Teach me! The students of Nadia Boulanger is the Boulanger Trio’s first CD on the Berlin Classics label, an album dedicated to the trio’s eponymous heroine. The three musicians present music by Bernstein, Piazzolla and Françaix alongside Quincy Jones, Aaron Copland and Philip Glass. The works are very varied in style, yet a common bond unites their composers: they were all students of Nadia Boulanger. Boulanger’s special personality as a teacher and her charismatic engagement as a source of inspiration for composers from all over the world lie at the heart of this album.

Would Piazzolla have ever discovered Tango nuevo without Nadia Boulanger? What form would Philip Glass’s repetitive structures have taken, and would West Side Story have turned out as we know it today? Generations of music-makers were influenced by Nadia Boulanger, who supported them in their quest to evolve their own personal style. She composed no works of note, nor did she write a guide to composition or harmony. Her work focused on her relationship with her students, on exchange of ideas with them and conversations with them.

“Nadia Boulanger, my former teacher in Paris, used to tell me, ‘Quincy, there are only 12 notes, & until God gives us 13, I want you to know what everybody did with those 12. Bach, Beethoven, Bo Diddley, everybody … it’s the same 12 notes!!’,” recalls Quincy Jones.

The repertoire of this album is wide-ranging and imaginative. The Trio pour violon, violoncelle et piano (1986) by Jean Françaix rubs shoulders with the well-known Cuatros Estaciones Porteñas by Astor Piazzolla. The melodious love song Maria from Leonard Bernstein’s celebrated musical West Side Story is side by side with Philip Glass’s repetitive Head On. Other musical excursions whirl listeners away to the avant-garde with Aaron Copland’s Vitebsk – Study on a Jewish Theme (1929) before landing them in film music with the main title theme to the film The Color Purple by Quincy Jones.

Teach me! takes its audience on many and varied musical journeys, in which Nadia Boulanger played a substantial part. “We aim in this album to pay tribute to the unique achievement of Nadia Boulanger,” says the Boulanger Trio. It is abundantly clear that they have succeeded.

Teach Me! Boulanger Trio & Karla Haltenwanger

Artist

Karla Haltenwanger

Composer

Aaron Copland

Astor Piazzolla

Jean Françaix

Leonard Bernstein

Philip Glass

Further information

Genre

Klassik - Instrumental

Publication date:

05.03.2021



Teach me! The students of Nadia Boulanger is the Boulanger Trio’s first CD on the Berlin Classics label, an album dedicated to the trio’s eponymous heroine. The three musicians present music by Bernstein, Piazzolla and Françaix alongside Quincy Jones, Aaron Copland and Philip Glass. The works are very varied in style, yet a common bond unites their composers: they were all students of Nadia Boulanger. Boulanger’s special personality as a teacher and her charismatic engagement as a source of inspiration for composers from all over the world lie at the heart of this album.

Would Piazzolla have ever discovered Tango nuevo without Nadia Boulanger? What form would Philip Glass’s repetitive structures have taken, and would West Side Story have turned out as we know it today? Generations of music-makers were influenced by Nadia Boulanger, who supported them in their quest to evolve their own personal style. She composed no works of note, nor did she write a guide to composition or harmony. Her work focused on her relationship with her students, on exchange of ideas with them and conversations with them.

“Nadia Boulanger, my former teacher in Paris, used to tell me, ‘Quincy, there are only 12 notes, & until God gives us 13, I want you to know what everybody did with those 12. Bach, Beethoven, Bo Diddley, everybody ... it’s the same 12 notes!!’,” recalls Quincy Jones.

The repertoire of this album is wide-ranging and imaginative. The Trio pour violon, violoncelle et piano (1986) by Jean Françaix rubs shoulders with the well-known Cuatros Estaciones Porteñas by Astor Piazzolla. The melodious love song Maria from Leonard Bernstein’s celebrated musical West Side Story is side by side with Philip Glass’s repetitive Head On. Other musical excursions whirl listeners away to the avant-garde with Aaron Copland’s Vitebsk – Study on a Jewish Theme (1929) before landing them in film music with the main title theme to the film The Color Purple by Quincy Jones.

Teach me! takes its audience on many and varied musical journeys, in which Nadia Boulanger played a substantial part. “We aim in this album to pay tribute to the unique achievement of Nadia Boulanger,” says the Boulanger Trio. It is abundantly clear that they have succeeded.

Tracklist - These are the tracks you will hear on the album

Teach Me!
Boulanger Trio & Karla Haltenwanger
1 Trio pour violon, violoncelle et piano (1986): I. -
2 Trio pour violon, violoncelle et piano (1986): II. Scherzando
3 Trio pour violon, violoncelle et piano (1986): III. Andante
4 Trio pour violon, violoncelle et piano (1986): IV. Allegrissimo
5 West Side Story: Maria. Slowly and freely - Moderato con Anima
6 Vitebsk - Study a Jewish Theme (1929)
7 Head On (1967)
8 Las Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas: Primavera Porteña
9 Las Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas: Verano Porteño
10 Las Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas: Otoño Porteño
11 Las Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas: Invierno Porteño
12 Main Title from The Color Purple

More videos from Boulanger Trio & Karla Haltenwanger

previous
next
Quincy Jones - Main Title from
Teach me! The Students of Nadia Boulanger - Boulanger Trio (Official Album Trailer)

Other publications by Boulanger Trio & Karla Haltenwanger

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Mit Teach me! The students of Nadia Boulanger veröffentlicht das Boulanger Trio sein erstes Album beim Label Berlin Classics. Gewidmet ist das Album der Namensgeberin des Trios. Die Musikerinnen präsentieren Musik von Bernstein, Piazzolla und Françaix sowie Quincy Jones, Copland und Philip Glass. Stilistisch sind die Werke sehr verschieden, die Komponisten jedoch haben eines gemeinsam: sie alle waren Studenten von Nadia Boulanger. Boulangers besondere Persönlichkeit als Lehrende und ihr charismatischer Einsatz als Inspirationsquelle für KomponistInnen aus der ganzen Welt stellen den Mittelpunkt dieses Albums dar.

Hätte Piazzolla ohne Nadia Boulanger den Weg zum Tango nuevo gefunden? Wie klängen Philip Glass‘ repetitive Strukturen, und wäre die berühmte West Side Story in der uns bekannten Form entstanden? Generationen von Musikschaffenden wurden von Nadia Boulanger beeinflusst und dabei unterstützt, ihren ganz persönlichen Stil zu finden. Sie selbst hinterließ weder ein umfangreiches kompositorisches Werk, noch schrieb sie eine Kompositions- oder Harmonielehre. Im Zentrum ihrer Tätigkeit stand die Beziehung zu den SchülerInnen, der Austausch und die Gespräche mit ihnen.

“Nadia Boulanger, my former teacher in Paris, used to tell me, ‘Quincy, there are only 12 notes, & until God gives us 13, I want you to know what everybody did with those 12. Bach, Beethoven, Bo Diddley, everybody … it’s the same 12 notes!!’”, erinnert sich Quincy Jones an ihre Ratschläge.

Das Repertoire dieses Albums ist vielseitig und abwechslungsreich. Neben dem Trio pour violon, violoncelle et piano (1986) von Jean Françaix sind die bekannten Cuatros Estaciones Porteñas von Piazzolla zu hören. Das melodische Liebeslied Maria aus der berühmten West Side Story von Bernstein steht neben dem repetitiven Head On von Philip Glass. Weitere musikalische Ausflüge machen die Zuhörenden mit Coplands Vitebsk – Study on a Jewish Theme (1929) in die Avantgarde bis sie mit dem Main Title von The Color Purple von Quincy Jones in der Filmmusik landen.

Teach me! nimmt seine Hörenden auf ganz vielfältige und anregende musikalische Reisen mit, die von Nadia Boulanger maßgeblich geprägt wurden. „Mit diesem Album möchten wir die einzigartige Arbeit Nadia Boulangers würdigen“, sagt das Boulanger Trio. Das ist ihnen wahrlich gelungen.

Teach Me! Boulanger Trio & Karla Haltenwanger

Künstler

Karla Haltenwanger

Komponisten

Aaron Copland

Astor Piazzolla

Jean Françaix

Leonard Bernstein

Philip Glass

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Klassik - Instrumental

Erscheinungsdatum:

05.03.2021



Mit Teach me! The students of Nadia Boulanger veröffentlicht das Boulanger Trio sein erstes Album beim Label Berlin Classics. Gewidmet ist das Album der Namensgeberin des Trios. Die Musikerinnen präsentieren Musik von Bernstein, Piazzolla und Françaix sowie Quincy Jones, Copland und Philip Glass. Stilistisch sind die Werke sehr verschieden, die Komponisten jedoch haben eines gemeinsam: sie alle waren Studenten von Nadia Boulanger. Boulangers besondere Persönlichkeit als Lehrende und ihr charismatischer Einsatz als Inspirationsquelle für KomponistInnen aus der ganzen Welt stellen den Mittelpunkt dieses Albums dar.

Hätte Piazzolla ohne Nadia Boulanger den Weg zum Tango nuevo gefunden? Wie klängen Philip Glass‘ repetitive Strukturen, und wäre die berühmte West Side Story in der uns bekannten Form entstanden? Generationen von Musikschaffenden wurden von Nadia Boulanger beeinflusst und dabei unterstützt, ihren ganz persönlichen Stil zu finden. Sie selbst hinterließ weder ein umfangreiches kompositorisches Werk, noch schrieb sie eine Kompositions- oder Harmonielehre. Im Zentrum ihrer Tätigkeit stand die Beziehung zu den SchülerInnen, der Austausch und die Gespräche mit ihnen.

“Nadia Boulanger, my former teacher in Paris, used to tell me, ‘Quincy, there are only 12 notes, & until God gives us 13, I want you to know what everybody did with those 12. Bach, Beethoven, Bo Diddley, everybody ... it’s the same 12 notes!!’”, erinnert sich Quincy Jones an ihre Ratschläge.

Das Repertoire dieses Albums ist vielseitig und abwechslungsreich. Neben dem Trio pour violon, violoncelle et piano (1986) von Jean Françaix sind die bekannten Cuatros Estaciones Porteñas von Piazzolla zu hören. Das melodische Liebeslied Maria aus der berühmten West Side Story von Bernstein steht neben dem repetitiven Head On von Philip Glass. Weitere musikalische Ausflüge machen die Zuhörenden mit Coplands Vitebsk – Study on a Jewish Theme (1929) in die Avantgarde bis sie mit dem Main Title von The Color Purple von Quincy Jones in der Filmmusik landen.

Teach me! nimmt seine Hörenden auf ganz vielfältige und anregende musikalische Reisen mit, die von Nadia Boulanger maßgeblich geprägt wurden. „Mit diesem Album möchten wir die einzigartige Arbeit Nadia Boulangers würdigen“, sagt das Boulanger Trio. Das ist ihnen wahrlich gelungen.

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

Teach Me!
Boulanger Trio & Karla Haltenwanger
1 Trio pour violon, violoncelle et piano (1986): I. -
2 Trio pour violon, violoncelle et piano (1986): II. Scherzando
3 Trio pour violon, violoncelle et piano (1986): III. Andante
4 Trio pour violon, violoncelle et piano (1986): IV. Allegrissimo
5 West Side Story: Maria. Slowly and freely - Moderato con Anima
6 Vitebsk - Study a Jewish Theme (1929)
7 Head On (1967)
8 Las Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas: Primavera Porteña
9 Las Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas: Verano Porteño
10 Las Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas: Otoño Porteño
11 Las Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas: Invierno Porteño
12 Main Title from The Color Purple

Weitere Videos von Boulanger Trio & Karla Haltenwanger

zurück
weiter
Quincy Jones - Main Title from
Teach me! The Students of Nadia Boulanger - Boulanger Trio (Official Album Trailer)

Weitere Veröffentlichungen von Boulanger Trio & Karla Haltenwanger

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}