Seekers after extreme landscapes and rugged coastlines are well provided for in Scandinavia – as they are in its music. On his new album, Sebastian Manz engages with the clarinet concertos of the Danish composer Carl Nielsen and Finnish composer Magnus Lindberg. Both are well known for their elemental, abstract sound stuctures, summoning up the natural world of their homelands for listeners as if painting in sound.

We are soon drawn under the spell of the Scandinavian landscape: mountains and lakes, waterfalls, fjords and forests, long summer nights under the open sky. It can scarcely come as a surprise that the great composers of the Nordic lands – such as Edvard Grieg in Norway or Jean Sibelius in Finland – called upon music to portray nature. Contemporary composers may be less inclined to take refuge in the fields and woods, and yet the Clarinet Concerto of Magnus Lindberg, born in Helsinki in 1958, is pervaded by the spirit of Nature. Lindberg, described by The Times as one of the most important voices among 21st-century composers, took the podium in person to conduct this recording. Sebastian Manz took the opportunity to discuss details of the work with the composer and thereby refine his playing. The cadenza in the second half of the Clarinet Concerto offers him as the soloist the scope to indulge in a new, personal style and manner of interpretation.

Carl Nielsen’s Clarinet Concerto of 1928 gives Manz a coupling with another solo concerto from the Nordic nations, one that clarinettists consider to be part of their core repertoire. Nielsen’s tonal language can be described as a mixture of folk culture, courage to experiment and a return to older music traditions. Shot through with changes of mood and sharp contrasts, the work is not only breathtaking but places high demands on the exponent’s technique. The work’s spontaneous, eruptive outbursts represent a polar opposite to the sounds of the natural world that otherwise characterize the piece, recalling the screech of railway-carriage wheels and the roar of the city. This impressive work is conducted by Dominik Beykirch, acknowledged to be one of the outstanding new-generation composers of recent years.

These two clarinet concertos are complemented on the album by a chamber work of Carl Nielsen’s. Sebastian Manz chose the Serenata in vano, a “serenade in vain”, as a charming work from Nielsen’s pen. The composer wrote the piece in 1914 for a concert tour of Denmark, before turning to larger, more important projects. The first thing that captures the attention in the quintet is the unusual scoring, determined by the musicians who were on tour: clarinet, bassoon, horn, cello and double bass. The result is a darkly nuanced timbre in which the clarinet, as the highest-pitched instrument, takes the lead.

Sebastian Manz has joined forces with the Deutsche Radio Philharmonie of Saarbrücken and Kaiserslautern to present three works that spirit us away into Nordic landscapes and paint pictures in sound despite all their musical complexity. Essential listening, not just for devotees of highbrow music!

Nielsen & Lindberg: Clarinet Concertos Sebastian Manz & Deutsche Radio Philharmonie & Magnus Lindberg & Dominik Beykirch

Künstler

Deutsche Radio Philharmonie
Magnus Lindberg

Komponisten

Carl Nielsen

Magnus Lindberg

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Konzert / Soloinstrument mit Orchester

Erscheinungsdatum:

04.09.2020



Seekers after extreme landscapes and rugged coastlines are well provided for in Scandinavia – as they are in its music. On his new album, Sebastian Manz engages with the clarinet concertos of the Danish composer Carl Nielsen and Finnish composer Magnus Lindberg. Both are well known for their elemental, abstract sound stuctures, summoning up the natural world of their homelands for listeners as if painting in sound.



We are soon drawn under the spell of the Scandinavian landscape: mountains and lakes, waterfalls, fjords and forests, long summer nights under the open sky. It can scarcely come as a surprise that the great composers of the Nordic lands – such as Edvard Grieg in Norway or Jean Sibelius in Finland – called upon music to portray nature. Contemporary composers may be less inclined to take refuge in the fields and woods, and yet the Clarinet Concerto of Magnus Lindberg, born in Helsinki in 1958, is pervaded by the spirit of Nature. Lindberg, described by The Times as one of the most important voices among 21st-century composers, took the podium in person to conduct this recording. Sebastian Manz took the opportunity to discuss details of the work with the composer and thereby refine his playing. The cadenza in the second half of the Clarinet Concerto offers him as the soloist the scope to indulge in a new, personal style and manner of interpretation.



Carl Nielsen’s Clarinet Concerto of 1928 gives Manz a coupling with another solo concerto from the Nordic nations, one that clarinettists consider to be part of their core repertoire. Nielsen’s tonal language can be described as a mixture of folk culture, courage to experiment and a return to older music traditions. Shot through with changes of mood and sharp contrasts, the work is not only breathtaking but places high demands on the exponent’s technique. The work’s spontaneous, eruptive outbursts represent a polar opposite to the sounds of the natural world that otherwise characterize the piece, recalling the screech of railway-carriage wheels and the roar of the city. This impressive work is conducted by Dominik Beykirch, acknowledged to be one of the outstanding new-generation composers of recent years.

These two clarinet concertos are complemented on the album by a chamber work of Carl Nielsen’s. Sebastian Manz chose the Serenata in vano, a “serenade in vain”, as a charming work from Nielsen’s pen. The composer wrote the piece in 1914 for a concert tour of Denmark, before turning to larger, more important projects. The first thing that captures the attention in the quintet is the unusual scoring, determined by the musicians who were on tour: clarinet, bassoon, horn, cello and double bass. The result is a darkly nuanced timbre in which the clarinet, as the highest-pitched instrument, takes the lead.

Sebastian Manz has joined forces with the Deutsche Radio Philharmonie of Saarbrücken and Kaiserslautern to present three works that spirit us away into Nordic landscapes and paint pictures in sound despite all their musical complexity. Essential listening, not just for devotees of highbrow music!

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

Nielsen & Lindberg: Clarinet Concertos
Sebastian Manz & Deutsche Radio Philharmonie & Magnus Lindberg & Dominik Beykirch
1 Serenata in vano
2 Clarinet Concerto, Op. 57: I. Allegretto un poco
3 Clarinet Concerto, Op. 57: II. Poco adagio - Allegro ma non troppo
4 Clarinet Concerto, Op. 57: III. Allegro vivace
5 Clarinet Concerto: Part I
6 Clarinet Concerto: Part II
7 Clarinet Concerto: Solo Cadenza
8 Clarinet Concerto: Part III

Weitere Videos von Sebastian Manz & Deutsche Radio Philharmonie & Magnus Lindberg & Dominik Beykirch

zurück
weiter
Sebastian Manz - Lindberg: Clarinet Concerto: Part III (Offical Music Video)
Sebastian Manz - Nielsen: Clarinet Concerto, Op. 57: III. Allegro vivace (Official Music Video)
Prelude, Loops and Riffs - Sebastian Manz & STUDNITZKY (Official Music Video) | Jam Session
Clarinet Concerto: Part III
Clarinet Concerto: Part I
Clarinet Concerto: Solo Cadenza
Sebastian Manz & Studnitzky - A Bernstein Story (Album Trailer) | Classical Music meets Jazz
Sebastian Manz & Herbert Schuch - Brahms: Clarinet Sonata No. 2, Op. 120: II. Allegro appassionato

Weitere Veröffentlichungen von Sebastian Manz & Deutsche Radio Philharmonie & Magnus Lindberg & Dominik Beykirch

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Wer extreme Landschaften und raue Küsten sucht, ist in Skandinavien gut aufgehoben – so auch in der Musik. Auf seinem neuen Album befasst sich Sebastian Manz mit den Klarinettenkonzerten des dänischen Komponisten Carl Nielsen und des finnischen Komponisten Magnus Lindberg. Beide sind dafür bekannt, überwältigende, abstrakte Klangstrukturen zu schaffen, welche die Natur ihrer Heimatländer wie ein Soundgemälde vor ihren Hörer:innen erscheinen lassen.

Schnell wird man in den Bann der skandinavischen Landschaft gezogen: Berge und Seen, Wasserfälle, Fjorde und Wälder, lange Sommernächte im Freien. Es wundert kaum, dass die großen Komponisten des Nordens die Natur mit musikalischen Mitteln zeichneten – ob Edvard Grieg in Norwegen oder Jean Sibelius in Finnland. Für zeitgenössische Komponisten mag die Flucht ins Grüne weniger charakteristisch sein, und doch: Das Klarinettenkonzert von Magnus Lindberg, 1958 in Helsinki geboren, ist wesentlich von der Natur geprägt. Lindberg, welcher von der The Times als „eine der wichtigsten Stimmen unter den Komponisten des 21. Jahrhundert“ genannt wird, stand für diese Aufnahme selbst am Pult, um zu dirigieren. Sebastian Manz nutzte die Gelegenheit, mit dem Komponisten Details des Werkes zu diskutieren und dadurch sein Spiel weiterzuentwickeln. Die Kadenz in der zweiten Hälfte des Klarinettenkonzertes gibt ihm als Solisten zudem die Möglichkeit einer neuen, eigenen Art und Weise der Interpretation.

Mit Carl Nielsens Klarinettenkonzert aus dem Jahr 1928 kombiniert Manz das Werk mit einen weiteren Solokonzert aus dem hohen Norden, Klarinettist:innen rechnen es zum Kernrepertoire. Nielsens Tonsprache kann als Mischung aus Volkstümlichkeit, Mut zum Experiment und der Rückbesinnung auf ältere Musiktraditionen beschrieben werden. Das von Stimmungswechseln und Kontrasten durchzogene Werk ist nicht nur atemberaubend, sondern auch technisch höchst anspruchsvoll. Die spontanen, eruptiven Ausbrüche, die das Werk beinhaltet, stellen einen Gegenpol zu den sonst naturmalerischen Klangbildern dar, erinnern an quietschende Eisenbahnräder oder den Lärm der Stadt. Dirigiert wird dieses beeindruckende Werk von Dominik Beykirch, welcher als einer der großen Nachwuchsdirigenten der letzten Jahre zählt.

Zusätzlich zu den beiden Klarinettenkonzerten ist auf dem Album ein Kammermusikwerk von Carl Nielsen zu hören. Mit der „Serenata in vano“, einem dem Titel nach vergeblichen Ständchen, ergänzt Sebastian Manz das Album um eine sehr hübsche Kostbarkeit aus Nielsens Feder. Der Komponist hatte das Stück im Jahr 1914 für eine Konzerttournee durch Dänemark geschrieben, ehe er sich wieder größeren, vermeintlich wichtigeren Projekten widmete. Bei der Quintett-Musik fällt zunächst die ungewöhnliche Besetzung ins Auge, die auf die an der Tournee beteiligten Musiker zurückgeführt werden kann: Klarinette, Fagott, Horn, Violoncello und Kontrabass. Die Folge ist ein dunkel getöntes Klangbild, in dem die Klarinette als höchstes Instrument an der Spitze agiert.

Sebastian Manz legt zusammen mit der Deutschen Radio Philharmonie Saarbrücken-Kaiserslautern drei Werke vor, die in nordische Landschaften entführen und trotz ihrer musikalischen Komplexität hörbare Klangbilder malen. Ein Muss nicht nur für Hörer anspruchsvoller Musik!

Nielsen & Lindberg: Clarinet Concertos Sebastian Manz & Deutsche Radio Philharmonie & Magnus Lindberg & Dominik Beykirch

Künstler

Deutsche Radio Philharmonie
Magnus Lindberg

Komponisten

Carl Nielsen

Magnus Lindberg

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Konzert / Soloinstrument mit Orchester

Erscheinungsdatum:

04.09.2020



Wer extreme Landschaften und raue Küsten sucht, ist in Skandinavien gut aufgehoben – so auch in der Musik. Auf seinem neuen Album befasst sich Sebastian Manz mit den Klarinettenkonzerten des dänischen Komponisten Carl Nielsen und des finnischen Komponisten Magnus Lindberg. Beide sind dafür bekannt, überwältigende, abstrakte Klangstrukturen zu schaffen, welche die Natur ihrer Heimatländer wie ein Soundgemälde vor ihren Hörer:innen erscheinen lassen.

Schnell wird man in den Bann der skandinavischen Landschaft gezogen: Berge und Seen, Wasserfälle, Fjorde und Wälder, lange Sommernächte im Freien. Es wundert kaum, dass die großen Komponisten des Nordens die Natur mit musikalischen Mitteln zeichneten – ob Edvard Grieg in Norwegen oder Jean Sibelius in Finnland. Für zeitgenössische Komponisten mag die Flucht ins Grüne weniger charakteristisch sein, und doch: Das Klarinettenkonzert von Magnus Lindberg, 1958 in Helsinki geboren, ist wesentlich von der Natur geprägt. Lindberg, welcher von der The Times als „eine der wichtigsten Stimmen unter den Komponisten des 21. Jahrhundert“ genannt wird, stand für diese Aufnahme selbst am Pult, um zu dirigieren. Sebastian Manz nutzte die Gelegenheit, mit dem Komponisten Details des Werkes zu diskutieren und dadurch sein Spiel weiterzuentwickeln. Die Kadenz in der zweiten Hälfte des Klarinettenkonzertes gibt ihm als Solisten zudem die Möglichkeit einer neuen, eigenen Art und Weise der Interpretation.

Mit Carl Nielsens Klarinettenkonzert aus dem Jahr 1928 kombiniert Manz das Werk mit einen weiteren Solokonzert aus dem hohen Norden, Klarinettist:innen rechnen es zum Kernrepertoire. Nielsens Tonsprache kann als Mischung aus Volkstümlichkeit, Mut zum Experiment und der Rückbesinnung auf ältere Musiktraditionen beschrieben werden. Das von Stimmungswechseln und Kontrasten durchzogene Werk ist nicht nur atemberaubend, sondern auch technisch höchst anspruchsvoll. Die spontanen, eruptiven Ausbrüche, die das Werk beinhaltet, stellen einen Gegenpol zu den sonst naturmalerischen Klangbildern dar, erinnern an quietschende Eisenbahnräder oder den Lärm der Stadt. Dirigiert wird dieses beeindruckende Werk von Dominik Beykirch, welcher als einer der großen Nachwuchsdirigenten der letzten Jahre zählt.

Zusätzlich zu den beiden Klarinettenkonzerten ist auf dem Album ein Kammermusikwerk von Carl Nielsen zu hören. Mit der „Serenata in vano“, einem dem Titel nach vergeblichen Ständchen, ergänzt Sebastian Manz das Album um eine sehr hübsche Kostbarkeit aus Nielsens Feder. Der Komponist hatte das Stück im Jahr 1914 für eine Konzerttournee durch Dänemark geschrieben, ehe er sich wieder größeren, vermeintlich wichtigeren Projekten widmete. Bei der Quintett-Musik fällt zunächst die ungewöhnliche Besetzung ins Auge, die auf die an der Tournee beteiligten Musiker zurückgeführt werden kann: Klarinette, Fagott, Horn, Violoncello und Kontrabass. Die Folge ist ein dunkel getöntes Klangbild, in dem die Klarinette als höchstes Instrument an der Spitze agiert.

Sebastian Manz legt zusammen mit der Deutschen Radio Philharmonie Saarbrücken-Kaiserslautern drei Werke vor, die in nordische Landschaften entführen und trotz ihrer musikalischen Komplexität hörbare Klangbilder malen. Ein Muss nicht nur für Hörer anspruchsvoller Musik!

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

Nielsen & Lindberg: Clarinet Concertos
Sebastian Manz & Deutsche Radio Philharmonie & Magnus Lindberg & Dominik Beykirch
1 Serenata in vano
2 Clarinet Concerto, Op. 57: I. Allegretto un poco
3 Clarinet Concerto, Op. 57: II. Poco adagio - Allegro ma non troppo
4 Clarinet Concerto, Op. 57: III. Allegro vivace
5 Clarinet Concerto: Part I
6 Clarinet Concerto: Part II
7 Clarinet Concerto: Solo Cadenza
8 Clarinet Concerto: Part III

Weitere Videos von Sebastian Manz & Deutsche Radio Philharmonie & Magnus Lindberg & Dominik Beykirch

zurück
weiter
Sebastian Manz - Lindberg: Clarinet Concerto: Part III (Offical Music Video)
Sebastian Manz - Nielsen: Clarinet Concerto, Op. 57: III. Allegro vivace (Official Music Video)
Prelude, Loops and Riffs - Sebastian Manz & STUDNITZKY (Official Music Video) | Jam Session
Clarinet Concerto: Part III
Clarinet Concerto: Part I
Clarinet Concerto: Solo Cadenza
Sebastian Manz & Studnitzky - A Bernstein Story (Album Trailer) | Classical Music meets Jazz
Sebastian Manz & Herbert Schuch - Brahms: Clarinet Sonata No. 2, Op. 120: II. Allegro appassionato

Weitere Veröffentlichungen von Sebastian Manz & Deutsche Radio Philharmonie & Magnus Lindberg & Dominik Beykirch

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}