Be Bold /

Spark plays Baroque music. That sounds simple, but is in fact highly complex. That’s because when an ensemble like Spark approaches a past era, that can only come about with a fresh new perspective, bold reorientation and lots of delight in experimentation. It is not for nothing that the ECHO Klassik prizewinning formation enjoys a reputation for blending the old and the new, tradition and innovation, the familiar and the unheard-of in a unique manner. Consequently, on their upcoming release “BE BAROQUE” the five exceptional musicians are not interested in simply arranging Baroque works for their formation. On the contrary: in their new arrangements they aim to highlight new aspects, intensify moods and awaken unforeseen associations. Baroque manners are assimilated, spun and transformed into the musical language of the 21st century. Based on a number of masterworks by Bach, Vivaldi, Handel and others, Spark creates its very own Baroque tableau whose colour spectrum ranges from almost true-to-the-original reproduction through to a completely new composition.

Be Adventurous //

Nearly all the arrangements, new settings and compositions on the CD were written by the members of Spark themselves, emphasising the ensemble’s quest for its very own creatively inventive tonal language. In stylistically very different arrangements the five musicians skilfully exploit their formation’s strengths. From one piece to the next they reveal new mood images to their listeners: Bach becomes a calm, playful sound idyll, Graupner a heroically pulsating perpetuum mobile, Couperin transforms into a hovering ambient cloud formation and Handel into virtuoso, lively minimalist music. Spark aficionados will be surprised at the classical band’s uncharacteristically calm approach. They take their time, savouring the music, lingering in an atmosphere and inviting the listener to really allow a certain mood to take hold, and to merge with it. Thus the album title – Be Baroque! – reveals a deeper, underlying significance. The musicians not only wish to be “baroque” themselves and to savour that state with the full spectrum of their artistic skills; they are encouraging their listeners to join them in this Baroque ambience, to dive head-first into these sounds and to succumb to them.

Be Real ///

Despite the artistic desire for freedom, this is not music-making on a whim or just for the hell of it. With Spark, nothing is an end in itself or merely about showmanship. On the contrary, the works performed here are the result of an intensive analysis of the original work, and engagement with its composer as well as with the Baroque era as a whole. In all this, the band benefits from the know-how of its flautists, Andrea Ritter and Daniel Koschitzki, who before their time with Spark were for many years members of the renowned Amsterdam Loeki Stardust Quartet. As members of this highly acclaimed ensemble on the Early Music scene, they took historically informed playing in their stride. The establishment of Spark reflects their curiosity and passion for sounds linked to a twenty-first-century attitude to life. The appeal of this CD rests therefore in the “teasing play” technique they have adopted, derived straight from authentic Baroque elements, a Romantic Sturm und Drang style and a modern zeitgeist. One minute we are marvelling at the accomplished accuracy of a Baroque ornament, the next we are basking in the nonchalance that has consciously cast off Baroque role models and catapulted us into the here and now.

Be Original ////

Johann Sebastian Bach’s music serves as an important source of inspiration on this album. Spark presents its own version of the famous aria “Sheep may safely graze”, performs excerpts from his Orchestral Suite in B minor in an original arrangement by Gustav Mahler, and in the composition entitled “Neo Largo” by Spark pianist Christian Fritz presents a charming paraphrase on the famous middle movement of Bach’s F minor Concerto for harpsichord, strings and basso continuo. Victor Plumettaz, the band’s cellist, chooses the D Minor Sarabande by George Frideric Handel and a Prelude by Christoph Graupner as the basis for two new works. He expands the harmonic progression of the originals using new melodies and accompanying figures to create independent, minimalistic pieces – at turns flowing calmly, then pulsating wildly, and above all tailor-made for the Spark formation. Spark flautist Daniel Koschitzki takes a similar approach. Based on the harmonic pattern of a rondeau by Jacques Duphly, he has conceived an opulent Ballade for Spark. His flute-playing colleague Andrea Ritter presents various levels of adaptation in three compositions. In an arrangement of the middle movement from Antonio Vivaldi’s Concerto “Il gardellino” she leaves the solo flute melody as in the original, while highlighting it from a different angle by means of new accompaniment elements and intricate polyrhythmic layers. She then takes a much more liberal approach with George Frideric Handel’s “Arrival of the Queen of Sheba” and François Couperin’s “Les Barricades Mystérieuses”,which she augments with some original material of her own, creating independent, multi-timbred works – the former in the spirit of American minimal music, the latter evincing the flair of an ambient piece. Spark then brings in a different nuance altogether in the folkloristically coloured tune “Mrs. Keel” by the Irish Baroque composer Turlough O’Carolan. The interpretation of the work, which the band first performed in a private concert for Germany’s Federal President, places it consciously in the electrifying space between Irish Folk, reduced Romantic music and Baroque ornamentation.

Be Questioning /////

Baroque originals, arrangements, resettings and their own compositions all come together in this, the classical band’s sixth album, to form a fresh moral portrait of a bygone era. Every track on the album throws light on one or other aspect of Baroque culture through the prism of the arranger or composer in question and their individual materials – be it the exuberant vibrancy of Baroque dances, the power of symmetry, the enchanting beauty of Baroque cantilenas, the “teasing play” of conventional development mechanisms or the attraction of the broken triads that Vivaldi, Bach and their contemporaries employed – long before they again became en vogue as arpeggios in the fields of electro, pop or minimal music. With this project, Spark prove themselves yet again to be one of the most innovative ensembles of their generation – as an exciting collective of pioneers and visionaries, lateral thinkers and mavericks. The band consistently follows its vision of a thoroughly independent profile clearly referencing the musicians’ classical roots, but which is fundamentally projected forwards. Spark’s interpretations come over as more mature. The ensemble has truly found itself and at the same time not forgotten how to push boundaries, to go in search of something and to constantly be questioning things – with courage and a thirst for adventure that is thoroughly authentic and given to experimentation and insatiable curiosity!

Be Baroque Spark

Künstler

Komponisten

Antonio Vivaldi

Georg Frideric Handel

Johann Sebastian Bach

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Klassik-Pop-Crossover

Erscheinungsdatum:

18.09.2020



Be Bold /

Spark plays Baroque music. That sounds simple, but is in fact highly complex. That's because when an ensemble like Spark approaches a past era, that can only come about with a fresh new perspective, bold reorientation and lots of delight in experimentation. It is not for nothing that the ECHO Klassik prizewinning formation enjoys a reputation for blending the old and the new, tradition and innovation, the familiar and the unheard-of in a unique manner. Consequently, on their upcoming release "BE BAROQUE" the five exceptional musicians are not interested in simply arranging Baroque works for their formation. On the contrary: in their new arrangements they aim to highlight new aspects, intensify moods and awaken unforeseen associations. Baroque manners are assimilated, spun and transformed into the musical language of the 21st century. Based on a number of masterworks by Bach, Vivaldi, Handel and others, Spark creates its very own Baroque tableau whose colour spectrum ranges from almost true-to-the-original reproduction through to a completely new composition.



Be Adventurous //

Nearly all the arrangements, new settings and compositions on the CD were written by the members of Spark themselves, emphasising the ensemble's quest for its very own creatively inventive tonal language. In stylistically very different arrangements the five musicians skilfully exploit their formation's strengths. From one piece to the next they reveal new mood images to their listeners: Bach becomes a calm, playful sound idyll, Graupner a heroically pulsating perpetuum mobile, Couperin transforms into a hovering ambient cloud formation and Handel into virtuoso, lively minimalist music. Spark aficionados will be surprised at the classical band's uncharacteristically calm approach. They take their time, savouring the music, lingering in an atmosphere and inviting the listener to really allow a certain mood to take hold, and to merge with it. Thus the album title – Be Baroque! – reveals a deeper, underlying significance. The musicians not only wish to be "baroque" themselves and to savour that state with the full spectrum of their artistic skills; they are encouraging their listeners to join them in this Baroque ambience, to dive head-first into these sounds and to succumb to them.



Be Real ///

Despite the artistic desire for freedom, this is not music-making on a whim or just for the hell of it. With Spark, nothing is an end in itself or merely about showmanship. On the contrary, the works performed here are the result of an intensive analysis of the original work, and engagement with its composer as well as with the Baroque era as a whole. In all this, the band benefits from the know-how of its flautists, Andrea Ritter and Daniel Koschitzki, who before their time with Spark were for many years members of the renowned Amsterdam Loeki Stardust Quartet. As members of this highly acclaimed ensemble on the Early Music scene, they took historically informed playing in their stride. The establishment of Spark reflects their curiosity and passion for sounds linked to a twenty-first-century attitude to life. The appeal of this CD rests therefore in the "teasing play" technique they have adopted, derived straight from authentic Baroque elements, a Romantic Sturm und Drang style and a modern zeitgeist. One minute we are marvelling at the accomplished accuracy of a Baroque ornament, the next we are basking in the nonchalance that has consciously cast off Baroque role models and catapulted us into the here and now.



Be Original ////

Johann Sebastian Bach's music serves as an important source of inspiration on this album. Spark presents its own version of the famous aria "Sheep may safely graze", performs excerpts from his Orchestral Suite in B minor in an original arrangement by Gustav Mahler, and in the composition entitled "Neo Largo" by Spark pianist Christian Fritz presents a charming paraphrase on the famous middle movement of Bach's F minor Concerto for harpsichord, strings and basso continuo. Victor Plumettaz, the band's cellist, chooses the D Minor Sarabande by George Frideric Handel and a Prelude by Christoph Graupner as the basis for two new works. He expands the harmonic progression of the originals using new melodies and accompanying figures to create independent, minimalistic pieces – at turns flowing calmly, then pulsating wildly, and above all tailor-made for the Spark formation. Spark flautist Daniel Koschitzki takes a similar approach. Based on the harmonic pattern of a rondeau by Jacques Duphly, he has conceived an opulent Ballade for Spark. His flute-playing colleague Andrea Ritter presents various levels of adaptation in three compositions. In an arrangement of the middle movement from Antonio Vivaldi's Concerto "Il gardellino" she leaves the solo flute melody as in the original, while highlighting it from a different angle by means of new accompaniment elements and intricate polyrhythmic layers. She then takes a much more liberal approach with George Frideric Handel's "Arrival of the Queen of Sheba" and François Couperin's "Les Barricades Mystérieuses",which she augments with some original material of her own, creating independent, multi-timbred works – the former in the spirit of American minimal music, the latter evincing the flair of an ambient piece. Spark then brings in a different nuance altogether in the folkloristically coloured tune "Mrs. Keel" by the Irish Baroque composer Turlough O'Carolan. The interpretation of the work, which the band first performed in a private concert for Germany's Federal President, places it consciously in the electrifying space between Irish Folk, reduced Romantic music and Baroque ornamentation.



Be Questioning /////

Baroque originals, arrangements, resettings and their own compositions all come together in this, the classical band's sixth album, to form a fresh moral portrait of a bygone era. Every track on the album throws light on one or other aspect of Baroque culture through the prism of the arranger or composer in question and their individual materials – be it the exuberant vibrancy of Baroque dances, the power of symmetry, the enchanting beauty of Baroque cantilenas, the "teasing play" of conventional development mechanisms or the attraction of the broken triads that Vivaldi, Bach and their contemporaries employed – long before they again became en vogue as arpeggios in the fields of electro, pop or minimal music. With this project, Spark prove themselves yet again to be one of the most innovative ensembles of their generation – as an exciting collective of pioneers and visionaries, lateral thinkers and mavericks. The band consistently follows its vision of a thoroughly independent profile clearly referencing the musicians' classical roots, but which is fundamentally projected forwards. Spark's interpretations come over as more mature. The ensemble has truly found itself and at the same time not forgotten how to push boundaries, to go in search of something and to constantly be questioning things – with courage and a thirst for adventure that is thoroughly authentic and given to experimentation and insatiable curiosity!

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

Be Baroque
Spark
1 Neo Largo (Inspired by Piano Concerto no. 5, BWV 1056: II. Largo)
2 The Arrival (Inspired by the "Arrival of the Queen of Sheba" from Solomon, HWV 67)
3 Cantabile (From Concerto for flute in D Major "Il gardellino", RV 428)
4 The Eternal Second (Inspired by Partita X in A Minor: Praeludium, GWV 118)
5 Mrs. Keel
6 Where the Heart Feels Safe (Inspired by Premier livre de pièces de clavecin, Deuxième Suite: Rondeau)
7 Rondeau (From Suite from the Orchestral Works of J.S. Bach)
8 Badinerie (From Suite from the Orchestral Works of J.S. Bach)
9 Bourrée I & II (From Orchestral Suite No. 2 in B Minor, BWV 1067)
10 Sheep May Safely Graze (From the Hunting Cantata, BWV 208)
11 Les Barricades Mystérieuses (Inspired by Second livre de pièces de clavecin, Sixième Ordre)
12 The Last Step (Inspired by Suite No. 4 in D Minor, HWV 437: Sarabande)

Weitere Videos von Spark

zurück
weiter
Spark - The Last Step (nach Händels Sarabande in d-Moll, HWV 437) | Offizielles Musikvideo
Spark - Mrs Keel (Official Music Video) | The Classical Band | Be Baroque
Spark - Wild Territories - Mendelssohn
Spark - Wild Territories - Candybox (Offical Music Video) | Chiel Meijering
Badinerie (From Suite from the Orchestral Works of J.S. Bach)

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

BE BOLD /

Spark spielt Barockmusik. Das mutet einfach an, ist aber hoch komplex. Denn wenn ein Ensemble wie Spark sich einer vergangenen Epoche nähert, dann kann dies nur mit einer frischen Perspektive, gewag-ten Neuausrichtungen und viel Experimentierfreude vonstattengehen. Nicht umsonst genießt die ECHO Klassik-prämierte Formation den Ruf, auf einzigartige Weise Alt und Neu, Tradition und Innovation, Vertrautes und Ungehörtes miteinander zu verbinden. So geht es den fünf Ausnahmemusikern auf ihrer Neuerscheinung „BE BAROQUE“ auch mitnichten darum, Barockwerke einfach nur für ihre Besetzung zurechtzulegen. Vielmehr möchten sie in ihren Arrangements neue Aspekte beleuchten, Stimmungen verstärken und ungeahnte Assoziationen wecken. Barocke Gesten werden verinnerlicht, weitergedacht und in die Tonsprache des 21. Jahrhunderts transformiert. Auf der Basis verschiedener Meisterwerke von Bach, Vivaldi, Händel und Co entwirft Spark sein ganz eigenes Barocktableau, dessen Farbspektrum von einer fast originalgetreuen Wiedergabe der Vorlage bis zur kompletten Neukomposition reicht.

BE ADVENTUROUS //

So gut wie alle Arrangements, Neuvertonungen und Kompositionen der Platte stammen von den Spark-Mitgliedern selbst, wodurch das Ensemble sein Streben nach einer ureigenen, kreativ-schöpferischen Klangsprache unterstreicht. In stilistisch unterschiedlichen Arrangements spielen die fünf Musiker ge-schickt die Stärken ihrer Formation aus. Von Stück zu Stück entfalten sie dem Zuhörer neue Stimmungs-bilder: Bach wird zum ruhig verspielten Klangidyll, Graupner zum heroisch pulsierenden Perpetuum mo-bile, Couperin verwandelt sich in frei schwebende Ambientwolken und Händel in virtuos bewegte Mini-mal Music. Ungewohnt für Spark-Kenner ist dabei, mit wie viel Ruhe die klassische Band agiert. Man nimmt sich Zeit, kostet aus, verweilt in einer Atmosphäre und lädt den Zuhörer ein, sich wirklich auf eine gesetzte Stimmung einzulassen und in dieser aufzugehen. So schwingt im Apell des Albumtitels – Be Baroque! – auch eine tieferliegende Bedeutung mit. Die Musiker möchten nicht nur selbst „barock“ sein und diesen Zustand mit der Breite ihrer künstlerischen Mittel auskosten, sondern sie fordern auch den Zuhörer auf, sich in diesen Barockzustand zu versetzen, ganz und gar in diese Klänge einzutauchen und sich auf sie einzulassen.

BE REAL ///

Trotz des künstlerischen Freiheitsdrangs wird hier nicht einfach nach Lust und Laune oder aus dem hoh-len Bauch heraus musiziert. Nichts geschieht bei Spark zum Selbstzweck oder aus purer Effekthascherei. Vielmehr stellen die vorgestellten Werke das Resultat einer intensiven Auseinandersetzung mit dem Ausgangswerk, seinem jeweiligen Komponisten, aber auch der barocken Epoche an sich dar. Dabei pro-fitiert die Gruppe vom Know-How seiner Flötisten Andrea Ritter und Daniel Koschitzki, die vor der Zeit mit Spark jahrelang im renommierten Amsterdam Loeki Stardust Quartets spielten. Als Mitglieder dieses in der Alten-Musik-Szene hoch geschätzten Ensembles gehörte das historisch informierte Spiel zu ihrem Selbstverständnis. Die Gründung von Spark ist ein Spiegel ihrer Neugier und Lust auf Klänge, die mit ei-nem heutigen Lebensgefühl verknüpft sind. So ist es gerade das Vexierspiel aus authentisch dargebote-nen Barockelementen, romantischem Sturm und Drang und modernem Zeitgeist, das den Reiz dieser Platte ausmacht. In einem Moment bestaunt der Hörer die Akkuratesse, mit der eine barocke Verzie-rung dargeboten wird, um kurz darauf die Nonchalance zu erleben, mit der barocke Muster bewusst aufgebrochen und ins Hier und Jetzt katapultiert werden.

BE ORIGINAL ////

Die Musik von Johann Sebastian Bach macht eine wesentliche Inspirationsquelle auf dem Album aus. Spark stellt seine eigene Version der berühmten Arie „Schafe können sicher weiden“ vor, widmet sich Auszügen aus der Orchestersuite in h-Moll in einer originellen Bearbeitung von Gustav Mahler und prä-sentiert mit der Komposition „Neo Largo“ des Spark-Pianisten Christian Fritz eine reizvolle Paraphrase auf den bekannten Mittelsatz aus Bachs f-Moll-Konzert für Cembalo, Streicher und Basso continuo. Victor Plumettaz, der Cellist der Gruppe, wählt die d-Moll-Sarabande von Georg Friedrich Händel und ein Präludium von Christoph Graupner als Ausgangspunkt für zwei neue Werke. Die harmonischen Ver-läufe der Vorlagen weitet er mit neuen Melodien und Begleitfiguren zu eigenständigen, minimalistisch geprägten Stücken aus – mal ruhig fließend, mal wild pulsierend und vor allem maßgeschneidert auf den Sparkschen Klangkörper. Ähnlich geht auch der Spark-Flötist Daniel Koschitzki vor. Auf dem Harmonie-schema eines Rondeaus von Jacques Duphly hat er für Spark eine schwelgerische Ballade konzipiert. Seine Flötenkollegin Andrea Ritter stellt in drei Kompositionen unterschiedliche Grade der Bearbeitung vor. In einem Arrangement des Mittelsatzes von Antonio Vivaldis Konzert „Il gardellino“ belässt sie die Melodie der Soloflöte wie im Original, beleuchtet sie jedoch durch neue Begleitfiguren und raffinierte polyrhythmische Schichtungen aus einem neuen Blickwinkel. Deutlich freier geht sie mit Georg Friedrich Händels „Ankunft der Königin von Saba“ und François Couperins „Les Barricades Mystérieuses“ um, die sie durch selbst erdachtes Material ergänzt und zu eigenständigen, vielfarbigen Werken ausformt – ersteres im Geist der amerikanischen Minimal Music, letzteres im Flair eines Ambientstücks. Eine ganz andere Nuance lässt Spark noch in der folkloristisch anmutenden Weise „Mrs. Keel“ des irischen Ba-rockkomponisten Turlough O’Carolan anklingen. Die Interpretation des Stücks, das die Gruppe erstmals bei einem Privatkonzert für den Bundespräsidenten darbot, legt sie bewusst im Spannungsfeld zwischen Irish Folk, reduzierter Romantik und barocker Ornamentik an.

BE QUESTIONING /////

Barocke Originale, Arrangements, Neuvertonungen und Eigenkompositionen fügen sich auf dem mitt-lerweile sechsten Album der klassischen Band zu einem frischen Sittengemälde einer vergangenen Epo-che. Jeder Track der Platte beleuchtet mit den individuellen Mitteln des jeweiligen Arrangeurs oder Komponisten einen anderen Aspekt barocker Kultur – sei es die überbordende Lebendigkeit barocker Tänze, die Kraft der Symmetrie, die betörende Schönheit barocker Kantilenen, das Verwirrspiel der ge-bräuchlichen Fortspinnungsmechanismen oder die Sogwirkung gebrochener Dreiklänge, derer sich Vi-valdi, Bach und Co bedienten – lange bevor sie als Arpeggiatoren im Electro, im Pop oder der Minimal Music wieder en vogue wurden. Spark empfiehlt sich mit diesem Projekt einmal mehr als eines der inno-vativsten Ensembles seiner Generation – als aufregendes Kollektiv von Vor- und Querdenkern. Konse-quent verfolgt die Gruppe ihre Vision eines durch und durch eigenständigen Profils, das stets auf die klassischen Wurzeln der Musiker verweist, aber grundsätzlich nach vorne gerichtet ist. Die Interpretati-onen von Spark wirken reifer. Das Ensemble ist mehr denn je bei sich angekommen und hat es dennoch nicht verlernt, Grenzen auszuloten, zu suchen und sich beständig zu hinterfragen – mit Mut und Aben-teuerlust, durch und durch authentisch und experimentierfreudig und mit unstillbarer Neugier!

Be Baroque Spark

Künstler

Komponisten

Antonio Vivaldi

Georg Frideric Handel

Johann Sebastian Bach

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Klassik-Pop-Crossover

Erscheinungsdatum:

18.09.2020



BE BOLD /

Spark spielt Barockmusik. Das mutet einfach an, ist aber hoch komplex. Denn wenn ein Ensemble wie Spark sich einer vergangenen Epoche nähert, dann kann dies nur mit einer frischen Perspektive, gewag-ten Neuausrichtungen und viel Experimentierfreude vonstattengehen. Nicht umsonst genießt die ECHO Klassik-prämierte Formation den Ruf, auf einzigartige Weise Alt und Neu, Tradition und Innovation, Vertrautes und Ungehörtes miteinander zu verbinden. So geht es den fünf Ausnahmemusikern auf ihrer Neuerscheinung „BE BAROQUE“ auch mitnichten darum, Barockwerke einfach nur für ihre Besetzung zurechtzulegen. Vielmehr möchten sie in ihren Arrangements neue Aspekte beleuchten, Stimmungen verstärken und ungeahnte Assoziationen wecken. Barocke Gesten werden verinnerlicht, weitergedacht und in die Tonsprache des 21. Jahrhunderts transformiert. Auf der Basis verschiedener Meisterwerke von Bach, Vivaldi, Händel und Co entwirft Spark sein ganz eigenes Barocktableau, dessen Farbspektrum von einer fast originalgetreuen Wiedergabe der Vorlage bis zur kompletten Neukomposition reicht.



BE ADVENTUROUS //

So gut wie alle Arrangements, Neuvertonungen und Kompositionen der Platte stammen von den Spark-Mitgliedern selbst, wodurch das Ensemble sein Streben nach einer ureigenen, kreativ-schöpferischen Klangsprache unterstreicht. In stilistisch unterschiedlichen Arrangements spielen die fünf Musiker ge-schickt die Stärken ihrer Formation aus. Von Stück zu Stück entfalten sie dem Zuhörer neue Stimmungs-bilder: Bach wird zum ruhig verspielten Klangidyll, Graupner zum heroisch pulsierenden Perpetuum mo-bile, Couperin verwandelt sich in frei schwebende Ambientwolken und Händel in virtuos bewegte Mini-mal Music. Ungewohnt für Spark-Kenner ist dabei, mit wie viel Ruhe die klassische Band agiert. Man nimmt sich Zeit, kostet aus, verweilt in einer Atmosphäre und lädt den Zuhörer ein, sich wirklich auf eine gesetzte Stimmung einzulassen und in dieser aufzugehen. So schwingt im Apell des Albumtitels – Be Baroque! – auch eine tieferliegende Bedeutung mit. Die Musiker möchten nicht nur selbst „barock“ sein und diesen Zustand mit der Breite ihrer künstlerischen Mittel auskosten, sondern sie fordern auch den Zuhörer auf, sich in diesen Barockzustand zu versetzen, ganz und gar in diese Klänge einzutauchen und sich auf sie einzulassen.



BE REAL ///

Trotz des künstlerischen Freiheitsdrangs wird hier nicht einfach nach Lust und Laune oder aus dem hoh-len Bauch heraus musiziert. Nichts geschieht bei Spark zum Selbstzweck oder aus purer Effekthascherei. Vielmehr stellen die vorgestellten Werke das Resultat einer intensiven Auseinandersetzung mit dem Ausgangswerk, seinem jeweiligen Komponisten, aber auch der barocken Epoche an sich dar. Dabei pro-fitiert die Gruppe vom Know-How seiner Flötisten Andrea Ritter und Daniel Koschitzki, die vor der Zeit mit Spark jahrelang im renommierten Amsterdam Loeki Stardust Quartets spielten. Als Mitglieder dieses in der Alten-Musik-Szene hoch geschätzten Ensembles gehörte das historisch informierte Spiel zu ihrem Selbstverständnis. Die Gründung von Spark ist ein Spiegel ihrer Neugier und Lust auf Klänge, die mit ei-nem heutigen Lebensgefühl verknüpft sind. So ist es gerade das Vexierspiel aus authentisch dargebote-nen Barockelementen, romantischem Sturm und Drang und modernem Zeitgeist, das den Reiz dieser Platte ausmacht. In einem Moment bestaunt der Hörer die Akkuratesse, mit der eine barocke Verzie-rung dargeboten wird, um kurz darauf die Nonchalance zu erleben, mit der barocke Muster bewusst aufgebrochen und ins Hier und Jetzt katapultiert werden.





BE ORIGINAL ////

Die Musik von Johann Sebastian Bach macht eine wesentliche Inspirationsquelle auf dem Album aus. Spark stellt seine eigene Version der berühmten Arie „Schafe können sicher weiden“ vor, widmet sich Auszügen aus der Orchestersuite in h-Moll in einer originellen Bearbeitung von Gustav Mahler und prä-sentiert mit der Komposition „Neo Largo“ des Spark-Pianisten Christian Fritz eine reizvolle Paraphrase auf den bekannten Mittelsatz aus Bachs f-Moll-Konzert für Cembalo, Streicher und Basso continuo. Victor Plumettaz, der Cellist der Gruppe, wählt die d-Moll-Sarabande von Georg Friedrich Händel und ein Präludium von Christoph Graupner als Ausgangspunkt für zwei neue Werke. Die harmonischen Ver-läufe der Vorlagen weitet er mit neuen Melodien und Begleitfiguren zu eigenständigen, minimalistisch geprägten Stücken aus – mal ruhig fließend, mal wild pulsierend und vor allem maßgeschneidert auf den Sparkschen Klangkörper. Ähnlich geht auch der Spark-Flötist Daniel Koschitzki vor. Auf dem Harmonie-schema eines Rondeaus von Jacques Duphly hat er für Spark eine schwelgerische Ballade konzipiert. Seine Flötenkollegin Andrea Ritter stellt in drei Kompositionen unterschiedliche Grade der Bearbeitung vor. In einem Arrangement des Mittelsatzes von Antonio Vivaldis Konzert „Il gardellino“ belässt sie die Melodie der Soloflöte wie im Original, beleuchtet sie jedoch durch neue Begleitfiguren und raffinierte polyrhythmische Schichtungen aus einem neuen Blickwinkel. Deutlich freier geht sie mit Georg Friedrich Händels „Ankunft der Königin von Saba“ und François Couperins „Les Barricades Mystérieuses“ um, die sie durch selbst erdachtes Material ergänzt und zu eigenständigen, vielfarbigen Werken ausformt – ersteres im Geist der amerikanischen Minimal Music, letzteres im Flair eines Ambientstücks. Eine ganz andere Nuance lässt Spark noch in der folkloristisch anmutenden Weise „Mrs. Keel“ des irischen Ba-rockkomponisten Turlough O’Carolan anklingen. Die Interpretation des Stücks, das die Gruppe erstmals bei einem Privatkonzert für den Bundespräsidenten darbot, legt sie bewusst im Spannungsfeld zwischen Irish Folk, reduzierter Romantik und barocker Ornamentik an.



BE QUESTIONING /////

Barocke Originale, Arrangements, Neuvertonungen und Eigenkompositionen fügen sich auf dem mitt-lerweile sechsten Album der klassischen Band zu einem frischen Sittengemälde einer vergangenen Epo-che. Jeder Track der Platte beleuchtet mit den individuellen Mitteln des jeweiligen Arrangeurs oder Komponisten einen anderen Aspekt barocker Kultur – sei es die überbordende Lebendigkeit barocker Tänze, die Kraft der Symmetrie, die betörende Schönheit barocker Kantilenen, das Verwirrspiel der ge-bräuchlichen Fortspinnungsmechanismen oder die Sogwirkung gebrochener Dreiklänge, derer sich Vi-valdi, Bach und Co bedienten – lange bevor sie als Arpeggiatoren im Electro, im Pop oder der Minimal Music wieder en vogue wurden. Spark empfiehlt sich mit diesem Projekt einmal mehr als eines der inno-vativsten Ensembles seiner Generation – als aufregendes Kollektiv von Vor- und Querdenkern. Konse-quent verfolgt die Gruppe ihre Vision eines durch und durch eigenständigen Profils, das stets auf die klassischen Wurzeln der Musiker verweist, aber grundsätzlich nach vorne gerichtet ist. Die Interpretati-onen von Spark wirken reifer. Das Ensemble ist mehr denn je bei sich angekommen und hat es dennoch nicht verlernt, Grenzen auszuloten, zu suchen und sich beständig zu hinterfragen – mit Mut und Aben-teuerlust, durch und durch authentisch und experimentierfreudig und mit unstillbarer Neugier!

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

Be Baroque
Spark
1 Neo Largo (Inspired by Piano Concerto no. 5, BWV 1056: II. Largo)
2 The Arrival (Inspired by the "Arrival of the Queen of Sheba" from Solomon, HWV 67)
3 Cantabile (From Concerto for flute in D Major "Il gardellino", RV 428)
4 The Eternal Second (Inspired by Partita X in A Minor: Praeludium, GWV 118)
5 Mrs. Keel
6 Where the Heart Feels Safe (Inspired by Premier livre de pièces de clavecin, Deuxième Suite: Rondeau)
7 Rondeau (From Suite from the Orchestral Works of J.S. Bach)
8 Badinerie (From Suite from the Orchestral Works of J.S. Bach)
9 Bourrée I & II (From Orchestral Suite No. 2 in B Minor, BWV 1067)
10 Sheep May Safely Graze (From the Hunting Cantata, BWV 208)
11 Les Barricades Mystérieuses (Inspired by Second livre de pièces de clavecin, Sixième Ordre)
12 The Last Step (Inspired by Suite No. 4 in D Minor, HWV 437: Sarabande)

Weitere Videos von Spark

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com