Fabian Müller plays Franz Schubert’s last piano pieces on his new album “31”, to be released by Berlin Classics on March 4. The Bonn-born pianist, who recently made his debut in Berlin’s Boulez Saal, recorded the Piano Sonatas D958-960 by Schubert and his Three Piano Pieces D946 at the age of 31, the same age that Schubert himself – at the very end of his life – composed them. Müller plays the three sonatas from the Henle Urtext edition and proceeds to add his own very personal touch. Like Alfred Brendel, he omits all the exposition repeats and for that matter, he takes the view that every performer has the right to apply his or her individual interpretation, where tempo is concerned for instance. He explains this in the booklet interview with Malte Hemmerich.

The pianist’s first encounter with Schubert’s works came in the form of a Fischer-Dieskau recording of Winterreise that he heard on his Discman, when suddenly he had the thrilling feeling of having found buried treasure.

How old do you have to be to play these end-of-life works? Do the circumstances of a work’s composition automatically have a bearing on a performer’s ability to play them? How do you approach the “late style” of a creative artist who died so young? “Schubert died at such an early age – just 31 – and yet a lot of people say you have to be incredibly old to play the pieces he composed at the end of his life. And I simply think that is wrong,” says Müller. Surely a young man feels due respect for one who died an untimely death; may not his humility be even greater when he is aware of being the same age? Müller finds the works to be full of vitality. “I think these are the pieces by a man who was in the midst of life, who did not at all want to die.” It is the many facets of Schubert’s compositions, the wealth of feelings expressed in musical terms, that fascinate Müller: “His music is like a rainbow.” Limiting Schubert’s last works to a single colour, let alone casting the grey shadow of longed-for death over them, strikes the pianist as a totally unnecessary reduction, not to say a gross misinterpretation.

As to the question of what passage is most typically Schubert, Müller makes a case for the second movement of Sonata No. 19: “… quite soft with a staccato accompaniment in the left hand. Peaceful, affectionate, somehow a bit sad, but at the same time incomparably happy; memories of a dance in the background and the whole thing embedded in writing that has very strong contrasts and a very powerful, existential mode of expression. And is so redemptive and beautiful towards the end. Not in an aesthetic way, in an inspiring manner.”

The Kieler Nachrichten newspaper hails Fabian Müller as an “approachable virtuoso” who has an equal command of “keyboard devilry” and “utterly tender pianissimo humility”, and the Bonn General-Anzeiger concludes that Müller is not only technically “as well equipped as it is possible to imagine”, but also praises the “exceptionally high level of maturity in his interpretations”. Is he just the right age, then, to bring out all the rainbow colours of Schubert’s piano pieces in radiant brilliance?

31 Fabian Müller

Künstler

Komponisten

Franz Schubert

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Klavier

Erscheinungsdatum:

04.03.2022



Fabian Müller plays Franz Schubert’s last piano pieces on his new album “31”, to be released by Berlin Classics on March 4. The Bonn-born pianist, who recently made his debut in Berlin’s Boulez Saal, recorded the Piano Sonatas D958-960 by Schubert and his Three Piano Pieces D946 at the age of 31, the same age that Schubert himself – at the very end of his life – composed them. Müller plays the three sonatas from the Henle Urtext edition and proceeds to add his own very personal touch. Like Alfred Brendel, he omits all the exposition repeats and for that matter, he takes the view that every performer has the right to apply his or her individual interpretation, where tempo is concerned for instance. He explains this in the booklet interview with Malte Hemmerich.

The pianist’s first encounter with Schubert’s works came in the form of a Fischer-Dieskau recording of Winterreise that he heard on his Discman, when suddenly he had the thrilling feeling of having found buried treasure.

How old do you have to be to play these end-of-life works? Do the circumstances of a work’s composition automatically have a bearing on a performer’s ability to play them? How do you approach the “late style” of a creative artist who died so young? “Schubert died at such an early age – just 31 – and yet a lot of people say you have to be incredibly old to play the pieces he composed at the end of his life. And I simply think that is wrong,” says Müller. Surely a young man feels due respect for one who died an untimely death; may not his humility be even greater when he is aware of being the same age? Müller finds the works to be full of vitality. “I think these are the pieces by a man who was in the midst of life, who did not at all want to die.” It is the many facets of Schubert’s compositions, the wealth of feelings expressed in musical terms, that fascinate Müller: “His music is like a rainbow.” Limiting Schubert’s last works to a single colour, let alone casting the grey shadow of longed-for death over them, strikes the pianist as a totally unnecessary reduction, not to say a gross misinterpretation.

As to the question of what passage is most typically Schubert, Müller makes a case for the second movement of Sonata No. 19: “… quite soft with a staccato accompaniment in the left hand. Peaceful, affectionate, somehow a bit sad, but at the same time incomparably happy; memories of a dance in the background and the whole thing embedded in writing that has very strong contrasts and a very powerful, existential mode of expression. And is so redemptive and beautiful towards the end. Not in an aesthetic way, in an inspiring manner.”



The Kieler Nachrichten newspaper hails Fabian Müller as an “approachable virtuoso” who has an equal command of “keyboard devilry” and “utterly tender pianissimo humility”, and the Bonn General-Anzeiger concludes that Müller is not only technically “as well equipped as it is possible to imagine”, but also praises the “exceptionally high level of maturity in his interpretations”. Is he just the right age, then, to bring out all the rainbow colours of Schubert’s piano pieces in radiant brilliance?

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

31
Fabian Müller
1 Drei Klavierstücke, D946: I. Allegro assai
2 Drei Klavierstücke, D946: II. Allegretto
3 Drei Klavierstücke, D946: III. Allegro
4 Piano Sonata in C Minor, D958: I. Allegro
5 Piano Sonata in C Minor, D958: II. Adagio
6 Piano Sonata in C Minor, D958: III. Menuetto. Allegro
7 Piano Sonata in C Minor, D958: IV. Allegro
8 Piano Sonata in A Major, D959: I. Allegro
9 Piano Sonata in A Major, D959: II. Andantino
10 Piano Sonata in A Major, D959: III. Scherzo. Allegro Vivace
11 Piano Sonata in A Major, D959: IV. Rondo. Allegro
12 Piano Sonata in B-Flat Major, D960: I. Molto Moderato
13 Piano Sonata in B-Flat Major, D960: II. Andante Sostenuto
14 Piano Sonata in B-Flat Major, D960: III. Scherzo. Allegro vivace con Delicatezza
15 Piano Sonata in B-Flat Major, D960: IV. Allegro, ma non Troppo

Weitere Videos von Fabian Müller

zurück
weiter
Fabian Müller - Franz Schubert: Sonate in c-Moll, D958, II. Adagio
Fabian Müller - Passionato (Beethoven, Schumann, Brahms & Rihm) - Offizieller Albumtrailer
Fabian Müller - Johannes Brahms: Piano Works - Op. 76. Nr. 1
Fabian Müller - Johannes Brahms: Piano Works op. 10 / 76 / 117 (Trailer)
Fabian Müller - Brahms - Guten Abend, gut' Nacht (Teaser)
4 Ballades, Op. 10: Andante con moto
3 Intermezzi, Op. 117: Andante con moto
4 Ballades, Op. 10:
4 Ballades, Op. 10: Intermezzo. Allegro
3 Intermezzi, Op. 117: Andante moderato
4 Ballades, Op. 10: Andante
8 Pieces for Piano, Op. 76: Intermezzo. Andante con moto
8 Pieces for Piano, Op. 76: Capriccio. Grazioso ed un poco vivace
3 Intermezzi, Op. 117: Andante non troppo e con molto espressione

Weitere Veröffentlichungen von Fabian Müller

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Fabian Müller spielt Franz Schuberts letzte Klaviermusik auf seinem neuen Album „31“, das am 4. März bei Berlin Classics erscheint. Der Bonner Pianist, der kürzlich sein Debüt im Boulez-Saal feierte, hat die Klaviersonaten D958-960 und die Drei Klavierstücke D946 von Schubert mit 31 Jahren aufgenommen, also im selben Lebensjahr wie Schubert diese – am Ende seines Lebens – komponierte. Müller spielt die drei Sonaten aus dem Henle Urtext und verleiht ihnen überdies seine ganz eigene persönliche Note. So macht er, wie Alfred Brendel, keine Expositionswiederholungen und ist ohnehin der Ansicht, dass jeder Interpret die Freiheit hat, sich individuell einzubringen z.B. hinsichtlich der Tempi. Er erläutert dies im Booklet Gespräch mit Malte Hemmerich.

Den ersten Zugang zu Schuberts Schaffen erfuhr der Pianist u.a. mit einer Fischer-Dieskau-Aufnahme der Winterreise auf dem Discman und hatte schnell das aufregende Gefühl, einen geheimen Schatz gefunden zu haben.

Wie alt muss man also sein, um diese Lebensendwerke zu spielen? Bedingt die zeitliche Schaffensphase automatisch auch einen eingeschränkten Zugang? Was ist dran am „Altersstil“ eines Kunstschaffenden, wenn er so jung von uns geht? „Schubert ist so früh gestorben – mit 31 – und trotzdem sagen viele, man müsse wahnsinnig alt sein, um die Stücke zu spielen, die er am Ende seines Lebens komponiert hat. Und das finde ich einfach falsch,“ so Müller. Die Achtung vor dem Frühverstorbenen ist auch als junger Mensch nicht nur da, sondern eventuell ist die Demut ja sogar noch wesentlich größer, wenn man sich im selben Lebensalter befindet? Für Müller sind die Werke voller Lebendigkeit. „Ich finde, das sind Stücke von einem Mann, der mitten im Leben steht, der überhaupt nicht sterben wollte.“ Die Facettenvielfalt in Schuberts Kompositionen, der Reichtum an vertonten Empfindungen faszinieren Müller: „Seine Musik ist wie ein Regenbogen“. Schuberts letzte Werke daher auf eine Farbe, gar auf reine Todessehnsucht zu reduzieren, erscheint dem Pianisten als vollkommen unnötige Reduktion, gar grobes Missverständnis.

Auf die Frage, welche Stelle exemplarisch für Schuberts Werk sei, plädiert Müller für den Schluss vom zweiten Satz der Sonate Nr. 19: „…ganz leise mit einer Stakkato-Begleitung in der linken Hand. Friedlich, liebevoll, irgendwie ein wenig traurig, aber gleichzeitig unfassbar glücklich; die Erinnerungen an einen Tanz im Hintergrund und das Ganze eingebettet in einen Satz, der sehr starke Kontraste und einen sehr kräftigen, existenziellen Ausdruck hat. Und gegen Ende so erlösend und wunderschön ist. Nicht auf eine ästhetische Art, sondern auf eine beseelende.“

Die „Kieler Nachrichten“ sehen Fabian Müller als „sympathischen Virtuosen“, der gleichermaßen über „Tastendämonie“ und „zarteste Pianissimo-Demut“ verfüge, und der Bonner „General-Anzeiger“ findet, dass Müller nicht nur technisch „denkbar gut gerüstet ist“, sondern lobt auch den „außerordentlich hohen Reifegrad seiner Interpretationen“. Im richtigen Alter also, um alle Farben des Regenbogens in Schuberts Klavierstücken zum Leuchten zu bringen?

31 Fabian Müller

Künstler

Komponisten

Franz Schubert

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Klavier

Erscheinungsdatum:

04.03.2022



Fabian Müller spielt Franz Schuberts letzte Klaviermusik auf seinem neuen Album „31“, das am 4. März bei Berlin Classics erscheint. Der Bonner Pianist, der kürzlich sein Debüt im Boulez-Saal feierte, hat die Klaviersonaten D958-960 und die Drei Klavierstücke D946 von Schubert mit 31 Jahren aufgenommen, also im selben Lebensjahr wie Schubert diese – am Ende seines Lebens – komponierte. Müller spielt die drei Sonaten aus dem Henle Urtext und verleiht ihnen überdies seine ganz eigene persönliche Note. So macht er, wie Alfred Brendel, keine Expositionswiederholungen und ist ohnehin der Ansicht, dass jeder Interpret die Freiheit hat, sich individuell einzubringen z.B. hinsichtlich der Tempi. Er erläutert dies im Booklet Gespräch mit Malte Hemmerich.

Den ersten Zugang zu Schuberts Schaffen erfuhr der Pianist u.a. mit einer Fischer-Dieskau-Aufnahme der Winterreise auf dem Discman und hatte schnell das aufregende Gefühl, einen geheimen Schatz gefunden zu haben.

Wie alt muss man also sein, um diese Lebensendwerke zu spielen? Bedingt die zeitliche Schaffensphase automatisch auch einen eingeschränkten Zugang? Was ist dran am „Altersstil“ eines Kunstschaffenden, wenn er so jung von uns geht? „Schubert ist so früh gestorben - mit 31 - und trotzdem sagen viele, man müsse wahnsinnig alt sein, um die Stücke zu spielen, die er am Ende seines Lebens komponiert hat. Und das finde ich einfach falsch,“ so Müller. Die Achtung vor dem Frühverstorbenen ist auch als junger Mensch nicht nur da, sondern eventuell ist die Demut ja sogar noch wesentlich größer, wenn man sich im selben Lebensalter befindet? Für Müller sind die Werke voller Lebendigkeit. „Ich finde, das sind Stücke von einem Mann, der mitten im Leben steht, der überhaupt nicht sterben wollte.“ Die Facettenvielfalt in Schuberts Kompositionen, der Reichtum an vertonten Empfindungen faszinieren Müller: „Seine Musik ist wie ein Regenbogen“. Schuberts letzte Werke daher auf eine Farbe, gar auf reine Todessehnsucht zu reduzieren, erscheint dem Pianisten als vollkommen unnötige Reduktion, gar grobes Missverständnis.

Auf die Frage, welche Stelle exemplarisch für Schuberts Werk sei, plädiert Müller für den Schluss vom zweiten Satz der Sonate Nr. 19: „…ganz leise mit einer Stakkato-Begleitung in der linken Hand. Friedlich, liebevoll, irgendwie ein wenig traurig, aber gleichzeitig unfassbar glücklich; die Erinnerungen an einen Tanz im Hintergrund und das Ganze eingebettet in einen Satz, der sehr starke Kontraste und einen sehr kräftigen, existenziellen Ausdruck hat. Und gegen Ende so erlösend und wunderschön ist. Nicht auf eine ästhetische Art, sondern auf eine beseelende.“

Die „Kieler Nachrichten“ sehen Fabian Müller als „sympathischen Virtuosen“, der gleichermaßen über „Tastendämonie“ und „zarteste Pianissimo-Demut“ verfüge, und der Bonner „General-Anzeiger“ findet, dass Müller nicht nur technisch „denkbar gut gerüstet ist“, sondern lobt auch den „außerordentlich hohen Reifegrad seiner Interpretationen“. Im richtigen Alter also, um alle Farben des Regenbogens in Schuberts Klavierstücken zum Leuchten zu bringen?

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

31
Fabian Müller
1 Drei Klavierstücke, D946: I. Allegro assai
2 Drei Klavierstücke, D946: II. Allegretto
3 Drei Klavierstücke, D946: III. Allegro
4 Piano Sonata in C Minor, D958: I. Allegro
5 Piano Sonata in C Minor, D958: II. Adagio
6 Piano Sonata in C Minor, D958: III. Menuetto. Allegro
7 Piano Sonata in C Minor, D958: IV. Allegro
8 Piano Sonata in A Major, D959: I. Allegro
9 Piano Sonata in A Major, D959: II. Andantino
10 Piano Sonata in A Major, D959: III. Scherzo. Allegro Vivace
11 Piano Sonata in A Major, D959: IV. Rondo. Allegro
12 Piano Sonata in B-Flat Major, D960: I. Molto Moderato
13 Piano Sonata in B-Flat Major, D960: II. Andante Sostenuto
14 Piano Sonata in B-Flat Major, D960: III. Scherzo. Allegro vivace con Delicatezza
15 Piano Sonata in B-Flat Major, D960: IV. Allegro, ma non Troppo

Weitere Videos von Fabian Müller

zurück
weiter
Fabian Müller - Franz Schubert: Sonate in c-Moll, D958, II. Adagio
Fabian Müller - Passionato (Beethoven, Schumann, Brahms & Rihm) - Offizieller Albumtrailer
Fabian Müller - Johannes Brahms: Piano Works - Op. 76. Nr. 1
Fabian Müller - Johannes Brahms: Piano Works op. 10 / 76 / 117 (Trailer)
Fabian Müller - Brahms - Guten Abend, gut' Nacht (Teaser)
4 Ballades, Op. 10: Andante con moto
3 Intermezzi, Op. 117: Andante con moto
4 Ballades, Op. 10:
4 Ballades, Op. 10: Intermezzo. Allegro
3 Intermezzi, Op. 117: Andante moderato
4 Ballades, Op. 10: Andante
8 Pieces for Piano, Op. 76: Intermezzo. Andante con moto
8 Pieces for Piano, Op. 76: Capriccio. Grazioso ed un poco vivace
3 Intermezzi, Op. 117: Andante non troppo e con molto espressione

Weitere Veröffentlichungen von Fabian Müller

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}