To celebrate the 450th anniversary of the Staatskapelle Berlin, this 5 CD edition presents the orchestra’s most legendary recordings with conductors Otmar Suitner and Günther Herbig. These jewels from the large catalogue of the record label Eterna, recorded in the Christuskirche Berlin-Schöneweide, were specially remastered from the original tapes.

The 450-year history of the Staatskapelle Berlin is rich in brilliant, standard-setting episodes. So it may seem hyperbolical to describe Otmar Suitner’s term of office as an “era”. The truth is, however, that both in its length and for its quality, his period of 26 years at the theatre Unter den Linden (1964-90) bears comparison with the work of such illustrious predecessors as Gasparo Spontini, Giacomo Meyerbeer, Felix von Weingartner or Richard Strauss and equally with his successor Daniel Barenboim. Suitner followed Franz Konwitschny, who was granted a mere seven years at the podium after the re-opening of the orchestra’s old home and died in July 1962. After a two-year interregnum, Otmar Suitner took up the vacant position as “principal and managing General Music Director”. One of his notable achievements is to have repositioned the orchestra on the market for gramophone records in the age of stereo. That and a multiplicity of tours – including six of Japan – earned it a large and growing audience all over the world. Some of the repertoire highlights of this exceptionally productive partnership between orchestra and (Principal) Conductor are assembled in this 5-CD set, unfolding the orchestra’s history over those formative years. In addition to the four CDs with recordings of Otmar Suitner, the CD box also includes a CD with recordings of the conductor Günther Herbig, who became one of the most important concert conductors of the house during the “Suitner era”. The somewhat younger Herbig mainly conducted the “normal” subscription concerts before he emigrated to the USA in 1984.

All in all, on the 5 CDs of the box you can experience works from Mozart to Mahler and even Dessau in the unique ETERNA sound and thus enjoy a very special best-of from the Staatskapelle Berlin. The included booklet also contains the most important information about the recordings and the “Suitner era”, which was probably the most formative period for the Staatskapelle at the time of the German Democratic Republic. A small but great excerpt from 450 years of orchestra history.

Staatskapelle Berlin Legendary Eterna Recordings Staatskapelle Berlin & Otmar Suitner & Günther Herbig

Artist

Staatskapelle Berlin
Günther Herbig

Composer

Felix Mendelssohn

Hugo Wolf

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Further information

Genre

Sinfonische Musik / Orchestermusik

Publication date:

25.09.2020



To celebrate the 450th anniversary of the Staatskapelle Berlin, this 5 CD edition presents the orchestra's most legendary recordings with conductors Otmar Suitner and Günther Herbig. These jewels from the large catalogue of the record label Eterna, recorded in the Christuskirche Berlin-Schöneweide, were specially remastered from the original tapes.

The 450-year history of the Staatskapelle Berlin is rich in brilliant, standard-setting episodes. So it may seem hyperbolical to describe Otmar Suitner’s term of office as an “era”. The truth is, however, that both in its length and for its quality, his period of 26 years at the theatre Unter den Linden (1964-90) bears comparison with the work of such illustrious predecessors as Gasparo Spontini, Giacomo Meyerbeer, Felix von Weingartner or Richard Strauss and equally with his successor Daniel Barenboim. Suitner followed Franz Konwitschny, who was granted a mere seven years at the podium after the re-opening of the orchestra’s old home and died in July 1962. After a two-year interregnum, Otmar Suitner took up the vacant position as “principal and managing General Music Director”. One of his notable achievements is to have repositioned the orchestra on the market for gramophone records in the age of stereo. That and a multiplicity of tours – including six of Japan – earned it a large and growing audience all over the world. Some of the repertoire highlights of this exceptionally productive partnership between orchestra and (Principal) Conductor are assembled in this 5-CD set, unfolding the orchestra’s history over those formative years. In addition to the four CDs with recordings of Otmar Suitner, the CD box also includes a CD with recordings of the conductor Günther Herbig, who became one of the most important concert conductors of the house during the "Suitner era". The somewhat younger Herbig mainly conducted the “normal” subscription concerts before he emigrated to the USA in 1984.

All in all, on the 5 CDs of the box you can experience works from Mozart to Mahler and even Dessau in the unique ETERNA sound and thus enjoy a very special best-of from the Staatskapelle Berlin. The included booklet also contains the most important information about the recordings and the "Suitner era", which was probably the most formative period for the Staatskapelle at the time of the German Democratic Republic. A small but great excerpt from 450 years of orchestra history.

Tracklist - These are the tracks you will hear on the album

Staatskapelle Berlin Legendary Eterna Recordings
Staatskapelle Berlin & Otmar Suitner & Günther Herbig
1 La finta giardiniera, K. 196: Overture
2 Idomeneo, K. 366: Overture
3 The Abduction from the Seraglio, K. 384: Overture
4 The Impresario, K. 486: Overture
5 Le nozze di Figaro, K. 492: Overture
6 Don Giovanni, K. 527: Overture
7 Così fan tutte, K. 588: Overture
8 The Magic Flute, K. 620: Overture
9 La clemenza di Tito, K. 621: Overture
10 Symphonic Adaptation of Mozart's Quintet K. 614: I. Allegro
11 Symphonic Adaptation of Mozart's Quintet K. 614: II. Andante
12 Symphonic Adaptation of Mozart's Quintet K. 614: III. Menuetto
13 Symphonic Adaptation of Mozart's Quintet K. 614: IV. Allegro
14 A Midsummer Night's Dream, Op. 21: Overture. Allegro di molto
15 A Midsummer Night's Dream, Op. 21: Scherzo No. 1
16 A Midsummer Night's Dream, Op. 21: Allegro vivace
17 A Midsummer Night's Dream, Op. 21: Song with Chorus: Allegro ma non troppo
18 A Midsummer Night's Dream, Op. 21: Intermezzo. Allegro appassionato
19 A Midsummer Night's Dream, Op. 21: Nocturne: Con moto tranquillo
20 A Midsummer Night's Dream, Op. 21: Wedding March: Allegro vivace
21 A Midsummer Night's Dream, Op. 21: Dance of the Clowns: Allegro di molto
22 A Midsummer Night's Dream, Op. 21: Finale: Allegro di molto
23 Orchestral Music No. 4
24 Symphony No. 7, WAB 109: I. Allegro moderato
25 Symphony No. 7, WAB 109: II. Adagio. Sehr feierlich und sehr langsam
26 Symphony No. 7, WAB 109: III. Scherzo. Sehr schnell
27 Symphony No. 7, WAB 109: IV. Finale. Bewegt, doch nicht schnell
28 Symphony No. 2 in C Minor, "Resurrection": I. Allegro maestoso. Mit durchaus ernstem und feierlichem Ausdruck
29 Symphony No. 2 in C Minor, "Resurrection": II. Andante moderato. Sehr gemächlich
30 Symphony No. 2 in C Minor, "Resurrection": III. In ruhig fließender Bewegung
31 Symphony No. 2 in C Minor, "Resurrection": IV. "Urlicht". Sehr feierlich, aber schlicht
32 Symphony No. 2 in C Minor, "Resurrection": V. Im Tempo des Scherzos. Wild herausfahrend
33 Penthesilea: I. Departure of the Amazon for Troy
34 Penthesilea: II. Penthesilea's Dream of the Feats of Roses
35 Penthesilea: III. Fights, Passions, Madness, Extinction Combats, Passions, Folie, Destruction
36 Das Käthchen von Heilbronn, Op. 17: Act III: Prelude
37 Das Käthchen von Heilbronn, Op. 17: Melodram
38 Das Käthchen von Heilbronn, Op. 17: Overture
39 Symphonic Fantasy On "Die Frau ohne Schatten", Trv 234a, Op. 65: Fantasy

More videos from Berlin Classics

previous
next
Tassilo Probst & Maxim Lando: Bartók - Sonata for violin & piano in E Minor, III. Vivace
Tassilo Probst & Maxim Lando - Achron: Sonata for violin and piano, no. 2,  Op. 45 #berlinclassics
The Zurich Chamber Singers & Christian Erny - Anton Bruckner: Os justi, WAB 30 | #berlinclassics
Berlin Classics - Channel Trailer | Classical Music
Muffat | Armonico Tributo: Sonata II: I. Grave & II. Allegro | Concerto Copenhagen (Music Video)
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Ravel - Pièce en forme de Habanera (for Trumpet & Harp)
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Ibert - Entr'acte (For Trumpet and Harp) #Ukraine #Spenden
Eckart Runge & Jacques Ammon - Miles Davis: Blue in Green (arr. for cello & piano) #BerlinClassics
Sebastian Manz & Herbert Schuch - Gade - Fantasy Pieces, Op. 43: No. 2, Allegro vivace
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Debussy - The Girl with the Flaxen Hair #Ukraine #Spenden
Spark & Valer Sabadus - Seemann (Rammstein Cover) #BerlinClassics
Sophie Dervaux & Mozarteumorchester Salzburg - Vanhal: Concerto in C Major
Luisa Imorde - Couperin: Pièces de clavecin: Le Tic-Toc-Choc ou Les Maillotins
Sebastian Manz & Herbert Schuch - Schumann: Fantasy Piece, Op. 73, No. 1, Zart und mit Ausdruck
Danae Dörken - Odyssee (Official Albumtrailer) #BerlinClassics #DanaeDörken

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Anlässlich des 450. Jubiläums der Staatskapelle Berlin präsentiert diese 5 CD-Edition die legendärsten Aufnahmen des Orchesters mit den Dirigenten Otmar Suitner und Günther Herbig. Diese Juwelen aus dem großen Katalog des Schallplatten-Labels Eterna, aufgenommen in der Christuskirche Berlin-Schöneweide, wurden dafür eigens neu von den Originalbändern gemastert.

Die 450-jährige Geschichte der Staatskapelle Berlin ist reich an glanzvollen, maßstabsetzenden Abschnitten gewesen. Es mag deshalb an marketingübliche Euphemismen erinnern, die Amtszeit von Otmar Suitner als „Ära“ zu bezeichnen. Tatsächlich sind die 26 Jahre seines Wirkens Unter den Linden (1964-90) aber nicht nur wegen der Dauer seiner dortigen Präsenz vergleichbar mit legendären Vorgängern wie Gasparo Spontini, Giacomo Meyerbeer, Felix von Weingartner, Richard Strauss und seinem Nachfolger Daniel Barenboim. Suitner folgte auf Franz Konwitschny, dem nach der Wiedereröffnungspremiere des alten Stammhauses nur sieben Jahre am Pult verblieben waren, bis er im Juli 1962 starb. Nach einer zweijährigen Interimsperiode konnte Otmar Suitner als erster und geschäftsführender GMD die vakante Leitungsposition antreten. Zu seinen Verdiensten gehört unter anderem, dass er die Staatskapelle im Stereo-Zeitalter neu auf dem Schallplattenmarkt etablierte. Damit und mit vielen Tourneen – darunter sechsmal Japan – gewann sie eine große, wachsende Hörerschaft in aller Welt. Einige Repertoireschwerpunkte dieser ungemein produktiven Partnerschaft von Orchester und (Chef-)Dirigent werden auf der vorliegenden 5-CD-Edition exemplarisch vorgestellt und machen die Orchestergeschichte jener Jahre in einer Art Zeitraffer erlebbar. Neben den vier CDs mit Aufnahmen von Otmar Suitner beinhaltet die CD-Box auch noch eine CD mit Aufnahmen des Dirigenten Günther Herbig, welcher sich in der „Ära Suitner“ zu einem der wichtigsten Konzertdirigenten des Hauses entwickelte. Der etwas jüngere Herbig dirigierte vor allem die regulären Abo-Konzerte, bevor er 1984 in die USA emigrierte.

Insgesamt kann man auf den 5 CDs der Box Werke von Mozart über Mahler bis hin zu Dessau im einzigartigen ETERNA-Klang erleben und so ein ganz besonderes Best-of der Staatskapelle Berlin genießen. In dem dazugehörigen Booklet stehen außerdem die wichtigsten Informationen zu den Aufnahmen und der „Ära Suitner“, welche zweifelsohne die wohl prägendste Zeit der Staatskapelle zur Zeit der Deutschen Demokratischen Republik war. Ein kleiner Ausschnitt aus 450 Jahren Orchestergeschichte.

Staatskapelle Berlin Legendary Eterna Recordings Staatskapelle Berlin & Otmar Suitner & Günther Herbig

Künstler

Staatskapelle Berlin
Günther Herbig

Komponisten

Felix Mendelssohn

Hugo Wolf

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Sinfonische Musik / Orchestermusik

Erscheinungsdatum:

25.09.2020



Anlässlich des 450. Jubiläums der Staatskapelle Berlin präsentiert diese 5 CD-Edition die legendärsten Aufnahmen des Orchesters mit den Dirigenten Otmar Suitner und Günther Herbig. Diese Juwelen aus dem großen Katalog des Schallplatten-Labels Eterna, aufgenommen in der Christuskirche Berlin-Schöneweide, wurden dafür eigens neu von den Originalbändern gemastert.

Die 450-jährige Geschichte der Staatskapelle Berlin ist reich an glanzvollen, maßstabsetzenden Abschnitten gewesen. Es mag deshalb an marketingübliche Euphemismen erinnern, die Amtszeit von Otmar Suitner als „Ära“ zu bezeichnen. Tatsächlich sind die 26 Jahre seines Wirkens Unter den Linden (1964-90) aber nicht nur wegen der Dauer seiner dortigen Präsenz vergleichbar mit legendären Vorgängern wie Gasparo Spontini, Giacomo Meyerbeer, Felix von Weingartner, Richard Strauss und seinem Nachfolger Daniel Barenboim. Suitner folgte auf Franz Konwitschny, dem nach der Wiedereröffnungspremiere des alten Stammhauses nur sieben Jahre am Pult verblieben waren, bis er im Juli 1962 starb. Nach einer zweijährigen Interimsperiode konnte Otmar Suitner als erster und geschäftsführender GMD die vakante Leitungsposition antreten. Zu seinen Verdiensten gehört unter anderem, dass er die Staatskapelle im Stereo-Zeitalter neu auf dem Schallplattenmarkt etablierte. Damit und mit vielen Tourneen – darunter sechsmal Japan – gewann sie eine große, wachsende Hörerschaft in aller Welt. Einige Repertoireschwerpunkte dieser ungemein produktiven Partnerschaft von Orchester und (Chef-)Dirigent werden auf der vorliegenden 5-CD-Edition exemplarisch vorgestellt und machen die Orchestergeschichte jener Jahre in einer Art Zeitraffer erlebbar. Neben den vier CDs mit Aufnahmen von Otmar Suitner beinhaltet die CD-Box auch noch eine CD mit Aufnahmen des Dirigenten Günther Herbig, welcher sich in der „Ära Suitner“ zu einem der wichtigsten Konzertdirigenten des Hauses entwickelte. Der etwas jüngere Herbig dirigierte vor allem die regulären Abo-Konzerte, bevor er 1984 in die USA emigrierte.

Insgesamt kann man auf den 5 CDs der Box Werke von Mozart über Mahler bis hin zu Dessau im einzigartigen ETERNA-Klang erleben und so ein ganz besonderes Best-of der Staatskapelle Berlin genießen. In dem dazugehörigen Booklet stehen außerdem die wichtigsten Informationen zu den Aufnahmen und der „Ära Suitner“, welche zweifelsohne die wohl prägendste Zeit der Staatskapelle zur Zeit der Deutschen Demokratischen Republik war. Ein kleiner Ausschnitt aus 450 Jahren Orchestergeschichte.

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

Staatskapelle Berlin Legendary Eterna Recordings
Staatskapelle Berlin & Otmar Suitner & Günther Herbig
1 La finta giardiniera, K. 196: Overture
2 Idomeneo, K. 366: Overture
3 The Abduction from the Seraglio, K. 384: Overture
4 The Impresario, K. 486: Overture
5 Le nozze di Figaro, K. 492: Overture
6 Don Giovanni, K. 527: Overture
7 Così fan tutte, K. 588: Overture
8 The Magic Flute, K. 620: Overture
9 La clemenza di Tito, K. 621: Overture
10 Symphonic Adaptation of Mozart's Quintet K. 614: I. Allegro
11 Symphonic Adaptation of Mozart's Quintet K. 614: II. Andante
12 Symphonic Adaptation of Mozart's Quintet K. 614: III. Menuetto
13 Symphonic Adaptation of Mozart's Quintet K. 614: IV. Allegro
14 A Midsummer Night's Dream, Op. 21: Overture. Allegro di molto
15 A Midsummer Night's Dream, Op. 21: Scherzo No. 1
16 A Midsummer Night's Dream, Op. 21: Allegro vivace
17 A Midsummer Night's Dream, Op. 21: Song with Chorus: Allegro ma non troppo
18 A Midsummer Night's Dream, Op. 21: Intermezzo. Allegro appassionato
19 A Midsummer Night's Dream, Op. 21: Nocturne: Con moto tranquillo
20 A Midsummer Night's Dream, Op. 21: Wedding March: Allegro vivace
21 A Midsummer Night's Dream, Op. 21: Dance of the Clowns: Allegro di molto
22 A Midsummer Night's Dream, Op. 21: Finale: Allegro di molto
23 Orchestral Music No. 4
24 Symphony No. 7, WAB 109: I. Allegro moderato
25 Symphony No. 7, WAB 109: II. Adagio. Sehr feierlich und sehr langsam
26 Symphony No. 7, WAB 109: III. Scherzo. Sehr schnell
27 Symphony No. 7, WAB 109: IV. Finale. Bewegt, doch nicht schnell
28 Symphony No. 2 in C Minor, "Resurrection": I. Allegro maestoso. Mit durchaus ernstem und feierlichem Ausdruck
29 Symphony No. 2 in C Minor, "Resurrection": II. Andante moderato. Sehr gemächlich
30 Symphony No. 2 in C Minor, "Resurrection": III. In ruhig fließender Bewegung
31 Symphony No. 2 in C Minor, "Resurrection": IV. "Urlicht". Sehr feierlich, aber schlicht
32 Symphony No. 2 in C Minor, "Resurrection": V. Im Tempo des Scherzos. Wild herausfahrend
33 Penthesilea: I. Departure of the Amazon for Troy
34 Penthesilea: II. Penthesilea's Dream of the Feats of Roses
35 Penthesilea: III. Fights, Passions, Madness, Extinction Combats, Passions, Folie, Destruction
36 Das Käthchen von Heilbronn, Op. 17: Act III: Prelude
37 Das Käthchen von Heilbronn, Op. 17: Melodram
38 Das Käthchen von Heilbronn, Op. 17: Overture
39 Symphonic Fantasy On "Die Frau ohne Schatten", Trv 234a, Op. 65: Fantasy

Weitere Videos von Berlin Classics

zurück
weiter
The Zurich Chamber Singers & Christian Erny - Bruckner: Palestrina - Jesu, rex admirabilis
Matthias Höfs & The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen: Oskar Böhme - Entsagung, Op. 19
Matthias Kirschnereit - Piano Concerto in D Major, Hob.XVIII:11: III. Rondo all'Ungarese | #Haydn
Tassilo Probst & Maxim Lando: Bartók - Sonata for violin & piano in E Minor, III. Vivace
Tassilo Probst & Maxim Lando - Achron: Sonata for violin and piano, no. 2,  Op. 45 #berlinclassics
The Zurich Chamber Singers & Christian Erny - Anton Bruckner: Os justi, WAB 30 | #berlinclassics
Berlin Classics - Channel Trailer | Classical Music
Muffat | Armonico Tributo: Sonata II: I. Grave & II. Allegro | Concerto Copenhagen (Music Video)
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Ravel - Pièce en forme de Habanera (for Trumpet & Harp)
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Ibert - Entr'acte (For Trumpet and Harp) #Ukraine #Spenden
Eckart Runge & Jacques Ammon - Miles Davis: Blue in Green (arr. for cello & piano) #BerlinClassics
Sebastian Manz & Herbert Schuch - Gade - Fantasy Pieces, Op. 43: No. 2, Allegro vivace
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Debussy - The Girl with the Flaxen Hair #Ukraine #Spenden
Spark & Valer Sabadus - Seemann (Rammstein Cover) #BerlinClassics
Sophie Dervaux & Mozarteumorchester Salzburg - Vanhal: Concerto in C Major

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com