Felix Klieser, on his new album Beyond Words, focuses on the language of music, the stories that it tells – all without any words at all. He places the emphasis on the images that arise before our mind’s eye when listening to the music, on the emotions triggered by the music. For Beyond Words the hornist has chosen various arias by Bach, Vivaldi, Handel and Gluck, each of which describes the various, self-contained musical worlds they encompass in a very individual manner.

For many listeners, the repertoire will probably conjure up memories, since many people will be very familiar with Handel’s Hallelujah Chorus and Ombra mai fù or Bach’s Bereite dich Zion and Wohl mir, dass ich Jesum habe. On this album, they will hear them in a very different form: the choice of Baroque arias and chorales by the master composers Johann Sebastian Bach, Antonio Vivaldi and George Frideric Handel gives the horn the role of the human voice, allowing it to trace the melodic flow and imitate the sound of the voice. Klieser is accompanied by the CHAARTS Chamber Artists ensemble, founded in 2010 in Zurich. The musicians are able, in harmony with Klieser’s soft timbre, to breath new life into the Baroque works with their modern instruments.

What is really important for his album however is not virtuosity, but tonal expression, according to Felix Klieser: “It needs to be easy to put into action. The songfulness and the expressive range of sound should always be at the heart, always be the focus.” Listeners are being told a story that is open to any interpretation at all, and this allows them to immerse themselves in a purely musical world. “They don’t have to know what is happening content-wise, just let themselves be led by the music.”

From the point of view of content, the stories told in the arias could hardly be more different. They tell of praise and worship, of horrible fates and freedom lost; problems that were in existence when the works were composed and that are still relevant to this day. “When we play music that is very old, we are communicating with means of expression that people had long before there were such things as smartphones, or airplanes or cars – and yet the subject of music back then was no different to today. That seems to be something that can still move us today, and I find that fascinating.”

The universal, connecting element attributed to music that still seems up-to-date across the centuries is not down to the language of words. It lies in the language of its sound and the associations, emotions and stories that are being related. “You don’t need years of music training in order to connect with music. As a performer, it’s not important what you’re trying to communicate, but the fact that you succeed in getting your message across,” says Klieser, who is an expert in that language like no other. Through Beyond Words he has created a sphere beyond the language – he speaks through music and melody alone.

Baroque Arias for Horn Felix Klieser & CHAARTS Chamber Artists

Composer

Antonio Vivaldi

Christoph Willibald Gluck

George Frideric Handel

Johann Sebastian Bach

Further information

Genre

Horn

Publication date:

19.02.2021



Felix Klieser, on his new album Beyond Words, focuses on the language of music, the stories that it tells – all without any words at all. He places the emphasis on the images that arise before our mind’s eye when listening to the music, on the emotions triggered by the music. For Beyond Words the hornist has chosen various arias by Bach, Vivaldi, Handel and Gluck, each of which describes the various, self-contained musical worlds they encompass in a very individual manner.



For many listeners, the repertoire will probably conjure up memories, since many people will be very familiar with Handel’s Hallelujah Chorus and Ombra mai fù or Bach’s Bereite dich Zion and Wohl mir, dass ich Jesum habe. On this album, they will hear them in a very different form: the choice of Baroque arias and chorales by the master composers Johann Sebastian Bach, Antonio Vivaldi and George Frideric Handel gives the horn the role of the human voice, allowing it to trace the melodic flow and imitate the sound of the voice. Klieser is accompanied by the CHAARTS Chamber Artists ensemble, founded in 2010 in Zurich. The musicians are able, in harmony with Klieser’s soft timbre, to breath new life into the Baroque works with their modern instruments.



What is really important for his album however is not virtuosity, but tonal expression, according to Felix Klieser: “It needs to be easy to put into action. The songfulness and the expressive range of sound should always be at the heart, always be the focus.” Listeners are being told a story that is open to any interpretation at all, and this allows them to immerse themselves in a purely musical world. “They don’t have to know what is happening content-wise, just let themselves be led by the music.”



From the point of view of content, the stories told in the arias could hardly be more different. They tell of praise and worship, of horrible fates and freedom lost; problems that were in existence when the works were composed and that are still relevant to this day. “When we play music that is very old, we are communicating with means of expression that people had long before there were such things as smartphones, or airplanes or cars – and yet the subject of music back then was no different to today. That seems to be something that can still move us today, and I find that fascinating.”



The universal, connecting element attributed to music that still seems up-to-date across the centuries is not down to the language of words. It lies in the language of its sound and the associations, emotions and stories that are being related. “You don’t need years of music training in order to connect with music. As a performer, it’s not important what you’re trying to communicate, but the fact that you succeed in getting your message across,” says Klieser, who is an expert in that language like no other. Through Beyond Words he has created a sphere beyond the language – he speaks through music and melody alone.

Tracklist - These are the tracks you will hear on the album

Baroque Arias for Horn
Felix Klieser & CHAARTS Chamber Artists
1 Gloria in excelsis deo, RV 589 (Arr. for French Horn)
2 Vergnügte Ruh, beliebte Seelenlust, BWV 170 (Arr. for French Horn)
3 Rinaldo, HWV 7a, Act II, Scene 4: Lascia ch'io pianga (Arr. for French Horn)
4 Nisi Dominus, RV 608: Cum dederit (Arr. for French Horn)
5 Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben, BWV 147: VI. Wohl mir, dass ich Jesum habe (Arr. for French Horn)
6 Filiae maestae Jerusalem, RV 638: II. Sileant zephyri (Arr. for French Horn)
7 Nulla in mundo pax sincera, RV 63 (Arr. for French Horn)
8 Messiah, HWV 56: No. 44, Hallelujah (Arr. for French Horn)
9 Matthew Passion, BWV 244: No. 47, Erbarme dich, mein Gott (Arr. for French Horn)
10 Tolomeo, re d'Egitto, HWV 25: Stille amare (Arr. for French Horn)
11 Weihnachtsoratorium, BWV 248: Bereite dich, Zion mit zärtlichen Trieben (Arr. for French Horn)
12 Orphée et Eurydice, Act 4: J'ai perdu mon Eurydice (Arr. for French Horn)
13 Serse, HWV 40: Ombra mai fù (Arr. for French Horn)

More videos from Felix Klieser & CHAARTS Chamber Artists

previous
next
Felix Klieser & Zemlinsky Quartet - Mozart: Voi che sapete (Figaro) für Horn- & Streichquartett
Felix Klieser & CHAARTS Chamber Artists - Handel: Ombra mai fu | Arr. for French Horn (Music Video)
Johann Sebastian Bach - Wohl mir, dass ich Jesum habe | Felix Klieser (Official Music Video)
Felix Klieser - Beyond Words | Baroque Arias for Horn by Handel, Vivaldi & Bach (Official Trailer)
Felix Klieser - Der Fuß-Hornist macht Weltkarriere | Galileo | ProSieben
Klassik Radio trifft Felix Klieser
Weiter mit… Hornist Felix Klieser! Dranbleiben, mutig sein, weiterkommen
Felix Klieser - Fragenhagel (Interview)
Felix Klieser & Camerata Salzburg – Mozart: Horn Concerto, Nr. 4, KV 495 – III. Allegro vivace
Felix Klieser & Camerata Salzburg – Mozart: Horn Concerto, Nr. 3, KV 447 – II. Larghetto
Felix Klieser bei optimal in Röbel
Felix Klieser & Camerata Salzburg – Mozart: Horn Concerto, Nr. 1, KV 412 – I. Allegro
Felix Klieser & Camerata Salzburg - Mozart Horn Concertos 1 - 4 (Trailer)
Felix Klieser Horn Trios CD Präsentation & Interviews

Other publications by Felix Klieser & CHAARTS Chamber Artists

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Der Sprache der Musik, den Geschichten, die sie erzählt – und das ganz ohne Worte – widmet sich Felix Klieser auf seinem neuen Album Beyond Words. Seinen Fokus richtet er auf die Vorstellungen, die beim Hören vor dem inneren Auge auftauchen, auf die Emotionen, die die Musik ausgelöst. Für Beyond Words hat der Hornist verschiedene Arien von Bach, Vivaldi, Händel und Gluck ausgewählt und die jeweils ganz unterschiedlichen, in sich geschlossenen musikalischen Welten auf individuelle Weise erzählt.

Das Repertoire ist wahrscheinlich für viele Zuhörende mit Erinnerungen verbunden, sind doch für Viele Händels Hallelujah und Ombra mai fù oder Bachs Bereite dich Zion und Wohl mir, dass ich Jesum habe wohlbekannte Werke. Hier jedoch hört man sie einmal ganz anders: In der Auswahl der barocken Arien und Choräle der großen Meister Johann Sebastian Bach, Antonio Vivaldi und Georg Friedrich Händel nimmt das Horn die Rolle der menschlichen Stimme ein, zeichnet die melodischen Bögen nach und imitiert den Klang der Stimme. Begleitet wird er vom 2010 gegründeten Ensemble CHAARTS Chamber Artists aus Zürich, die im Zusammenklang mit Kliesers weichem Timbre den barocken Werken auf modernen Instrumenten neues Leben einhauchen

Wichtig ist für dieses Album jedoch nicht die Virtuosität, sondern der klangliche Ausdruck, sagt Felix Klieser: „Es muss gut umzusetzen sein. Die Gesanglichkeit und Ausdrucksmöglichkeit des Klangs sollen im Zentrum und im Fokus stehen.“ Den Hörenden wird eine Geschichte erzählt, die frei für jede Interpretation ist und zulässt, in eine rein musikalische Welt einzutauchen. „Sie sollen nicht wissen müssen, was inhaltlich passiert, sondern sich von der Musik leiten lassen.“

Inhaltlich könnten die Geschichten, die die Arien erzählen, unterschiedlicher nicht sein. Sie handeln von Lob und Preis, von grausamem Schicksal und verlorener Freiheit. Probleme, die bereits zu den Entstehungszeiten der Werke existierten und heute immer noch aktuell sind. „Wenn wir Musik spielen, die sehr alt ist, kommunizieren wir mit Ausdrucksmitteln, die die Menschen hatten, bevor es Smartphones gab, Flugzeuge, Autos – und trotzdem ging es in der Musik um dieselben Dinge. Das scheint etwas zu sein, was uns auch heute bewegt, und das finde ich faszinierend.“

Das Universelle, Verbindende und über Jahrhunderte hinweg Aktuelle, das der Musik zugeschrieben werden kann, liegt nicht in der Sprache der Worte. Es liegt in der Sprache ihres Klangs und den davon hervorgerufenen Assoziationen, Gefühlen und Geschichten, die erzählt werden. „Man braucht keine jahrelange Ausbildung, um mit Musik etwas anfangen zu können. Nicht das, was man rüberbringen will als Interpret ist wichtig, sondern, dass etwas ankommt“, sagt Klieser, der diese besondere Sprache wie kein anderer beherrscht. Mit Beyond Words erschafft er einen Raum über die Sprache hinaus – er spricht mit der Musik und der Melodie allein.

Baroque Arias for Horn Felix Klieser & CHAARTS Chamber Artists

Komponisten

Antonio Vivaldi

Christoph Willibald Gluck

George Frideric Handel

Johann Sebastian Bach

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Horn

Erscheinungsdatum:

19.02.2021



Der Sprache der Musik, den Geschichten, die sie erzählt – und das ganz ohne Worte – widmet sich Felix Klieser auf seinem neuen Album Beyond Words. Seinen Fokus richtet er auf die Vorstellungen, die beim Hören vor dem inneren Auge auftauchen, auf die Emotionen, die die Musik ausgelöst. Für Beyond Words hat der Hornist verschiedene Arien von Bach, Vivaldi, Händel und Gluck ausgewählt und die jeweils ganz unterschiedlichen, in sich geschlossenen musikalischen Welten auf individuelle Weise erzählt.

Das Repertoire ist wahrscheinlich für viele Zuhörende mit Erinnerungen verbunden, sind doch für Viele Händels Hallelujah und Ombra mai fù oder Bachs Bereite dich Zion und Wohl mir, dass ich Jesum habe wohlbekannte Werke. Hier jedoch hört man sie einmal ganz anders: In der Auswahl der barocken Arien und Choräle der großen Meister Johann Sebastian Bach, Antonio Vivaldi und Georg Friedrich Händel nimmt das Horn die Rolle der menschlichen Stimme ein, zeichnet die melodischen Bögen nach und imitiert den Klang der Stimme. Begleitet wird er vom 2010 gegründeten Ensemble CHAARTS Chamber Artists aus Zürich, die im Zusammenklang mit Kliesers weichem Timbre den barocken Werken auf modernen Instrumenten neues Leben einhauchen

Wichtig ist für dieses Album jedoch nicht die Virtuosität, sondern der klangliche Ausdruck, sagt Felix Klieser: „Es muss gut umzusetzen sein. Die Gesanglichkeit und Ausdrucksmöglichkeit des Klangs sollen im Zentrum und im Fokus stehen.“ Den Hörenden wird eine Geschichte erzählt, die frei für jede Interpretation ist und zulässt, in eine rein musikalische Welt einzutauchen. „Sie sollen nicht wissen müssen, was inhaltlich passiert, sondern sich von der Musik leiten lassen.“

Inhaltlich könnten die Geschichten, die die Arien erzählen, unterschiedlicher nicht sein. Sie handeln von Lob und Preis, von grausamem Schicksal und verlorener Freiheit. Probleme, die bereits zu den Entstehungszeiten der Werke existierten und heute immer noch aktuell sind. „Wenn wir Musik spielen, die sehr alt ist, kommunizieren wir mit Ausdrucksmitteln, die die Menschen hatten, bevor es Smartphones gab, Flugzeuge, Autos – und trotzdem ging es in der Musik um dieselben Dinge. Das scheint etwas zu sein, was uns auch heute bewegt, und das finde ich faszinierend.“

Das Universelle, Verbindende und über Jahrhunderte hinweg Aktuelle, das der Musik zugeschrieben werden kann, liegt nicht in der Sprache der Worte. Es liegt in der Sprache ihres Klangs und den davon hervorgerufenen Assoziationen, Gefühlen und Geschichten, die erzählt werden. „Man braucht keine jahrelange Ausbildung, um mit Musik etwas anfangen zu können. Nicht das, was man rüberbringen will als Interpret ist wichtig, sondern, dass etwas ankommt“, sagt Klieser, der diese besondere Sprache wie kein anderer beherrscht. Mit Beyond Words erschafft er einen Raum über die Sprache hinaus – er spricht mit der Musik und der Melodie allein.

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

Baroque Arias for Horn
Felix Klieser & CHAARTS Chamber Artists
1 Gloria in excelsis deo, RV 589 (Arr. for French Horn)
2 Vergnügte Ruh, beliebte Seelenlust, BWV 170 (Arr. for French Horn)
3 Rinaldo, HWV 7a, Act II, Scene 4: Lascia ch'io pianga (Arr. for French Horn)
4 Nisi Dominus, RV 608: Cum dederit (Arr. for French Horn)
5 Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben, BWV 147: VI. Wohl mir, dass ich Jesum habe (Arr. for French Horn)
6 Filiae maestae Jerusalem, RV 638: II. Sileant zephyri (Arr. for French Horn)
7 Nulla in mundo pax sincera, RV 63 (Arr. for French Horn)
8 Messiah, HWV 56: No. 44, Hallelujah (Arr. for French Horn)
9 Matthew Passion, BWV 244: No. 47, Erbarme dich, mein Gott (Arr. for French Horn)
10 Tolomeo, re d'Egitto, HWV 25: Stille amare (Arr. for French Horn)
11 Weihnachtsoratorium, BWV 248: Bereite dich, Zion mit zärtlichen Trieben (Arr. for French Horn)
12 Orphée et Eurydice, Act 4: J'ai perdu mon Eurydice (Arr. for French Horn)
13 Serse, HWV 40: Ombra mai fù (Arr. for French Horn)

Weitere Videos von Felix Klieser & CHAARTS Chamber Artists

zurück
weiter
Felix Klieser & Zemlinsky Quartet - Mozart: Voi che sapete (Figaro) für Horn- & Streichquartett
Felix Klieser & CHAARTS Chamber Artists - Handel: Ombra mai fu | Arr. for French Horn (Music Video)
Johann Sebastian Bach - Wohl mir, dass ich Jesum habe | Felix Klieser (Official Music Video)
Felix Klieser - Beyond Words | Baroque Arias for Horn by Handel, Vivaldi & Bach (Official Trailer)
Felix Klieser - Der Fuß-Hornist macht Weltkarriere | Galileo | ProSieben
Klassik Radio trifft Felix Klieser
Weiter mit… Hornist Felix Klieser! Dranbleiben, mutig sein, weiterkommen
Felix Klieser - Fragenhagel (Interview)
Felix Klieser & Camerata Salzburg – Mozart: Horn Concerto, Nr. 4, KV 495 – III. Allegro vivace
Felix Klieser & Camerata Salzburg – Mozart: Horn Concerto, Nr. 3, KV 447 – II. Larghetto
Felix Klieser bei optimal in Röbel
Felix Klieser & Camerata Salzburg – Mozart: Horn Concerto, Nr. 1, KV 412 – I. Allegro
Felix Klieser & Camerata Salzburg - Mozart Horn Concertos 1 - 4 (Trailer)
Felix Klieser Horn Trios CD Präsentation & Interviews

Weitere Veröffentlichungen von Felix Klieser & CHAARTS Chamber Artists

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}