His name is scarcely known these days, his reputation almost non-existent and his works rarely played, yet Georg Muffat was in fact a prolific composer who possessed a virtuosic talent and whose influence, especially in the field of the development of instrumental music, cannot be underestimated. The early music ensemble Concerto Copenhagen under their leader Lars Ulrik Mortensen celebrated its 30th anniversary in 2021 and in an anniversary recording has chosen to spotlight Muffat’s rich repertoire of works, illustrated by his collection of sonatas entitled “Armonico Tributo”.

Georg Muffat (1653-1704) was a true cosmopolitan. The son of a family from Scotland, he was born in Mégève in Savoy. At an early age he went to Paris to study with Jean-Baptiste Lully, travelling on from there to Bavaria, Prague, Vienna, Passau and Salzburg, where in 1678 he took up the post of court organist. Very few composers at that time could boast the degree of intimate knowledge of the new and strictly regulated French style as did Muffat, as well as the freedom and virtuosity of the central European Stylus Phantasticus (a style that Muffat himself had explored in his 1677 Sonata for Violin composed in Prague but unpublished, the master of which was Moffat’s Salzburg colleague Heinrich Biber) along with the “modern” Italian style of music developed by Arcangelo Corelli and his contemporaries. He worked all of his musical knowledge into the composition of his sonata collection “Armonico Tributo” published in five separate part books. According to Muffat himself, three completely different soundscapes are feasible: the “classical” trio sonata form, the traditional five-part string formation and the concerto grosso setting, divided into concertino and ripieno groupings.

Concerto Copenhagen are celebrating thirty years together. They are one of the most innovative and experiment-loving Baroque orchestras in Scandinavia. Long since well known and celebrated beyond the borders of Denmark, this early music ensemble has been delighting audiences around Europe with exciting programmes of music that cross the borders between early and contemporary music. In 1999 the renowned harpsichordist Lars Ulrik Mortensen took over artistic directorship of Concerto Copenhagen. Early on, in his student days, he had come across the name of Georg Muffat and was impressed both by the beauty of his music and by its profound humanity. In the introduction to his Florilegium I of 1695 the composer writes: “Weapons of war and their use are something I am unable to engage with. I busy my time with notes, strings and sounds. I work in the cause of harmony, mixing the sounds of France, Germany and Italy and attempting thus to prevent wars and to serve the cause of peace among nations and their striving for peace.” Words like that can span centuries. For Concerto Copenhagen and for me, Muffat’s credo and his music still hold good in their universal truth even over this vast span of time of more than three centuries,” declares Lars Ulrik Mortensen.

Muffat: Armonico Tributo Lars Ulrik Mortensen & Concerto Copenhagen

Artist

Lars Ulrik Mortensen
Concerto Copenhagen

Composer

Georg Muffat

Further information

Genre

Barock

Publication date:

18.02.2022



His name is scarcely known these days, his reputation almost non-existent and his works rarely played, yet Georg Muffat was in fact a prolific composer who possessed a virtuosic talent and whose influence, especially in the field of the development of instrumental music, cannot be underestimated. The early music ensemble Concerto Copenhagen under their leader Lars Ulrik Mortensen celebrated its 30th anniversary in 2021 and in an anniversary recording has chosen to spotlight Muffat’s rich repertoire of works, illustrated by his collection of sonatas entitled “Armonico Tributo”.



Georg Muffat (1653-1704) was a true cosmopolitan. The son of a family from Scotland, he was born in Mégève in Savoy. At an early age he went to Paris to study with Jean-Baptiste Lully, travelling on from there to Bavaria, Prague, Vienna, Passau and Salzburg, where in 1678 he took up the post of court organist. Very few composers at that time could boast the degree of intimate knowledge of the new and strictly regulated French style as did Muffat, as well as the freedom and virtuosity of the central European Stylus Phantasticus (a style that Muffat himself had explored in his 1677 Sonata for Violin composed in Prague but unpublished, the master of which was Moffat’s Salzburg colleague Heinrich Biber) along with the “modern” Italian style of music developed by Arcangelo Corelli and his contemporaries. He worked all of his musical knowledge into the composition of his sonata collection “Armonico Tributo” published in five separate part books. According to Muffat himself, three completely different soundscapes are feasible: the “classical” trio sonata form, the traditional five-part string formation and the concerto grosso setting, divided into concertino and ripieno groupings.



Concerto Copenhagen are celebrating thirty years together. They are one of the most innovative and experiment-loving Baroque orchestras in Scandinavia. Long since well known and celebrated beyond the borders of Denmark, this early music ensemble has been delighting audiences around Europe with exciting programmes of music that cross the borders between early and contemporary music. In 1999 the renowned harpsichordist Lars Ulrik Mortensen took over artistic directorship of Concerto Copenhagen. Early on, in his student days, he had come across the name of Georg Muffat and was impressed both by the beauty of his music and by its profound humanity. In the introduction to his Florilegium I of 1695 the composer writes: “Weapons of war and their use are something I am unable to engage with. I busy my time with notes, strings and sounds. I work in the cause of harmony, mixing the sounds of France, Germany and Italy and attempting thus to prevent wars and to serve the cause of peace among nations and their striving for peace.” Words like that can span centuries. For Concerto Copenhagen and for me, Muffat’s credo and his music still hold good in their universal truth even over this vast span of time of more than three centuries,” declares Lars Ulrik Mortensen.

More videos from Berlin Classics

previous
next
The Zurich Chamber Singers & Christian Erny - Bruckner: Palestrina - Jesu, rex admirabilis
Matthias Höfs & The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen: Oskar Böhme - Entsagung, Op. 19
Matthias Kirschnereit - Piano Concerto in D Major, Hob.XVIII:11: III. Rondo all'Ungarese | #Haydn
Tassilo Probst & Maxim Lando: Bartók - Sonata for violin & piano in E Minor, III. Vivace
Tassilo Probst & Maxim Lando - Achron: Sonata for violin and piano, no. 2,  Op. 45 #berlinclassics
The Zurich Chamber Singers & Christian Erny - Anton Bruckner: Os justi, WAB 30 | #berlinclassics
Berlin Classics - Channel Trailer | Classical Music
Muffat | Armonico Tributo: Sonata II: I. Grave & II. Allegro | Concerto Copenhagen (Music Video)
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Ravel - Pièce en forme de Habanera (for Trumpet & Harp)
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Ibert - Entr'acte (For Trumpet and Harp) #Ukraine #Spenden
Eckart Runge & Jacques Ammon - Miles Davis: Blue in Green (arr. for cello & piano) #BerlinClassics
Sebastian Manz & Herbert Schuch - Gade - Fantasy Pieces, Op. 43: No. 2, Allegro vivace
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Debussy - The Girl with the Flaxen Hair #Ukraine #Spenden
Spark & Valer Sabadus - Seemann (Rammstein Cover) #BerlinClassics
Sophie Dervaux & Mozarteumorchester Salzburg - Vanhal: Concerto in C Major

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com

Was der weitgehend unbekannte Name Georg Muffat an Verbreitung und Reputation vermissen mag, macht er durch die unglaubliche Vielfalt, virtuose Kraft und seinen Einfluss insbesondere auf die Entwicklung der Instrumentalmusik wett. Die Schatzkammer Muffat, die insbesondere in seiner Sonaten-Sammlung „Armonico Tributo“ zum Vorschein kommt, nimmt das Alte Musik-Ensemble Concerto Copenhagen und ihr Leiter Lars Ulrik Mortensen zur diskografischen Speerspitze kurz nach ihrem 30. Jubiläum im Jahr 2021.

Georg Muffat (1653 – 1704) war zweifelsohne ein Kosmopolit. Als Sohn einer aus Schottland stammenden Familie erblickte er in Mégève in Savoyen das Licht der Welt. Schon in jungen Jahren in Paris studierte er bei Jean-Baptiste Lully, reiste er nach Bayern, Prag, Wien, Passau und Salzburg, wo er 1678 das Amt des Hoforganisten antrat. Kaum ein anderer Komponist dieser Zeit besaß Muffats intime Kenntnis nicht nur des neuen und stark reglementierten französischen Stils, sondern auch der Freiheit und Virtuosität des mitteleuropäischen Stylus Phantasticus (eines Stils, den Muffat selbst in seiner unveröffentlichten, 1677 in Prag komponierten Sonate für Violine erkundet hatte und dessen anerkannter Meister sein Salzburger Kollege Biber war) sowie des „modernen“ italienischen Stils, der von Corelli und seinen Zeitgenossen entwickelt wurde. All seine musikalischen Kenntnisse ließ er in die Komposition seiner in fünf separaten Stimmheften veröffentlichten Sonaten-Sammlung „Armonico Tributo“ einfließen. Nach Muffats eigenen Angaben sind drei völlig unterschiedliche Klangwelten möglich: Das „klassische“ Triosonaten-Format, die traditionell fünfstimmige Streicherformation und die Concerto-Grosso-Besetzung und Aufteilung in Concertino- und Ripieno-Gruppen.

30 Jahre jung ist Concerto Copenhagen, eines der innovativsten und experimentierfreudigsten Barockorchester Skandinaviens. Längst über die Grenzen Dänemarks hinaus bekannt und gefeiert, begeistert das Alte Musik-Ensemble europaweit sein Publikum mit spannenden Grenzgängen zwischen alter und zeitgenössischer Musik. 1999 übernahm der renommierte Cembalist Lars Ulrik Mortensen die künstlerische Leitung von Concerto Copenhagen. Dieser stieß schon als junger Student auf den Namen Georg Muffat und war nicht nur von der Schönheit der Musik beeindruckt, sondern auch von ihrer tiefen Menschlichkeit. Im Vorwort zu seinem Florilegium I von 1695 schreibt der Komponist: „Kriegswaffen und ihr Einsatz liegen mir fern. Ich beschäftige mich mit Noten, mit Saiten und Klang. Ich arbeite für Harmonie, vermenge die Klänge Frankreichs, Deutschlands und Italiens und versuche so, Krieg zu verhindern und dem Frieden der Nationen und dem Streben nach Frieden zu dienen.“ – „Worte wie diese überbrücken Jahrhunderte. Für Concerto Copenhagen und für mich haben Muffats Aussage und seine Musik trotz der zeitlichen Entfernung von mehr als 300 Jahren immer noch universelle Bedeutung“, so Lars Ulrik Mortensen.

Muffat: Armonico Tributo Lars Ulrik Mortensen & Concerto Copenhagen

Künstler

Lars Ulrik Mortensen

Komponisten

Georg Muffat

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Barock

Erscheinungsdatum:

18.02.2022



Was der weitgehend unbekannte Name Georg Muffat an Verbreitung und Reputation vermissen mag, macht er durch die unglaubliche Vielfalt, virtuose Kraft und seinen Einfluss insbesondere auf die Entwicklung der Instrumentalmusik wett. Die Schatzkammer Muffat, die insbesondere in seiner Sonaten-Sammlung „Armonico Tributo“ zum Vorschein kommt, nimmt das Alte Musik-Ensemble Concerto Copenhagen und ihr Leiter Lars Ulrik Mortensen zur diskografischen Speerspitze kurz nach ihrem 30. Jubiläum im Jahr 2021.

Georg Muffat (1653 – 1704) war zweifelsohne ein Kosmopolit. Als Sohn einer aus Schottland stammenden Familie erblickte er in Mégève in Savoyen das Licht der Welt. Schon in jungen Jahren in Paris studierte er bei Jean-Baptiste Lully, reiste er nach Bayern, Prag, Wien, Passau und Salzburg, wo er 1678 das Amt des Hoforganisten antrat. Kaum ein anderer Komponist dieser Zeit besaß Muffats intime Kenntnis nicht nur des neuen und stark reglementierten französischen Stils, sondern auch der Freiheit und Virtuosität des mitteleuropäischen Stylus Phantasticus (eines Stils, den Muffat selbst in seiner unveröffentlichten, 1677 in Prag komponierten Sonate für Violine erkundet hatte und dessen anerkannter Meister sein Salzburger Kollege Biber war) sowie des „modernen“ italienischen Stils, der von Corelli und seinen Zeitgenossen entwickelt wurde. All seine musikalischen Kenntnisse ließ er in die Komposition seiner in fünf separaten Stimmheften veröffentlichten Sonaten-Sammlung „Armonico Tributo“ einfließen. Nach Muffats eigenen Angaben sind drei völlig unterschiedliche Klangwelten möglich: Das „klassische“ Triosonaten-Format, die traditionell fünfstimmige Streicherformation und die Concerto-Grosso-Besetzung und Aufteilung in Concertino- und Ripieno-Gruppen.

30 Jahre jung ist Concerto Copenhagen, eines der innovativsten und experimentierfreudigsten Barockorchester Skandinaviens. Längst über die Grenzen Dänemarks hinaus bekannt und gefeiert, begeistert das Alte Musik-Ensemble europaweit sein Publikum mit spannenden Grenzgängen zwischen alter und zeitgenössischer Musik. 1999 übernahm der renommierte Cembalist Lars Ulrik Mortensen die künstlerische Leitung von Concerto Copenhagen. Dieser stieß schon als junger Student auf den Namen Georg Muffat und war nicht nur von der Schönheit der Musik beeindruckt, sondern auch von ihrer tiefen Menschlichkeit. Im Vorwort zu seinem Florilegium I von 1695 schreibt der Komponist: „Kriegswaffen und ihr Einsatz liegen mir fern. Ich beschäftige mich mit Noten, mit Saiten und Klang. Ich arbeite für Harmonie, vermenge die Klänge Frankreichs, Deutschlands und Italiens und versuche so, Krieg zu verhindern und dem Frieden der Nationen und dem Streben nach Frieden zu dienen.“ – „Worte wie diese überbrücken Jahrhunderte. Für Concerto Copenhagen und für mich haben Muffats Aussage und seine Musik trotz der zeitlichen Entfernung von mehr als 300 Jahren immer noch universelle Bedeutung“, so Lars Ulrik Mortensen.

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

Muffat: Armonico Tributo
Lars Ulrik Mortensen & Concerto Copenhagen
1 Sonata I: I. Grave
2 Sonata I: II. Allegro e presto
3 Sonata I: III. Allemanda
4 Sonata I: IV. Grave
5 Sonata I: V. Gavotta
6 Sonata I: VI. Grave
7 Sonata I: VII. Menuet
8 Sonata II: I. Grave
9 Sonata II: II. Allegro
10 Sonata II: III. Grave
11 Sonata II: IV. Forte e allegro
12 Sonata II: V. Aria
13 Sonata II: VI. Grave
14 Sonata II: VII. Sarabanda
15 Sonata II: VIII. Grave
16 Sonata II: IX. Borea
17 Sonata III: I. Grave - Allegro
18 Sonata III: II. Corrente
19 Sonata III: III. Adagio
20 Sonata III: IV. Gavotta
21 Sonata III: V. Rondeau
22 Sonata IV: I. Grave
23 Sonata IV: II. Balletto
24 Sonata IV: III. Adagio - Presto
25 Sonata IV: IV. Menuet
26 Sonata IV: V. Adagio
27 Sonata IV: VI. Aria
28 Sonata V: I. Allemanda
29 Sonata V: II. Adagio
30 Sonata V: III. Fuga
31 Sonata V: IV. Adagio
32 Sonata V: V. Passagaglia

Weitere Videos von Lars Ulrik Mortensen & Concerto Copenhagen

zurück
weiter
Muffat | Armonico Tributo: Sonata II: I. Grave & II. Allegro | Concerto Copenhagen (Music Video)

Weitere Veröffentlichungen von Berlin Classics

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com