On Røta, her debut album with Berlin Classics, Ragnhild Hemsing presents her Norwegian roots on the violin and Hardanger fiddle, thereby placing her identity and the link to her musical training centre stage. Central to this theme is the relationship between classical and Norwegian folk music and the contrast between the different sounds of the two instruments. Ragnhild Hemsing, in compiling Røta, has recorded works by famous Norwegian composers alongside four different folk melodies for the Hardanger fiddle from her homeland.

“I find it very interesting to combine the repertoire of composers who were inspired by folk music and the traditions of their individual homelands,” is how Hemsing explains her choice of works for this album. Ole Bull, Edvard Grieg, Johan Svendsen and Johan Halvorsen are famous Norwegian composers of the nineteenth century, whose music gives her a cosy, reassuring feeling of “home”. Together with Mario Häring at the piano and Benedict Kloeckner on cello she embarks on a journey through her native country’s sound world.

All of the composers featured on the album were closely affiliated with their homeland and were in contact with each other, exchanging ideas. Bull, for instance, provided Grieg with inspiration, who in his turn was a very close friend of both Halvorsen and Svendsen. The beauty of Norway, its characteristic traits and landscape, is palpable; it can be heard and sensed in the music. Grieg’s Lyric Suite (op. 54) is a reflexion of mystic nature, with reminiscences of quiet nights, hiking outdoors and finally the March of the Trolls.

Halvorsen, who himself was very proficient at playing the Hardanger fiddle, was intimately familiar with folk music, a fact reflected in the repertoire on this album. The Passacaglia based on Handel’s theme is undoubtedly his best known work worldwide, and was arranged (as were all the other pieces) by Tormod Tvete Vik for the Hardanger fiddle and cello. All of the composers featured share the same source of inspiration that they found in folk music.

The Røta album also features four different traditional rhythms from Ragnhild Hemsing’s homeland as an exciting addition to the pieces by known composers: a folk melody in the “Myllarguten” tradition, a “Springar” in 3/4 time and a “Halling” in 2/4 time from the Valdres region in southern Norway where Hemsing grew up. The well known folk song Allt under himmelens fäste (“everything under the heavens”) brings this album to a close.

Picturesque landscape images, melancholy melodies and the varied rhythmic characteristics of different dance melodies are the manifestation of the special and tradition-steeped music of Norway – music which is very close to Hemsing’s heart: “In 1850 Norway was a nation that suddenly awoke and recognised that it had its own musical heritage and its own composers who would go on in the coming decades to create wonderful music and find international recognition.”

Røta Ragnhild Hemsing

Composer

Edvard Grieg

Johan Svendsen

Traditional

Further information

Genre

Klassik

Publication date:

05.02.2021



On Røta, her debut album with Berlin Classics, Ragnhild Hemsing presents her Norwegian roots on the violin and Hardanger fiddle, thereby placing her identity and the link to her musical training centre stage. Central to this theme is the relationship between classical and Norwegian folk music and the contrast between the different sounds of the two instruments. Ragnhild Hemsing, in compiling Røta, has recorded works by famous Norwegian composers alongside four different folk melodies for the Hardanger fiddle from her homeland.



“I find it very interesting to combine the repertoire of composers who were inspired by folk music and the traditions of their individual homelands,” is how Hemsing explains her choice of works for this album. Ole Bull, Edvard Grieg, Johan Svendsen and Johan Halvorsen are famous Norwegian composers of the nineteenth century, whose music gives her a cosy, reassuring feeling of “home”. Together with Mario Häring at the piano and Benedict Kloeckner on cello she embarks on a journey through her native country’s sound world.



All of the composers featured on the album were closely affiliated with their homeland and were in contact with each other, exchanging ideas. Bull, for instance, provided Grieg with inspiration, who in his turn was a very close friend of both Halvorsen and Svendsen. The beauty of Norway, its characteristic traits and landscape, is palpable; it can be heard and sensed in the music. Grieg’s Lyric Suite (op. 54) is a reflexion of mystic nature, with reminiscences of quiet nights, hiking outdoors and finally the March of the Trolls.



Halvorsen, who himself was very proficient at playing the Hardanger fiddle, was intimately familiar with folk music, a fact reflected in the repertoire on this album. The Passacaglia based on Handel’s theme is undoubtedly his best known work worldwide, and was arranged (as were all the other pieces) by Tormod Tvete Vik for the Hardanger fiddle and cello. All of the composers featured share the same source of inspiration that they found in folk music.



The Røta album also features four different traditional rhythms from Ragnhild Hemsing’s homeland as an exciting addition to the pieces by known composers: a folk melody in the “Myllarguten” tradition, a “Springar” in 3/4 time and a “Halling” in 2/4 time from the Valdres region in southern Norway where Hemsing grew up. The well known folk song Allt under himmelens fäste (“everything under the heavens”) brings this album to a close.



Picturesque landscape images, melancholy melodies and the varied rhythmic characteristics of different dance melodies are the manifestation of the special and tradition-steeped music of Norway – music which is very close to Hemsing’s heart: “In 1850 Norway was a nation that suddenly awoke and recognised that it had its own musical heritage and its own composers who would go on in the coming decades to create wonderful music and find international recognition.”

Tracklist - These are the tracks you will hear on the album

Røta
Ragnhild Hemsing
1 Passacaglia after Handel (Arr. for Hardanger Fiddle and Cello)
2 Norwegian Dance No. 2
3 The Song of Veslemøy (Arr. for Hardanger Fiddle and Piano)
4 Ved Mannejevningen
5 The Wedding March of Myllarguten (Traditional Tune from Telemark)
6 Lyric Suite, Op. 54: IV. Nocturne (Arr. for Violin and Piano)
7 Lyric Suite, Op. 54: II. Gangar (Arr. for Hardanger Fiddle and Piano)
8 Lyric Suite, Op. 54: III. Trolltog (Arr. for Violin and Piano)
9 Bjøllelåtten (Traditional Dancing Tune from Valdres)
10 Kjeringe I Snødrevet (Traditional Tune from Valdres)
11 Miniaturen, Op. 29: III. Elegie
12 Lyric Pieces, Op. 12: No. 6 Norsk (Arr. for Hardanger Fiddle and Cello)
13 La Melancolie
14 Nocturne
15 Bojarenes Inntogsmarsj (Arr. for Hardanger Fiddle and Piano)
16 Gamal Bonde (Dancing Tune from Valdres)
17 Swedish Folk Melodies, Op. 27: No. 1 Allt Under Himmelens Fäste
18 Sarabande con Variazoni

More videos from Ragnhild Hemsing

previous
next
Ragnhild Hemsing - Edvard Grieg - Peer Gynt: Solveig's Song (Offizielles Musikvideo) #BerlinClassics
Ragnhild Hemsing & Trondheim Soloists - Grieg: In the Hall of the Mountain King (Hardangerfiedel)
Ragnhild Hemsing & Trondheim Soloists - Peer Gynt (Arr. for Hardanger Fiddle, Violin and Orchestra)
Ragnhild Hemsing - Huldreslått frå Vang
Ragnhild Hemsing - Allt under himmelens fäste, Op. 27/1 | Hardanger Fiddle (Johan Svendsen)
Halvorsen: The Song of Veslemøy (arr. for Hardanger Fiddle) / Ragnhild Hemsing & Mario Häring
Ragnhild Hemsing stellt uns die Hardanger Fiddle vor
Ragnhild Hemsing - Røta (Official Album Trailer) w/ Mario Häring & Benedict Kloeckner

Other publications by Ragnhild Hemsing

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Mit Røta, ihrem Debüt-Album bei Berlin Classics, präsentiert Ragnhild Hemsing auf der Geige und Hardangerfiedel ihre norwegischen Wurzeln, thematisiert ihre Identität und die Verbindung zu ihrer musikalischen Erziehung. Zentral ist dabei die Beziehung zwischen Klassik und norwegischer Volksmusik sowie der Kontrast der unterschiedlichen Klänge beider Instrumente. Neben Werken bekannter norwegischer Komponisten hat Ragnhild Hemsing für Røta vier verschiedene Volksmelodien für Hardangerfiedel aus ihrer Heimat eingespielt.

„Ich finde es sehr interessant, das Repertoire von Komponisten zu kombinieren, die von der Volksmusik und den Traditionen ihrer jeweiligen Länder inspiriert wurden“, erklärt Hemsing die Auswahl der für dieses Album ausgewählten Werke. Ole Bull, Edvard Grieg, Johan Svendsen oder Johan Halvorsen sind norwegische Größen des 19. Jahrhunderts, deren Musik ihr das wohlige Gefühl von „zu Hause sein“ geben. Zusammen mit Mario Häring am Klavier und Benedict Kloeckner am Cello begibt sie sich auf die Reise durch ihre heimatliche Klangwelt.

Auch alle auf dem Album vertretenen Komponisten waren ihrer Heimat sehr verbunden und standen miteinander im Austausch. So diente Bull als Inspiration für Grieg, der wiederum eng mit Halvorsen und Svendsen befreundet war. Die Schönheit Norwegens, seiner Charakteristika und seiner Landschaft, ist deutlich in der Musik zu hören und zu spüren. Eine Reflexion der mystischen Natur drückt sich durch Griegs Lyrische Suite (Op. 54) aus, mit Erinnerungen an sanfte Nächte, an Wanderungen und schließlich dem Marsch der Trolle.

Halvorsen, der die Hardangerfiedel selbst gut beherrschte, war eng vertraut mit Volksmusik, was sich im Repertoire dieses Albums widerspiegelt. Die auf dem Thema von Händel aufbauende Passacaglia ist wohl sein weltweit bekanntestes Werk, das (wie auch alle anderen Arrangements) von Tormod Tvete Vik für Hardangerfiedel und Cello arrangiert wurde. Allen Komponisten ist die Inspiration gemeinsam, die sie in der Volksmusik fanden.

Als spannende Ergänzung zu den Stücken der erwähnten Komponisten finden sich auf Røta auch vier verschiedene traditionelle Rhythmen aus der Heimat Ragnhild Hemsings: eine Volksmelodie in der “Myllarguten”-Tradition, eine “Springar” im 3/4-Rhythmus und eine “Halling” im 2/4-Rhythmus, die aus Valdres stammt – der Region, in der Hemsing aufwuchs. Das bekannte Volkslied Allt under himmelens fäste (“Alles unter dem Firmament”) bildet den Abschluss des Albums.

Malerische Landschaftsbilder, melancholische Melodien und die vielfältige rhythmischen Besonderheiten verschiedener Tanzmelodien sind Ausdruck der besonderen und traditionsreichen Musik Norwegens – der Musik, die Hemsing sehr am Herzen liegt: „Norwegen war 1850 eine Nation, die plötzlich aufwachte und erkannte, dass sie eigenes musikalisches Erbe und eigene Komponisten hatte, die die nächsten Jahrzehnte mit großartiger Musik füllen würden und internationale Anerkennung fanden.“

Røta Ragnhild Hemsing

Künstler

Ragnhild Hemsing

Komponisten

Edvard Grieg

Johan Svendsen

Traditional

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Klassik

Erscheinungsdatum:

05.02.2021



Mit Røta, ihrem Debüt-Album bei Berlin Classics, präsentiert Ragnhild Hemsing auf der Geige und Hardangerfiedel ihre norwegischen Wurzeln, thematisiert ihre Identität und die Verbindung zu ihrer musikalischen Erziehung. Zentral ist dabei die Beziehung zwischen Klassik und norwegischer Volksmusik sowie der Kontrast der unterschiedlichen Klänge beider Instrumente. Neben Werken bekannter norwegischer Komponisten hat Ragnhild Hemsing für Røta vier verschiedene Volksmelodien für Hardangerfiedel aus ihrer Heimat eingespielt.

„Ich finde es sehr interessant, das Repertoire von Komponisten zu kombinieren, die von der Volksmusik und den Traditionen ihrer jeweiligen Länder inspiriert wurden“, erklärt Hemsing die Auswahl der für dieses Album ausgewählten Werke. Ole Bull, Edvard Grieg, Johan Svendsen oder Johan Halvorsen sind norwegische Größen des 19. Jahrhunderts, deren Musik ihr das wohlige Gefühl von „zu Hause sein“ geben. Zusammen mit Mario Häring am Klavier und Benedict Kloeckner am Cello begibt sie sich auf die Reise durch ihre heimatliche Klangwelt.

Auch alle auf dem Album vertretenen Komponisten waren ihrer Heimat sehr verbunden und standen miteinander im Austausch. So diente Bull als Inspiration für Grieg, der wiederum eng mit Halvorsen und Svendsen befreundet war. Die Schönheit Norwegens, seiner Charakteristika und seiner Landschaft, ist deutlich in der Musik zu hören und zu spüren. Eine Reflexion der mystischen Natur drückt sich durch Griegs Lyrische Suite (Op. 54) aus, mit Erinnerungen an sanfte Nächte, an Wanderungen und schließlich dem Marsch der Trolle.

Halvorsen, der die Hardangerfiedel selbst gut beherrschte, war eng vertraut mit Volksmusik, was sich im Repertoire dieses Albums widerspiegelt. Die auf dem Thema von Händel aufbauende Passacaglia ist wohl sein weltweit bekanntestes Werk, das (wie auch alle anderen Arrangements) von Tormod Tvete Vik für Hardangerfiedel und Cello arrangiert wurde. Allen Komponisten ist die Inspiration gemeinsam, die sie in der Volksmusik fanden.

Als spannende Ergänzung zu den Stücken der erwähnten Komponisten finden sich auf Røta auch vier verschiedene traditionelle Rhythmen aus der Heimat Ragnhild Hemsings: eine Volksmelodie in der "Myllarguten"-Tradition, eine "Springar" im 3/4-Rhythmus und eine "Halling" im 2/4-Rhythmus, die aus Valdres stammt – der Region, in der Hemsing aufwuchs. Das bekannte Volkslied Allt under himmelens fäste ("Alles unter dem Firmament") bildet den Abschluss des Albums.

Malerische Landschaftsbilder, melancholische Melodien und die vielfältige rhythmischen Besonderheiten verschiedener Tanzmelodien sind Ausdruck der besonderen und traditionsreichen Musik Norwegens – der Musik, die Hemsing sehr am Herzen liegt: „Norwegen war 1850 eine Nation, die plötzlich aufwachte und erkannte, dass sie eigenes musikalisches Erbe und eigene Komponisten hatte, die die nächsten Jahrzehnte mit großartiger Musik füllen würden und internationale Anerkennung fanden.“

Weitere Videos von Berlin Classics

zurück
weiter
The Zurich Chamber Singers & Christian Erny - Bruckner: Palestrina - Jesu, rex admirabilis
Matthias Höfs & The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen: Oskar Böhme - Entsagung, Op. 19
Matthias Kirschnereit - Piano Concerto in D Major, Hob.XVIII:11: III. Rondo all'Ungarese | #Haydn
Tassilo Probst & Maxim Lando: Bartók - Sonata for violin & piano in E Minor, III. Vivace
Tassilo Probst & Maxim Lando - Achron: Sonata for violin and piano, no. 2,  Op. 45 #berlinclassics
The Zurich Chamber Singers & Christian Erny - Anton Bruckner: Os justi, WAB 30 | #berlinclassics
Berlin Classics - Channel Trailer | Classical Music
Muffat | Armonico Tributo: Sonata II: I. Grave & II. Allegro | Concerto Copenhagen (Music Video)
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Ravel - Pièce en forme de Habanera (for Trumpet & Harp)
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Ibert - Entr'acte (For Trumpet and Harp) #Ukraine #Spenden
Eckart Runge & Jacques Ammon - Miles Davis: Blue in Green (arr. for cello & piano) #BerlinClassics
Sebastian Manz & Herbert Schuch - Gade - Fantasy Pieces, Op. 43: No. 2, Allegro vivace
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Debussy - The Girl with the Flaxen Hair #Ukraine #Spenden
Spark & Valer Sabadus - Seemann (Rammstein Cover) #BerlinClassics
Sophie Dervaux & Mozarteumorchester Salzburg - Vanhal: Concerto in C Major

Weitere Veröffentlichungen von Ragnhild Hemsing

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com