On his latest album, “Brahms Schumann Gade”, clarinet virtuoso and triple ECHO Klassik prizewinner Sebastian Manz addresses three absolute pillars of the clarinet repertoire. The artist’s focus on the core chamber repertoire clearly differentiates this album project from his previous CD recordings. Without diversions or programmatic frills, Sebastian Manz dedicates himself wholly on this album to the artistic content of these timeless masterworks.

The clarinet sonatas of Johannes Brahms are much loved by listeners and performers alike. The variety and depth of Brahms’s sonatas is here in the hands of a courageous exponent who in his descent through their complex compositional strata has struck musical gold. The consequence is a recording that is the very reverse of monotonous. Manz himself describes it as “a spontaneous, high-risk orgy of tone colours”.

Like the Brahms sonatas, the “fantasy pieces” by Robert Schumann are full of detail and thematic associations. It takes years of thorough preparation for such a work to grow to maturity within an artist. As a child, Sebastian Manz had difficulty finding a way into these pieces. But as time went by, at the latest while he was still a music student, his early reservations gave way to real enthusiasm. This recording shows Manz reaping the fruits of this maturing process. The Fantasiestücke Op. 43 by Danish composer Niels Wilhelm Gade show a clear link to Schumann’s; after all, the two composers knew each other personally.

Sebastian Manz is accompanied at the piano by ECHO prizewinner Herbert Schuch. The Romanian-born pianist, who now lives in Germany, is an enthusiastic chamber musician who also appears with the world’s best orchestras. This musical partnership thrives on far-reaching musical diversity, where both artists are ready to respond to the impulse of the moment and follow wherever artistic collaboration may lead. Together they will delight you with recordings that audibly leave time and space for spontaneous musical qualities. The thoughts and emotions of the two performers flow through purely and naturally. The music has time and space to open up and express itself, too, thanks to long, ambitious takes.

The decision to record the album in the wood-panelled Angelika Kaufmann Hall in Schwarzenberg, in the Vorarlberg region of Austria, was a quite deliberate one. Its intimate setting is home in particular to the Schubertiade, the world’s most important Schubert festival. The crystal-clear acoustics of its timeless wooden architecture in the midst of unspoilt nature offered the ideal ambience, convincing the artists “that we could make a recording that was capable of rendering the music in all its facets”. The Steinway D concert grand was a find. The “old lady”, as she is affectionately termed in Schwarzenberg, has been around for a century or so. The not so brilliant sound, with its sugar-sweet tone, is most characteristic of its time and gives an idea of the sound qualities Brahms worked with while he was composing.

Brahms Schumann Gade Sebastian Manz & Herbert Schuch

Composer

Johannes Brahms

Niels Wilhelm Gade

Robert Schumann

Further information

Genre

Klassik

Publication date:

13.05.2022



On his latest album, “Brahms Schumann Gade”, clarinet virtuoso and triple ECHO Klassik prizewinner Sebastian Manz addresses three absolute pillars of the clarinet repertoire. The artist’s focus on the core chamber repertoire clearly differentiates this album project from his previous CD recordings. Without diversions or programmatic frills, Sebastian Manz dedicates himself wholly on this album to the artistic content of these timeless masterworks.

The clarinet sonatas of Johannes Brahms are much loved by listeners and performers alike. The variety and depth of Brahms’s sonatas is here in the hands of a courageous exponent who in his descent through their complex compositional strata has struck musical gold. The consequence is a recording that is the very reverse of monotonous. Manz himself describes it as “a spontaneous, high-risk orgy of tone colours”.

Like the Brahms sonatas, the “fantasy pieces” by Robert Schumann are full of detail and thematic associations. It takes years of thorough preparation for such a work to grow to maturity within an artist. As a child, Sebastian Manz had difficulty finding a way into these pieces. But as time went by, at the latest while he was still a music student, his early reservations gave way to real enthusiasm. This recording shows Manz reaping the fruits of this maturing process. The Fantasiestücke Op. 43 by Danish composer Niels Wilhelm Gade show a clear link to Schumann’s; after all, the two composers knew each other personally.

Sebastian Manz is accompanied at the piano by ECHO prizewinner Herbert Schuch. The Romanian-born pianist, who now lives in Germany, is an enthusiastic chamber musician who also appears with the world’s best orchestras. This musical partnership thrives on far-reaching musical diversity, where both artists are ready to respond to the impulse of the moment and follow wherever artistic collaboration may lead. Together they will delight you with recordings that audibly leave time and space for spontaneous musical qualities. The thoughts and emotions of the two performers flow through purely and naturally. The music has time and space to open up and express itself, too, thanks to long, ambitious takes.

The decision to record the album in the wood-panelled Angelika Kaufmann Hall in Schwarzenberg, in the Vorarlberg region of Austria, was a quite deliberate one. Its intimate setting is home in particular to the Schubertiade, the world’s most important Schubert festival. The crystal-clear acoustics of its timeless wooden architecture in the midst of unspoilt nature offered the ideal ambience, convincing the artists “that we could make a recording that was capable of rendering the music in all its facets”. The Steinway D concert grand was a find. The “old lady”, as she is affectionately termed in Schwarzenberg, has been around for a century or so. The not so brilliant sound, with its sugar-sweet tone, is most characteristic of its time and gives an idea of the sound qualities Brahms worked with while he was composing.

Tracklist - These are the tracks you will hear on the album

Brahms Schumann Gade
Sebastian Manz & Herbert Schuch
1 Clarinet Sonata No. 1 in F Minor, Op. 120: I. Allegro appassionato
2 Clarinet Sonata No. 1 in F Minor, Op. 120: II. Andante un poco Adagio
3 Clarinet Sonata No. 1 in F Minor, Op. 120: III. Allegretto grazioso
4 Clarinet Sonata No. 1 in F Minor, Op. 120: IV. Vivace
5 Fantasy Pieces, Op. 43: No. 1, Andantino con moto
6 Fantasy Pieces, Op. 43: No. 2, Allegro vivace
7 Fantasy Pieces, Op. 43: No. 3, Ballade
8 Fantasy Pieces, Op. 43: No. 4, Allegro molto vivace
9 Fantasy Pieces, Op. 73: No. 1, Zart und mit Ausdruck
10 Fantasy Pieces, Op. 73: No. 2, Lebhaft, leicht
11 Fantasy Pieces, Op. 73: No. 3, Rasch und mit Feuer
12 Clarinet Sonata No. 2 in E-Flat Major, Op. 120: I. Allegro amabile
13 Clarinet Sonata No. 2 in E-Flat Major, Op. 120: II. Allegro appassionato
14 Clarinet Sonata No. 2 in E-Flat Major, Op. 120: III. Andante con moto

More videos from Sebastian Manz & Herbert Schuch

previous
next
Sebastian Manz - Lindberg: Clarinet Concerto: Part III (Offical Music Video)
Sebastian Manz - Nielsen: Clarinet Concerto, Op. 57: III. Allegro vivace (Official Music Video)
Prelude, Loops and Riffs - Sebastian Manz & STUDNITZKY (Official Music Video) | Jam Session
Clarinet Concerto: Part III
Clarinet Concerto: Part I
Clarinet Concerto: Solo Cadenza
Sebastian Manz & Studnitzky - A Bernstein Story (Album Trailer) | Classical Music meets Jazz
Sebastian Manz & Herbert Schuch - Brahms: Clarinet Sonata No. 2, Op. 120: II. Allegro appassionato

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com

Auf seinem neuesten Album „Brahms Schumann Gade” widmet sich der Klarinettenvirtuose und dreimalige ECHO-Klassik-Gewinner Sebastian Manz drei absoluten Opera Magna des Klarinettenrepertoires. Die Fokussierung auf das kammermusikalische Kernrepertoire lässt dieses Album-Projekt deutlich aus der bisherigen Diskografie des Künstlers herausstechen. Ohne Ablenkungen oder programmatische Verzierungen dient Sebastian Manz in diesem Album vollkommen dem künstlerischen Inhalt dieser zeitlosen Meisterwerke.

Die Klarinetten-Sonaten von Johannes Brahms sind sowohl bei Zuhörenden als auch bei Interpret:innen allseits beliebt. Die Vielschichtigkeit und Tiefe der Brahmschen Sonaten trifft hier auf einen mutigen Interpreten, der bei seinem Tauchgang durch die komplexe kompositorische Substanz auf musikalisches Gold stößt. Das Ergebnis ist eine Aufnahme, die alles andere als monoton klingt. Manz selbst sagt, sie ähnele eher einer „spontanen und risikoreichen Klangfarben-Orgie“.

Ähnlich wie die Sonaten von Brahms sind auch die Fantasiestücke von Robert Schumann voller Detail und thematischen Verbindungen. Es bedarf Jahre der ausgiebigen Beschäftigung, bis ein solches Werk in einem Künstler zur Reife wächst. Als Kind fiel es Sebastian Manz schwer, einen Zugang zu diesen Stücken zu finden. Doch, spätestens während seines Studiums, wich die anfängliche Teilnahmslosigkeit der Begeisterung. In dieser Aufnahme erntet Manz nun die Früchte dieses Reife-Prozesses. Bei den Fantasiestücke Op. 43 des dänischen Komponisten Niels Wilhelm Gades existiert eine deutliche Verwandtschaft zu denen von Schumann, denn die Komponisten kannten sich persönlich.

Am Klavier begleitet wird der ECHO Preisträger Sebastian Manz von Herbert Schuch. Der aus Rumänien stammende und jetzt in Deutschland lebende Pianist ist begeisterter Kammermusiker, tritt jedoch auch mit den besten Orchestern der Welt auf. Diese musikalische Partnerschaft ist geprägt von weitreichender musikalischer Vielfalt, da beide Interpreten bereit sind, sich dem Moment und der Führung des künstlerischen Zusammenwirkens hinzugeben. Zusammen begeistern Sie mit Aufnahmen, in denen zu hören ist, dass Zeit und Raum für spontane musikalische Qualitäten gelassen wurden. Die Gedanken und Emotionen der Interpreten kommen so ungefiltert zur Geltung. Zusätzlich wahren groß angelegte Takes den musikalischen Fluss und ihre Natürlichkeit.

Ganz bewusst war auch die Wahl des holzvertäfelten Angelika-Kaufmann-Saals im österreichischen Schwarzenberg als Aufnahmeort. In seinem intimen Setting beheimatet er unter anderem die Schubertiade, das bedeutendste Schubert-Festival der Welt. Eine glasklare Akustik der zeitlosen Holzarchitektur inmitten anmutiger Natur bietet die idealen Rahmenbedingungen um „eine Aufnahme erschaffen zu können, welche die Musik in all ihren Facetten wiederzugeben vermag.“ Als ein Glücksfall stellte sich der Steinway D-Flügel raus. Die „alte Dame“, wie sie in Schwarzenberg liebevoll genannt wird, ist rund 100 Jahre alt. Der nicht so brillante, aber sehr süßliche Klang ist sehr charakteristisch für die Zeit und lässt erahnen, mit welchen Klang-Charakteristiken Brahms beim Komponieren gearbeitet haben muss.

Brahms Schumann Gade Sebastian Manz & Herbert Schuch

Komponisten

Johannes Brahms

Niels Wilhelm Gade

Robert Schumann

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Klassik

Erscheinungsdatum:

13.05.2022



Auf seinem neuesten Album „Brahms Schumann Gade" widmet sich der Klarinettenvirtuose und dreimalige ECHO-Klassik-Gewinner Sebastian Manz drei absoluten Opera Magna des Klarinettenrepertoires. Die Fokussierung auf das kammermusikalische Kernrepertoire lässt dieses Album-Projekt deutlich aus der bisherigen Diskografie des Künstlers herausstechen. Ohne Ablenkungen oder programmatische Verzierungen dient Sebastian Manz in diesem Album vollkommen dem künstlerischen Inhalt dieser zeitlosen Meisterwerke.

Die Klarinetten-Sonaten von Johannes Brahms sind sowohl bei Zuhörenden als auch bei Interpret:innen allseits beliebt. Die Vielschichtigkeit und Tiefe der Brahmschen Sonaten trifft hier auf einen mutigen Interpreten, der bei seinem Tauchgang durch die komplexe kompositorische Substanz auf musikalisches Gold stößt. Das Ergebnis ist eine Aufnahme, die alles andere als monoton klingt. Manz selbst sagt, sie ähnele eher einer „spontanen und risikoreichen Klangfarben-Orgie“.

Ähnlich wie die Sonaten von Brahms sind auch die Fantasiestücke von Robert Schumann voller Detail und thematischen Verbindungen. Es bedarf Jahre der ausgiebigen Beschäftigung, bis ein solches Werk in einem Künstler zur Reife wächst. Als Kind fiel es Sebastian Manz schwer, einen Zugang zu diesen Stücken zu finden. Doch, spätestens während seines Studiums, wich die anfängliche Teilnahmslosigkeit der Begeisterung. In dieser Aufnahme erntet Manz nun die Früchte dieses Reife-Prozesses. Bei den Fantasiestücke Op. 43 des dänischen Komponisten Niels Wilhelm Gades existiert eine deutliche Verwandtschaft zu denen von Schumann, denn die Komponisten kannten sich persönlich.

Am Klavier begleitet wird der ECHO Preisträger Sebastian Manz von Herbert Schuch. Der aus Rumänien stammende und jetzt in Deutschland lebende Pianist ist begeisterter Kammermusiker, tritt jedoch auch mit den besten Orchestern der Welt auf. Diese musikalische Partnerschaft ist geprägt von weitreichender musikalischer Vielfalt, da beide Interpreten bereit sind, sich dem Moment und der Führung des künstlerischen Zusammenwirkens hinzugeben. Zusammen begeistern Sie mit Aufnahmen, in denen zu hören ist, dass Zeit und Raum für spontane musikalische Qualitäten gelassen wurden. Die Gedanken und Emotionen der Interpreten kommen so ungefiltert zur Geltung. Zusätzlich wahren groß angelegte Takes den musikalischen Fluss und ihre Natürlichkeit.

Ganz bewusst war auch die Wahl des holzvertäfelten Angelika-Kaufmann-Saals im österreichischen Schwarzenberg als Aufnahmeort. In seinem intimen Setting beheimatet er unter anderem die Schubertiade, das bedeutendste Schubert-Festival der Welt. Eine glasklare Akustik der zeitlosen Holzarchitektur inmitten anmutiger Natur bietet die idealen Rahmenbedingungen um „eine Aufnahme erschaffen zu können, welche die Musik in all ihren Facetten wiederzugeben vermag.“ Als ein Glücksfall stellte sich der Steinway D-Flügel raus. Die „alte Dame“, wie sie in Schwarzenberg liebevoll genannt wird, ist rund 100 Jahre alt. Der nicht so brillante, aber sehr süßliche Klang ist sehr charakteristisch für die Zeit und lässt erahnen, mit welchen Klang-Charakteristiken Brahms beim Komponieren gearbeitet haben muss.

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

Brahms Schumann Gade
Sebastian Manz & Herbert Schuch
1 Clarinet Sonata No. 1 in F Minor, Op. 120: I. Allegro appassionato
2 Clarinet Sonata No. 1 in F Minor, Op. 120: II. Andante un poco Adagio
3 Clarinet Sonata No. 1 in F Minor, Op. 120: III. Allegretto grazioso
4 Clarinet Sonata No. 1 in F Minor, Op. 120: IV. Vivace
5 Fantasy Pieces, Op. 43: No. 1, Andantino con moto
6 Fantasy Pieces, Op. 43: No. 2, Allegro vivace
7 Fantasy Pieces, Op. 43: No. 3, Ballade
8 Fantasy Pieces, Op. 43: No. 4, Allegro molto vivace
9 Fantasy Pieces, Op. 73: No. 1, Zart und mit Ausdruck
10 Fantasy Pieces, Op. 73: No. 2, Lebhaft, leicht
11 Fantasy Pieces, Op. 73: No. 3, Rasch und mit Feuer
12 Clarinet Sonata No. 2 in E-Flat Major, Op. 120: I. Allegro amabile
13 Clarinet Sonata No. 2 in E-Flat Major, Op. 120: II. Allegro appassionato
14 Clarinet Sonata No. 2 in E-Flat Major, Op. 120: III. Andante con moto

Weitere Videos von Sebastian Manz & Herbert Schuch

zurück
weiter
Sebastian Manz - Lindberg: Clarinet Concerto: Part III (Offical Music Video)
Sebastian Manz - Nielsen: Clarinet Concerto, Op. 57: III. Allegro vivace (Official Music Video)
Prelude, Loops and Riffs - Sebastian Manz & STUDNITZKY (Official Music Video) | Jam Session
Clarinet Concerto: Part III
Clarinet Concerto: Part I
Clarinet Concerto: Solo Cadenza
Sebastian Manz & Studnitzky - A Bernstein Story (Album Trailer) | Classical Music meets Jazz
Sebastian Manz & Herbert Schuch - Brahms: Clarinet Sonata No. 2, Op. 120: II. Allegro appassionato

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}