Tales of rabble-rousing heroes, iconoclastic poltergeists, living legends – in 2021, Eckart Runge and Jacques Ammon celebrate their quarter-century as a duo and the release of their debut album by Berlin Classics. “Revolutionary Icons” is a bold, border-breaching album concept full of energy-packed music by Classical crossover craftsman Ludwig van Beethoven coupled with rock-pop-jazz icons – and at the same time, testimony to teamwork by two inquisitive and insatiable music explorers.

The track listing reads as if you were twiddling the knobs of the car radio and hopping back and forth between a classical station and rock radio. The duo launch their expedition with consummate master Beethoven and his Cello Sonata no. 4, op. 102/1. “At first hearing impossible to understand,” wrote a puzzled contemporary after the 1815 premiere. The work is revolutionary in its formal layout, strict on counterpoint. After decades of engaging with Beethoven (in part as a member of the world-famous Artemis Quartet, of which he was the co-founder) Eckart Runge here sets out together with Jacques Ammon in search of bridges to recent music history and finds what he is looking for in familiar names such as Amy Winehouse on her big hit “Back to Black”, “Purple Haze” by Jimi Hendrix, David Bowie’s “Warszawa”, the “Bebop Tango” from Frank Zappa and finally “Don’t You Worry ’Bout A Thing” by Stevie Wonder. All these counterparts are united by their commanding position within their genre, their readiness to break down barriers and indeed their legendary status and influence upon following generations of male and female musicians.

The settings of the songs for the combination of cello and piano were made in collaboration with the well known composer and arranger Wolf Kerschek. The prime consideration was to go beyond mere transposition of the works and to shed new light on them by exploiting the sonic potential of the instruments and the artistic capabilities of the two musicians. That applies no less to the works that forge links to the 19th century between the hits of the 20th: Beethoven’s previously discussed Sonata no. 4 for cello and piano and the arrangements of his song “Adelaide”, the third movement of his Piano Sonata op. 110 and the Cavatina from his String Quartet op. 130.

The duo of Runge & Ammon arose from a shared passion for chamber-musical incursions into the territory of jazz, tango, rock music, and music for theatre and film. Along with their concept-guided programme planning and their intense emotional involvement, the two are known for their informative and entertaining moderation, delighting audiences and making ambitious topics accessible. Duo Runge & Ammon sees its artistic credo realized inter alia in social commitment. The two musicians give regular benefit concerts and get directly involved in such organizations as Jeunesses Musicales Deutschland, Yehudi Menuhin – Live Music Now, youth orchestra projects in South America and Mit-Mach-Musik (“all-join-in” music), a Berlin integration project for refugee children.

Revolutionary Icons Eckart Runge & Jacques Ammon

Artist

Eckart Runge
Jacques Ammon

Composer

Amy Winehouse

Brian Eno

David Bowie

Frank Zappa

Jimi Hendrix

Further information

Genre

Klassik Crossover / Populärklassik

Publication date:

13.08.2021



Tales of rabble-rousing heroes, iconoclastic poltergeists, living legends – in 2021, Eckart Runge and Jacques Ammon celebrate their quarter-century as a duo and the release of their debut album by Berlin Classics. “Revolutionary Icons” is a bold, border-breaching album concept full of energy-packed music by Classical crossover craftsman Ludwig van Beethoven coupled with rock-pop-jazz icons – and at the same time, testimony to teamwork by two inquisitive and insatiable music explorers.

The track listing reads as if you were twiddling the knobs of the car radio and hopping back and forth between a classical station and rock radio. The duo launch their expedition with consummate master Beethoven and his Cello Sonata no. 4, op. 102/1. “At first hearing impossible to understand,” wrote a puzzled contemporary after the 1815 premiere. The work is revolutionary in its formal layout, strict on counterpoint. After decades of engaging with Beethoven (in part as a member of the world-famous Artemis Quartet, of which he was the co-founder) Eckart Runge here sets out together with Jacques Ammon in search of bridges to recent music history and finds what he is looking for in familiar names such as Amy Winehouse on her big hit “Back to Black”, “Purple Haze” by Jimi Hendrix, David Bowie’s “Warszawa”, the “Bebop Tango” from Frank Zappa and finally “Don’t You Worry ’Bout A Thing” by Stevie Wonder. All these counterparts are united by their commanding position within their genre, their readiness to break down barriers and indeed their legendary status and influence upon following generations of male and female musicians.

The settings of the songs for the combination of cello and piano were made in collaboration with the well known composer and arranger Wolf Kerschek. The prime consideration was to go beyond mere transposition of the works and to shed new light on them by exploiting the sonic potential of the instruments and the artistic capabilities of the two musicians. That applies no less to the works that forge links to the 19th century between the hits of the 20th: Beethoven’s previously discussed Sonata no. 4 for cello and piano and the arrangements of his song “Adelaide”, the third movement of his Piano Sonata op. 110 and the Cavatina from his String Quartet op. 130.

The duo of Runge & Ammon arose from a shared passion for chamber-musical incursions into the territory of jazz, tango, rock music, and music for theatre and film. Along with their concept-guided programme planning and their intense emotional involvement, the two are known for their informative and entertaining moderation, delighting audiences and making ambitious topics accessible. Duo Runge & Ammon sees its artistic credo realized inter alia in social commitment. The two musicians give regular benefit concerts and get directly involved in such organizations as Jeunesses Musicales Deutschland, Yehudi Menuhin – Live Music Now, youth orchestra projects in South America and Mit-Mach-Musik (“all-join-in” music), a Berlin integration project for refugee children.

More videos from Berlin Classics

previous
next
The Zurich Chamber Singers & Christian Erny - Bruckner: Palestrina - Jesu, rex admirabilis
Matthias Höfs & The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen: Oskar Böhme - Entsagung, Op. 19
Matthias Kirschnereit - Piano Concerto in D Major, Hob.XVIII:11: III. Rondo all'Ungarese | #Haydn
Tassilo Probst & Maxim Lando: Bartók - Sonata for violin & piano in E Minor, III. Vivace
Tassilo Probst & Maxim Lando - Achron: Sonata for violin and piano, no. 2,  Op. 45 #berlinclassics
The Zurich Chamber Singers & Christian Erny - Anton Bruckner: Os justi, WAB 30 | #berlinclassics
Berlin Classics - Channel Trailer | Classical Music
Muffat | Armonico Tributo: Sonata II: I. Grave & II. Allegro | Concerto Copenhagen (Music Video)
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Ravel - Pièce en forme de Habanera (for Trumpet & Harp)
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Ibert - Entr'acte (For Trumpet and Harp) #Ukraine #Spenden
Eckart Runge & Jacques Ammon - Miles Davis: Blue in Green (arr. for cello & piano) #BerlinClassics
Sebastian Manz & Herbert Schuch - Gade - Fantasy Pieces, Op. 43: No. 2, Allegro vivace
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Debussy - The Girl with the Flaxen Hair #Ukraine #Spenden
Spark & Valer Sabadus - Seemann (Rammstein Cover) #BerlinClassics
Sophie Dervaux & Mozarteumorchester Salzburg - Vanhal: Concerto in C Major

Other publications by Eckart Runge & Jacques Ammon

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com

Von aufrührerischen Helden, umstürzlerischen Unruhegeistern und lebendiger Legendenbildung – Eckart Runge und Jacques Ammon feiern 2021 ihr 25-jähriges Duo-Jubiläum und die Veröffentlichung ihres Debüt-Albums bei Berlin Classics. „Revolutionary Icons“ ist auf der einen Seite ein mutiges, genreübergreifendes Albumkonzept voller energiegeladener Musik des klassischen Grenzgängers Beethoven gepaart mit den Ikonen aus Rock-Pop-Jazz. Gleichzeitig ist es Zeugnis der Zusammenarbeit zweier neugieriger und nimmersatter Musik-Entdecker.

Das Tracklisting liest sich, als wenn man mit dem Frequenzregler am Autoradio zwischen Klassiksender und Rock-Radio hin- und herspringt. Ausgangspunkt der Betrachtung des Duos ist der Meister Beethoven und dessen Cello-Sonate Nr. 4, op. 102/1. „Beim ersten Hören ohnmöglich (sic!) [zu] verstehen“, schrieb ein Zeitgenosse 1815 nach der Uraufführung. Das Werk ist revolutionär in der formalen Anlage, dabei streng im Kontrapunkt. Nach Jahrzehnten der Auseinandersetzung mit Beethoven (so zum Beispiel als Mitglied des weltberühmten Artemis Quartett, dessen Mitbegründer er war) sucht Eckart Runge nun gemeinsam mit Jacques Ammon nach Brücken in die jüngere Musikgeschichte und wird fündig bei bekannten Namen wie Amy Winehouse, mit ihrem wohl erfolgreichsten Hit „Back to Black“, „Purple Haze“ von Jimi Hendrix, David Bowies „Warszawa“, dem „Bebop Tango“ von Frank Zappa und schlussendlich „Don’t You Worry ’bout a Thing“ von Stevie Wonder. All diesen Counterparts eint ihre herausragende Stellung innerhalb ihres Genres, ihr Mut zur Grenzüberschreitung und nicht zuletzt ihr legendärer Status und ihr Einfluss auf nachfolgende Generationen von Musikerinnen und Musikern.

Die Bearbeitungen der Songs für die Kombination Cello und Klavier entstand in Zusammenarbeit mit dem bekannten Komponisten und Arrangeur Wolf Kerschek. Die Werke nicht nur umzusetzen, sondern durch die klanglichen Möglichkeiten der Instrumente und die künstlerischen Fähigkeiten der beiden Musiker einen neuen Blick auf sie zu werfen, war Maßgabe der Annäherung. Das gilt ebenso für die Beethoven’schen Werke, die zwischen den Hits des 20. Jahrhunderts den Bezug zum 19. Jahrhundert herstellen. Neben der bereits angesprochenen 4. Sonate für Violoncello und Klavier folgen die Arrangements des Lieds „Adelaide“, des dritten Satzes von Beethovens Klaviersonate op. 110 und der Cavatina aus seinem Streichquartett op. 130.

Das Duo Runge & Ammon entstand aus einer gemeinsamen Leidenschaft für kammermusikalische Grenzgänge um Jazz, Tango, Rock-, Theater- und Filmmusik. Neben der konzeptionellen Programmgestaltung und der großen Emotionalität ist das Duo für seine informativ unterhaltsame Moderation bekannt, mit der das Publikum begeistert und an anspruchsvolle Themen herangeführt wird. Sein künstlerisches Selbstverständnis sieht das Duo Runge & Ammon auch im gesellschaftlichen Engagement. So unterstützt es durch regelmäßige Benefizkonzerte sowie mit direktem Engagement Organisationen wie Jeunesses Musicales Deutschland, Yehudi Menuhin – Live Music Now, Jugendorchesterprojekte in Südamerika sowie Mit-Mach-Musik, ein Berliner Integrationsprojekt für Flüchtlingskinder.

Revolutionary Icons Eckart Runge & Jacques Ammon

Komponisten

Amy Winehouse

Brian Eno

David Bowie

Frank Zappa

Jimi Hendrix

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Klassik Crossover / Populärklassik

Erscheinungsdatum:

13.08.2021



Von aufrührerischen Helden, umstürzlerischen Unruhegeistern und lebendiger Legendenbildung – Eckart Runge und Jacques Ammon feiern 2021 ihr 25-jähriges Duo-Jubiläum und die Veröffentlichung ihres Debüt-Albums bei Berlin Classics. „Revolutionary Icons“ ist auf der einen Seite ein mutiges, genreübergreifendes Albumkonzept voller energiegeladener Musik des klassischen Grenzgängers Beethoven gepaart mit den Ikonen aus Rock-Pop-Jazz. Gleichzeitig ist es Zeugnis der Zusammenarbeit zweier neugieriger und nimmersatter Musik-Entdecker.

Das Tracklisting liest sich, als wenn man mit dem Frequenzregler am Autoradio zwischen Klassiksender und Rock-Radio hin- und herspringt. Ausgangspunkt der Betrachtung des Duos ist der Meister Beethoven und dessen Cello-Sonate Nr. 4, op. 102/1. „Beim ersten Hören ohnmöglich (sic!) [zu] verstehen“, schrieb ein Zeitgenosse 1815 nach der Uraufführung. Das Werk ist revolutionär in der formalen Anlage, dabei streng im Kontrapunkt. Nach Jahrzehnten der Auseinandersetzung mit Beethoven (so zum Beispiel als Mitglied des weltberühmten Artemis Quartett, dessen Mitbegründer er war) sucht Eckart Runge nun gemeinsam mit Jacques Ammon nach Brücken in die jüngere Musikgeschichte und wird fündig bei bekannten Namen wie Amy Winehouse, mit ihrem wohl erfolgreichsten Hit „Back to Black“, „Purple Haze“ von Jimi Hendrix, David Bowies „Warszawa“, dem „Bebop Tango“ von Frank Zappa und schlussendlich „Don’t You Worry 'bout a Thing“ von Stevie Wonder. All diesen Counterparts eint ihre herausragende Stellung innerhalb ihres Genres, ihr Mut zur Grenzüberschreitung und nicht zuletzt ihr legendärer Status und ihr Einfluss auf nachfolgende Generationen von Musikerinnen und Musikern.

Die Bearbeitungen der Songs für die Kombination Cello und Klavier entstand in Zusammenarbeit mit dem bekannten Komponisten und Arrangeur Wolf Kerschek. Die Werke nicht nur umzusetzen, sondern durch die klanglichen Möglichkeiten der Instrumente und die künstlerischen Fähigkeiten der beiden Musiker einen neuen Blick auf sie zu werfen, war Maßgabe der Annäherung. Das gilt ebenso für die Beethoven’schen Werke, die zwischen den Hits des 20. Jahrhunderts den Bezug zum 19. Jahrhundert herstellen. Neben der bereits angesprochenen 4. Sonate für Violoncello und Klavier folgen die Arrangements des Lieds „Adelaide“, des dritten Satzes von Beethovens Klaviersonate op. 110 und der Cavatina aus seinem Streichquartett op. 130.

Das Duo Runge & Ammon entstand aus einer gemeinsamen Leidenschaft für kammermusikalische Grenzgänge um Jazz, Tango, Rock-, Theater- und Filmmusik. Neben der konzeptionellen Programmgestaltung und der großen Emotionalität ist das Duo für seine informativ unterhaltsame Moderation bekannt, mit der das Publikum begeistert und an anspruchsvolle Themen herangeführt wird. Sein künstlerisches Selbstverständnis sieht das Duo Runge & Ammon auch im gesellschaftlichen Engagement. So unterstützt es durch regelmäßige Benefizkonzerte sowie mit direktem Engagement Organisationen wie Jeunesses Musicales Deutschland, Yehudi Menuhin - Live Music Now, Jugendorchesterprojekte in Südamerika sowie Mit-Mach-Musik, ein Berliner Integrationsprojekt für Flüchtlingskinder.

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

Revolutionary Icons
Eckart Runge & Jacques Ammon
1 Cello Sonata No. 4, Op. 102/1: I. Andante - Allegro vivace
2 Cello Sonata No. 4, Op. 102/1: II. Adagio - Allegro vivace
3 Back to Black (Arr. for Cello and Piano)
4 Adelaide (From Lieder, Op. 46) [Arr. for Cello and Piano]
5 Purple Haze (Arr. for Cello and Piano)
6 Adagio ma non troppo et Fugue (From Piano Sonata, Op. 110) [Arr. for Cello and Piano]
7 Warszawa (Arr. for Cello and Piano)
8 Cavatina (From String Quartet, Op. 130) [Arr. for Cello and Piano]
9 Bebop Tango (Arr. for Cello and Piano)
10 Don't You Worry 'Bout a Thing (Arr. for Cello and Piano)

Weitere Videos von Eckart Runge & Jacques Ammon

zurück
weiter
Back to Black - Amy Winehouse for Cello & Piano - Eckart Runge, Jacques Ammon (Official Music Video)
Beethoven - Adelaide (for Cello & Piano) | Eckart Runge & Jacques Ammon (Official Music Video)
Revolutionary Icons - Duo Runge & Ammon (Official Trailer) | Beethoven meets Bowie, Zappa, Hendrix
Don't You Worry 'Bout a Thing (Arr. for Cello and Piano)
Eckart Runge, Jacques Ammon - Bach: Allegro (From Gamba Sonata G Minor, BWV 1029) #BerlinClassics
Eckart Runge & Jacques Ammon - Miles Davis: Blue in Green (arr. for cello & piano) #BerlinClassics

Weitere Veröffentlichungen von Eckart Runge & Jacques Ammon

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}