Interest in the Schumann Quartet ignited long before the release of the ensemble’s last album Landscapes. The combination of Liisa Randalu, Erik, Ken and Mark Schumann represents youthful vigour combined with intelligent circumspection and vision. With the release of Intermezzo they forge a link to their previous album by presenting an equally charming and sensitive choice of repertoire linked to their namesake, Robert Schumann:

Schumann plays Schumann

Their point of departure and focus is his String Quartet no. 1 in A minor. Robert Schumann always had difficulty with this particular genre, and in 1842 he brought his “attempts at writing quartets” to an end in a headlong burst of creativity that produced his opus 41, comprising three quartets. The Schumann Quartet musicians concentrate unconditionally on the vocal part-writing, and rather than merely overcoming the technical challenges choose to simply ignore them.

The music of Felix Mendelssohn is suffused with what Schumann envied as “ease” or “facility”. The String Quartet no. 1 in E flat major was written in the late summer of 1829, when the younger composer was not yet 20. The correlations, corresponding references and tributes are all in evidence – Mendelssohn’s string quartet is the perfect match for Schumann’s equivalent work. There is a kind of cross-fertilization between the attention to detail and fresh approach taken by the Schumann Quartet and the modernity of the almost youthful Mendelssohn; the result is encapsulated in the unrestrained joy of music-making in the fourth movement. Schumann and Mendelssohn provide the framework into which Aribert Reimann then sets “his” Schumann.

Reimann is one of today’s most successful composers and is linked to the composer of the Romantic era born in Zwickau, Saxony, by more than music. He is in fact a direct descendant of the physician who treated Schumann at the psychiatric hospital in Endenich and has therefore had access to the patient file detailing the precarious balance of Schumann’s emotional state. His attitude to Schumann is therefore a reflection of those impressions. The Adagio zum Gedenken an Robert Schumann (adagio to the memory of Robert Schumann) based on two unfinished chorales without words was composed as a result of intensive and personal cooperation between the quartet and Reimann.

In Reimann’s arrangement of the 6 Gesänge op. 109, the ensemble succeeds, in harmony with the soprano Anna Lucia Richter, in fulfilling Schumann’s wish for an “additional, fully-formed accompanying instrument”. Reimann’s skill in handling the original brings out the fine features and nuances of the lyrics. The quartet and singer complement each other so effortlessly that the unusual combination sounds like a quintet that has been working together for many years.

Intermezzo Schumann Quartett & Anna Lucia Richter

Composer

Aribert Reimann

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy

Robert Schumann

Further information

Genre

Klassik

Publication date:

18.05.2018



Interest in the Schumann Quartet ignited long before the release of the ensemble’s last album Landscapes. The combination of Liisa Randalu, Erik, Ken and Mark Schumann represents youthful vigour combined with intelligent circumspection and vision. With the release of Intermezzo they forge a link to their previous album by presenting an equally charming and sensitive choice of repertoire linked to their namesake, Robert Schumann:



Schumann plays Schumann

Their point of departure and focus is his String Quartet no. 1 in A minor. Robert Schumann always had difficulty with this particular genre, and in 1842 he brought his “attempts at writing quartets” to an end in a headlong burst of creativity that produced his opus 41, comprising three quartets. The Schumann Quartet musicians concentrate unconditionally on the vocal part-writing, and rather than merely overcoming the technical challenges choose to simply ignore them.



The music of Felix Mendelssohn is suffused with what Schumann envied as “ease” or “facility”. The String Quartet no. 1 in E flat major was written in the late summer of 1829, when the younger composer was not yet 20. The correlations, corresponding references and tributes are all in evidence – Mendelssohn’s string quartet is the perfect match for Schumann’s equivalent work. There is a kind of cross-fertilization between the attention to detail and fresh approach taken by the Schumann Quartet and the modernity of the almost youthful Mendelssohn; the result is encapsulated in the unrestrained joy of music-making in the fourth movement. Schumann and Mendelssohn provide the framework into which Aribert Reimann then sets “his” Schumann.



Reimann is one of today’s most successful composers and is linked to the composer of the Romantic era born in Zwickau, Saxony, by more than music. He is in fact a direct descendant of the physician who treated Schumann at the psychiatric hospital in Endenich and has therefore had access to the patient file detailing the precarious balance of Schumann’s emotional state. His attitude to Schumann is therefore a reflection of those impressions. The Adagio zum Gedenken an Robert Schumann (adagio to the memory of Robert Schumann) based on two unfinished chorales without words was composed as a result of intensive and personal cooperation between the quartet and Reimann.



In Reimann’s arrangement of the 6 Gesänge op. 109, the ensemble succeeds, in harmony with the soprano Anna Lucia Richter, in fulfilling Schumann’s wish for an “additional, fully-formed accompanying instrument”. Reimann’s skill in handling the original brings out the fine features and nuances of the lyrics. The quartet and singer complement each other so effortlessly that the unusual combination sounds like a quintet that has been working together for many years.

Tracklist - These are the tracks you will hear on the album

Intermezzo
Schumann Quartett & Anna Lucia Richter
1 String Quartet in A Minor, Op. 41 No. 1: I. Introduzione. Andante espressivo - Allegro
2 String Quartet in A Minor, Op. 41 No. 1: II. Scherzo. Presto
3 String Quartet in A Minor, Op. 41 No. 1: III. Adagio
4 String Quartet in A Minor, Op. 41 No. 1: IV. Presto
5 Adagio zum Gedenken an Robert Schumann
6 6 Songs, Op. 107: I. Herzeleid
7 6 Songs, Op. 107: II. Die Fensterscheibe
8 6 Songs, Op. 107: III. Der Gärtner
9 6 Songs, Op. 107: IV. Die Spinnerin
10 6 Songs, Op. 107: V. Im Wald
11 6 Songs, Op. 107: VI. Abendlied
12 String Quartet in E-Flat Major, Op. 12: I. Adagion non troppo - Allegro
13 String Quartet in E-Flat Major, Op. 12: II. Canzonetta. Allegro - più mosso
14 String Quartet in E-Flat Major, Op. 12: III. Andante espressivo
15 String Quartet in E-Flat Major, Op. 12: IV. Molto allegro e vivace

More videos from Berlin Classics

previous
next
The Zurich Chamber Singers & Christian Erny - Bruckner: Palestrina - Jesu, rex admirabilis
Matthias Höfs & The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen: Oskar Böhme - Entsagung, Op. 19
Matthias Kirschnereit - Piano Concerto in D Major, Hob.XVIII:11: III. Rondo all'Ungarese | #Haydn
Tassilo Probst & Maxim Lando: Bartók - Sonata for violin & piano in E Minor, III. Vivace
Tassilo Probst & Maxim Lando - Achron: Sonata for violin and piano, no. 2,  Op. 45 #berlinclassics
The Zurich Chamber Singers & Christian Erny - Anton Bruckner: Os justi, WAB 30 | #berlinclassics
Berlin Classics - Channel Trailer | Classical Music
Muffat | Armonico Tributo: Sonata II: I. Grave & II. Allegro | Concerto Copenhagen (Music Video)
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Ravel - Pièce en forme de Habanera (for Trumpet & Harp)
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Ibert - Entr'acte (For Trumpet and Harp) #Ukraine #Spenden
Eckart Runge & Jacques Ammon - Miles Davis: Blue in Green (arr. for cello & piano) #BerlinClassics
Sebastian Manz & Herbert Schuch - Gade - Fantasy Pieces, Op. 43: No. 2, Allegro vivace
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Debussy - The Girl with the Flaxen Hair #Ukraine #Spenden
Spark & Valer Sabadus - Seemann (Rammstein Cover) #BerlinClassics
Sophie Dervaux & Mozarteumorchester Salzburg - Vanhal: Concerto in C Major

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com

Nicht erst seit dem letzten Album Landscapes steht das Schumann Quartett im wachsenden Interesse der Quartett-Szene. Liisa Randalu, Erik, Ken und Mark Schumann stehen als Quartett für jugendliche Frische gepaart mit intelligenter Um- und Weitsicht. Mit Intermezzo knüpfen sie an das Vorgängeralbum an, indem sie ebenso reizvoll und feinfühlig ein Repertoire zusammenstellen, das sich nun um ihren Namensvetter Robert Schumann dreht:

Schumann spielt Schumann.

Ausgangs- und Bezugspunkt ist das Streichquartett Nr. 1 in a-Moll. Schumann, der sich mit dieser Gattung immer schwertat, vollendet 1842 fast rauschartig alle seine „Quartettversuche“ zu insgesamt drei Streichquartetten im Opus 41. Das Schumann Quartett gibt sich bedingungslos der vokalen Stimmführung hin, vergisst die technischen Schwierigkeiten, anstatt sie nur zu überwinden.

Das, was Schumann als „Leichtigkeit“ beneidete, durchzieht das komplette Schaffen von Mendelssohn Bartholdy. Sein Streichquartett Nr. 1 in Es-Dur entstand im Spätsommer 1829 als der Komponist noch keine 20 Jahre alt war. Man spürt die Zusammenhänge, gegenseitigen Bezüge und Hommagen – Mendelssohns Streichquartett ist der perfekte Begleiter für Schumanns Pendant. Die detailverliebte, frische Herangehensweise des Schumann Quartetts und die Modernität des fast noch jugendlichen Mendelssohn Bartholdys befruchten sich gegenseitig und gipfeln in der ungebändigten Spielfreude des vierten Satzes. Schumann und Mendelssohn Bartholdy bilden den Rahmen, in den Aribert Reimann „seinen“ Schumann setzt.

Reimann ist einer der arriviertesten zeitgenössischen Komponisten und steht nicht nur musikalisch in der Nachfolge des im sächsischen Zwickau geborenen Romantikers. Er ist direkter Nachfahre des Arztes, der Schumann in der Nervenheilanstalt Endenich behandelte. Als solcher erhielt er einen Einblick in die Krankenakte und somit die schwere psychische Situation Schumanns. Seine Auseinandersetzung mit Schumann steht im Zeichen dieses Eindrucks. Das Adagio zum Gedenken an Robert Schumann auf der Grundlage zweier unvollendeter, nicht textierter Choräle wurde vom Quartett in intensiver und persönlicher Zusammenarbeit mit Reimann erarbeitet.

Im Zusammenklang mit der Sopranistin Anna Lucia Richter gelingt es dem Quartett in Reimanns Bearbeitung der 6 Gesänge op. 109, dem Wunsch Schumanns nach einem „weiteren ausgebildeten Begleitinstrument“ zu entsprechen. Reimanns Geschick im Umgang mit dem Original lässt die feinen Züge und Nuancen der Textgrundlage hervortreten. Quartett und Gesang ergänzen sich gegenseitig so mühelos, dass die außergewöhnliche Kombination wirkt wie ein seit Jahren gefestigtes Quintett.

Intermezzo

Künstler

Komponisten

Aribert Reimann

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy

Robert Schumann

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Klassik

Erscheinungsdatum:

18.05.2018



Nicht erst seit dem letzten Album Landscapes steht das Schumann Quartett im wachsenden Interesse der Quartett-Szene. Liisa Randalu, Erik, Ken und Mark Schumann stehen als Quartett für jugendliche Frische gepaart mit intelligenter Um- und Weitsicht. Mit Intermezzo knüpfen sie an das Vorgängeralbum an, indem sie ebenso reizvoll und feinfühlig ein Repertoire zusammenstellen, das sich nun um ihren Namensvetter Robert Schumann dreht:



Schumann spielt Schumann.

Ausgangs- und Bezugspunkt ist das Streichquartett Nr. 1 in a-Moll. Schumann, der sich mit dieser Gattung immer schwertat, vollendet 1842 fast rauschartig alle seine „Quartettversuche“ zu insgesamt drei Streichquartetten im Opus 41. Das Schumann Quartett gibt sich bedingungslos der vokalen Stimmführung hin, vergisst die technischen Schwierigkeiten, anstatt sie nur zu überwinden.



Das, was Schumann als „Leichtigkeit“ beneidete, durchzieht das komplette Schaffen von Mendelssohn Bartholdy. Sein Streichquartett Nr. 1 in Es-Dur entstand im Spätsommer 1829 als der Komponist noch keine 20 Jahre alt war. Man spürt die Zusammenhänge, gegenseitigen Bezüge und Hommagen – Mendelssohns Streichquartett ist der perfekte Begleiter für Schumanns Pendant. Die detailverliebte, frische Herangehensweise des Schumann Quartetts und die Modernität des fast noch jugendlichen Mendelssohn Bartholdys befruchten sich gegenseitig und gipfeln in der ungebändigten Spielfreude des vierten Satzes. Schumann und Mendelssohn Bartholdy bilden den Rahmen, in den Aribert Reimann „seinen“ Schumann setzt.



Reimann ist einer der arriviertesten zeitgenössischen Komponisten und steht nicht nur musikalisch in der Nachfolge des im sächsischen Zwickau geborenen Romantikers. Er ist direkter Nachfahre des Arztes, der Schumann in der Nervenheilanstalt Endenich behandelte. Als solcher erhielt er einen Einblick in die Krankenakte und somit die schwere psychische Situation Schumanns. Seine Auseinandersetzung mit Schumann steht im Zeichen dieses Eindrucks. Das Adagio zum Gedenken an Robert Schumann auf der Grundlage zweier unvollendeter, nicht textierter Choräle wurde vom Quartett in intensiver und persönlicher Zusammenarbeit mit Reimann erarbeitet.



Im Zusammenklang mit der Sopranistin Anna Lucia Richter gelingt es dem Quartett in Reimanns Bearbeitung der 6 Gesänge op. 109, dem Wunsch Schumanns nach einem „weiteren ausgebildeten Begleitinstrument“ zu entsprechen. Reimanns Geschick im Umgang mit dem Original lässt die feinen Züge und Nuancen der Textgrundlage hervortreten. Quartett und Gesang ergänzen sich gegenseitig so mühelos, dass die außergewöhnliche Kombination wirkt wie ein seit Jahren gefestigtes Quintett.

Weitere Videos von Berlin Classics

zurück
weiter
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Ibert - Entr'acte (For Trumpet and Harp) #Ukraine #Spenden
Eckart Runge & Jacques Ammon - Miles Davis: Blue in Green (arr. for cello & piano) #BerlinClassics
Sebastian Manz & Herbert Schuch - Gade - Fantasy Pieces, Op. 43: No. 2, Allegro vivace
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Debussy - The Girl with the Flaxen Hair #Ukraine #Spenden
Spark & Valer Sabadus - Seemann (Rammstein Cover) #BerlinClassics
Sophie Dervaux & Mozarteumorchester Salzburg - Vanhal: Concerto in C Major
Luisa Imorde - Couperin: Pièces de clavecin: Le Tic-Toc-Choc ou Les Maillotins
Sebastian Manz & Herbert Schuch - Schumann: Fantasy Piece, Op. 73, No. 1, Zart und mit Ausdruck
Danae Dörken - Odyssee (Official Albumtrailer) #BerlinClassics #DanaeDörken
Sophie Dervaux - Hummel: Grand Concerto in F Major: I. Allegro moderato (Teaser)
Luisa Imorde: François Couperin - Cinquieme Prelude (Offizielles Musikvideo) #BerlinClassics
Danae Dörken: Kinan Azmeh - Waiting for Friday (Offizielles Musikvideo) #BerlinClassics
Eckart Runge, Jacques Ammon - Bach: Allegro (From Gamba Sonata G Minor, BWV 1029) #BerlinClassics
Felix Klieser & Zemlinsky Quartett - Haydn: Horn Concerto No. 1: III. Allegro (Arrangement)

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}