When Claire Huangci goes into raptures about the Toccatas, she talks about the less well known side of Johann Sebastian Bach: the “rather mischievous, imaginative and humorous Bach”, whose Toccatas were bright spots for her in the past year. “Sometimes my body swayed while I was playing almost as if I was on the dance floor and the music possessed my whole body” – and she learnt a lot about touching, that is to say, about pianistic touch.

The Italian word toccare – “strike, touch, feel” – summons up in its very etymology the whole spectrum of pianistic challenges that Bach tucks away in the structure of his seven Toccatas. Claire Huangci’s engagement with the works goes well beyond her studio recording of them: she edited the fingering for the authoritative publishing house of Henle, something which gives interested amateurs and concert pianists alike an unusually personal insight into her music-making. Both the fingering on the Henle Library App and the studio recording from Berlin Classics will be available from 10 September.

On her most recent album, the pianist Claire Huangci made her first discographic foray into the chamber-music world of Ernest Chausson and Maurice Ravel.

Now, aided by the choice of a Yamaha CFX, she looks back on her new album practically to the start of her professional career, to her highly acclaimed Scarlatti album. Recorded in Bremen’s tradition-steeped Broadcasting Hall, she shows yet again just how close she is to the Baroque repertoire.

The album begins with the most famous toccata in music history, though it is not the sort of work we are used to hearing played on a solo piano recording. Ferruccio Busoni’s transcription of the world famous Bach D minor Toccata, which takes the work normally heard on a mighty Baroque organ and has it played in romanticised manner on a piano keyboard, provides a captivating start, seeming to blow the cobwebs out of the keys, and whets our appetite for the original Bach and all of his seven Toccatas. All were written during Bach’s years in Weimar and bring him alive as a composer who is well versed in the serious art of Baroque counterpoint, yet contrasts this mastery with improvisational, virtuoso runs and dreamy slow passages.

Claire Huangci, who at just 31 has already produced an impressive discography, is at home in the most diverse musical eras. In this CD programme her musical diversity comes perfectly into play, whether in the finely traced slow middle movement of the D major toccata, the dazzling brilliance of the beginning of the G minor toccata or the romanticised excesses of the Busoni transcription of BWV 565. The American pianist, who has recently made her home in Frankfurt am Main, has been attracting attention for quite some years now. She was winner of the first prize and a Mozart prizewinner at the Concours Géza Anda in 2018 and has since been performing in venues around the world. At the start of the 2020/21 season she made a huge impression with her captivating interpretation of Liszt’s transcription of Beethoven’s 6th Symphony, which she performed at many venues during the Beethoven anniversary year, including at the Rheingau Music Festival and in cooperation with the streaming platform MagentaMusik 360 as well as at the Ruhr Piano Festival. One highlight in the autumn of 2020 was her recital tour where she played in the Vienna Konzerthaus, the Berlin Philharmonie and the Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg.

Bach: Toccatas Claire Huangci

Künstler

Komponisten

Johann Sebastian Bach

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Klassik

Erscheinungsdatum:

10.09.2021





When Claire Huangci goes into raptures about the Toccatas, she talks about the less well known side of Johann Sebastian Bach: the “rather mischievous, imaginative and humorous Bach”, whose Toccatas were bright spots for her in the past year. “Sometimes my body swayed while I was playing almost as if I was on the dance floor and the music possessed my whole body” – and she learnt a lot about touching, that is to say, about pianistic touch.

The Italian word toccare – “strike, touch, feel” – summons up in its very etymology the whole spectrum of pianistic challenges that Bach tucks away in the structure of his seven Toccatas. Claire Huangci’s engagement with the works goes well beyond her studio recording of them: she edited the fingering for the authoritative publishing house of Henle, something which gives interested amateurs and concert pianists alike an unusually personal insight into her music-making. Both the fingering on the Henle Library App and the studio recording from Berlin Classics will be available from 10 September.



On her most recent album, the pianist Claire Huangci made her first discographic foray into the chamber-music world of Ernest Chausson and Maurice Ravel.



Now, aided by the choice of a Yamaha CFX, she looks back on her new album practically to the start of her professional career, to her highly acclaimed Scarlatti album. Recorded in Bremen’s tradition-steeped Broadcasting Hall, she shows yet again just how close she is to the Baroque repertoire.



The album begins with the most famous toccata in music history, though it is not the sort of work we are used to hearing played on a solo piano recording. Ferruccio Busoni’s transcription of the world famous Bach D minor Toccata, which takes the work normally heard on a mighty Baroque organ and has it played in romanticised manner on a piano keyboard, provides a captivating start, seeming to blow the cobwebs out of the keys, and whets our appetite for the original Bach and all of his seven Toccatas. All were written during Bach’s years in Weimar and bring him alive as a composer who is well versed in the serious art of Baroque counterpoint, yet contrasts this mastery with improvisational, virtuoso runs and dreamy slow passages.



Claire Huangci, who at just 31 has already produced an impressive discography, is at home in the most diverse musical eras. In this CD programme her musical diversity comes perfectly into play, whether in the finely traced slow middle movement of the D major toccata, the dazzling brilliance of the beginning of the G minor toccata or the romanticised excesses of the Busoni transcription of BWV 565. The American pianist, who has recently made her home in Frankfurt am Main, has been attracting attention for quite some years now. She was winner of the first prize and a Mozart prizewinner at the Concours Géza Anda in 2018 and has since been performing in venues around the world. At the start of the 2020/21 season she made a huge impression with her captivating interpretation of Liszt’s transcription of Beethoven’s 6th Symphony, which she performed at many venues during the Beethoven anniversary year, including at the Rheingau Music Festival and in cooperation with the streaming platform MagentaMusik 360 as well as at the Ruhr Piano Festival. One highlight in the autumn of 2020 was her recital tour where she played in the Vienna Konzerthaus, the Berlin Philharmonie and the Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg.

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

Bach: Toccatas
Claire Huangci
1 Toccata and Fugue in D Minor, BWV 565: Toccata (Arr. by Busoni)
2 Toccata and Fugue in D Minor, BWV 565: Fugue (Arr. by Busoni)
3 Toccata in G Minor, BWV 915: Introduction - Adagio
4 Toccata in G Minor, BWV 915: Allegro
5 Toccata in G Minor, BWV 915: Adagio
6 Toccata in G Minor, BWV 915: Fuga
7 Toccata in E Minor, BWV 914: Introduction - Un poco allegro
8 Toccata in E Minor, BWV 914: Adagio
9 Toccata in E Minor, BWV 914: Fuga. Allegro
10 Toccata in C Minor, BWV 911: Introduction - Adagio
11 Toccata in C Minor, BWV 911: Fuga. (Allegro)
12 Toccata in G Major, BWV 916: Introduction
13 Toccata in G Major, BWV 916: Adagio
14 Toccata in G Major, BWV 916: Fuga. Allegro e presto
15 Toccata in D Minor, BWV 913: Introduction - Presto
16 Toccata in D Minor, BWV 913: Thema - Presto
17 Toccata in D Minor, BWV 913: Allegro
18 Toccata in F-Sharp Minor, BWV 910: Introduction
19 Toccata in F-Sharp Minor, BWV 910: (Adagio)
20 Toccata in F-Sharp Minor, BWV 910: Presto e staccato
21 Toccata in D Major, BWV 912: Introduction
22 Toccata in D Major, BWV 912: Allegro
23 Toccata in D Major, BWV 912: Adagio
24 Toccata in D Major, BWV 912: Presto - Fuga

Weitere Videos von Claire Huangci

zurück
weiter
Claire Huangci - Bach: Toccata in D Major, BWV 912: Presto - Fuga (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Claire Huangci - Bach: Toccata in G Major, BWV 916: Introduction (Official Music Video)
Claire Huangci - Bach: Toccatas | Official Album Trailer
Claire Huangci - Bach: Toccatas (Full Album Stream)
Claire Huangci - Paderewski & Chopin (Official Album Trailer)
Claire Huangci - Rachmaninov: 13 Preludes, Opus 32, no. 6
Claire Huangci - Rachmaninov: Morceaux de Fantaisie
Claire Huangci - Rachmaninov: The Preludes (Trailer)
Claire Huangci - A Chopin Diary - Étude in C-Sharp Minor (feat. Tristan Cornut)
Claire Huangci - A Chopin Diary - Nocturne No. 5 in F-Sharp Major
Claire Huangci - A Chopin Diary - Nocturne No. 13 in C Minor
Claire Huangci - The Chopin Diary (Album Trailer)
Claire Huangci - A Chopin Diary - Nocturne No.1 (Teaser)
Claire Huangci - A Chopin Diary - Nocturne No.2 (Teaser)

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Wenn Claire Huangci über die Toccaten ins Schwärmen gerät, spricht sie über die unbekanntere Seite an Johann Sebastian Bach: den „eher skurrilen, fantasierenden und humorvollen Bach“, dessen Toccaten helle Farbtupfer in ihrem letzten Jahr waren. „Manchmal schwankte mein Körper beim Spielen fast wie bei einem Tanzen und die Musik nahm mein ganzes Wesen ein“ – und sie lernte viel über Berührung, um pianistisch zu sprechen: über den Anschlag.

Das italienische „toccare“ – „schlagen, berühren, betasten“ vermittelt schon in seiner ursprünglichen Wortherkunft die gesamte Bandbreite an pianistischen Herausforderungen, die Bach auch in der Zusammenstellung seiner sieben Toccaten versteckt. Claire Huangcis Auseinandersetzung mit den Werken geht dabei über die Studioaufnahme hinaus: Für den renommierten G. Henle Verlag editierte sie den Fingersatz, der interessierten Laien und Profis einen ungewohnt persönlichen Einblick in ihr Musizieren gibt. Sowohl die Fingersätze in der Henle Library App als auch die Studioaufnahme bei Berlin Classics erscheinen am 10. September.

Zuletzt unternahm die Pianistin Claire Huangci einen ersten diskografischen Ausflug in die kammermusikalische Welt von Ernest Chausson und Maurice Ravel. Nun schließt sie, auch durch die Wahl eines Yamaha CFX, mit ihrem neuen Album nun eine musikalische Klammer fast bis zum Beginn ihrer professionellen Karriere, zu ihrem hochgelobten Scarlatti-Album. Aufgenommen im traditionsreichen Sendesaal Bremen zeigt sie erneut, wie nah ihr auch das barocke Repertoire ist. Das Album beginnt mit der bekanntesten Toccata der Musikgeschichte, die man auf einer Solo-Klavier-Einspielung dennoch nicht erwarten würde. Busonis Transkription der weltberühmten Bach’schen d-Moll-Toccata, die in romantisierender Weise den gewaltigen Barock-Klang der Orgel auf die Klaviatur bannt, dient gleichsam als fesselnder Auftakt, reinigt die Tasten und macht gespannt auf den originalen Bach und seine insgesamt sieben Toccaten. Alle entstanden in Bachs Weimarer Jahren und machen ihn als einen Komponisten erlebbar, der zwar gedankenschwer-barocken Kontrapunkt erkennen lässt, diesen jedoch durch improvisatorische, virtuose Läufe und verträumte Langsamkeit kontrastiert.

Claire Huangci, die schon jetzt mit nur 31 Jahren eine beeindruckende Diskografie vorweisen kann, fühlt sich in den unterschiedlichsten Epochen zuhause. Ihre musikalische Vielseitigkeit findet insbesondere bei diesem Programm die perfekte Anwendung, sei es im feinsinnig ziselierten langsamen Mittelsatz der D-Dur-Toccata, dem fulminant virtuosen Beginn der Toccata in g-Moll oder der romantisierend ausschweifenden Busoni-Transkription von BWV 565. Schon seit Jahren macht die amerikanische Pianistin, die seit kurzem Frankfurt am Main ihr Zuhause nennt, auf sich aufmerksam. Als erste Preisträgerin und Mozart-Preisträgerin beim Concours Géza Anda 2018 führt es sie in die großen Hallen beinahe jedes Kontinents. Zum Saisonstart 2020/21 beeindruckte sie durch ihre packende Interpretation der Liszt‘schen Transkription von Beethovens 6. Sinfonie, die sie anlässlich des Beethovenjahres vielerorts aufführte, unter anderem für das Rheingau Musik Festival in dessen Zusammenarbeit mit der Streamingplattform MagentaMusik 360 sowie beim Klavier-Festival Ruhr. Ein Highlight im Herbst 2020 war ihre Rezitaltournee durch die Großen Säle des Wiener Konzerthauses, der Berliner Philharmonie sowie der Elbphilharmonie Hamburg.

Bach: Toccatas Claire Huangci

Künstler

Komponisten

Johann Sebastian Bach

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Klassik

Erscheinungsdatum:

10.09.2021



Wenn Claire Huangci über die Toccaten ins Schwärmen gerät, spricht sie über die unbekanntere Seite an Johann Sebastian Bach: den „eher skurrilen, fantasierenden und humorvollen Bach“, dessen Toccaten helle Farbtupfer in ihrem letzten Jahr waren. „Manchmal schwankte mein Körper beim Spielen fast wie bei einem Tanzen und die Musik nahm mein ganzes Wesen ein“ – und sie lernte viel über Berührung, um pianistisch zu sprechen: über den Anschlag.

Das italienische „toccare“ – „schlagen, berühren, betasten“ vermittelt schon in seiner ursprünglichen Wortherkunft die gesamte Bandbreite an pianistischen Herausforderungen, die Bach auch in der Zusammenstellung seiner sieben Toccaten versteckt. Claire Huangcis Auseinandersetzung mit den Werken geht dabei über die Studioaufnahme hinaus: Für den renommierten G. Henle Verlag editierte sie den Fingersatz, der interessierten Laien und Profis einen ungewohnt persönlichen Einblick in ihr Musizieren gibt. Sowohl die Fingersätze in der Henle Library App als auch die Studioaufnahme bei Berlin Classics erscheinen am 10. September.

Zuletzt unternahm die Pianistin Claire Huangci einen ersten diskografischen Ausflug in die kammermusikalische Welt von Ernest Chausson und Maurice Ravel. Nun schließt sie, auch durch die Wahl eines Yamaha CFX, mit ihrem neuen Album nun eine musikalische Klammer fast bis zum Beginn ihrer professionellen Karriere, zu ihrem hochgelobten Scarlatti-Album. Aufgenommen im traditionsreichen Sendesaal Bremen zeigt sie erneut, wie nah ihr auch das barocke Repertoire ist. Das Album beginnt mit der bekanntesten Toccata der Musikgeschichte, die man auf einer Solo-Klavier-Einspielung dennoch nicht erwarten würde. Busonis Transkription der weltberühmten Bach’schen d-Moll-Toccata, die in romantisierender Weise den gewaltigen Barock-Klang der Orgel auf die Klaviatur bannt, dient gleichsam als fesselnder Auftakt, reinigt die Tasten und macht gespannt auf den originalen Bach und seine insgesamt sieben Toccaten. Alle entstanden in Bachs Weimarer Jahren und machen ihn als einen Komponisten erlebbar, der zwar gedankenschwer-barocken Kontrapunkt erkennen lässt, diesen jedoch durch improvisatorische, virtuose Läufe und verträumte Langsamkeit kontrastiert.

Claire Huangci, die schon jetzt mit nur 31 Jahren eine beeindruckende Diskografie vorweisen kann, fühlt sich in den unterschiedlichsten Epochen zuhause. Ihre musikalische Vielseitigkeit findet insbesondere bei diesem Programm die perfekte Anwendung, sei es im feinsinnig ziselierten langsamen Mittelsatz der D-Dur-Toccata, dem fulminant virtuosen Beginn der Toccata in g-Moll oder der romantisierend ausschweifenden Busoni-Transkription von BWV 565. Schon seit Jahren macht die amerikanische Pianistin, die seit kurzem Frankfurt am Main ihr Zuhause nennt, auf sich aufmerksam. Als erste Preisträgerin und Mozart-Preisträgerin beim Concours Géza Anda 2018 führt es sie in die großen Hallen beinahe jedes Kontinents. Zum Saisonstart 2020/21 beeindruckte sie durch ihre packende Interpretation der Liszt‘schen Transkription von Beethovens 6. Sinfonie, die sie anlässlich des Beethovenjahres vielerorts aufführte, unter anderem für das Rheingau Musik Festival in dessen Zusammenarbeit mit der Streamingplattform MagentaMusik 360 sowie beim Klavier-Festival Ruhr. Ein Highlight im Herbst 2020 war ihre Rezitaltournee durch die Großen Säle des Wiener Konzerthauses, der Berliner Philharmonie sowie der Elbphilharmonie Hamburg.

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

Bach: Toccatas
Claire Huangci
1 Toccata and Fugue in D Minor, BWV 565: Toccata (Arr. by Busoni)
2 Toccata and Fugue in D Minor, BWV 565: Fugue (Arr. by Busoni)
3 Toccata in G Minor, BWV 915: Introduction - Adagio
4 Toccata in G Minor, BWV 915: Allegro
5 Toccata in G Minor, BWV 915: Adagio
6 Toccata in G Minor, BWV 915: Fuga
7 Toccata in E Minor, BWV 914: Introduction - Un poco allegro
8 Toccata in E Minor, BWV 914: Adagio
9 Toccata in E Minor, BWV 914: Fuga. Allegro
10 Toccata in C Minor, BWV 911: Introduction - Adagio
11 Toccata in C Minor, BWV 911: Fuga. (Allegro)
12 Toccata in G Major, BWV 916: Introduction
13 Toccata in G Major, BWV 916: Adagio
14 Toccata in G Major, BWV 916: Fuga. Allegro e presto
15 Toccata in D Minor, BWV 913: Introduction - Presto
16 Toccata in D Minor, BWV 913: Thema - Presto
17 Toccata in D Minor, BWV 913: Allegro
18 Toccata in F-Sharp Minor, BWV 910: Introduction
19 Toccata in F-Sharp Minor, BWV 910: (Adagio)
20 Toccata in F-Sharp Minor, BWV 910: Presto e staccato
21 Toccata in D Major, BWV 912: Introduction
22 Toccata in D Major, BWV 912: Allegro
23 Toccata in D Major, BWV 912: Adagio
24 Toccata in D Major, BWV 912: Presto - Fuga

Weitere Videos von Claire Huangci

zurück
weiter
Claire Huangci - Bach: Toccata in D Major, BWV 912: Presto - Fuga (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Claire Huangci - Bach: Toccata in G Major, BWV 916: Introduction (Official Music Video)
Claire Huangci - Bach: Toccatas | Official Album Trailer
Claire Huangci - Bach: Toccatas (Full Album Stream)
Claire Huangci - Paderewski & Chopin (Official Album Trailer)
Claire Huangci - Rachmaninov: 13 Preludes, Opus 32, no. 6
Claire Huangci - Rachmaninov: Morceaux de Fantaisie
Claire Huangci - Rachmaninov: The Preludes (Trailer)
Claire Huangci - A Chopin Diary - Étude in C-Sharp Minor (feat. Tristan Cornut)
Claire Huangci - A Chopin Diary - Nocturne No. 5 in F-Sharp Major
Claire Huangci - A Chopin Diary - Nocturne No. 13 in C Minor
Claire Huangci - The Chopin Diary (Album Trailer)
Claire Huangci - A Chopin Diary - Nocturne No.1 (Teaser)
Claire Huangci - A Chopin Diary - Nocturne No.2 (Teaser)

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}