A soloist’s career path can often be a lonely one, especially for an exceptional instrumental soloist like Felix Klieser. It is then all the more inspiring when over the course of many years playing together, there is the opportunity to build and nurture close artistic and personal contacts with other musicians. Felix Klieser’s concerts with the Prague-based Zemlinsky Quartet therefore are understandably among his annual favourites, as they present an opportunity for the five musicians to come together and to show that many years of music-making together has forged them into much more than just another artistic ensemble. “I have played so much and so often with the Zemlinsky Quartet, and so we wanted to record a programme of music together,” he explains. What could be more suitable for such a project than Mozart and Haydn?

“The Horn Quintet is a real favourite of mine, in fact it may be the piece I like to play most,” is the hornist’s reaction to Mozart’s chamber works for the instrument. He has amply proved that he is very fond indeed of Mozart, having already recorded the Horn Concertos of Wolfgang Amadeus. Now comes the Quintet. “It is such great fun to play this music. It’s like being a child in a sweet shop who is told: ‘you’re allowed to pick up anything and you can eat as much as you like.’ You go tumbling from one mood into another, interchanging between unbounded jubilation and deepest despair in the space of two bars; you really have to be on your toes – it’s intensive stuff.”

Felix Klieser and the Zemlinsky Quartet have paired Mozart’s Horn Quintet with the two horn concertos by Joseph Haydn. “My mindset has changed; compared with how I used to play these concertos, I am a different person today,” Felix Klieser explains with regard to the Haydn horn concertos, which he has already recorded with the Württemberg Chamber Orchestra. Arranged for solo horn and string quartet, the chamber-music version brings out the interaction as “much more spontaneous, more personal, more delicate”. He goes on: “the fact that each part is played by a single instrument means that it has its own sanctuary, its own significance.” The differentiation only becomes evident in the transparent sound and the close coordination between the musicians. “Nowadays I tend to play with more verve and more impulsively, something I wouldn’t have dared to do a few years ago.”

As with his previous album Beyond Words, featuring arrangements of Baroque arias, this new album again includes a number of transcriptions. The four Mozart arias from The Marriage of Figaro, Don Giovanni and The Magic Flute are a welcome addition to the horn repertoire. At the same time, Felix Klieser is a big fan of such adaptions: “I love playing arias, because the phrasing, the breath technique and the horn’s ability to carry the song part are all identical. The articulation and timbres are of course different, and one mustn’t attempt to copy the original. But the basic idea of this music functions perfectly because the basic criteria for the interpretation is the same.”

Mozart & Haydn for Horn & String Quartet Felix Klieser & Zemlinsky Quartet

Artist

Zemlinsky Quartet

Composer

Franz Joseph Haydn

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Further information

Genre

Horn

Publication date:

01.04.2022



A soloist’s career path can often be a lonely one, especially for an exceptional instrumental soloist like Felix Klieser. It is then all the more inspiring when over the course of many years playing together, there is the opportunity to build and nurture close artistic and personal contacts with other musicians. Felix Klieser’s concerts with the Prague-based Zemlinsky Quartet therefore are understandably among his annual favourites, as they present an opportunity for the five musicians to come together and to show that many years of music-making together has forged them into much more than just another artistic ensemble. “I have played so much and so often with the Zemlinsky Quartet, and so we wanted to record a programme of music together,” he explains. What could be more suitable for such a project than Mozart and Haydn?

“The Horn Quintet is a real favourite of mine, in fact it may be the piece I like to play most,” is the hornist’s reaction to Mozart’s chamber works for the instrument. He has amply proved that he is very fond indeed of Mozart, having already recorded the Horn Concertos of Wolfgang Amadeus. Now comes the Quintet. “It is such great fun to play this music. It’s like being a child in a sweet shop who is told: ‘you’re allowed to pick up anything and you can eat as much as you like.’ You go tumbling from one mood into another, interchanging between unbounded jubilation and deepest despair in the space of two bars; you really have to be on your toes – it’s intensive stuff.”

Felix Klieser and the Zemlinsky Quartet have paired Mozart’s Horn Quintet with the two horn concertos by Joseph Haydn. “My mindset has changed; compared with how I used to play these concertos, I am a different person today,” Felix Klieser explains with regard to the Haydn horn concertos, which he has already recorded with the Württemberg Chamber Orchestra. Arranged for solo horn and string quartet, the chamber-music version brings out the interaction as “much more spontaneous, more personal, more delicate”. He goes on: “the fact that each part is played by a single instrument means that it has its own sanctuary, its own significance.” The differentiation only becomes evident in the transparent sound and the close coordination between the musicians. “Nowadays I tend to play with more verve and more impulsively, something I wouldn’t have dared to do a few years ago.”

As with his previous album Beyond Words, featuring arrangements of Baroque arias, this new album again includes a number of transcriptions. The four Mozart arias from The Marriage of Figaro, Don Giovanni and The Magic Flute are a welcome addition to the horn repertoire. At the same time, Felix Klieser is a big fan of such adaptions: “I love playing arias, because the phrasing, the breath technique and the horn’s ability to carry the song part are all identical. The articulation and timbres are of course different, and one mustn’t attempt to copy the original. But the basic idea of this music functions perfectly because the basic criteria for the interpretation is the same.”

Tracklist - These are the tracks you will hear on the album

Mozart & Haydn for Horn & String Quartet
Felix Klieser & Zemlinsky Quartet
1 Le nozze di Figaro, K.492: Voi che sapete (Arr. for Horn & String Quartet)
2 Horn Concerto No. 1: I. Allegro (Arr. for Horn & String Quartet)
3 Horn Concerto No. 1: II. Adagio (Arr. for Horn & String Quartet)
4 Horn Concerto No. 1: III. Allegro (Arr. for Horn & String Quartet)
5 Le nozze di Figaro, K.492: Non più andrai (Arr. for Horn & String Quartet)
6 Horn Concerto No. 2: I. Allegro moderato (Arr. for Horn & String Quartet)
7 Horn Concerto No. 2: II. Adagio (Arr. for Horn & String Quartet)
8 Horn Concerto No. 2: III. Allegro moderato (Arr. for Horn & String Quartet)
9 Don Giovanni, K.527: Il mio tesoro (Arr. for Horn & String Quartet)
10 Horn Quintet, K.407: I. -
11 Horn Quintet, K.407: II. Andante
12 Horn Quintet, K.407: III. Allegro
13 Die Zauberflöte, K.620: Dies Bildnis ist bezaubernd schön (Arr. for Horn & String Quartet)

More videos from Felix Klieser & Zemlinsky Quartet

previous
next
Felix Klieser & Zemlinsky Quartet - Mozart: Voi che sapete (Figaro) für Horn- & Streichquartett
Felix Klieser & CHAARTS Chamber Artists - Handel: Ombra mai fu | Arr. for French Horn (Music Video)
Johann Sebastian Bach - Wohl mir, dass ich Jesum habe | Felix Klieser (Official Music Video)
Felix Klieser - Beyond Words | Baroque Arias for Horn by Handel, Vivaldi & Bach (Official Trailer)
Felix Klieser - Der Fuß-Hornist macht Weltkarriere | Galileo | ProSieben
Klassik Radio trifft Felix Klieser
Weiter mit… Hornist Felix Klieser! Dranbleiben, mutig sein, weiterkommen
Felix Klieser - Fragenhagel (Interview)
Felix Klieser & Camerata Salzburg – Mozart: Horn Concerto, Nr. 4, KV 495 – III. Allegro vivace
Felix Klieser & Camerata Salzburg – Mozart: Horn Concerto, Nr. 3, KV 447 – II. Larghetto
Felix Klieser bei optimal in Röbel
Felix Klieser & Camerata Salzburg – Mozart: Horn Concerto, Nr. 1, KV 412 – I. Allegro
Felix Klieser & Camerata Salzburg - Mozart Horn Concertos 1 - 4 (Trailer)
Felix Klieser Horn Trios CD Präsentation & Interviews

Other publications by Felix Klieser & Zemlinsky Quartet

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Die Wege des Solisten können häufig einsam sein, gerade bei einem der herausragendsten Instrumentalsolisten wie Felix Klieser. Umso größer ist die Freude, wenn sich durch langjähriges Zusammenspiel engere künstlerische und menschliche Verbindungen aufbauen. Felix Kliesers Konzerte mit dem Prager Zemlinsky Quartett sind ihm daher die liebsten im Jahr, weil die Fünf nach unzähligen gemeinsamen Auftritten längst mehr verbindet als eine rein musikalische Gemeinschaft. „Mit dem Zemlinsky Quartett habe ich viel zusammengespielt, und wir wollten unbedingt ein Programm miteinander aufnehmen“. Was könnte sich dafür besser eignen als Mozart und Haydn?

„Das Hornquintett ist ein echtes Lieblingsstück, wenn nicht sogar das Stück, das ich am liebsten spiele“, so der Hornist über Mozarts Kammermusikwerk für Horn. Dass ihm Mozart sehr am Herzen und in den Zehen liegt, stellte er mit Bravour bereits mit der Aufnahme der Mozart’schen Hornkonzerte unter Beweis. Und nun folgt das Quintett. „Es macht unglaublich viel Spaß diese Musik zu spielen Man fühlt sich wie ein Kind im Süßwarenladen, dem man gesagt hat: Du darfst alles anfassen und essen. Man stürzt rapide von einer Stimmung in die andere, wechselt zwischen Himmelhoch jauchzend und zu Tode betrübt in nur zwei Takten, muss dabei extrem schnell die Kurve kriegen – das ist intensiv.“

Neben Mozarts Hornquintett stellen Felix Klieser und das Zemlinsky Quartett die beiden Hornkonzerte von Joseph Haydn. „Meine Denkweise hat sich geändert, ich spiele diese Konzerte im Vergleich zu damals als ein anderer Mensch,“ sagt Felix Klieser mit Blick auf Haydns Hornkonzerte, die er bereits mit dem Württembergischen Kammerorchester eingespielt hat. Für Horn solo und Streichquartett arrangiert, ist bei der kammermusikalischen Fassung die Interaktion „viel spontaner, individueller, feinfühliger“: „Dadurch, dass jede Stimme einzeln besetzt ist, hat sie ihr eigenes Refugium, ihre eigene Bedeutung.“ Der Unterschied zeigt sich nicht nur im durchsichtigen Klang und der engen Abstimmung der Musikeruntereinander. „Heute spiele ich eher energiegeladen und impulsiv, was ich mich vor ein paar Jahren nicht getraut hätte.“

Wie auf seinem letzten Album Beyond Words mit Bearbeitungen von barocken Arien dürfen auch auf der neuesten Einspielung einige Transkriptionen nicht fehlen. Die vier Mozartarien aus „Figaros Hochzeit“, „Don Giovanni“ und der „Zauberflöte“ sind zum einen eine Erweiterung des Hornrepertoires. Gleichzeitig liebt Felix Klieser diese Adaptionen: „Arien zu spielen ist unglaublich angenehm, weil die Art zu phrasieren, zu atmen und zu stützen im Gesang und beim Horn identisch sind. Die Artikulation und Klangfarben sind natürlich andere und man darf nicht versuchen, das Original zu kopieren. Aber die Grundidee dieser Musik funktioniert perfekt, weil man dieselben Grundvoraussetzungen für die Interpretation hat.“

Mozart & Haydn for Horn & String Quartet Felix Klieser & Zemlinsky Quartet

Künstler

Zemlinsky Quartet

Komponisten

Franz Joseph Haydn

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Horn

Erscheinungsdatum:

01.04.2022



Die Wege des Solisten können häufig einsam sein, gerade bei einem der herausragendsten Instrumentalsolisten wie Felix Klieser. Umso größer ist die Freude, wenn sich durch langjähriges Zusammenspiel engere künstlerische und menschliche Verbindungen aufbauen. Felix Kliesers Konzerte mit dem Prager Zemlinsky Quartett sind ihm daher die liebsten im Jahr, weil die Fünf nach unzähligen gemeinsamen Auftritten längst mehr verbindet als eine rein musikalische Gemeinschaft. „Mit dem Zemlinsky Quartett habe ich viel zusammengespielt, und wir wollten unbedingt ein Programm miteinander aufnehmen“. Was könnte sich dafür besser eignen als Mozart und Haydn?

„Das Hornquintett ist ein echtes Lieblingsstück, wenn nicht sogar das Stück, das ich am liebsten spiele“, so der Hornist über Mozarts Kammermusikwerk für Horn. Dass ihm Mozart sehr am Herzen und in den Zehen liegt, stellte er mit Bravour bereits mit der Aufnahme der Mozart’schen Hornkonzerte unter Beweis. Und nun folgt das Quintett. „Es macht unglaublich viel Spaß diese Musik zu spielen Man fühlt sich wie ein Kind im Süßwarenladen, dem man gesagt hat: Du darfst alles anfassen und essen. Man stürzt rapide von einer Stimmung in die andere, wechselt zwischen Himmelhoch jauchzend und zu Tode betrübt in nur zwei Takten, muss dabei extrem schnell die Kurve kriegen – das ist intensiv.“

Neben Mozarts Hornquintett stellen Felix Klieser und das Zemlinsky Quartett die beiden Hornkonzerte von Joseph Haydn. „Meine Denkweise hat sich geändert, ich spiele diese Konzerte im Vergleich zu damals als ein anderer Mensch,“ sagt Felix Klieser mit Blick auf Haydns Hornkonzerte, die er bereits mit dem Württembergischen Kammerorchester eingespielt hat. Für Horn solo und Streichquartett arrangiert, ist bei der kammermusikalischen Fassung die Interaktion „viel spontaner, individueller, feinfühliger“: „Dadurch, dass jede Stimme einzeln besetzt ist, hat sie ihr eigenes Refugium, ihre eigene Bedeutung.“ Der Unterschied zeigt sich nicht nur im durchsichtigen Klang und der engen Abstimmung der Musikeruntereinander. „Heute spiele ich eher energiegeladen und impulsiv, was ich mich vor ein paar Jahren nicht getraut hätte.“

Wie auf seinem letzten Album Beyond Words mit Bearbeitungen von barocken Arien dürfen auch auf der neuesten Einspielung einige Transkriptionen nicht fehlen. Die vier Mozartarien aus „Figaros Hochzeit“, „Don Giovanni“ und der „Zauberflöte“ sind zum einen eine Erweiterung des Hornrepertoires. Gleichzeitig liebt Felix Klieser diese Adaptionen: „Arien zu spielen ist unglaublich angenehm, weil die Art zu phrasieren, zu atmen und zu stützen im Gesang und beim Horn identisch sind. Die Artikulation und Klangfarben sind natürlich andere und man darf nicht versuchen, das Original zu kopieren. Aber die Grundidee dieser Musik funktioniert perfekt, weil man dieselben Grundvoraussetzungen für die Interpretation hat.“

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

Mozart & Haydn for Horn & String Quartet
Felix Klieser & Zemlinsky Quartet
1 Le nozze di Figaro, K.492: Voi che sapete (Arr. for Horn & String Quartet)
2 Horn Concerto No. 1: I. Allegro (Arr. for Horn & String Quartet)
3 Horn Concerto No. 1: II. Adagio (Arr. for Horn & String Quartet)
4 Horn Concerto No. 1: III. Allegro (Arr. for Horn & String Quartet)
5 Le nozze di Figaro, K.492: Non più andrai (Arr. for Horn & String Quartet)
6 Horn Concerto No. 2: I. Allegro moderato (Arr. for Horn & String Quartet)
7 Horn Concerto No. 2: II. Adagio (Arr. for Horn & String Quartet)
8 Horn Concerto No. 2: III. Allegro moderato (Arr. for Horn & String Quartet)
9 Don Giovanni, K.527: Il mio tesoro (Arr. for Horn & String Quartet)
10 Horn Quintet, K.407: I. -
11 Horn Quintet, K.407: II. Andante
12 Horn Quintet, K.407: III. Allegro
13 Die Zauberflöte, K.620: Dies Bildnis ist bezaubernd schön (Arr. for Horn & String Quartet)

Weitere Videos von Felix Klieser & Zemlinsky Quartet

zurück
weiter
Felix Klieser & Zemlinsky Quartet - Mozart: Voi che sapete (Figaro) für Horn- & Streichquartett
Felix Klieser & CHAARTS Chamber Artists - Handel: Ombra mai fu | Arr. for French Horn (Music Video)
Johann Sebastian Bach - Wohl mir, dass ich Jesum habe | Felix Klieser (Official Music Video)
Felix Klieser - Beyond Words | Baroque Arias for Horn by Handel, Vivaldi & Bach (Official Trailer)
Felix Klieser - Der Fuß-Hornist macht Weltkarriere | Galileo | ProSieben
Klassik Radio trifft Felix Klieser
Weiter mit… Hornist Felix Klieser! Dranbleiben, mutig sein, weiterkommen
Felix Klieser - Fragenhagel (Interview)
Felix Klieser & Camerata Salzburg – Mozart: Horn Concerto, Nr. 4, KV 495 – III. Allegro vivace
Felix Klieser & Camerata Salzburg – Mozart: Horn Concerto, Nr. 3, KV 447 – II. Larghetto
Felix Klieser bei optimal in Röbel
Felix Klieser & Camerata Salzburg – Mozart: Horn Concerto, Nr. 1, KV 412 – I. Allegro
Felix Klieser & Camerata Salzburg - Mozart Horn Concertos 1 - 4 (Trailer)
Felix Klieser Horn Trios CD Präsentation & Interviews

Weitere Veröffentlichungen von Felix Klieser & Zemlinsky Quartet

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}