“You can’t get more organ than that”

After coming to prominence as resident organist of the Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg, Iveta Apkalna has most recently been to the Far East, where in 2018 she inaugurated Asia’s largest concert organ in Kaohsiung, Taiwan. She has now recorded her new album on the organ at the National Kaohsiung Center for the Arts (Weiwuying).

It is an impressive instrument: Almost 10,000 pipes in over 120 registers, located in a twin organ. On the right-hand half of the stage is the great symphonic organ, which recreates the aesthetic timbre of the French Romantic style. And on the left there is the smaller “echo organ”, oriented on the German Baroque repertoire. On this new album, Iveta Apkalna has compiled a programme that unites the two organs by placing the focus on the French Romantic style and making a brief foray to the father of organ music, J.S. Bach.

Charles-Marie Widor’s Fifth Symphony in F minor takes the organist back to her student days and a very special solo recital that made a dream come true. After winning an important competition at the age of 20, she was able to play on what had always been her dream organ, the famous Walcker organ in Riga Cathedral. Iveta Apkalna describes that concert as her baptism as an organist. “That all came back to me when I played the work, I had it in my head the whole time,” she recalls.

The second part of her programme features Vierne’s Third Organ Symphony. “Vierne’s language sounds more modern,” says Iveta Apkalna of this music, “it is technically more ambitious, it is harder to sing and bring out the levels of his music.” Where harmony is concerned, Vierne’s chromatic passages are a prominent feature that is lacking in Widor, whose clear tonal language was soon regarded as dated in the 20th century. “The chromaticism leads into the unknown. You lose your orientation and your balance; Widor is different in that respect,” Iveta Apkalna comments. The form of the organ symphony pioneered by Franck and developed by Widor reaches its apogee with Vierne.

The closing piece on the album – a tribute to the special twin organ in Kaohsiung and a memory of probably the greatest benchmark for all organists – is by Johann Sebastian Bach, with the famous melody “Sheep may safely graze”. Here too, Iveta Apkalna reflects: “It is like a woman who makes herself chic, but feels ill at ease because she has forgotten her perfume. Bach is my perfume, he makes me feel complete.”

Widor & Vierne Iveta Apkalna

Künstler

Komponisten

Charles-Marie Widor

Louis Vierne

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Klassik

Erscheinungsdatum:

18.09.2020



“You can’t get more organ than that”

After coming to prominence as resident organist of the Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg, Iveta Apkalna has most recently been to the Far East, where in 2018 she inaugurated Asia’s largest concert organ in Kaohsiung, Taiwan. She has now recorded her new album on the organ at the National Kaohsiung Center for the Arts (Weiwuying).



It is an impressive instrument: Almost 10,000 pipes in over 120 registers, located in a twin organ. On the right-hand half of the stage is the great symphonic organ, which recreates the aesthetic timbre of the French Romantic style. And on the left there is the smaller “echo organ”, oriented on the German Baroque repertoire. On this new album, Iveta Apkalna has compiled a programme that unites the two organs by placing the focus on the French Romantic style and making a brief foray to the father of organ music, J.S. Bach.



Charles-Marie Widor’s Fifth Symphony in F minor takes the organist back to her student days and a very special solo recital that made a dream come true. After winning an important competition at the age of 20, she was able to play on what had always been her dream organ, the famous Walcker organ in Riga Cathedral. Iveta Apkalna describes that concert as her baptism as an organist. “That all came back to me when I played the work, I had it in my head the whole time,” she recalls.



The second part of her programme features Vierne’s Third Organ Symphony. “Vierne’s language sounds more modern,” says Iveta Apkalna of this music, “it is technically more ambitious, it is harder to sing and bring out the levels of his music.” Where harmony is concerned, Vierne’s chromatic passages are a prominent feature that is lacking in Widor, whose clear tonal language was soon regarded as dated in the 20th century. “The chromaticism leads into the unknown. You lose your orientation and your balance; Widor is different in that respect,” Iveta Apkalna comments. The form of the organ symphony pioneered by Franck and developed by Widor reaches its apogee with Vierne.



The closing piece on the album – a tribute to the special twin organ in Kaohsiung and a memory of probably the greatest benchmark for all organists – is by Johann Sebastian Bach, with the famous melody “Sheep may safely graze”. Here too, Iveta Apkalna reflects: “It is like a woman who makes herself chic, but feels ill at ease because she has forgotten her perfume. Bach is my perfume, he makes me feel complete.”

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

Widor & Vierne
Iveta Apkalna
1 Organ Symphony No.5, Op. 42 No. 1: I. Allegro vivace
2 Organ Symphony No.5, Op. 42 No. 1: II. Allegro cantabile
3 Organ Symphony No.5, Op. 42 No. 1: III. Andantino quasi allegretto
4 Organ Symphony No.5, Op. 42 No. 1: IV. Adagio
5 Organ Symphony No.5, Op. 42 No. 1: V. Toccata
6 Organ Symphonie No.3, Op. 28: I. Allegro maestoso
7 Organ Symphonie No.3, Op. 28: II. Cantilène
8 Organ Symphonie No.3, Op. 28: III. Intermezzo
9 Organ Symphonie No.3, Op. 28: IV. Adagio
10 Organ Symphonie No.3, Op. 28: V. Final
11 Schafe können sicher weiden (Arr. for Organ)

Weitere Videos von Iveta Apkalna

zurück
weiter
Iveta Apkalna - Johann S. Bach: Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme, BWV 645 (Official Music Video)
Iveta Apkalna - Triptychon: Vasks – Bach – Liszt (Official Album Trailer)
Iveta Apkalna at the Weiwuying Concert Hall: Organ Symphony No.5, Op. 42 No. 1: V. Toccata
Iveta Apkalna - Vierne: Organ Symphonie No.3, Op. 28: III. Intermezzo (Official Music Video)
Iveta Apkalna - Elbphilharmonie Hamburg - Light & Dark (Album Trailer) | Orgel
Iveta Apkalna - Light & Dark - Die Orgel der Elbphilharmonie Hamburg (Interview)
Schafe können sicher weiden (Arr. for Organ)
Iveta Apkalna - Light & Dark - Aivars Kalējs: Gebet
Iveta Apkalna - Light & Dark - Thierry Escaich: Évocation II (Teaser)
Fantasy and Fugue on the chorale
Schübler Chorales: 1. Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme, BWV 645
Schübler Chorales: 3. Wer nur den lieben Gott lässt walten, BWV 647

Weitere Veröffentlichungen von Iveta Apkalna

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

“Organistischer geht es nicht”

Nachdem Iveta Apkalna 2018 mit der Ersteinspielung der Orgel der Elbphilharmonie Hamburg auf sich aufmerksam gemacht hat, führten ihre Wege sie unlängst nach Fernost: im taiwanischen Kaohsiung inaugurierte sie nicht nur die größte Konzertorgel Asiens im National Kaohsiung Center for the Arts (Weiwuying), sondern nahm an ihr direkt ein neues Album auf.

Es ist ein beeindruckendes Instrument: Fast 10.000 Pfeifen in über 120 Registern, die sich in einer Zwillingsorgel befinden. Rechts auf der Bühne steht die große symphonische Orgel, die den Klangfarben der Ästhetik der französischen Romantik nachempfunden ist. Links befindet sich die kleinere Echoorgel, die sich am deutschen Barock orientiert. Beide Orgeln vereinigt Iveta Apkalna auf ihrem Album mit einem Programm, das seinen Fokus auf die französische Romantik legt und einen kurzen Abstecher zum organistischen All-Vater Bach macht.

Mit Charles-Marie Widors 5. Sinfonie in f-Moll verbindet die Organistin ein ganz besonderes Solorecital aus ihrer Studienzeit, mit dem für sie ein Traum wahr wurde. Nach dem Gewinn eines bedeutenden Wettbewerbs durfte sie schon im Alter von 20 Jahren auf ihrer persönlichen Traumorgel spielen, der berühmten Walcker-Orgel im Dom zu Riga. Iveta Apkalna beschreibt dieses Konzert als ihre Taufe zur Organistin. „Ich habe das alles beim Spielen des Werkes nochmal erlebt, es ist die ganze Zeit in meinem Kopf präsent“, erinnert sie sich.

Der zweite Teil des Programms besteht aus Viernes 3. Orgelsinfonie. „Viernes Sprache klingt moderner“, sagt Iveta Apkalna über diese Musik, „es ist technisch anspruchsvoller, die Schichten seiner Musik zu singen und hervorzuheben“. Wirft man einen Blick auf die Harmonik, fallen bei Vierne die chromatischen Passagen ins Auge, die bei Widor, dessen klarere Tonsprache im 20. Jahrhundert bald als rückständig galt, fehlen. „Die Chromatik führt ins Ungewisse. Man verliert den Halt und den Schwerpunkt, das ist bei Widor anders“, schildert Iveta Apkalna. Die von Franck auf den Weg gebrachte und von Widor geprägte Form der Orgelsinfonie führte Vierne zu ihrem Höhepunkt.

Den Abschluss des Albums bildet – als Hommage an die besondere Zwillingsorgel in Kaohsiung und Reminiszenz an den wahrscheinlich größten Fixpunkt jeder Organistin und jedes Organisten – Johann Sebastian Bach und die bekannte Melodie „Schafe können sicher weiden“. Und auch das hat für Iveta Apkalna einen Hintergedanken: „Es ist wie eine Frau, die sich chic macht, sich dann aber nicht wohlfühlt, weil sie ihr Parfum vergessen hat. Bach ist mein Parfum, damit fühlte ich mich komplett.“

Widor & Vierne Iveta Apkalna

Künstler

Iveta Apkalna

Komponisten

Charles-Marie Widor

Louis Vierne

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Klassik

Erscheinungsdatum:

18.09.2020



"Organistischer geht es nicht"

Nachdem Iveta Apkalna 2018 mit der Ersteinspielung der Orgel der Elbphilharmonie Hamburg auf sich aufmerksam gemacht hat, führten ihre Wege sie unlängst nach Fernost: im taiwanischen Kaohsiung inaugurierte sie nicht nur die größte Konzertorgel Asiens im National Kaohsiung Center for the Arts (Weiwuying), sondern nahm an ihr direkt ein neues Album auf.

Es ist ein beeindruckendes Instrument: Fast 10.000 Pfeifen in über 120 Registern, die sich in einer Zwillingsorgel befinden. Rechts auf der Bühne steht die große symphonische Orgel, die den Klangfarben der Ästhetik der französischen Romantik nachempfunden ist. Links befindet sich die kleinere Echoorgel, die sich am deutschen Barock orientiert. Beide Orgeln vereinigt Iveta Apkalna auf ihrem Album mit einem Programm, das seinen Fokus auf die französische Romantik legt und einen kurzen Abstecher zum organistischen All-Vater Bach macht.

Mit Charles-Marie Widors 5. Sinfonie in f-Moll verbindet die Organistin ein ganz besonderes Solorecital aus ihrer Studienzeit, mit dem für sie ein Traum wahr wurde. Nach dem Gewinn eines bedeutenden Wettbewerbs durfte sie schon im Alter von 20 Jahren auf ihrer persönlichen Traumorgel spielen, der berühmten Walcker-Orgel im Dom zu Riga. Iveta Apkalna beschreibt dieses Konzert als ihre Taufe zur Organistin. „Ich habe das alles beim Spielen des Werkes nochmal erlebt, es ist die ganze Zeit in meinem Kopf präsent“, erinnert sie sich.

Der zweite Teil des Programms besteht aus Viernes 3. Orgelsinfonie. „Viernes Sprache klingt moderner“, sagt Iveta Apkalna über diese Musik, „es ist technisch anspruchsvoller, die Schichten seiner Musik zu singen und hervorzuheben“. Wirft man einen Blick auf die Harmonik, fallen bei Vierne die chromatischen Passagen ins Auge, die bei Widor, dessen klarere Tonsprache im 20. Jahrhundert bald als rückständig galt, fehlen. „Die Chromatik führt ins Ungewisse. Man verliert den Halt und den Schwerpunkt, das ist bei Widor anders“, schildert Iveta Apkalna. Die von Franck auf den Weg gebrachte und von Widor geprägte Form der Orgelsinfonie führte Vierne zu ihrem Höhepunkt.

Den Abschluss des Albums bildet – als Hommage an die besondere Zwillingsorgel in Kaohsiung und Reminiszenz an den wahrscheinlich größten Fixpunkt jeder Organistin und jedes Organisten – Johann Sebastian Bach und die bekannte Melodie „Schafe können sicher weiden“. Und auch das hat für Iveta Apkalna einen Hintergedanken: „Es ist wie eine Frau, die sich chic macht, sich dann aber nicht wohlfühlt, weil sie ihr Parfum vergessen hat. Bach ist mein Parfum, damit fühlte ich mich komplett.“

Weitere Videos von Berlin Classics

zurück
weiter
The Zurich Chamber Singers & Christian Erny - Bruckner: Palestrina - Jesu, rex admirabilis
Matthias Höfs & The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen: Oskar Böhme - Entsagung, Op. 19
Matthias Kirschnereit - Piano Concerto in D Major, Hob.XVIII:11: III. Rondo all'Ungarese | #Haydn
Tassilo Probst & Maxim Lando: Bartók - Sonata for violin & piano in E Minor, III. Vivace
Tassilo Probst & Maxim Lando - Achron: Sonata for violin and piano, no. 2,  Op. 45 #berlinclassics
The Zurich Chamber Singers & Christian Erny - Anton Bruckner: Os justi, WAB 30 | #berlinclassics
Berlin Classics - Channel Trailer | Classical Music
Muffat | Armonico Tributo: Sonata II: I. Grave & II. Allegro | Concerto Copenhagen (Music Video)
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Ravel - Pièce en forme de Habanera (for Trumpet & Harp)
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Ibert - Entr'acte (For Trumpet and Harp) #Ukraine #Spenden
Eckart Runge & Jacques Ammon - Miles Davis: Blue in Green (arr. for cello & piano) #BerlinClassics
Sebastian Manz & Herbert Schuch - Gade - Fantasy Pieces, Op. 43: No. 2, Allegro vivace
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Debussy - The Girl with the Flaxen Hair #Ukraine #Spenden
Spark & Valer Sabadus - Seemann (Rammstein Cover) #BerlinClassics
Sophie Dervaux & Mozarteumorchester Salzburg - Vanhal: Concerto in C Major

Weitere Veröffentlichungen von Iveta Apkalna

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com