der Saal hat eine ideale Kombination aus Klarheit und Nachhallzeit. Diese akustische Eigenschaft war der Ausgangspunkt bei der Entwicklung des klanglichen Konzepts. Es entstand in enger Kooperation zwischen den beiden Orgelbauwerkstätten in Abstimmung mit Iveta Apkalna, die Günther Weber als künstlerische Beraterin hinzugebeten hatte. Mit insgesamt 2852 Pfeifen, die zwischen 8 Millimeter und fast 7 Meter hoch sind, besitzt die Orgel 70 Register. Im Prospekt, dem sichtbaren Teil des Instruments, stehen insgesamt 65 Pfeifen: 45 Metallpfeifen in der Front und 20 Holzpfeifen in den Seitenprospekten. Iveta Apkalna ist begeistert: „Die Orgel klingt unglaublich warm, samtig und rund. Und sie gibt dem Organisten durch ihre klar definierten 70 Register alle Möglichkeiten, ob solo oder mit Orchester, vom Frühbarock über romantische Literatur bis hin zur Moderne. Durch den umfassenden Prozess und die intensive, freundschaftliche Zusammenarbeit mit den beiden Orgelbauern Philipp Klais und Martin Schwarz sowie dem Stifter Günther Weber ist diese Orgel wirklich zu einer persönlichen Liebesgeschichte geworden.“

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

Triptychon
Iveta Apkalna
1 Hymnus
2 Baltā ainava (White Scenery. Winter)
3 Musica seria
4 Trio Sonata, BWV 527: I. Andante
5 Trio Sonata, BWV 527: II. Adagio e dolce
6 Trio Sonata, BWV 527: III. Vivace
7 Schübler Chorales: 1. Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme, BWV 645
8 Schübler Chorales: 2. Wo soll ich fliehen hin, BWV 646
9 Schübler Chorales: 3. Wer nur den lieben Gott lässt walten, BWV 647
10 Schübler Chorales: 4. Meine Seele erhebt den Herren, BWV 648
11 Schübler Chorales: 5. Ach bleib bei uns, Herr Jesu Christ, BWV 649
12 Schübler Chorales: 6. Kommst du nun, Jesu, vom Himmel herunter auf Erden, BWV 650

Weitere Videos von Iveta Apkalna

zurück
weiter
Iveta Apkalna - Johann S. Bach: Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme, BWV 645 (Official Music Video)
Iveta Apkalna - Triptychon: Vasks – Bach – Liszt (Official Album Trailer)
Iveta Apkalna at the Weiwuying Concert Hall: Organ Symphony No.5, Op. 42 No. 1: V. Toccata
Iveta Apkalna - Vierne: Organ Symphonie No.3, Op. 28: III. Intermezzo (Official Music Video)
Iveta Apkalna - Elbphilharmonie Hamburg - Light & Dark (Album Trailer) | Orgel
Iveta Apkalna - Light & Dark - Die Orgel der Elbphilharmonie Hamburg (Interview)
Schafe können sicher weiden (Arr. for Organ)
Iveta Apkalna - Light & Dark - Aivars Kalējs: Gebet
Iveta Apkalna - Light & Dark - Thierry Escaich: Évocation II (Teaser)
Fantasy and Fugue on the chorale
Schübler Chorales: 1. Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme, BWV 645
Schübler Chorales: 3. Wer nur den lieben Gott lässt walten, BWV 647

Weitere Veröffentlichungen von Iveta Apkalna

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}