On his new album “The Trumpets of Matthias Höfs” trumpeter Matthias Höfs gives an insight into his private trumpet collection. In the course of his career he has not only collected a large number of modern trumpets, but also historical models which he even partly reconstructed himself. “The gigantic variety of trumpet instruments has always fascinated me,” says Höfs. “There is hardly any other instrument that is so versatile in sound and expression combined with this enormous dynamic range and possibilities”. In cooperation with the Bremen wind instrument manufacturer Thein Brass, a treasure chest of over 30 different instruments has been collected over the years, which Matthias Höfs opens for this album. Meanwhile he plays exclusively on the trumpets he helped develop. “We are constantly trying to improve the intonation and trick the physics in the process, to test the sound characteristics of the most diverse materials and alloys and to make the instruments even easier to play. Every time it is like Christmas for me, when the instrument is then freshly shining and ready for the first concerts. For me it is a great luck to have these possibilities. When composers are interested in it and compose for special instruments, it’s fantastic!”

The beginnings of the album as well as Höfs’ history of the trumpet lie in the Baroque period and in Handel’s most famous trumpet aria “The Trumpet Shall Sound”. Despite the few natural tones of the baroque trumpet, Handel creates a harmonious musical statement. Matthias Höfs shines with a rare keyed trumpet in Haydn’s Trumpet Concerto, in which the composer plays interestingly with the louder natural and the soft keyed tones, especially in the 2nd movement. Höfs demonstrates the special features of the cornet in an arrangement of Glazunov’s Albumblatt (1899), and with his colleagues from German Brass, with whom he has toured the world for decades, he lets the Aida trumpet shine in Verdi’s Triumphal March. Also with German Brass, he performs the arrangement of the 2nd movement of Marcello’s Oboe Concert on the so-called piccolo valve trumpet in high Bb/A, whose agility invites you to embellish the melodies. The unique combination of harp and descant horn and later in the piece piccolo trumpet is presented in Matthias Höfs’ arrangement of “Pavane pour une infante défunte”, in which Ravel’s sound conception is transferred into a miniature.

With three works of the 20th century Höfs enters the here and now: Skalkottas’ Concertino for trumpet and piano and André Jolivet’s Concertino for trumpet, piano and strings make full use of the possibilities of modern trumpets. Sections with march-like formulas, triplet tongues, delicate lyricism and gripping ascents to the highest heights – a compendium of all the technical elements necessary to master the instrument. Wolf Kerschek’s “Poem for Matthias” for flugelhorn, jazz trio and string quartet, whose calm melodic arcs, enriched by expressive jazz elements, bring out the soft elements of the flugelhorn, form the conclusion of this exciting album.

The Trumpets of Matthias Höfs Matthias Höfs

Composer

Andre Jolivet

Franz Joseph Haydn

Maurice Ravel

Further information

Genre

Klassik

Publication date:

30.10.2020



On his new album "The Trumpets of Matthias Höfs" trumpeter Matthias Höfs gives an insight into his private trumpet collection. In the course of his career he has not only collected a large number of modern trumpets, but also historical models which he even partly reconstructed himself. "The gigantic variety of trumpet instruments has always fascinated me," says Höfs. "There is hardly any other instrument that is so versatile in sound and expression combined with this enormous dynamic range and possibilities". In cooperation with the Bremen wind instrument manufacturer Thein Brass, a treasure chest of over 30 different instruments has been collected over the years, which Matthias Höfs opens for this album. Meanwhile he plays exclusively on the trumpets he helped develop. "We are constantly trying to improve the intonation and trick the physics in the process, to test the sound characteristics of the most diverse materials and alloys and to make the instruments even easier to play. Every time it is like Christmas for me, when the instrument is then freshly shining and ready for the first concerts. For me it is a great luck to have these possibilities. When composers are interested in it and compose for special instruments, it's fantastic!”

The beginnings of the album as well as Höfs' history of the trumpet lie in the Baroque period and in Handel's most famous trumpet aria "The Trumpet Shall Sound". Despite the few natural tones of the baroque trumpet, Handel creates a harmonious musical statement. Matthias Höfs shines with a rare keyed trumpet in Haydn's Trumpet Concerto, in which the composer plays interestingly with the louder natural and the soft keyed tones, especially in the 2nd movement. Höfs demonstrates the special features of the cornet in an arrangement of Glazunov's Albumblatt (1899), and with his colleagues from German Brass, with whom he has toured the world for decades, he lets the Aida trumpet shine in Verdi's Triumphal March. Also with German Brass, he performs the arrangement of the 2nd movement of Marcello’s Oboe Concert on the so-called piccolo valve trumpet in high Bb/A, whose agility invites you to embellish the melodies. The unique combination of harp and descant horn and later in the piece piccolo trumpet is presented in Matthias Höfs' arrangement of "Pavane pour une infante défunte", in which Ravel's sound conception is transferred into a miniature.

With three works of the 20th century Höfs enters the here and now: Skalkottas' Concertino for trumpet and piano and André Jolivet's Concertino for trumpet, piano and strings make full use of the possibilities of modern trumpets. Sections with march-like formulas, triplet tongues, delicate lyricism and gripping ascents to the highest heights - a compendium of all the technical elements necessary to master the instrument. Wolf Kerschek's "Poem for Matthias" for flugelhorn, jazz trio and string quartet, whose calm melodic arcs, enriched by expressive jazz elements, bring out the soft elements of the flugelhorn, form the conclusion of this exciting album.

Tracklist - These are the tracks you will hear on the album

The Trumpets of Matthias Höfs
Matthias Höfs
1 Messiah, HWV 56: "The Trumpet Shall Sound"
2 Trumpet Concerto in E-Flat Major, Hob.VIIe:1: I. Allegro
3 Trumpet Concerto in E-Flat Major, Hob.VIIe:1: II. Andante
4 Trumpet Concerto in E-Flat Major, Hob.VIIe:1: III. Finale. Allegro
5 Album Leaf (1899) [Arr. For Cornet and Chamber Orchestra]
6 Aida: Triumphal March (Arr. For Brass Ensemble)
7 Pavane pour une infante défunte (Arr. for Trumpet and Harp)
8 Oboe Concerto in D Minor: II. Adagio
9 Concertino for Trumpet and Piano
10 Concertino for Trumpet, Piano and Strings (1948)
11 Poem for Matthias for Flügelhorn, Jazz Trio and String Quartet (2008)

More videos from Matthias Höfs

previous
next
Matthias Höfs - G. F. Händel: Sonate in F-Dur, Op. 1, HWV 369
Matthias Höfs - Der Mond ist aufgegangen (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Matthias Höfs - Festive Trumpets for Christmas (Offizieller Albumtrailer)
Matthias Höfs: Händel - Sonate in F-Dur, Op. 1, Nr. 11, HWV 369: II. Allegro
Matthias Höfs, Nils Landgren & JazzHall Large Ensemble - Summertime -- call for donations
Matthias Höfs & Ensemble - W. A. Mozart: Quartet F major No. 30, KV 370 - call for donations
Matthias Höfs & Ensemble - Erik Morales: The North Star Suite (Bach-Weihnachtsoratorium/ Trompete)
Matthias Höfs - Jubilee | Trumpet Music Video feat. 60 Students All Around The World | Wolf Kerschek
Matthias Höfs - Ravel: Pavane pour une infante défunte | Arr. for Trumpet & Harp w/Anaëlle Tourret
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret - La Luna sobre la Llanura (Wolf Kerschek) | Trumpet & Harp
Tillmann & Matthias Höfs: Max Bruch, Acht Stücke, op. 83: II. Allegro con moto | Horn & Trompete
Tillmann & Matthias Höfs: Bruch, Acht Stücke, op. 83: I. Andante (arr. für Horn und Trompete)
Matthias Höfs: Trumpet Excerpts - Fantasy (Stephan Peiffer) - Split Screen Music Video
The Trumpets of Matthias Höfs (Official Album Trailer)
Matthias Höfs Brass Project: Beethoven for Brass (Offizieller Trailer)

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Trompeter Matthias Höfs gibt auf seinem neuen Album „The Trumpets of Matthias Höfs“ einen Einblick in seine private Trompetensammlung. Im Laufe seiner Karriere hat er nicht nur eine große Menge an modernen Trompeten, sondern auch historische Modelle angesammelt, teilweise rekonstruiert und sogar neue Bauweisen vorangetrieben. „Schon immer hat mich die gigantische Vielfalt der Trompeteninstrumente fasziniert“, sagt Höfs. „Es gibt kaum ein Instrument, dass so vielseitig im Klang und Ausdruck ist verbunden mit dieser enormen dynamischen Bandbreite und Möglichkeiten.“ In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Bremer Blasinstrumentenhersteller Thein Brass entstand so über die Jahre eine Schatzkiste mit über 30 verschiedenen Instrumenten, die Matthias Höfs für dieses Album öffnet. Mittlerweile spielt er ausschließlich auf den von ihm mitentwickelten Trompeten. „Wir versuchen die Intonation immer weiter zu verbessern und die Physik dabei auszutricksen, die Klangeigenschaften unterschiedlichster Materialien und Legierungen zu erproben und die Instrumente noch leichter spielbar zu machen. Jedesmal ist es wie Weihnachten für mich, wenn das Instrument dann frisch glänzend für die ersten Konzerte zur Verfügung steht. Für mich ist das ein großes Glück, diese Möglichkeiten zu haben. Wenn dann auch noch Komponisten sich dafür interessieren und für spezielle Instrumente komponieren, ist das fantastisch!“

Die Anfänge des Albums sowie Höfs‘ Geschichte der Trompete liegen im Barock und in Händels berühmtester Trompetenarie „The Trumpet Shall Sound“. Trotz der wenigen Naturtöne der Barocktrompete gestaltet Händel eine stimmige musikalische Aussage. Mit einer seltenen Klappentrompete brilliert Matthias Höfs in Haydns Trompetenkonzert, in dem der Komponist besonders im 2. Satz interessant mit den lauten Natur- und leisen Klappentönen spielt. Die Besonderheiten des Kornetts zeigt Höfs in einer Bearbeitung von Glazunovs Albumblatt (1899) auf, und mit seinen Kollegen von German Brass, mit denen er seit Jahrzehnten um die Welt tourt, lässt er die Aida-Trompete in Verdis Triumphmarsch erschallen. Ebenso mit German Brass führt er die sogenannte Piccolo-Ventiltrompete in Hoch-B/A vor, deren Wendigkeit gerade dazu einlädt, die Melodien zu verzieren. Die einzigartige Kombination von Harfe und Diskanthorn, später Piccolotrompete, wird in Matthias Höfs‘ Bearbeitung der „Pavane pour une infante défunte“ vorgestellt, in der die Klangvorstellung Ravels in eine Miniatur übertragen wird.

Mit drei Werken des 20. Jahrhunderts begibt sich Höfs ins Hier und Jetzt: Skalkottas‘ Concertino für Trompete und Klavier und André Jolivets Concertino für Trompete, Klavier und Streicher nutzen die Möglichkeiten moderner Trompeten vollständig aus. Abschnitte mit marschartigen Formeln, Triolenzungen, zarte Lyrik und packende Steigerungen bis in die höchsten Höhen – ein Kompendium aller notwendigen technischen Elemente zur Beherrschung des Instruments. Wolf Kerscheks „Poem for Matthias“ für Flügelhorn, Jazz Trio und Streichquartett, dessen durch ausdrucksstarke Jazzelemente angereicherte, ruhige Melodiebögen die weichen Elemente des Flügelhorns zur Geltung bringen, bilden den Abschluss dieses spannenden Albums.

The Trumpets of Matthias Höfs Matthias Höfs

Künstler

Komponisten

Andre Jolivet

Franz Joseph Haydn

Maurice Ravel

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Klassik

Erscheinungsdatum:

30.10.2020



Trompeter Matthias Höfs gibt auf seinem neuen Album „The Trumpets of Matthias Höfs“ einen Einblick in seine private Trompetensammlung. Im Laufe seiner Karriere hat er nicht nur eine große Menge an modernen Trompeten, sondern auch historische Modelle angesammelt, teilweise rekonstruiert und sogar neue Bauweisen vorangetrieben. „Schon immer hat mich die gigantische Vielfalt der Trompeteninstrumente fasziniert“, sagt Höfs. „Es gibt kaum ein Instrument, dass so vielseitig im Klang und Ausdruck ist verbunden mit dieser enormen dynamischen Bandbreite und Möglichkeiten.“ In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Bremer Blasinstrumentenhersteller Thein Brass entstand so über die Jahre eine Schatzkiste mit über 30 verschiedenen Instrumenten, die Matthias Höfs für dieses Album öffnet. Mittlerweile spielt er ausschließlich auf den von ihm mitentwickelten Trompeten. „Wir versuchen die Intonation immer weiter zu verbessern und die Physik dabei auszutricksen, die Klangeigenschaften unterschiedlichster Materialien und Legierungen zu erproben und die Instrumente noch leichter spielbar zu machen. Jedesmal ist es wie Weihnachten für mich, wenn das Instrument dann frisch glänzend für die ersten Konzerte zur Verfügung steht. Für mich ist das ein großes Glück, diese Möglichkeiten zu haben. Wenn dann auch noch Komponisten sich dafür interessieren und für spezielle Instrumente komponieren, ist das fantastisch!“

Die Anfänge des Albums sowie Höfs‘ Geschichte der Trompete liegen im Barock und in Händels berühmtester Trompetenarie „The Trumpet Shall Sound“. Trotz der wenigen Naturtöne der Barocktrompete gestaltet Händel eine stimmige musikalische Aussage. Mit einer seltenen Klappentrompete brilliert Matthias Höfs in Haydns Trompetenkonzert, in dem der Komponist besonders im 2. Satz interessant mit den lauten Natur- und leisen Klappentönen spielt. Die Besonderheiten des Kornetts zeigt Höfs in einer Bearbeitung von Glazunovs Albumblatt (1899) auf, und mit seinen Kollegen von German Brass, mit denen er seit Jahrzehnten um die Welt tourt, lässt er die Aida-Trompete in Verdis Triumphmarsch erschallen. Ebenso mit German Brass führt er die sogenannte Piccolo-Ventiltrompete in Hoch-B/A vor, deren Wendigkeit gerade dazu einlädt, die Melodien zu verzieren. Die einzigartige Kombination von Harfe und Diskanthorn, später Piccolotrompete, wird in Matthias Höfs‘ Bearbeitung der „Pavane pour une infante défunte“ vorgestellt, in der die Klangvorstellung Ravels in eine Miniatur übertragen wird.

Mit drei Werken des 20. Jahrhunderts begibt sich Höfs ins Hier und Jetzt: Skalkottas‘ Concertino für Trompete und Klavier und André Jolivets Concertino für Trompete, Klavier und Streicher nutzen die Möglichkeiten moderner Trompeten vollständig aus. Abschnitte mit marschartigen Formeln, Triolenzungen, zarte Lyrik und packende Steigerungen bis in die höchsten Höhen – ein Kompendium aller notwendigen technischen Elemente zur Beherrschung des Instruments. Wolf Kerscheks „Poem for Matthias“ für Flügelhorn, Jazz Trio und Streichquartett, dessen durch ausdrucksstarke Jazzelemente angereicherte, ruhige Melodiebögen die weichen Elemente des Flügelhorns zur Geltung bringen, bilden den Abschluss dieses spannenden Albums.

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

The Trumpets of Matthias Höfs
Matthias Höfs
1 Messiah, HWV 56: "The Trumpet Shall Sound"
2 Trumpet Concerto in E-Flat Major, Hob.VIIe:1: I. Allegro
3 Trumpet Concerto in E-Flat Major, Hob.VIIe:1: II. Andante
4 Trumpet Concerto in E-Flat Major, Hob.VIIe:1: III. Finale. Allegro
5 Album Leaf (1899) [Arr. For Cornet and Chamber Orchestra]
6 Aida: Triumphal March (Arr. For Brass Ensemble)
7 Pavane pour une infante défunte (Arr. for Trumpet and Harp)
8 Oboe Concerto in D Minor: II. Adagio
9 Concertino for Trumpet and Piano
10 Concertino for Trumpet, Piano and Strings (1948)
11 Poem for Matthias for Flügelhorn, Jazz Trio and String Quartet (2008)

Weitere Videos von Matthias Höfs

zurück
weiter
Matthias Höfs - G. F. Händel: Sonate in F-Dur, Op. 1, HWV 369
Matthias Höfs - Der Mond ist aufgegangen (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Matthias Höfs - Festive Trumpets for Christmas (Offizieller Albumtrailer)
Matthias Höfs: Händel - Sonate in F-Dur, Op. 1, Nr. 11, HWV 369: II. Allegro
Matthias Höfs, Nils Landgren & JazzHall Large Ensemble - Summertime -- call for donations
Matthias Höfs & Ensemble - W. A. Mozart: Quartet F major No. 30, KV 370 - call for donations
Matthias Höfs & Ensemble - Erik Morales: The North Star Suite (Bach-Weihnachtsoratorium/ Trompete)
Matthias Höfs - Jubilee | Trumpet Music Video feat. 60 Students All Around The World | Wolf Kerschek
Matthias Höfs - Ravel: Pavane pour une infante défunte | Arr. for Trumpet & Harp w/Anaëlle Tourret
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret - La Luna sobre la Llanura (Wolf Kerschek) | Trumpet & Harp
Tillmann & Matthias Höfs: Max Bruch, Acht Stücke, op. 83: II. Allegro con moto | Horn & Trompete
Tillmann & Matthias Höfs: Bruch, Acht Stücke, op. 83: I. Andante (arr. für Horn und Trompete)
Matthias Höfs: Trumpet Excerpts - Fantasy (Stephan Peiffer) - Split Screen Music Video
The Trumpets of Matthias Höfs (Official Album Trailer)
Matthias Höfs Brass Project: Beethoven for Brass (Offizieller Trailer)

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}