Following on from her debut album impressions, featuring chamber music for bassoon and piano, bassoon player Sophie Dervaux is poised to release her second album on the Berlin Classics label. This album marks two premieres: in addition to this being the very first recording of the Concerto no. 2 in C major for bassoon and orchestra by Johann Baptist Vanhal, Ms Dervaux performs as both soloist and conductor of the Mozarteum Orchestra of Salzburg.

The recording of Mozart’s Concerto in B flat major for bassoon and orchestra was the starting point for this present CD. It is acknowledged to be one of the most important works ever written for the wind instrument: composed in the Viennese Classical style, sophisticated and nuanced – and the only bassoon concerto by Mozart to have survived. “The Concerto in B flat major forms the basis for many bassoonists’ repertoire,” Sophie Dervaux explains, “and for that reason I have long waited to record the work – it is an important step along my career path and I faced up to it with respect.”

What can be paired on an album alongside a work that enjoys the huge significance of Mozart’s bassoon concerto? Sophie Dervaux has chosen two composers who were close to Mozart, and who share a common history with him. Vanhal and Hummel, like Mozart, all left their mark on the musical history of Vienna – the city in which Sophie Dervaux, as solo bassoonist with the Vienna Philharmonic, has chosen to make her home.

Johann Nepomuk Hummel was a pupil of Mozart; for a while, he lived under the same roof as his teacher. Hummel’s compositions are stylistically located on the cusp between Viennese Classical and the Romantic era: the the finale of his Grand Concerto shows evidence of folk-music influences. Like Mozart’s concerto in B flat major, Hummel’s Grand Concerto in F is also a standard work in today’s bassoon repertoire.

Johann Baptist Vanhal’s Concerto for bassoon and orchestr,a on the other hand, “was like a blank sheet of paper,” says Sophie Dervaux. “I had no end of opportunities in the interpretation; indeed, I did not even know quite how it would sound when I began. The first few notes were a really wonderful surprise!” Although Vanhal, who was born in Bohemia, was counted among the foremost composers of the day in his lifetime, very few of his works have been published or performed in recent times. As an “ambassador” for her instrument, Sophie Dervaux has for many years been championing the expansion of the repertoire for bassoon and for introducing unknown works to a wider audience.

When recording this album, featuring Mozart’s bassoon concerto as the starting point, she consciously chose the Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg; after all, who could be better suited than an orchestra from Mozart’s home city, an ensemble that can look back on such a great tradition? “It was a highly rewarding collaboration with the Mozarteum Orchestra, a musical interaction that I will long cherish,” recalls Sophie Dervaux. Conducting was again a new and intensive experience. “I am very grateful to all the musicians for their unparalleled support. A great sense of energy built up between us. Playing with and above all conducting this orchestra has awakened my curiosity more than ever. I intend to continue along this path.” Both of those paths in Sophie Dervaux’s career – as bassoonist and conductor – come together convincingly on her new album Mozart, Hummel, Vanhal.

Mozart - Hummel - Vanhal Sophie Dervaux & Mozarteumorchester Salzburg

Artist

Mozarteumorchester Salzburg

Composer

Johann Baptist Vanhal

Johann Nepomuk Hummel

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Further information

Genre

Konzert / Soloinstrument mit Orchester

Publication date:

29.04.2022



Following on from her debut album impressions, featuring chamber music for bassoon and piano, bassoon player Sophie Dervaux is poised to release her second album on the Berlin Classics label. This album marks two premieres: in addition to this being the very first recording of the Concerto no. 2 in C major for bassoon and orchestra by Johann Baptist Vanhal, Ms Dervaux performs as both soloist and conductor of the Mozarteum Orchestra of Salzburg.



The recording of Mozart’s Concerto in B flat major for bassoon and orchestra was the starting point for this present CD. It is acknowledged to be one of the most important works ever written for the wind instrument: composed in the Viennese Classical style, sophisticated and nuanced – and the only bassoon concerto by Mozart to have survived. “The Concerto in B flat major forms the basis for many bassoonists’ repertoire,” Sophie Dervaux explains, “and for that reason I have long waited to record the work – it is an important step along my career path and I faced up to it with respect.”



What can be paired on an album alongside a work that enjoys the huge significance of Mozart’s bassoon concerto? Sophie Dervaux has chosen two composers who were close to Mozart, and who share a common history with him. Vanhal and Hummel, like Mozart, all left their mark on the musical history of Vienna – the city in which Sophie Dervaux, as solo bassoonist with the Vienna Philharmonic, has chosen to make her home.



Johann Nepomuk Hummel was a pupil of Mozart; for a while, he lived under the same roof as his teacher. Hummel’s compositions are stylistically located on the cusp between Viennese Classical and the Romantic era: the the finale of his Grand Concerto shows evidence of folk-music influences. Like Mozart’s concerto in B flat major, Hummel’s Grand Concerto in F is also a standard work in today’s bassoon repertoire.



Johann Baptist Vanhal’s Concerto for bassoon and orchestr,a on the other hand, “was like a blank sheet of paper,” says Sophie Dervaux. “I had no end of opportunities in the interpretation; indeed, I did not even know quite how it would sound when I began. The first few notes were a really wonderful surprise!” Although Vanhal, who was born in Bohemia, was counted among the foremost composers of the day in his lifetime, very few of his works have been published or performed in recent times. As an “ambassador” for her instrument, Sophie Dervaux has for many years been championing the expansion of the repertoire for bassoon and for introducing unknown works to a wider audience.



When recording this album, featuring Mozart’s bassoon concerto as the starting point, she consciously chose the Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg; after all, who could be better suited than an orchestra from Mozart’s home city, an ensemble that can look back on such a great tradition? “It was a highly rewarding collaboration with the Mozarteum Orchestra, a musical interaction that I will long cherish,” recalls Sophie Dervaux. Conducting was again a new and intensive experience. “I am very grateful to all the musicians for their unparalleled support. A great sense of energy built up between us. Playing with and above all conducting this orchestra has awakened my curiosity more than ever. I intend to continue along this path.” Both of those paths in Sophie Dervaux’s career – as bassoonist and conductor – come together convincingly on her new album Mozart, Hummel, Vanhal.

Tracklist - These are the tracks you will hear on the album

Mozart - Hummel - Vanhal
Sophie Dervaux & Mozarteumorchester Salzburg
1 Bassoon Concerto in B-Flat Major, KV 191: I. Allegro
2 Bassoon Concerto in B-Flat Major, KV 191: II. Andante ma adagio
3 Bassoon Concerto in B-Flat Major, KV 191: III. Rondo. Tempo di menuetto
4 Grand Concerto in F Major for bassoon and orchestra: I. Allegro moderato
5 Grand Concerto in F Major for bassoon and orchestra: II. Romanza. Andantino e cantabile
6 Grand Concerto in F Major for bassoon and orchestra: III. Rondo. Vivace
7 Concerto in C Major for bassoon and orchestra: I. Allegro moderato
8 Concerto in C Major for bassoon and orchestra: II. Adagio cantabile
9 Concerto in C Major for bassoon and orchestra: III. Finale. Allegro

More videos from Sophie Dervaux & Mozarteumorchester Salzburg

previous
next
Sophie Dervaux - Après un rêve | Op. 7, no. 1 - Gabriel Fauré (Official Music Video)
Sophie Dervaux -  Sonata, op. 168: II. Allegretto scherzando - Saint-Saëns (Official Music Video)
Sophie Dervaux - Beau soir I L.6 - Claude Debussy (Offizielles Music Video)
Sophie Dervaux - Impressions (Official Album Trailer) w/ Sélim Mazari
Sophie Dervaux - Hummel: Grand Concerto in F Major: I. Allegro moderato (Teaser)
Sophie Dervaux: Mozart - Hummel - Vanhal (Official Album Trailer) #BerlinClassics
Sophie Dervaux & Mozarteumorchester Salzburg - Vanhal: Concerto in C Major

Other publications by Sophie Dervaux & Mozarteumorchester Salzburg

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Nach ihrem Debütalbum impressions mit Kammermusikwerken für Fagott und Klavier präsentiert sich die Fagottistin Sophie Dervaux auf ihrem zweiten Album für Berlin Classics mit zwei Premieren: Neben der Weltersteinspielung des Konzerts Nr. 2 in C-Dur für Fagott und Orchester von Johann Baptist Vanhal agierte sie für dieses Album nicht nur als Solistin, sondern auch als Dirigentin des Mozarteumorchester Salzburg.

Die Aufnahme von Mozarts Konzert in B-Dur für Fagott und Orchester war der Ausgangspunkt der vorliegenden CD. Es gilt als eines der wichtigsten Werke, die je für das Instrument geschrieben wurden: Wiener Klassik, anspruchsvoll und differenziert – und das einzige Fagottkonzert Mozarts, das überhaupt erhalten blieb. „Das Konzert in B-Dur bildet die Grundlage des Repertoires vieler Fagottistinnen und Fagottisten, sagt Sophie Dervaux, „ich habe daher lange darauf gewartet, das Werk einzuspielen – es ist ein wichtiger Schritt, dem ich mit Respekt begegnet bin.“

Was kann auf einem Album neben einem Werk stehen, das so eine große Bedeutung wie Mozarts Fagottkonzert hat? Sophie Dervaux hat sich für zwei Komponisten entschieden, die Mozart nah waren, die eine gemeinsame Geschichte mit ihm teilen. Mozart und Hummel sowie Vanhal prägen die Musikgeschichte Wiens – die Stadt, die Sophie Dervaux als Solofagottistin der Wiener Philharmoniker ihre Wahlheimat nennt.

Johann Nepumuk Hummel war ein Schüler Mozarts, er lebte zeitweise mit dem Meister unter einem Dach. Seine Werke liegen bereits an der Grenze zwischen Wiener Klassik und Romantik, das Finale des Grand Concerto hat volksmusikalische Züge. Wie Mozarts Konzert in B-Dur ist auch Hummels Grand Concerto F-Dur fest im heutigen Fagott-Repertoire verankert.

Johann Baptist Vanhals Konzert für Fagott und Orchester dagegen „war wie ein weißes Blatt“, sagt Sophie Dervaux. „Ich hatte unendliche Möglichkeiten, ich wusste ja am Anfang noch nicht genau, wie es klingen würde. Die ersten Töne waren wirklich eine wundervolle Überraschung!“ Obwohl auch der aus Böhmen stammende Vanhal zu Lebzeiten als einer der führenden Komponisten seiner Zeit galt, ist sein Werk bisher nur marginal erschlossen. Als „Botschafterin“ ihres Instruments setzt sich Sophie Dervaux bereits seit Jahren für die Erweiterung des Fagottrepertoires und für das Bekanntmachen unbekannterer Werke ein.

Bewusst hat sie für die Aufnahme dieses Albums, mit Mozarts Fagottkonzert als Ausgangswerk, das Mozarteumorchester Salzburg ausgewählt, denn wer könnte dafür besser geeignet sein als ein Orchester aus Mozarts Heimatstadt, ein Orchester mit so einer großen Tradition? „Es war eine sehr bereichernde Zusammenarbeit mit dem Mozarteumorchester. Ein musikalischer Austausch, der mir in Erinnerung bleiben wird“, erzählt Sophie Dervaux. Und auch das Dirigieren war für sie wieder einmal eine intensive Erfahrung. „Ich bin den Musikerinnen und Musikern sehr dankbar für die einzigartige Unterstützung. Es war eine tolle Energie zwischen uns. Mit diesem Orchester zu spielen, vor allem: es zu dirigieren, weckt meine Neugier mehr denn je. Diesen Weg werde ich weitergehen. Beide Wege Sophie Dervauxs – jener der Fagottistin und der der Dirigentin – treffen auf dem neuen Album Mozart, Hummel, Vanhal auf überzeugende Weise zusammen.

Mozart - Hummel - Vanhal Sophie Dervaux & Mozarteumorchester Salzburg

Künstler

Mozarteumorchester Salzburg

Komponisten

Johann Baptist Vanhal

Johann Nepomuk Hummel

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Konzert / Soloinstrument mit Orchester

Erscheinungsdatum:

29.04.2022



Nach ihrem Debütalbum impressions mit Kammermusikwerken für Fagott und Klavier präsentiert sich die Fagottistin Sophie Dervaux auf ihrem zweiten Album für Berlin Classics mit zwei Premieren: Neben der Weltersteinspielung des Konzerts Nr. 2 in C-Dur für Fagott und Orchester von Johann Baptist Vanhal agierte sie für dieses Album nicht nur als Solistin, sondern auch als Dirigentin des Mozarteumorchester Salzburg.



Die Aufnahme von Mozarts Konzert in B-Dur für Fagott und Orchester war der Ausgangspunkt der vorliegenden CD. Es gilt als eines der wichtigsten Werke, die je für das Instrument geschrieben wurden: Wiener Klassik, anspruchsvoll und differenziert – und das einzige Fagottkonzert Mozarts, das überhaupt erhalten blieb. „Das Konzert in B-Dur bildet die Grundlage des Repertoires vieler Fagottistinnen und Fagottisten, sagt Sophie Dervaux, „ich habe daher lange darauf gewartet, das Werk einzuspielen – es ist ein wichtiger Schritt, dem ich mit Respekt begegnet bin.“

Was kann auf einem Album neben einem Werk stehen, das so eine große Bedeutung wie Mozarts Fagottkonzert hat? Sophie Dervaux hat sich für zwei Komponisten entschieden, die Mozart nah waren, die eine gemeinsame Geschichte mit ihm teilen. Mozart und Hummel sowie Vanhal prägen die Musikgeschichte Wiens – die Stadt, die Sophie Dervaux als Solofagottistin der Wiener Philharmoniker ihre Wahlheimat nennt.

Johann Nepumuk Hummel war ein Schüler Mozarts, er lebte zeitweise mit dem Meister unter einem Dach. Seine Werke liegen bereits an der Grenze zwischen Wiener Klassik und Romantik, das Finale des Grand Concerto hat volksmusikalische Züge. Wie Mozarts Konzert in B-Dur ist auch Hummels Grand Concerto F-Dur fest im heutigen Fagott-Repertoire verankert.

Johann Baptist Vanhals Konzert für Fagott und Orchester dagegen „war wie ein weißes Blatt“, sagt Sophie Dervaux. „Ich hatte unendliche Möglichkeiten, ich wusste ja am Anfang noch nicht genau, wie es klingen würde. Die ersten Töne waren wirklich eine wundervolle Überraschung!“ Obwohl auch der aus Böhmen stammende Vanhal zu Lebzeiten als einer der führenden Komponisten seiner Zeit galt, ist sein Werk bisher nur marginal erschlossen. Als „Botschafterin“ ihres Instruments setzt sich Sophie Dervaux bereits seit Jahren für die Erweiterung des Fagottrepertoires und für das Bekanntmachen unbekannterer Werke ein.



Bewusst hat sie für die Aufnahme dieses Albums, mit Mozarts Fagottkonzert als Ausgangswerk, das Mozarteumorchester Salzburg ausgewählt, denn wer könnte dafür besser geeignet sein als ein Orchester aus Mozarts Heimatstadt, ein Orchester mit so einer großen Tradition? „Es war eine sehr bereichernde Zusammenarbeit mit dem Mozarteumorchester. Ein musikalischer Austausch, der mir in Erinnerung bleiben wird“, erzählt Sophie Dervaux. Und auch das Dirigieren war für sie wieder einmal eine intensive Erfahrung. „Ich bin den Musikerinnen und Musikern sehr dankbar für die einzigartige Unterstützung. Es war eine tolle Energie zwischen uns. Mit diesem Orchester zu spielen, vor allem: es zu dirigieren, weckt meine Neugier mehr denn je. Diesen Weg werde ich weitergehen. Beide Wege Sophie Dervauxs – jener der Fagottistin und der der Dirigentin – treffen auf dem neuen Album Mozart, Hummel, Vanhal auf überzeugende Weise zusammen.

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

Mozart - Hummel - Vanhal
Sophie Dervaux & Mozarteumorchester Salzburg
1 Bassoon Concerto in B-Flat Major, KV 191: I. Allegro
2 Bassoon Concerto in B-Flat Major, KV 191: II. Andante ma adagio
3 Bassoon Concerto in B-Flat Major, KV 191: III. Rondo. Tempo di menuetto
4 Grand Concerto in F Major for bassoon and orchestra: I. Allegro moderato
5 Grand Concerto in F Major for bassoon and orchestra: II. Romanza. Andantino e cantabile
6 Grand Concerto in F Major for bassoon and orchestra: III. Rondo. Vivace
7 Concerto in C Major for bassoon and orchestra: I. Allegro moderato
8 Concerto in C Major for bassoon and orchestra: II. Adagio cantabile
9 Concerto in C Major for bassoon and orchestra: III. Finale. Allegro

Weitere Videos von Sophie Dervaux & Mozarteumorchester Salzburg

zurück
weiter
Sophie Dervaux - Après un rêve | Op. 7, no. 1 - Gabriel Fauré (Official Music Video)
Sophie Dervaux -  Sonata, op. 168: II. Allegretto scherzando - Saint-Saëns (Official Music Video)
Sophie Dervaux - Beau soir I L.6 - Claude Debussy (Offizielles Music Video)
Sophie Dervaux - Impressions (Official Album Trailer) w/ Sélim Mazari
Sophie Dervaux - Hummel: Grand Concerto in F Major: I. Allegro moderato (Teaser)
Sophie Dervaux: Mozart - Hummel - Vanhal (Official Album Trailer) #BerlinClassics
Sophie Dervaux & Mozarteumorchester Salzburg - Vanhal: Concerto in C Major

Weitere Veröffentlichungen von Sophie Dervaux & Mozarteumorchester Salzburg

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}