With “O Nata Lux”, The Zurich Chamber Singers under the baton of Christian Erny release an album of Christmas choral music that stands out from purely liturgical Christmas albums while at the same time focusing on the core of the Christmas message. A musically diverse album with motets and songs from five centuries.

According to the famous German Christmas carol “Es ist ein Ros’ entsprungen”, Jesus was born “in the cold midwinter, in the middle of the night”. The light that disperses the cold and darkness is a central topic of Christmastide art and music, and an element of many winter-time traditions the world over. At Christmas, Christians celebrate the redemption of mankind at a time of darkness, expressed through the imagery of light. With their new album entitled “O nata lux”, the Zurich Chamber Singers highlight this symbolism as it has been represented for many centuries in the western art music tradition.

Following the chronology of the Advent and Christmas season, the album ranges from Renaissance works by Osiander, Tallis and Praetorius to song settings by Bach, Holst and Britten and contemporary works by Marcus Paus (with marimba) and Rhiannon Randle. Her work commissioned in 2018 by the Zurich Chamber Singers, has close musical ties with Tallis’s work from over four hundred years earlier. Written in memory of her grandmother, Randle’s choral work is at times meditatively introverted, then again self-assured with consolation and confidence.

Through the different tonal languages, the young Swiss ensemble illuminates the various aspects of the Advent and Christmas season. The range extends from the clear and haunting simplicity of a hymn to Brucknerian sonority and the interesting combination of deep marimba tremolos with the choir’s wavy, effervescent chord layers.

A combination of intense voice work, innovative programme concepts and modern presentation have drawn increasing attention to the vocal ensemble ever since it was founded in 2015. Christian Erny studied at the Zurich University of the Arts, the Jacobs School of Music in Bloomington (USA), Hochschule Luzern and as a scholarship holder at the Jiri Hlinka Piano Academy in Bergen (Norway). He studied orchestral conducting with Howard Arman and Christof Brunner, choral conducting with Markus Utz and piano with Hans-Jürg Strub, Jean-Louis Haguenauer, Leif Ove Andsnes and Eldar Nebolsin.

O Nata Lux The Zurich Chamber Singers & Christian Erny

Composer

Benjamin Britten

Gustav Holst

Hieronymus Praetorius

Johann Sebastian Bach

Lukas Osiander

Further information

Genre

Klassik

Publication date:

13.11.2020



With "O Nata Lux", The Zurich Chamber Singers under the baton of Christian Erny release an album of Christmas choral music that stands out from purely liturgical Christmas albums while at the same time focusing on the core of the Christmas message. A musically diverse album with motets and songs from five centuries.

According to the famous German Christmas carol “Es ist ein Ros’ entsprungen”, Jesus was born “in the cold midwinter, in the middle of the night”. The light that disperses the cold and darkness is a central topic of Christmastide art and music, and an element of many winter-time traditions the world over. At Christmas, Christians celebrate the redemption of mankind at a time of darkness, expressed through the imagery of light. With their new album entitled “O nata lux”, the Zurich Chamber Singers highlight this symbolism as it has been represented for many centuries in the western art music tradition.

Following the chronology of the Advent and Christmas season, the album ranges from Renaissance works by Osiander, Tallis and Praetorius to song settings by Bach, Holst and Britten and contemporary works by Marcus Paus (with marimba) and Rhiannon Randle. Her work commissioned in 2018 by the Zurich Chamber Singers, has close musical ties with Tallis’s work from over four hundred years earlier. Written in memory of her grandmother, Randle’s choral work is at times meditatively introverted, then again self-assured with consolation and confidence.

Through the different tonal languages, the young Swiss ensemble illuminates the various aspects of the Advent and Christmas season. The range extends from the clear and haunting simplicity of a hymn to Brucknerian sonority and the interesting combination of deep marimba tremolos with the choir's wavy, effervescent chord layers.

A combination of intense voice work, innovative programme concepts and modern presentation have drawn increasing attention to the vocal ensemble ever since it was founded in 2015. Christian Erny studied at the Zurich University of the Arts, the Jacobs School of Music in Bloomington (USA), Hochschule Luzern and as a scholarship holder at the Jiri Hlinka Piano Academy in Bergen (Norway). He studied orchestral conducting with Howard Arman and Christof Brunner, choral conducting with Markus Utz and piano with Hans-Jürg Strub, Jean-Louis Haguenauer, Leif Ove Andsnes and Eldar Nebolsin.

More videos from The Zurich Chamber Singers & Christian Erny

previous
next
Domenico Scarlatti: Stabat Mater | The Zurich Chamber Singers, Christian Erny
The Zurich Chamber Singers - Scarlatti (Official Album Trailer)
Benjamin Britten: A Hymn to the Virgin | The Zurich Chamber Singers, Christian Erny
The Zurich Chamber Singers - Nous étions trois bergerettes (Official Music Video) | O Nata Lux
The Zurich Chamber Singers - O Nata Lux (Official Album Trailer)
The Zurich Chamber Singers - O Nata Lux [FULL ALBUM STREAM]
Stabat mater: VI. Fac me vere tecum flere
Stabat mater: I. Stabat mater
Stabat mater: VII. Juxta crucem
Stabat mater: IX. Fac ut animae
Stabat mater: II. Cujus animam gementem
Stabat mater: III. Quis non posset

Other publications by The Zurich Chamber Singers & Christian Erny

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com

Mit „O Nata Lux“ veröffentlichen The Zurich Chamber Singers unter der Leitung von Christian Erny ihr Debut-Album bei Berlin Classics. Entstanden ist ein vielgestaltiges Album mit Strophenliedern und Motetten aus fünf Jahrhunderten, das sich von rein liturgischen Weihnachtsalben abhebt. Gleichzeitig besinnt sich „O Nata Lux“ auf den Kern der weihnachtlichen Botschaft.

„Mitten im kalten Winter, wohl zu der halben Nacht“ sei Jesus geboren, so singt man im Weihnachtslied „Es ist ein Ros’ entsprungen“. An Weihnachten feiern Christen die Erlösung der Menschheit durch die Geburt Jesu – ein Symbol des Lichts -, welche mitten in der Dunkelheit geschieht. Das Licht, das durch die Kälte und Dunkelheit dringt, ist ein zentrales Sujet der weihnachtlichen Kunst und Musik und Teil vieler winterlicher Traditionen auf der ganzen Welt. Mit „O nata lux“ widmen sich die Zurich Chamber Singers diesem Symbol, wie es seit Jahrhunderten in der westlichen Kunstmusik klanglich erlebbar wird.

Der Chronologie der Adventszeit folgend erstreckt sich das Album von Renaissance-Werken von Osiander, Tallis und Praetorius über Liedvertonungen von Bach, Holst und Britten bis zu zeitgenössischen Werken von Marcus Paus (mit Marimba) und Rhiannon Randle. Letztere schrieb ein Auftragswerk, entstanden im Jahr 2018 für die Zurich Chamber Singers, das enge musikalische Bezüge zu Tallis‘ über vierhundert Jahre früher komponiertem Stück „O nata lux“ hat. Dem Gedenken an ihre Großmutter gewidmet, ist Randles Motette ein manchmal meditativ-introvertiertes, dann mit Trost und Zuversicht selbstbewusstes Chorstück.

Durch die unterschiedlichen Tonsprachen beleuchtet das junge Schweizer Ensemble die verschiedenen Aspekte der Advents- und Weihnachtszeit. Die Spannweite reicht von der klaren und eindringlichen Einfachheit eines Offiziumshymnus über brucknersche Klanglichkeit bis zur interessanten Kombination tiefer Marimba-Tremoli mit wellig aufbrausenden Akkordschichtungen des Chors.

Mit einer Kombination aus hochstehender stimmlicher Arbeit, innovativen Programmkonzepten und einem modernen Auftritt macht das Vokalensemble seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 2015 zunehmend auf sich aufmerksam. Christian Erny studierte an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste, der Jacobs School of Music in Bloomington (USA), der Hochschule Luzern und als Stipendiat an der Jiri Hlinka Piano Academy in Bergen (NO). Weitere Studientätigkeiten im Fach Orchesterdirigieren führten ihn zu Howard Arman und Christof Brunner, Chordirigieren zu Markus Utz sowie Klavier zu Hans-Jürg Strub, Jean-Louis Haguenauer, Leif Ove Andsnes und Eldar Nebolsin.

O Nata Lux The Zurich Chamber Singers & Christian Erny

Künstler

Christian Erny

Komponisten

Benjamin Britten

Gustav Holst

Johann Sebastian Bach

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Klassische Weihnachtsmusik

Erscheinungsdatum:

13.11.2020



Mit „O Nata Lux“ veröffentlichen The Zurich Chamber Singers unter der Leitung von Christian Erny ihr Debut-Album bei Berlin Classics. Entstanden ist ein vielgestaltiges Album mit Strophenliedern und Motetten aus fünf Jahrhunderten, das sich von rein liturgischen Weihnachtsalben abhebt. Gleichzeitig besinnt sich „O Nata Lux“ auf den Kern der weihnachtlichen Botschaft.

„Mitten im kalten Winter, wohl zu der halben Nacht“ sei Jesus geboren, so singt man im Weihnachtslied „Es ist ein Ros’ entsprungen“. An Weihnachten feiern Christen die Erlösung der Menschheit durch die Geburt Jesu - ein Symbol des Lichts -, welche mitten in der Dunkelheit geschieht. Das Licht, das durch die Kälte und Dunkelheit dringt, ist ein zentrales Sujet der weihnachtlichen Kunst und Musik und Teil vieler winterlicher Traditionen auf der ganzen Welt. Mit „O nata lux“ widmen sich die Zurich Chamber Singers diesem Symbol, wie es seit Jahrhunderten in der westlichen Kunstmusik klanglich erlebbar wird.

Der Chronologie der Adventszeit folgend erstreckt sich das Album von Renaissance-Werken von Osiander, Tallis und Praetorius über Liedvertonungen von Bach, Holst und Britten bis zu zeitgenössischen Werken von Marcus Paus (mit Marimba) und Rhiannon Randle. Letztere schrieb ein Auftragswerk, entstanden im Jahr 2018 für die Zurich Chamber Singers, das enge musikalische Bezüge zu Tallis‘ über vierhundert Jahre früher komponiertem Stück „O nata lux“ hat. Dem Gedenken an ihre Großmutter gewidmet, ist Randles Motette ein manchmal meditativ-introvertiertes, dann mit Trost und Zuversicht selbstbewusstes Chorstück.

Durch die unterschiedlichen Tonsprachen beleuchtet das junge Schweizer Ensemble die verschiedenen Aspekte der Advents- und Weihnachtszeit. Die Spannweite reicht von der klaren und eindringlichen Einfachheit eines Offiziumshymnus über brucknersche Klanglichkeit bis zur interessanten Kombination tiefer Marimba-Tremoli mit wellig aufbrausenden Akkordschichtungen des Chors.

Mit einer Kombination aus hochstehender stimmlicher Arbeit, innovativen Programmkonzepten und einem modernen Auftritt macht das Vokalensemble seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 2015 zunehmend auf sich aufmerksam. Christian Erny studierte an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste, der Jacobs School of Music in Bloomington (USA), der Hochschule Luzern und als Stipendiat an der Jiri Hlinka Piano Academy in Bergen (NO). Weitere Studientätigkeiten im Fach Orchesterdirigieren führten ihn zu Howard Arman und Christof Brunner, Chordirigieren zu Markus Utz sowie Klavier zu Hans-Jürg Strub, Jean-Louis Haguenauer, Leif Ove Andsnes und Eldar Nebolsin.

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

O Nata Lux
The Zurich Chamber Singers & Christian Erny
1 O nata lux
2 Maria durch ein Dornwald ging
3 Nun komm der Heiden Heiland
4 Es ist ein Ros' entsprungen
5 O nata lux
6 Quittez vos houlettes
7 O nuit brillante
8 Nous étions trois bergerettes
9 A Hymn to the Virgin
10 O Jesulein süß, o Jesulein mild, BWV 493
11 Ich steh an deiner Krippen hier, BWV 469
12 Wiegenlied der Hirten
13 O magnum mysterium
14 O magnum mysterium
15 Magnificat quinti toni alio modo cum Canticis Ecclesiastici
16 In the Bleak Midwinter

Weitere Videos von The Zurich Chamber Singers & Christian Erny

zurück
weiter
Domenico Scarlatti: Stabat Mater | The Zurich Chamber Singers, Christian Erny
The Zurich Chamber Singers - Scarlatti (Official Album Trailer)
Benjamin Britten: A Hymn to the Virgin | The Zurich Chamber Singers, Christian Erny
The Zurich Chamber Singers - Nous étions trois bergerettes (Official Music Video) | O Nata Lux
The Zurich Chamber Singers - O Nata Lux (Official Album Trailer)
The Zurich Chamber Singers - O Nata Lux [FULL ALBUM STREAM]
Stabat mater: VI. Fac me vere tecum flere
Stabat mater: I. Stabat mater
Stabat mater: VII. Juxta crucem
Stabat mater: IX. Fac ut animae
Stabat mater: II. Cujus animam gementem
Stabat mater: III. Quis non posset

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}