After the three concept albums Landscapes, Intermezzo & Chiaroscuro, which among other prices were awarded with a German Record Critics’ Prize and an Opus Klassik, the world-famous Schumann Quartet dedicates itself to Franz Schubert – and 2 ½ of his string quartets.

The chronology of the album begins with Franz Schubert’s String Quartet in D major (No. 6, D. 74), which, as an early string quartet, stands for Schubert’s entry into this genre. He was now 16 years old, and his teachers included Antonio Salieri, whose name appears on the title-page. With Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven as his role models, Schubert was already looking for his own way forward, cautiously engaging in experiments in form and setting himself small composition assignments. It is no coincidence that he did this in the string quartet genre – which had become an indispensable feature of middle-class music-making.

It is followed – quasi as a work of the middle years – by the quartet movement in C minor. The Quartettsatz D. 703, usually played on its own, is followed by a second-movement Andante, a placid narrative. After forty bars, unfortunately, the music dries up, leaving the listener stranded. What are we to make of that? Why did Schubert stop work on a quartet that he had begun in 1820? We don’t know; obviously something else came up. Not for nothing are these years of Schubert’s life, plagued as they are by blind alleys and new directions, regularly described in the literature as his “crisis years”.

This is a slight challenge to the listener. Who would sit down to watch a film, knowing that it ends in the middle? And when Goethe described the string quartet as a “conversation between four intelligent people”, did he imagine the foursome suddenly struck dumb? What about the hidden narrative, with all its cross-references and contrasts, that will otherwise be found in such a work as this? However you play it, this Schubert string quartet remains unsatisfactory for the listener. Experiencing a work is something special – we must reconcile ourselves with the aesthetics of the unfinished. That too has its charm. The question is, how would the movement go on – a question to which we must think up the answer. Why not take a quiet moment and simply ponder it?

Apart from the Quartettsatz and its truncated second movement, Schubert wrote no more string quartets till 1824. One of the works: The String Quartet in A minor, D. 804 “Rosamunde”. The press hailed the “Rosamunde” as his “first-born” despite the 11 or 12 quartets that had preceded it; it remained the only one of Schubert’s fifteen quartets to be performed in the composer’s lifetime.

The three brothers Mark, Erik and Ken Schumann have been playing together since their earliest childhood. In 2012, they were joined by violist Liisa Randalu, who was born in the Estonian capital, Tallinn, and grew up in Karlsruhe, Germany. Those who experience the quartet in performance often remark on the strong connection between its members. The four musicians enjoy the way they communicate without words: how a single look suffices to convey how a particular member wants to play a particular passage. Although the individual personalities clearly manifest themselves, a common space arises in every musical work in a process of spiritual metamorphosis. The quartet’s openness and curiosity may be partly the result of the formative influence exerted on it by teachers such as Eberhard Feltz, the Alban Berg Quartet, or partners such as Menahem Pressler

Fragment Schumann Quartett

Komponisten

Franz Schubert

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Musik für Kammerensemble

Erscheinungsdatum:

14.08.2020



After the three concept albums Landscapes, Intermezzo & Chiaroscuro, which among other prices were awarded with a German Record Critics' Prize and an Opus Klassik, the world-famous Schumann Quartet dedicates itself to Franz Schubert - and 2 ½ of his string quartets.

The chronology of the album begins with Franz Schubert's String Quartet in D major (No. 6, D. 74), which, as an early string quartet, stands for Schubert's entry into this genre. He was now 16 years old, and his teachers included Antonio Salieri, whose name appears on the title-page. With Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven as his role models, Schubert was already looking for his own way forward, cautiously engaging in experiments in form and setting himself small composition assignments. It is no coincidence that he did this in the string quartet genre – which had become an indispensable feature of middle-class music-making.

It is followed - quasi as a work of the middle years - by the quartet movement in C minor. The Quartettsatz D. 703, usually played on its own, is followed by a second-movement Andante, a placid narrative. After forty bars, unfortunately, the music dries up, leaving the listener stranded. What are we to make of that? Why did Schubert stop work on a quartet that he had begun in 1820? We don’t know; obviously something else came up. Not for nothing are these years of Schubert’s life, plagued as they are by blind alleys and new directions, regularly described in the literature as his “crisis years”.

This is a slight challenge to the listener. Who would sit down to watch a film, knowing that it ends in the middle? And when Goethe described the string quartet as a “conversation between four intelligent people”, did he imagine the foursome suddenly struck dumb? What about the hidden narrative, with all its cross-references and contrasts, that will otherwise be found in such a work as this? However you play it, this Schubert string quartet remains unsatisfactory for the listener. Experiencing a work is something special – we must reconcile ourselves with the aesthetics of the unfinished. That too has its charm. The question is, how would the movement go on – a question to which we must think up the answer. Why not take a quiet moment and simply ponder it?

Apart from the Quartettsatz and its truncated second movement, Schubert wrote no more string quartets till 1824. One of the works: The String Quartet in A minor, D. 804 “Rosamunde”. The press hailed the “Rosamunde” as his “first-born” despite the 11 or 12 quartets that had preceded it; it remained the only one of Schubert’s fifteen quartets to be performed in the composer’s lifetime.

The three brothers Mark, Erik and Ken Schumann have been playing together since their earliest childhood. In 2012, they were joined by violist Liisa Randalu, who was born in the Estonian capital, Tallinn, and grew up in Karlsruhe, Germany. Those who experience the quartet in performance often remark on the strong connection between its members. The four musicians enjoy the way they communicate without words: how a single look suffices to convey how a particular member wants to play a particular passage. Although the individual personalities clearly manifest themselves, a common space arises in every musical work in a process of spiritual metamorphosis. The quartet's openness and curiosity may be partly the result of the formative influence exerted on it by teachers such as Eberhard Feltz, the Alban Berg Quartet, or partners such as Menahem Pressler

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

Fragment
Schumann Quartett
1 String Quartet No. 6, D 74: I. Allegro ma non troppo
2 String Quartet No. 6, D 74: II. Andante
3 String Quartet No. 6, D 74: III. Menuetto. Allegretto
4 String Quartet No. 6, D 74: IV. Allegro
5 Quartet Movement in C Minor, D 703: I. Allegro assai
6 Quartet Movement in C Minor, D 703: II. Andante (Fragment)
7 String Quartet No. 13, D 804 "Rosamunde": I. Allegro ma non troppo
8 String Quartet No. 13, D 804 "Rosamunde": II. Andante
9 String Quartet No. 13, D 804 "Rosamunde": III. Menuetto - Allegretto - Trio
10 String Quartet No. 13, D 804 "Rosamunde": IV. Allegro moderato

Weitere Videos von Berlin Classics

zurück
weiter
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Ravel - Pièce en forme de Habanera (for Trumpet & Harp)
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Ibert - Entr'acte (For Trumpet and Harp) #Ukraine #Spenden
Eckart Runge & Jacques Ammon - Miles Davis: Blue in Green (arr. for cello & piano) #BerlinClassics
Sebastian Manz & Herbert Schuch - Gade - Fantasy Pieces, Op. 43: No. 2, Allegro vivace
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Debussy - The Girl with the Flaxen Hair #Ukraine #Spenden
Spark & Valer Sabadus - Seemann (Rammstein Cover) #BerlinClassics
Sophie Dervaux & Mozarteumorchester Salzburg - Vanhal: Concerto in C Major
Luisa Imorde - Couperin: Pièces de clavecin: Le Tic-Toc-Choc ou Les Maillotins
Sebastian Manz & Herbert Schuch - Schumann: Fantasy Piece, Op. 73, No. 1, Zart und mit Ausdruck
Danae Dörken - Odyssee (Official Albumtrailer) #BerlinClassics #DanaeDörken
Sophie Dervaux - Hummel: Grand Concerto in F Major: I. Allegro moderato (Teaser)
Luisa Imorde: François Couperin - Cinquieme Prelude (Offizielles Musikvideo) #BerlinClassics
Danae Dörken: Kinan Azmeh - Waiting for Friday (Offizielles Musikvideo) #BerlinClassics
Eckart Runge, Jacques Ammon - Bach: Allegro (From Gamba Sonata G Minor, BWV 1029) #BerlinClassics

Weitere Veröffentlichungen von Schumann Quartett

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Nach den drei Konzeptalben Landscapes, Intermezzo & Chiaroscuro, die unter anderem mit einem Jahrespreis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik und einem Opus Klassik ausgezeichnet wurden, widmet sich das weltberühmte Schumann Quartett Franz Schubert – und 2 ½ seiner Streichquartette.

Die Chronologie des Albums beginnt mit Franz Schuberts D-Dur-Streichquartett (Nr. 6, D. 74), das als frühes Streichquartett für Schuberts Einstieg in diese Gattung steht. Mit 16 Jahren zählte mittlerweile Antonio Salieri zu seinen Lehrern, dessen Name auf der Titelseite zu lesen ist. Orientierung findend an den Vorbildern Haydn, Mozart und Beethoven, suchte Schubert zugleich nach eigenen Wegen, wagte vorsichtige Formexperimente und trainierte sich mit kleinen Kompositionsaufgaben. Dass er dies ausgerechnet in den Streichquartetten tat, ist sicher kein Zufall – die Gattung war aus der bürgerlichen Musikpraxis der Zeit nicht wegzudenken.

Es folgt – quasi als Werk der mittleren Jahre – der Quartettsatz c-Moll, D. 703. Der meist solitär aufgeführte Kopfsatz ist der einzig fertiggestellte Satz des Quartetts. Der zweite Satz, ein ruhiges Andante, bricht nach vierzig Takten inmitten des musikalischen Flusses ab und entlässt den Hörer in den luftleeren Raum. Warum Schubert das Quartett, mit dessen Komposition er 1820 begonnen hatte, nicht weiterführte, wissen wir nicht – offensichtlich ist ihm etwas dazwischengekommen. Nicht ohne Grund wird diese von Umbrüchen und Neuorientierungen geprägte Zeit in Schuberts Leben in der Literatur gerne als „Jahre der Krise“ bezeichnet.

Für den Hörer ist das eine kleine Herausforderung. Wer würde schon einen Film schauen, im Wissen, dass er kein Ende hat? Und als Goethe das Streichquartett als „Unterhaltung zwischen vier vernünftigen Leuten“ beschrieb, hatte er da im Sinn, dass dieses Gespräch ganz plötzlich zum Ende kommt? Was ist mit der Dramaturgie, mit all den Bezügen und Kontrasten zwischen den Sätzen, die sonst in einem solchen Werk stecken? Wie man es spielt, dieses Schubert-Streichquartett bleibt für den Hörer unbefriedigend. Das Kunsterleben funktioniert nicht so, wie wir es kennen – wir müssen uns mit dieser Ästhetik des Unfertigen abfinden. Die hat aber ja auch ihren Reiz. Im Raum steht die Frage, wie es wohl weitergehen würde – doch das bleibt der eigenen Vorstellungskraft überlassen. Warum nicht einem ruhigen Moment nutzen und einfach mal darüber nachdenken?

Erst 1824 schreibt Schubert wieder für Streichquartett. Eines der Werke: das „Rosamunde“-Quartett, in a-Moll, D. 804. In der Presse wurde das Werk trotz der 11 bzw. 12 Vorgängerquartette als „Erstgeborenes“ bezeichnet; es blieb das einzige der insgesamt fünfzehn Quartette, das zu Schuberts Lebzeiten aufgeführt wurde.

Seit ihrer frühesten Kindheit spielen die drei Brüder Mark, Erik und Ken Schumann zusammen. 2012 ist die in Tallinn geborene und in Karlsruhe aufgewachsene Liisa Randalu als Bratschistin dazu gekommen. Immer wieder bemerken Außenstehende, wie stark die Bindung zwischen ihnen ist. Die Vier genießen die nonverbale Kommunikation, „ein Blick, und ich weiß, wie er/sie die Musik in dem Moment spielen möchte“. Unterschiedliche Persönlichkeiten treten deutlicher hervor, gleichzeitig entsteht in jedem musikalischen Werk ein gemeinsamer Raum, findet eine geistige Metamorphose statt. Vielleicht sind diese Offenheit und Neugierde die entscheidenden Einflüsse von Lehrern wie Eberhard Feltz, dem Alban Berg Quartett oder Partnern wie Menahem Pressler.

Fragment Schumann Quartett

Komponisten

Franz Schubert

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Musik für Kammerensemble

Erscheinungsdatum:

14.08.2020



Nach den drei Konzeptalben Landscapes, Intermezzo & Chiaroscuro, die unter anderem mit einem Jahrespreis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik und einem Opus Klassik ausgezeichnet wurden, widmet sich das weltberühmte Schumann Quartett Franz Schubert – und 2 ½ seiner Streichquartette.

Die Chronologie des Albums beginnt mit Franz Schuberts D-Dur-Streichquartett (Nr. 6, D. 74), das als frühes Streichquartett für Schuberts Einstieg in diese Gattung steht. Mit 16 Jahren zählte mittlerweile Antonio Salieri zu seinen Lehrern, dessen Name auf der Titelseite zu lesen ist. Orientierung findend an den Vorbildern Haydn, Mozart und Beethoven, suchte Schubert zugleich nach eigenen Wegen, wagte vorsichtige Formexperimente und trainierte sich mit kleinen Kompositionsaufgaben. Dass er dies ausgerechnet in den Streichquartetten tat, ist sicher kein Zufall – die Gattung war aus der bürgerlichen Musikpraxis der Zeit nicht wegzudenken.

Es folgt – quasi als Werk der mittleren Jahre – der Quartettsatz c-Moll, D. 703. Der meist solitär aufgeführte Kopfsatz ist der einzig fertiggestellte Satz des Quartetts. Der zweite Satz, ein ruhiges Andante, bricht nach vierzig Takten inmitten des musikalischen Flusses ab und entlässt den Hörer in den luftleeren Raum. Warum Schubert das Quartett, mit dessen Komposition er 1820 begonnen hatte, nicht weiterführte, wissen wir nicht – offensichtlich ist ihm etwas dazwischengekommen. Nicht ohne Grund wird diese von Umbrüchen und Neuorientierungen geprägte Zeit in Schuberts Leben in der Literatur gerne als „Jahre der Krise“ bezeichnet.

Für den Hörer ist das eine kleine Herausforderung. Wer würde schon einen Film schauen, im Wissen, dass er kein Ende hat? Und als Goethe das Streichquartett als „Unterhaltung zwischen vier vernünftigen Leuten“ beschrieb, hatte er da im Sinn, dass dieses Gespräch ganz plötzlich zum Ende kommt? Was ist mit der Dramaturgie, mit all den Bezügen und Kontrasten zwischen den Sätzen, die sonst in einem solchen Werk stecken? Wie man es spielt, dieses Schubert-Streichquartett bleibt für den Hörer unbefriedigend. Das Kunsterleben funktioniert nicht so, wie wir es kennen – wir müssen uns mit dieser Ästhetik des Unfertigen abfinden. Die hat aber ja auch ihren Reiz. Im Raum steht die Frage, wie es wohl weitergehen würde – doch das bleibt der eigenen Vorstellungskraft überlassen. Warum nicht einem ruhigen Moment nutzen und einfach mal darüber nachdenken?

Erst 1824 schreibt Schubert wieder für Streichquartett. Eines der Werke: das „Rosamunde“-Quartett, in a-Moll, D. 804. In der Presse wurde das Werk trotz der 11 bzw. 12 Vorgängerquartette als „Erstgeborenes“ bezeichnet; es blieb das einzige der insgesamt fünfzehn Quartette, das zu Schuberts Lebzeiten aufgeführt wurde.

Seit ihrer frühesten Kindheit spielen die drei Brüder Mark, Erik und Ken Schumann zusammen. 2012 ist die in Tallinn geborene und in Karlsruhe aufgewachsene Liisa Randalu als Bratschistin dazu gekommen. Immer wieder bemerken Außenstehende, wie stark die Bindung zwischen ihnen ist. Die Vier genießen die nonverbale Kommunikation, „ein Blick, und ich weiß, wie er/sie die Musik in dem Moment spielen möchte“. Unterschiedliche Persönlichkeiten treten deutlicher hervor, gleichzeitig entsteht in jedem musikalischen Werk ein gemeinsamer Raum, findet eine geistige Metamorphose statt. Vielleicht sind diese Offenheit und Neugierde die entscheidenden Einflüsse von Lehrern wie Eberhard Feltz, dem Alban Berg Quartett oder Partnern wie Menahem Pressler.

Weitere Videos von Berlin Classics

zurück
weiter
Matthias Höfs & Ensemble - Samuel Scheidt: Canzon Cornetto SSWV 56 (Arr. für vier Trompeten)
Marina Baranova, Serge Yushkevich - Carol of the Bells  (Offizielles Musikvideo) #berlinclassics
Matthias Höfs & Ensemble - Maria durch ein Dornwald ging (arr. by P.J. Lawrence) #berlinclassics
The Zurich Chamber Singers & Christian Erny - Anton Bruckner: Ave Maria | #berlinclassics #AveMaria
Marina Baranova - White Letters (Offizielles Musikvideo) #berlinclassics
The Zurich Chamber Singers - Locus Iste (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Matthias Höfs - Oskar Böhme: Liebeslied (Offizielles Musikvideo) #berlinclassics
The Zurich Chamber Singers & Christian Erny - Bruckner: Palestrina - Jesu, rex admirabilis
Matthias Höfs & The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen: Oskar Böhme - Entsagung, Op. 19
Matthias Kirschnereit - Piano Concerto in D Major, Hob.XVIII:11: III. Rondo all'Ungarese | #Haydn
Tassilo Probst & Maxim Lando: Bartók - Sonata for violin & piano in E Minor, III. Vivace
Tassilo Probst & Maxim Lando - Achron: Sonata for violin and piano, no. 2,  Op. 45 #berlinclassics
The Zurich Chamber Singers & Christian Erny - Anton Bruckner: Os justi, WAB 30 | #berlinclassics
Berlin Classics - Channel Trailer | Classical Music
Muffat | Armonico Tributo: Sonata II: I. Grave & II. Allegro | Concerto Copenhagen (Music Video)

Weitere Veröffentlichungen von Schumann Quartett

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com