The spirit of adventure, braggadocio and tall stories … for her second album on the Berlin Classics label, the Norwegian violinist and Hardanger fiddler Ragnhild Hemsing has chosen to focus on one of Norway’s best known and most legendary characters: Peer Gynt. Although her solo instruments are not part of the original orchestra formation, she chose various sections of the incidental music to the stage play of Peer Gynt op. 23 and had them arranged for her Hardanger fiddle and the violin with string orchestra accompaniment – thereby creating a link to the traditional story of Peer Gynt in the context of Norwegian folk music.

Ragnhild Hemsing had long wished to arrange the music to Peer Gynt for the Hardanger fiddle: “I thought that sections of the music were perfectly suited to the Hardanger fiddle in combination with a solo violin and string orchestra. That said, I wanted to delve deeper into the material, to make it fully clear that folk music and the Hardanger fiddle were the source of inspiration for it.” The fact that Grieg was indeed influenced by both Norwegian folk music and the traditional Hardanger fiddle when composing this music comes out especially clearly in the title “Morgenstemning” (morning mood): The first notes of the work mirror exactly the Hardanger fiddle’s sympathetic strings: A F♯ E D E F♯.

Peer Gynt was not originally conceived for the stage, but as a dramatic poem by Norway’s national poet Henrik Ibsen. It tells the tale of the eponymous protagonist, who leaves his homeland in search of love and adventure. After many years of living in the wild and travelling the world, he returns to Norway, a broken old man – where his beloved Solveig greets him with open arms and forgives him his misdemeanours. Written in 1867, Ibsen was addressing the romantic nationalism in Norway at the time. He wrote a stage version of the story some years later at the behest of the director of the theatre in Christiania (now Oslo). Edvard Grieg was commissioned to write the incidental music for it, a task which he struggled with. In 1876, when the stage music was finally premiered, it was a huge success in Norway; however, Grieg doubted that it would enjoy the same success outside his homeland and he therefore published two shorter Peer Gynt Suites in 1888 and 1893. They went on to become his most popular works worldwide.

On her new album, Ragnhild Hemsing has brought together the Peer Gynt story with her Hardanger fiddle and has also integrated a further aspect of folk music into the mix: improvisation. “Folk music is part of my roots and so it belongs quite naturally to my music. We did not notate it. When improvising I reflect the freedom that I feel when making music, and the tradition that I wish to integrate into the classical genre.” As a result, Ragnhild Hemsing’s music and her re-interpretation of Grieg’s work depicts Peer Gynt’s life: in his longing for freedom and new horizons he discovers his bond with his homeland and its traditions. Ultimately he reflects on his origins and returns to his home – and yet he has been influenced by the impression he has gathered along the course of his journey through the world.

Ragnhild Hemsing is accompanied on her second album by the Trondheim Soloists, an ensemble with which she has already enjoyed a long and fruitful collaboration. The arrangements were written – like those on Hemsing’s first album Røta – by Tormod Tvete Vik. “The Peer Gynt Suites can now be heard in a new guise and with a new sound. A collective, exciting and rewarding exploratory process” as the musician underlines.

Peer Gynt Ragnhild Hemsing & Trondheim Soloists

Artist

Trondheim Soloists

Composer

Edvard Grieg

Further information

Genre

Streichorchester

Publication date:

25.02.2022



The spirit of adventure, braggadocio and tall stories … for her second album on the Berlin Classics label, the Norwegian violinist and Hardanger fiddler Ragnhild Hemsing has chosen to focus on one of Norway’s best known and most legendary characters: Peer Gynt. Although her solo instruments are not part of the original orchestra formation, she chose various sections of the incidental music to the stage play of Peer Gynt op. 23 and had them arranged for her Hardanger fiddle and the violin with string orchestra accompaniment – thereby creating a link to the traditional story of Peer Gynt in the context of Norwegian folk music.



Ragnhild Hemsing had long wished to arrange the music to Peer Gynt for the Hardanger fiddle: “I thought that sections of the music were perfectly suited to the Hardanger fiddle in combination with a solo violin and string orchestra. That said, I wanted to delve deeper into the material, to make it fully clear that folk music and the Hardanger fiddle were the source of inspiration for it.” The fact that Grieg was indeed influenced by both Norwegian folk music and the traditional Hardanger fiddle when composing this music comes out especially clearly in the title “Morgenstemning” (morning mood): The first notes of the work mirror exactly the Hardanger fiddle’s sympathetic strings: A F♯ E D E F♯.



Peer Gynt was not originally conceived for the stage, but as a dramatic poem by Norway’s national poet Henrik Ibsen. It tells the tale of the eponymous protagonist, who leaves his homeland in search of love and adventure. After many years of living in the wild and travelling the world, he returns to Norway, a broken old man – where his beloved Solveig greets him with open arms and forgives him his misdemeanours. Written in 1867, Ibsen was addressing the romantic nationalism in Norway at the time. He wrote a stage version of the story some years later at the behest of the director of the theatre in Christiania (now Oslo). Edvard Grieg was commissioned to write the incidental music for it, a task which he struggled with. In 1876, when the stage music was finally premiered, it was a huge success in Norway; however, Grieg doubted that it would enjoy the same success outside his homeland and he therefore published two shorter Peer Gynt Suites in 1888 and 1893. They went on to become his most popular works worldwide.



On her new album, Ragnhild Hemsing has brought together the Peer Gynt story with her Hardanger fiddle and has also integrated a further aspect of folk music into the mix: improvisation. “Folk music is part of my roots and so it belongs quite naturally to my music. We did not notate it. When improvising I reflect the freedom that I feel when making music, and the tradition that I wish to integrate into the classical genre.” As a result, Ragnhild Hemsing’s music and her re-interpretation of Grieg’s work depicts Peer Gynt’s life: in his longing for freedom and new horizons he discovers his bond with his homeland and its traditions. Ultimately he reflects on his origins and returns to his home – and yet he has been influenced by the impression he has gathered along the course of his journey through the world.



Ragnhild Hemsing is accompanied on her second album by the Trondheim Soloists, an ensemble with which she has already enjoyed a long and fruitful collaboration. The arrangements were written – like those on Hemsing’s first album Røta – by Tormod Tvete Vik. “The Peer Gynt Suites can now be heard in a new guise and with a new sound. A collective, exciting and rewarding exploratory process” as the musician underlines.

More videos from Ragnhild Hemsing & Trondheim Soloists

previous
next
Ragnhild Hemsing - Edvard Grieg - Peer Gynt: Solveig's Song (Offizielles Musikvideo) #BerlinClassics
Ragnhild Hemsing & Trondheim Soloists - Grieg: In the Hall of the Mountain King (Hardangerfiedel)
Ragnhild Hemsing & Trondheim Soloists - Peer Gynt (Arr. for Hardanger Fiddle, Violin and Orchestra)
Ragnhild Hemsing - Huldreslått frå Vang
Ragnhild Hemsing - Allt under himmelens fäste, Op. 27/1 | Hardanger Fiddle (Johan Svendsen)
Halvorsen: The Song of Veslemøy (arr. for Hardanger Fiddle) / Ragnhild Hemsing & Mario Häring
Ragnhild Hemsing stellt uns die Hardanger Fiddle vor
Ragnhild Hemsing - Røta (Official Album Trailer) w/ Mario Häring & Benedict Kloeckner

Other publications by Ragnhild Hemsing & Trondheim Soloists

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com

Abenteuerlust, Prahlerei und faustdicke Lügen… Für ihr zweites Album bei Berlin Classics hat sich die norwegische Geigerin und Hardangerfiedel-Spielerin Ragnhild Hemsing mit einer der bekanntesten und sagenhaftesten Figuren Norwegens auseinandergesetzt: Peer Gynt. Dabei ist sie nicht Teil der originalen Orchesterbesetzung, sondern ließ ausgewählte Abschnitte der Peer Gynt-Schausspielmusik, op. 23 für ihre Soloinstrumente Hardangerfiedel und Violine samt Streichorchester arrangieren – und stellt so die Verbindung der traditionellen Geschichte Peer Gynts zur norwegischen Volksmusik her.

Schon lange hatte Ragnhild Hemsing den Wunsch, die Musik von Peer Gynt auch auf der Hardangerfiedel umzusetzen: „Ich dachte, dass Teile der Musik perfekt auf der Hardangerfiedel in Kombination mit Solovioline und Streichorchester passen würden. Aber ich wollte tiefer in das Material eintauchen, in vollem Bewusstsein dafür, dass die Volksmusik und die Hardangerfiedel Inspirationsquellen dafür waren.“ Dass die norwegische Volksmusik und die traditionelle Hardangerfiedel Grieg bei seiner Komposition beeinflusst haben, bemerkt man vor allem beim Titel „Morgenstimmung“: Die ersten Töne dieses Werks entsprechen genau den Resonanzsaiten der Hardangerfiedel: A F♯ E D E F♯.

Ursprünglich nicht für die Bühne, sondern als dramatisches Gedicht vom norwegischen Nationaldichter Henrik Ibsen verfasst, schildert Peer Gynt die Geschichte des gleichnamigen Protagonisten, der auf der Suche nach Liebe und Abenteuern seine Heimat verlässt. Nach vielen Jahren wilden Lebens in der ganzen Welt kehrt er als alter und gebrochener Mann nach Norwegen zurück – wo ihn seine Geliebte Solveig mit offenen Armen empfängt und ihm seine Taten verziehen werden. Mit seinem 1867 entstandenen Gedicht setzte sich Ibsen mit dem romantischen Nationalismus in Norwegen auseinander. Eine Bühnenfassung des Stücks entstand einige Jahre später, auf Wunsch des Direktors des Theaters von Christiania (heute Oslo). Der Auftrag wurde an Edvard Grieg vergeben, der sich – nach Sichtung des Materials – allerdings schwer mit der Vertonung tat. In Norwegen war seine 1876 zum ersten Mal aufgeführte Bühnenmusik ein großer Erfolg; Grieg bezweifelte jedoch, dass dies auch außerhalb seines Heimatlandes der Fall sein konnte und veröffentlichte daher 1888 und 1893 zwei kürzere Peer Gynt-Suiten. Diese sollten bald zu seinen erfolgreichsten Werken weltweit werden.

Ragnhild Hemsing hat auf ihrem neuen Album nicht nur die Geschichte Peer Gynts mit der Hardangerfiedel zusammengebracht, sondern integriert auch einen weiteren Aspekt der Volksmusik, die Improvisation: „Das ist für mich, die ich meine Wurzeln in der Volksmusik habe, ganz natürlich. Diese wurde nicht notiert. Ich beziehe mich bei der Improvisation auf die Freiheit, die ich in der Musik fühle, und auf die Tradition, die ich in das klassische Genre einbringen möchte.“ So spiegelt Ragnhild Hemsing in ihrer Musik und ihrer Neuinterpretation von Griegs Werk auch Peer Gynts Leben: In seiner Sehnsucht nach Freiheit und Entdecken von etwas Neuem entdeckt er seine Verbundenheit zu seiner Heimat und deren Traditionen. Letztendlich besinnt er sich seiner Herkunft und kehrt zurück – und ist dabei doch beeinflusst durch die Eindrücke, die er auf seiner Reise durch die Welt sammeln konnte.

Begleitet wird Ragnhild Hemsing auf ihrem zweiten Album von den Trondheim Soloists, ein Ensemble, mit dem sie schon seit Längerem eine hervorragende Zusammenarbeit verbindet. Die Arrangements der Stücke schrieb – wie auch schon für Hemsings erstes Album Røta – Tormod Tvete Vik. „Die Peer Gynt-Suiten erklingen nun in einem neuen Gewand und mit einem neuen Klang. Ein gemeinsamer, spannender und lohnender Erkundungsprozess“, wie die Musikerin betont.

Peer Gynt Ragnhild Hemsing & Trondheim Soloists

Künstler

Trondheim Soloists

Komponisten

Edvard Grieg

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Streichorchester

Erscheinungsdatum:

25.02.2022



Abenteuerlust, Prahlerei und faustdicke Lügen… Für ihr zweites Album bei Berlin Classics hat sich die norwegische Geigerin und Hardangerfiedel-Spielerin Ragnhild Hemsing mit einer der bekanntesten und sagenhaftesten Figuren Norwegens auseinandergesetzt: Peer Gynt. Dabei ist sie nicht Teil der originalen Orchesterbesetzung, sondern ließ ausgewählte Abschnitte der Peer Gynt-Schausspielmusik, op. 23 für ihre Soloinstrumente Hardangerfiedel und Violine samt Streichorchester arrangieren – und stellt so die Verbindung der traditionellen Geschichte Peer Gynts zur norwegischen Volksmusik her.



Schon lange hatte Ragnhild Hemsing den Wunsch, die Musik von Peer Gynt auch auf der Hardangerfiedel umzusetzen: „Ich dachte, dass Teile der Musik perfekt auf der Hardangerfiedel in Kombination mit Solovioline und Streichorchester passen würden. Aber ich wollte tiefer in das Material eintauchen, in vollem Bewusstsein dafür, dass die Volksmusik und die Hardangerfiedel Inspirationsquellen dafür waren.“ Dass die norwegische Volksmusik und die traditionelle Hardangerfiedel Grieg bei seiner Komposition beeinflusst haben, bemerkt man vor allem beim Titel „Morgenstimmung“: Die ersten Töne dieses Werks entsprechen genau den Resonanzsaiten der Hardangerfiedel: A F♯ E D E F♯.



Ursprünglich nicht für die Bühne, sondern als dramatisches Gedicht vom norwegischen Nationaldichter Henrik Ibsen verfasst, schildert Peer Gynt die Geschichte des gleichnamigen Protagonisten, der auf der Suche nach Liebe und Abenteuern seine Heimat verlässt. Nach vielen Jahren wilden Lebens in der ganzen Welt kehrt er als alter und gebrochener Mann nach Norwegen zurück – wo ihn seine Geliebte Solveig mit offenen Armen empfängt und ihm seine Taten verziehen werden. Mit seinem 1867 entstandenen Gedicht setzte sich Ibsen mit dem romantischen Nationalismus in Norwegen auseinander. Eine Bühnenfassung des Stücks entstand einige Jahre später, auf Wunsch des Direktors des Theaters von Christiania (heute Oslo). Der Auftrag wurde an Edvard Grieg vergeben, der sich – nach Sichtung des Materials – allerdings schwer mit der Vertonung tat. In Norwegen war seine 1876 zum ersten Mal aufgeführte Bühnenmusik ein großer Erfolg; Grieg bezweifelte jedoch, dass dies auch außerhalb seines Heimatlandes der Fall sein konnte und veröffentlichte daher 1888 und 1893 zwei kürzere Peer Gynt-Suiten. Diese sollten bald zu seinen erfolgreichsten Werken weltweit werden.



Ragnhild Hemsing hat auf ihrem neuen Album nicht nur die Geschichte Peer Gynts mit der Hardangerfiedel zusammengebracht, sondern integriert auch einen weiteren Aspekt der Volksmusik, die Improvisation: „Das ist für mich, die ich meine Wurzeln in der Volksmusik habe, ganz natürlich. Diese wurde nicht notiert. Ich beziehe mich bei der Improvisation auf die Freiheit, die ich in der Musik fühle, und auf die Tradition, die ich in das klassische Genre einbringen möchte.“ So spiegelt Ragnhild Hemsing in ihrer Musik und ihrer Neuinterpretation von Griegs Werk auch Peer Gynts Leben: In seiner Sehnsucht nach Freiheit und Entdecken von etwas Neuem entdeckt er seine Verbundenheit zu seiner Heimat und deren Traditionen. Letztendlich besinnt er sich seiner Herkunft und kehrt zurück – und ist dabei doch beeinflusst durch die Eindrücke, die er auf seiner Reise durch die Welt sammeln konnte.



Begleitet wird Ragnhild Hemsing auf ihrem zweiten Album von den Trondheim Soloists, ein Ensemble, mit dem sie schon seit Längerem eine hervorragende Zusammenarbeit verbindet. Die Arrangements der Stücke schrieb – wie auch schon für Hemsings erstes Album Røta – Tormod Tvete Vik. „Die Peer Gynt-Suiten erklingen nun in einem neuen Gewand und mit einem neuen Klang. Ein gemeinsamer, spannender und lohnender Erkundungsprozess“, wie die Musikerin betont.

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

Peer Gynt
Ragnhild Hemsing & Trondheim Soloists
1 Peer Gynt, Op. 23: Morning Mood (Arr. for Hardanger Fiddle & String Orchestra by Tormod Tvete Vik)
2 Peer Gynt, Op. 23: Anitra's Dance (Arr. for Hardanger Fiddle & String Orchestra by Tormod Tvete Vik)
3 Peer Gynt, Op. 23: Solveig's Song (Arr. for Violin & String Orchestra by Tormod Tvete Vik)
4 Peer Gynt, Op. 23: The Abduction - Ingrid's Lament (Arr. for Violin & String Orchestra by Tormod Tvete Vik)
5 Peer Gynt, Op. 23: Halling (Arr. for Hardanger Fiddle & String Orchestra by Tormod Tvete Vik)
6 Peer Gynt, Op. 23: Arabian Dance (Arr. for Violin & String Orchestra by Tormod Tvete Vik)
7 Peer Gynt, Op. 23: Peer Gynt's Homecoming (Arr. for Violin & String Orchestra by Tormod Tvete Vik)
8 Peer Gynt, Op. 23: Springar (Arr. for Hardanger Fiddle & String Orchestra by Tormod Tvete Vik)
9 Peer Gynt, Op. 23: Solveig's Cradle Song (Arr. for Violin & String Orchestra by Tormod Tvete Vik)
10 Scenes of Country Life, Op. 19: Norwegian Bridal Procession in Passing (Arr. for Hardanger Fiddle & String Orchestra by Tormod Tvete Vik)
11 Peer Gynt, Op. 23: The Death of Åse (Arr. for Hardanger Fiddle & String Orchestra by Tormod Tvete Vik)
12 Peer Gynt, Op. 23: In the Hall of the Mountain King (Arr. for Hardanger Fiddle & String Orchestra by Tormod Tvete Vik)

Weitere Videos von Ragnhild Hemsing & Trondheim Soloists

zurück
weiter
Ragnhild Hemsing - Edvard Grieg - Peer Gynt: Solveig's Song (Offizielles Musikvideo) #BerlinClassics
Ragnhild Hemsing & Trondheim Soloists - Grieg: In the Hall of the Mountain King (Hardangerfiedel)
Ragnhild Hemsing & Trondheim Soloists - Peer Gynt (Arr. for Hardanger Fiddle, Violin and Orchestra)
Ragnhild Hemsing - Huldreslått frå Vang
Ragnhild Hemsing - Allt under himmelens fäste, Op. 27/1 | Hardanger Fiddle (Johan Svendsen)
Halvorsen: The Song of Veslemøy (arr. for Hardanger Fiddle) / Ragnhild Hemsing & Mario Häring
Ragnhild Hemsing stellt uns die Hardanger Fiddle vor
Ragnhild Hemsing - Røta (Official Album Trailer) w/ Mario Häring & Benedict Kloeckner

Weitere Veröffentlichungen von Ragnhild Hemsing & Trondheim Soloists

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}