100 years of Astor Piazzolla! To mark the birthday of the Argentinian tango legend, brothers Claudio and Oscar Bohórquez are releasing an album together with Piazzolla’s contemporary and ensemble colleague Gustavo Beytelmann – Piazzolla: Patagonia Express on the Berlin Classics label. The trio sets about playing part of Piazzolla’s legacy alongside repertoire composed by Beytelmann, leading the listener on a journey to the impassioned and mysterious world of the tango.

Boisterous, powerful and unique: Piazzolla’s music is highly versatile, deeply rooted in the tango tradition and yet always driven by curiosity and the search for modernity. His works are complex and demanding, and he reflects more than any other composer of his time the special musical language of that era. It is not possible to categorise his oeuvre as classical or popular music. Jazz and Brazilian music influences blend with folklore from the 1950s and 60s; tango is aligned with Bachian counterpoint, rhythm converges with profusely lyrical passages.

The diversity of Piazzolla’s style comes out on this album too. In addition to his traditional pieces like Le Grand Tango works such as Milonga del ángel and Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas can be heard. It is interesting to note that the “four seasons” were originally not conceived as a suite, but composed at different times and in various contexts. Piazzolla himself never performed them as one entity.

The motive for embarking on this album project was the encounter of Claudio and Oscar Bohórquez with Gustavo Beytelmann. “His rustic Argentinian manner, his musical and personal flights of fancy, plus the experience of having shared the stage with Astor Piazzolla so many times … all of that gave the decisive impetus to record this album,” the brothers explain.

Beytelmann, who went on tour with Piazzolla and who enjoyed a deep and lasting friendship with the composer, has dedicated the pieces Balada and Tango to the brothers in a duo setting. Piazzolla’s musical language comes through here, while Beytelmann’s piano trio arrangement of Duke Ellington’s Caravan is reminiscent of New York, where Piazzolla spent his childhood and youth.

Beytelmann composed his piano trio Ofrenda in 1992, on learning of Piazzolla’s death. It is an act of homage that – like this entire album – is meant to express deep admiration and reverence for this indefatigable and unbridled tango legend.

Piazzolla: Patagonia Express Trio Claudio Bohórquez & Oscar Bohórquez & Gustavo Beytelmann

Artist

Oscar Bohórquez
Gustavo Beytelmann

Composer

Astor Piazzolla

Gustavo Beytelmann

Further information

Genre

Klassik

Publication date:

29.01.2021



100 years of Astor Piazzolla! To mark the birthday of the Argentinian tango legend, brothers Claudio and Oscar Bohórquez are releasing an album together with Piazzolla’s contemporary and ensemble colleague Gustavo Beytelmann – Piazzolla: Patagonia Express on the Berlin Classics label. The trio sets about playing part of Piazzolla’s legacy alongside repertoire composed by Beytelmann, leading the listener on a journey to the impassioned and mysterious world of the tango.



Boisterous, powerful and unique: Piazzolla’s music is highly versatile, deeply rooted in the tango tradition and yet always driven by curiosity and the search for modernity. His works are complex and demanding, and he reflects more than any other composer of his time the special musical language of that era. It is not possible to categorise his oeuvre as classical or popular music. Jazz and Brazilian music influences blend with folklore from the 1950s and 60s; tango is aligned with Bachian counterpoint, rhythm converges with profusely lyrical passages.



The diversity of Piazzolla’s style comes out on this album too. In addition to his traditional pieces like Le Grand Tango works such as Milonga del ángel and Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas can be heard. It is interesting to note that the “four seasons” were originally not conceived as a suite, but composed at different times and in various contexts. Piazzolla himself never performed them as one entity.



The motive for embarking on this album project was the encounter of Claudio and Oscar Bohórquez with Gustavo Beytelmann. “His rustic Argentinian manner, his musical and personal flights of fancy, plus the experience of having shared the stage with Astor Piazzolla so many times … all of that gave the decisive impetus to record this album,” the brothers explain.



Beytelmann, who went on tour with Piazzolla and who enjoyed a deep and lasting friendship with the composer, has dedicated the pieces Balada and Tango to the brothers in a duo setting. Piazzolla’s musical language comes through here, while Beytelmann’s piano trio arrangement of Duke Ellington’s Caravan is reminiscent of New York, where Piazzolla spent his childhood and youth.



Beytelmann composed his piano trio Ofrenda in 1992, on learning of Piazzolla’s death. It is an act of homage that – like this entire album – is meant to express deep admiration and reverence for this indefatigable and unbridled tango legend.

Tracklist - These are the tracks you will hear on the album

Piazzolla: Patagonia Express Trio
Claudio Bohórquez & Oscar Bohórquez & Gustavo Beytelmann
1 Las Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas: Primavera Porteña
2 Las Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas: Verano Porteño
3 Las Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas: Otoño Porteño
4 Las Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas: Invierno Porteño
5 Le Grand Tango
6 Milonga en Re
7 La Muerte del Ángel
8 Ofrenda (Homenaje À Astor Piazzolla)
9 Balada
10 Tango
11 Caravan

More videos from Claudio Bohórquez & Oscar Bohórquez & Gustavo Beytelmann

previous
next
Claudio & Oscar Bohórquez, Gustavo Beytelmann - Piazzolla: Milonga en Re (Patagonia Express)
Claudio & Oscar Bohórquez, Gustavo Beytelmann - Piazzolla: La Muerte del Angel (Patagonia Express)
Claudio Bohórquez & Péter Nagy - Schumann:
Claudio Bohórquez & Péter Nagy - Schumann:
Claudio Bohórquez & Péter Nagy - Brahms - Sonata No. 2 Op. 99: II. Adagio Affetuoso
Claudio Bohórquez & Péter Nagy - Brahms - Hungarian Dance No. 5 in F minor
Claudio Bohórquez/Péter Nagy – Poetica (Trailer)
Claudio Bohórquez & Péter Nagy - Brahms: Opus 38 & 99 (Trailer)

Other publications by Claudio Bohórquez & Oscar Bohórquez & Gustavo Beytelmann

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

100 Jahre Astor Piazzolla! Anlässlich des Geburtstages der argentinischen Tangolegende veröffentlichen die Brüder Claudio und Oscar Bohórquez, gemeinsam mit Piazzollas Zeitzeugen und Ensemble-Kollegen Gustavo Beytelmann, das Album Piazzolla: Patagonia Express bei Berlin Classics. Das Trio nimmt nicht nur Piazzollas musikalisches Erbe in Angriff, sondern auch von Beytelmann komponiertes Repertoire und führt die Zuhörenden so in die leidenschaftliche und geheimnisvolle Welt des Tangos.

Tosend, kraftvoll und einzigartig: Piazzollas Musik ist vielseitig geprägt, tief verwurzelt in der Tangotradition und dennoch stets durch Neugierde und Suche nach Modernität angetrieben. Seine Werke sind komplex und herausfordernd und setzen sich wie keine anderen mit der speziellen musikalischen Sprache seiner Zeit auseinander. Eine klare Einordnung in Klassik oder populäre Musik ist nicht möglich. Einflüsse von Jazz und brasilianischer Musik mischen sich mit Folklore aus den 50er und 60er Jahren; Tango steht neben Bach’schem Kontrapunkt, Rhythmus trifft auf übermäßig lyrische Passagen.

Die Varietät von Piazzollas Stil zeigt sich auch auf diesem Album. Neben seinen traditionellen Stücken wie Le Grand Tango reihen sich Stücke wie Milonga del ángel oder Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas ein. Interessant ist, dass die Jahreszeiten ursprünglich nicht als Suite konzipiert waren, sondern zu unterschiedlichen Zeiten und in verschiedenen Kontexten entstanden. Piazzolla selbst führte sie nie gemeinsam auf.

Anlass zur Verwirklichung dieses Albums fanden Claudio und Oscar Bohórquez dank Gustavo Beytelmann. „Seine urige argentinische Art, seine musikalischen und persönlichen Geistesflüge, das zusammen mit Astor Piazzolla einverleibte Bühnenleben … all dies gab uns den entscheidenden Impuls, dieses Album einzuspielen“, erzählen die Brüder.

Beytelmann, der mit Piazzolla auf Tournee ging und den eine innige Freundschaft mit ihm verband, widmet die Stücke Balada und Tango den Brüdern in Duo-Besetzung. Deutlich zu hören ist die Tonsprache Piazzollas. Auch Beytelmanns Klaviertrio-Arrangement von Duke Ellingtons Caravan erinnert an New York, den Ort von Piazzollas Kindheit und Jugend.

Das Klaviertrio Ofrenda komponierte Beytelmann, als er 1992 von Piazzollas Tod erfuhr. Eine Hommage, die – wie das gesamte Album – tiefe Bewunderung und Verehrung gegenüber der rastlosen und ungezügelten Tangolegende ausdrücken soll.

Piazzolla: Patagonia Express Trio Claudio Bohórquez & Oscar Bohórquez & Gustavo Beytelmann

Künstler

Claudio Bohórquez
Oscar Bohórquez
Gustavo Beytelmann

Komponisten

Astor Piazzolla

Gustavo Beytelmann

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Klassik

Erscheinungsdatum:

29.01.2021



100 Jahre Astor Piazzolla! Anlässlich des Geburtstages der argentinischen Tangolegende veröffentlichen die Brüder Claudio und Oscar Bohórquez, gemeinsam mit Piazzollas Zeitzeugen und Ensemble-Kollegen Gustavo Beytelmann, das Album Piazzolla: Patagonia Express bei Berlin Classics. Das Trio nimmt nicht nur Piazzollas musikalisches Erbe in Angriff, sondern auch von Beytelmann komponiertes Repertoire und führt die Zuhörenden so in die leidenschaftliche und geheimnisvolle Welt des Tangos.

Tosend, kraftvoll und einzigartig: Piazzollas Musik ist vielseitig geprägt, tief verwurzelt in der Tangotradition und dennoch stets durch Neugierde und Suche nach Modernität angetrieben. Seine Werke sind komplex und herausfordernd und setzen sich wie keine anderen mit der speziellen musikalischen Sprache seiner Zeit auseinander. Eine klare Einordnung in Klassik oder populäre Musik ist nicht möglich. Einflüsse von Jazz und brasilianischer Musik mischen sich mit Folklore aus den 50er und 60er Jahren; Tango steht neben Bach’schem Kontrapunkt, Rhythmus trifft auf übermäßig lyrische Passagen.

Die Varietät von Piazzollas Stil zeigt sich auch auf diesem Album. Neben seinen traditionellen Stücken wie Le Grand Tango reihen sich Stücke wie Milonga del ángel oder Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas ein. Interessant ist, dass die Jahreszeiten ursprünglich nicht als Suite konzipiert waren, sondern zu unterschiedlichen Zeiten und in verschiedenen Kontexten entstanden. Piazzolla selbst führte sie nie gemeinsam auf.

Anlass zur Verwirklichung dieses Albums fanden Claudio und Oscar Bohórquez dank Gustavo Beytelmann. „Seine urige argentinische Art, seine musikalischen und persönlichen Geistesflüge, das zusammen mit Astor Piazzolla einverleibte Bühnenleben … all dies gab uns den entscheidenden Impuls, dieses Album einzuspielen“, erzählen die Brüder.



Beytelmann, der mit Piazzolla auf Tournee ging und den eine innige Freundschaft mit ihm verband, widmet die Stücke Balada und Tango den Brüdern in Duo-Besetzung. Deutlich zu hören ist die Tonsprache Piazzollas. Auch Beytelmanns Klaviertrio-Arrangement von Duke Ellingtons Caravan erinnert an New York, den Ort von Piazzollas Kindheit und Jugend.

Das Klaviertrio Ofrenda komponierte Beytelmann, als er 1992 von Piazzollas Tod erfuhr. Eine Hommage, die – wie das gesamte Album – tiefe Bewunderung und Verehrung gegenüber der rastlosen und ungezügelten Tangolegende ausdrücken soll.

Weitere Videos von Berlin Classics

zurück
weiter
The Zurich Chamber Singers & Christian Erny - Bruckner: Palestrina - Jesu, rex admirabilis
Matthias Höfs & The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen: Oskar Böhme - Entsagung, Op. 19
Matthias Kirschnereit - Piano Concerto in D Major, Hob.XVIII:11: III. Rondo all'Ungarese | #Haydn
Tassilo Probst & Maxim Lando: Bartók - Sonata for violin & piano in E Minor, III. Vivace
Tassilo Probst & Maxim Lando - Achron: Sonata for violin and piano, no. 2,  Op. 45 #berlinclassics
The Zurich Chamber Singers & Christian Erny - Anton Bruckner: Os justi, WAB 30 | #berlinclassics
Berlin Classics - Channel Trailer | Classical Music
Muffat | Armonico Tributo: Sonata II: I. Grave & II. Allegro | Concerto Copenhagen (Music Video)
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Ravel - Pièce en forme de Habanera (for Trumpet & Harp)
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Ibert - Entr'acte (For Trumpet and Harp) #Ukraine #Spenden
Eckart Runge & Jacques Ammon - Miles Davis: Blue in Green (arr. for cello & piano) #BerlinClassics
Sebastian Manz & Herbert Schuch - Gade - Fantasy Pieces, Op. 43: No. 2, Allegro vivace
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Debussy - The Girl with the Flaxen Hair #Ukraine #Spenden
Spark & Valer Sabadus - Seemann (Rammstein Cover) #BerlinClassics
Sophie Dervaux & Mozarteumorchester Salzburg - Vanhal: Concerto in C Major

Weitere Veröffentlichungen von Claudio Bohórquez & Oscar Bohórquez & Gustavo Beytelmann

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com