SALTED CARAMEL

Let’s just do it: that was the motto when Simon Höfele and Frank Dupree decided to grab a hot potato. The two musicians, who have been making music for years, and not exclusively in the classical field they studied, love jazz as much as they love Hummel’s trumpet concerto and Beethoven’s for piano. That said, they can seldom stray far afield in their repertoire: the gap between classical music and jazz is so great; prejudices are simply insurmountable, and musical approaches too diverse. So they have done that anyway, and together with Frank’s colleague Obi Jenne on drums, Jakob Krupp on bass and the Goldmund Quartet they have produced an album that aims not to point out differences, not to emphasise what divides, but something that instead creates musical networks, music that aims to liberate us from conventions and put us in a good mood.

Gershwin is sweet

The starting point for their culinary journey is the music of George Gershwin. “It’s like the caramel that melts in your mouth,” explains Frank Dupree. Three of Gershwin’s works can be heard on “Salted Caramel”: “Rhapsody in Blue”, the second movement of his Piano Concerto and “An American in Paris”. The structural corner stones of the album – the “Rhapsody in Blue” arranged by Timofei Dokshitser, the other two Gershwin works arranged by Frank Dupree – are combined with an arrangement of Leonard Bernstein’s “Rondo for Lifey” and Daniel Schnyder’s Trumpet Sonata in the original version. By way of a contrast, Simon and Frank appropriate four original jazz works.

Jazz is salty

“The jazz pieces are the salt in the classical soup,” the two musicians explain. “Miles Davis, Chet Baker & Co. It was important to us on this album to say thank-you to a few of these jazz greats. These trumpeters influenced the world of music significantly. Without them, the trumpet would not have the status it enjoys today.” Höfele and Dupree stick pretty close to the originals in the jazz songs: Urtext if you like. Based on the transcriptions of the original recordings, they improvise, explore new territory and view each work through their own eyes. “For Roy Hargrove’s ‘Strasbourg-St. Denis’ Simon Höfele recorded two trumpets with different mutes in overdub. And on Gillespie’s ‘Manteca’ we worked out our own arrangement, with four Simons playing simultaneously, so to speak! In some ways we see this combination as an offer to lovers of classical music to dive into jazz,” is how Dupree puts it. “Elvis Costello’s ‘Almost Blue’ played by Chet Baker is my all-time favourite ballad,” says Höfele. “I definitely wanted to record that. Miles Davis is a must, Roy Hargrove is a bit more racy. Of course, we could have chosen so many more pieces.”

The right taste in your mouth

“In essence, we treated the jazz numbers as classically as possibly and conversely, made the classical pieces as jazzy as possible,” they agree. The result is a colourful repertoire and a collection that has its own character, not just as regards musical styles, but also scorings, sounds and technical attributes. “It’s important to me as a musician,” says Simon Höfele, “to always be open to new paths. That inspires me and gives me my motivation. I am convinced that my playing technique with classical repertoire benefits from trying my hand in new directions, be they contemporary or jazz: simply because I can develop as a musician in this way.”

Salted Caramel Simon Höfele & Frank Dupree

Composer

Chano Pozo

Daniel Schnyder

Dizzy Gillespie

Elvis Costello

George Gershwin

Further information

Genre

Klassik-Jazz-Crossover

Publication date:

04.02.2022



SALTED CARAMEL



Let’s just do it: that was the motto when Simon Höfele and Frank Dupree decided to grab a hot potato. The two musicians, who have been making music for years, and not exclusively in the classical field they studied, love jazz as much as they love Hummel’s trumpet concerto and Beethoven’s for piano. That said, they can seldom stray far afield in their repertoire: the gap between classical music and jazz is so great; prejudices are simply insurmountable, and musical approaches too diverse. So they have done that anyway, and together with Frank’s colleague Obi Jenne on drums, Jakob Krupp on bass and the Goldmund Quartet they have produced an album that aims not to point out differences, not to emphasise what divides, but something that instead creates musical networks, music that aims to liberate us from conventions and put us in a good mood.



Gershwin is sweet

The starting point for their culinary journey is the music of George Gershwin. “It’s like the caramel that melts in your mouth,” explains Frank Dupree. Three of Gershwin’s works can be heard on “Salted Caramel”: “Rhapsody in Blue”, the second movement of his Piano Concerto and “An American in Paris”. The structural corner stones of the album – the “Rhapsody in Blue” arranged by Timofei Dokshitser, the other two Gershwin works arranged by Frank Dupree – are combined with an arrangement of Leonard Bernstein’s “Rondo for Lifey” and Daniel Schnyder’s Trumpet Sonata in the original version. By way of a contrast, Simon and Frank appropriate four original jazz works.



Jazz is salty

“The jazz pieces are the salt in the classical soup,” the two musicians explain. “Miles Davis, Chet Baker & Co. It was important to us on this album to say thank-you to a few of these jazz greats. These trumpeters influenced the world of music significantly. Without them, the trumpet would not have the status it enjoys today.” Höfele and Dupree stick pretty close to the originals in the jazz songs: Urtext if you like. Based on the transcriptions of the original recordings, they improvise, explore new territory and view each work through their own eyes. “For Roy Hargrove’s ‘Strasbourg-St. Denis’ Simon Höfele recorded two trumpets with different mutes in overdub. And on Gillespie’s ‘Manteca’ we worked out our own arrangement, with four Simons playing simultaneously, so to speak! In some ways we see this combination as an offer to lovers of classical music to dive into jazz,” is how Dupree puts it. “Elvis Costello’s ‘Almost Blue’ played by Chet Baker is my all-time favourite ballad,” says Höfele. “I definitely wanted to record that. Miles Davis is a must, Roy Hargrove is a bit more racy. Of course, we could have chosen so many more pieces.”



The right taste in your mouth

“In essence, we treated the jazz numbers as classically as possibly and conversely, made the classical pieces as jazzy as possible,” they agree. The result is a colourful repertoire and a collection that has its own character, not just as regards musical styles, but also scorings, sounds and technical attributes. “It’s important to me as a musician,” says Simon Höfele, “to always be open to new paths. That inspires me and gives me my motivation. I am convinced that my playing technique with classical repertoire benefits from trying my hand in new directions, be they contemporary or jazz: simply because I can develop as a musician in this way.”

Tracklist - These are the tracks you will hear on the album

Salted Caramel
Simon Höfele & Frank Dupree
1 Rhapsody in Blue (Arr. for Trumpet/Flügelhorn and Piano)
2 Blue in Green
3 Trumpet Sonata
4 Almost Blue
5 2nd Movement from Piano Concerto in F (Arr. for Trumpet, Jazz Trio and String Quartet)
6 Manteca (Arr. for four trumpets, piano, double bass and Drums)
7 Rondo for Lifey (Arr. for Trumpet and String Quartet)
8 Strasbourg/St. Denis
9 An American in Paris: Allegro grazioso (Arr. for Trumpet, Jazz Trio and String Quartet)
10 An American in Paris: Andante ma con ritmo deciso (Arr. for Trumpet, Jazz Trio and String Quartet)
11 An American in Paris: Allegro (Arr. for Trumpet, Jazz Trio and String Quartet)

More videos from Simon Höfele & Frank Dupree

previous
next
Simon Höfele, Frank Dupree Trio & Goldmund Quartet: Gershwin: American in Paris: Blues
Simon Höfele, Frank Dupree Trio, Goldmund Quartett - Salted Caramel (Official Album Trailer)
Simon Höfele, Frank Dupree Trio & Goldmund Quartet - Santa Baby (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Jean Françaix: Sonatine pour Trompette | Simon Höfele w/ Elisabeth Brauß (Official Music Video)
Simon Höfele - New Standards with Elisabeth Brauß (Official Album Trailer)
Arutjunjan - Aria et Scherzo: II. Allegretto / Simon Höfele & Elisabeth Brauß (Official Music Video)
Simon Höfele - Standards (Official Trailer)
Simon Höfele - Arutjunjan (Teaser)
Simon Höfele - Copland (Teaser)
Simon Höfele, BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra - Hummel: Trumpet Concerto in E Major (Music Teaser)
Simon Höfele, Duncan Ward & BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra - Haydn Trumpet Concerto (Teaser)
Trumpet Concerto in A-Flat Major (Meno mosso)
Quiet City
Trumpet Concerto in E-Flat Major, Hob. VIIe:1: III. Finale. Allegro
Trumpet Concerto in E-Flat Major, Hob. VIIe:1: II. Andante

Other publications by Simon Höfele & Frank Dupree

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

SALTED CARAMEL

Einfach mal machen: Das war das Motto, als Simon Höfele und Frank Dupree beschlossen, sich einem brandheißen Eisen zu widmen. Die beiden Musiker, die sich zwar schon seit Jahren nicht mehr darauf beschränken, aber im Grunde aus der klassischen Musik stammen, lieben Jazz ebenso wie Hummels Trompeten- und Beethovens Klavierkonzert. Das Repertoire so richtig auszuleben, erlaubt man ihnen kaum: noch immer zu groß der Graben zwischen Klassik und Jazz, zu unüberwindbar die Vorurteile, zu unterschiedlich die musikalische Herangehensweise. Sie haben es trotzdem gemacht und zusammen mit Franks Kollegen Obi Jenne am Schlagzeug, Jakob Krupp am Bass und dem Goldmund Quartett ein Album auf die Beine gestellt, das keine Gegensätze aufzeigen will, nicht das Trennende betont, sondern musikalische Verbindungen schafft, freimachen will von Konventionen und für gute Laune sorgt.

Gershwin ist süß

Ausgangspunkt ihrer kulinarischen Reise ist die Musik von George Gershwin. „Sie ist sozusagen das Karamell, das einem wirklich auf der Zunge zergeht“, so Frank Dupree. Drei zentrale Werke sind auf „Salted Caramel“ von ihm zu hören: Die „Rhapsody in Blue“, der zweite Satz seines Klavierkonzerts und „An American in Paris“. Die strukturellen Eckpfeiler des Albums – die „Rhapsody in Blue“ im Arrangement von Timofei Dokshitser, die anderen beiden Werke Gershwins von Frank Dupree – werden begleitet vom Arrangement von Leonard Bernsteins „Rondo for Lifey“ und der Trompetensonate von Daniel Schnyder im Original. Im Kontrast machen Simon und Frank sich auch vier originäre Jazz-Werke zu eigen.

Jazz ist salzig

„Die Jazz-Stücke sind das Salz in der klassischen Suppe“, so Beide. „Miles Davis, Chet Baker und Co. Uns war es wichtig, mit diesem Album ein paar dieser Jazz-Größen Danke zu sagen. Diese Trompeter haben die Musikwelt maßgeblich beeinflusst. Ohne sie wäre die Trompete nicht da, wo sie jetzt ist.“ Höfele und Dupree bewegen sich bei den Jazz-Songs sehr nah am Original, quasi am Urtext. Ausgehend von den Transkriptionen der Original-Aufnahmen improvisieren sie, erkunden neues Terrain und betrachten das jeweilige Werk durch ihre Augen. „Für Roy Hargroves „Strasbourg-St. Denis“ hat Simon Höfele zwei Trompeten mit unterschiedlichen Dämpfern per Overdub aufgenommen. Und bei Gillespies „Manteca“ haben wir uns ein eigenes Arrangement gebastelt, bei dem quasi vier Simons gleichzeitig spielen! Ein bisschen verstehen wir diese Kombination auch als Angebot für Klassik-Liebhaber, mal in den Jazz einzutauchen“, so Dupree. „Elvis Costellos „Almost Blue“ gespielt von Chet Baker ist meine absolute Lieblings-Ballade“, findet Höfele. „Das wollte ich auf jeden Fall aufnehmen. Miles Davis muss auch sein, Roy Hargrove ist etwas fetziger. Natürlich hätte es noch viele andere Stücke geben können.“

Der richtige Geschmack auf der Zunge

„Wir haben den Jazz eigentlich so klassisch wie möglich und dafür die Klassik so jazzig wie möglich behandelt“, sagen sie. Entstanden ist ein buntes Repertoire und eine Kombination nicht nur in puncto musikalischer Stile, sondern auch Besetzungen, Klänge und produktionstechnischer Eigenheiten. „Mir ist es wichtig“, sagt Simon Höfele, „als Musiker immer offen zu sein für neue Wege. Das inspiriert mich und gibt mir die Motivation. Ich bin der festen Überzeugung, dass vom Ausprobieren neuer Richtungen, ob zeitgenössisch oder Jazz, auch mein Spiel des klassischen Repertoires profitiert. Einfach, weil ich als Musiker daran wachsen kann.“

Salted Caramel Simon Höfele & Frank Dupree

Komponisten

Chano Pozo

Daniel Schnyder

Dizzy Gillespie

Elvis Costello

George Gershwin

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Klassik-Jazz-Crossover

Erscheinungsdatum:

04.02.2022



SALTED CARAMEL

Einfach mal machen: Das war das Motto, als Simon Höfele und Frank Dupree beschlossen, sich einem brandheißen Eisen zu widmen. Die beiden Musiker, die sich zwar schon seit Jahren nicht mehr darauf beschränken, aber im Grunde aus der klassischen Musik stammen, lieben Jazz ebenso wie Hummels Trompeten- und Beethovens Klavierkonzert. Das Repertoire so richtig auszuleben, erlaubt man ihnen kaum: noch immer zu groß der Graben zwischen Klassik und Jazz, zu unüberwindbar die Vorurteile, zu unterschiedlich die musikalische Herangehensweise. Sie haben es trotzdem gemacht und zusammen mit Franks Kollegen Obi Jenne am Schlagzeug, Jakob Krupp am Bass und dem Goldmund Quartett ein Album auf die Beine gestellt, das keine Gegensätze aufzeigen will, nicht das Trennende betont, sondern musikalische Verbindungen schafft, freimachen will von Konventionen und für gute Laune sorgt.

Gershwin ist süß

Ausgangspunkt ihrer kulinarischen Reise ist die Musik von George Gershwin. „Sie ist sozusagen das Karamell, das einem wirklich auf der Zunge zergeht“, so Frank Dupree. Drei zentrale Werke sind auf „Salted Caramel“ von ihm zu hören: Die „Rhapsody in Blue“, der zweite Satz seines Klavierkonzerts und „An American in Paris“. Die strukturellen Eckpfeiler des Albums – die „Rhapsody in Blue“ im Arrangement von Timofei Dokshitser, die anderen beiden Werke Gershwins von Frank Dupree – werden begleitet vom Arrangement von Leonard Bernsteins „Rondo for Lifey“ und der Trompetensonate von Daniel Schnyder im Original. Im Kontrast machen Simon und Frank sich auch vier originäre Jazz-Werke zu eigen.

Jazz ist salzig

„Die Jazz-Stücke sind das Salz in der klassischen Suppe“, so Beide. „Miles Davis, Chet Baker und Co. Uns war es wichtig, mit diesem Album ein paar dieser Jazz-Größen Danke zu sagen. Diese Trompeter haben die Musikwelt maßgeblich beeinflusst. Ohne sie wäre die Trompete nicht da, wo sie jetzt ist.“ Höfele und Dupree bewegen sich bei den Jazz-Songs sehr nah am Original, quasi am Urtext. Ausgehend von den Transkriptionen der Original-Aufnahmen improvisieren sie, erkunden neues Terrain und betrachten das jeweilige Werk durch ihre Augen. „Für Roy Hargroves „Strasbourg-St. Denis“ hat Simon Höfele zwei Trompeten mit unterschiedlichen Dämpfern per Overdub aufgenommen. Und bei Gillespies „Manteca“ haben wir uns ein eigenes Arrangement gebastelt, bei dem quasi vier Simons gleichzeitig spielen! Ein bisschen verstehen wir diese Kombination auch als Angebot für Klassik-Liebhaber, mal in den Jazz einzutauchen“, so Dupree. „Elvis Costellos „Almost Blue“ gespielt von Chet Baker ist meine absolute Lieblings-Ballade“, findet Höfele. „Das wollte ich auf jeden Fall aufnehmen. Miles Davis muss auch sein, Roy Hargrove ist etwas fetziger. Natürlich hätte es noch viele andere Stücke geben können.“

Der richtige Geschmack auf der Zunge

„Wir haben den Jazz eigentlich so klassisch wie möglich und dafür die Klassik so jazzig wie möglich behandelt“, sagen sie. Entstanden ist ein buntes Repertoire und eine Kombination nicht nur in puncto musikalischer Stile, sondern auch Besetzungen, Klänge und produktionstechnischer Eigenheiten. „Mir ist es wichtig“, sagt Simon Höfele, „als Musiker immer offen zu sein für neue Wege. Das inspiriert mich und gibt mir die Motivation. Ich bin der festen Überzeugung, dass vom Ausprobieren neuer Richtungen, ob zeitgenössisch oder Jazz, auch mein Spiel des klassischen Repertoires profitiert. Einfach, weil ich als Musiker daran wachsen kann.“

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

Salted Caramel
Simon Höfele & Frank Dupree
1 Rhapsody in Blue (Arr. for Trumpet/Flügelhorn and Piano)
2 Blue in Green
3 Trumpet Sonata
4 Almost Blue
5 2nd Movement from Piano Concerto in F (Arr. for Trumpet, Jazz Trio and String Quartet)
6 Manteca (Arr. for four trumpets, piano, double bass and Drums)
7 Rondo for Lifey (Arr. for Trumpet and String Quartet)
8 Strasbourg/St. Denis
9 An American in Paris: Allegro grazioso (Arr. for Trumpet, Jazz Trio and String Quartet)
10 An American in Paris: Andante ma con ritmo deciso (Arr. for Trumpet, Jazz Trio and String Quartet)
11 An American in Paris: Allegro (Arr. for Trumpet, Jazz Trio and String Quartet)

Weitere Videos von Simon Höfele & Frank Dupree

zurück
weiter
Simon Höfele, Frank Dupree Trio & Goldmund Quartet: Gershwin: American in Paris: Blues
Simon Höfele, Frank Dupree Trio, Goldmund Quartett - Salted Caramel (Official Album Trailer)
Simon Höfele, Frank Dupree Trio & Goldmund Quartet - Santa Baby (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Jean Françaix: Sonatine pour Trompette | Simon Höfele w/ Elisabeth Brauß (Official Music Video)
Simon Höfele - New Standards with Elisabeth Brauß (Official Album Trailer)
Arutjunjan - Aria et Scherzo: II. Allegretto / Simon Höfele & Elisabeth Brauß (Official Music Video)
Simon Höfele - Standards (Official Trailer)
Simon Höfele - Arutjunjan (Teaser)
Simon Höfele - Copland (Teaser)
Simon Höfele, BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra - Hummel: Trumpet Concerto in E Major (Music Teaser)
Simon Höfele, Duncan Ward & BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra - Haydn Trumpet Concerto (Teaser)
Trumpet Concerto in A-Flat Major (Meno mosso)
Quiet City
Trumpet Concerto in E-Flat Major, Hob. VIIe:1: III. Finale. Allegro
Trumpet Concerto in E-Flat Major, Hob. VIIe:1: II. Andante

Weitere Veröffentlichungen von Simon Höfele & Frank Dupree

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}