Why Francesco Geminiani is not mentioned these days alongside other great masters of the era of Baroque music is a bit of a mystery. Together with Corelli and Handel her was one of the composers who made a great career for himself in eighteenth-century Great Britain. Concerto Köln has not forgotten him, on the contrary: the ensemble pays homage to him as one of the true greats. And now the musicians have chosen their favourite pieces from his entire oeuvre and called it Geminiani’s Quintessence.

He was a composer, virtuoso violinist and itinerant artist, as well as being a dealer and collector of art, a musicographer and musicologist. Francesco Geminiani’s life, and in particular his travels, do not read like the typical story of a more or less sedentary Baroque composer. In comparison with Johann Sebastian Bach, who hardly went beyond a 200 km radius in his entire life, Geminiani was a globetrotter who journeyed to Rome and Paris and as far as Dublin. It would seem that this restlessness is reflected in his music. He was deemed to be capricious, as someone who frequently broke the rules.

Things that are hard to imagine nowadays were common practice back then: works by other composers as well as composers’ own works were re-worked and arranged for other solo instruments or orchestra. In the case of Geminiani, however, the large number of arrangements of his own and other works led to a reputation of being unoriginal and lacking in imagination. His greatest champion and pupil, Charles Avison, as well as other academics of the time were full of praise for his works. As a result of his method of constantly composing and arranging, Geminiani’s entire output can be divided into four categories: his Concerti Grossi and arrangements of them, arrangements of his sonatas as Concerti Grossi, and arrangements of sonatas by other composers as Concerti Grossi. Concerto Köln has chosen works from all four categories for this project, with bassoonist Lorenzo Alpert taking a leading role in selecting those rare works “which we think are the loveliest and most accomplished of his compositions.”

The fact that Geminiani left a host of teaching manuals about playing technique and interpretation was decisive for the ensemble’s interpretation of the works. “These rich sources of information made it possible for us to employ some surprising and unusual stylistic elements in our readings of his Concerti Grossi,” explains Alpert. “They are what led to his special and very personal ‘Quinta Essentia’” which will be available on CD and double vinyl.

Geminiani: Quinta Essentia Concerto Köln

Composer

Francesco Geminiani

Further information

Genre

Klassik

Publication date:

20.09.2019



Why Francesco Geminiani is not mentioned these days alongside other great masters of the era of Baroque music is a bit of a mystery. Together with Corelli and Handel her was one of the composers who made a great career for himself in eighteenth-century Great Britain. Concerto Köln has not forgotten him, on the contrary: the ensemble pays homage to him as one of the true greats. And now the musicians have chosen their favourite pieces from his entire oeuvre and called it Geminiani’s Quintessence.



He was a composer, virtuoso violinist and itinerant artist, as well as being a dealer and collector of art, a musicographer and musicologist. Francesco Geminiani’s life, and in particular his travels, do not read like the typical story of a more or less sedentary Baroque composer. In comparison with Johann Sebastian Bach, who hardly went beyond a 200 km radius in his entire life, Geminiani was a globetrotter who journeyed to Rome and Paris and as far as Dublin. It would seem that this restlessness is reflected in his music. He was deemed to be capricious, as someone who frequently broke the rules.



Things that are hard to imagine nowadays were common practice back then: works by other composers as well as composers’ own works were re-worked and arranged for other solo instruments or orchestra. In the case of Geminiani, however, the large number of arrangements of his own and other works led to a reputation of being unoriginal and lacking in imagination. His greatest champion and pupil, Charles Avison, as well as other academics of the time were full of praise for his works. As a result of his method of constantly composing and arranging, Geminiani’s entire output can be divided into four categories: his Concerti Grossi and arrangements of them, arrangements of his sonatas as Concerti Grossi, and arrangements of sonatas by other composers as Concerti Grossi. Concerto Köln has chosen works from all four categories for this project, with bassoonist Lorenzo Alpert taking a leading role in selecting those rare works “which we think are the loveliest and most accomplished of his compositions.”



The fact that Geminiani left a host of teaching manuals about playing technique and interpretation was decisive for the ensemble’s interpretation of the works. “These rich sources of information made it possible for us to employ some surprising and unusual stylistic elements in our readings of his Concerti Grossi,” explains Alpert. “They are what led to his special and very personal ‘Quinta Essentia’” which will be available on CD and double vinyl.

Tracklist - These are the tracks you will hear on the album

Geminiani: Quinta Essentia
Concerto Köln
1 Concerto grosso, Op. 7, No. 2 in D Minor: I. Grave
2 Concerto grosso, Op. 7, No. 2 in D Minor: II. Allegro assai
3 Concerto grosso, Op. 7, No. 2 in D Minor: III. Andante
4 Concerto grosso, Op. 7, No. 2 in D Minor: IV. Allegro
5 Concerto grosso, Op. 3, No. 1 in D Major: I. Adagio
6 Concerto grosso, Op. 3, No. 1 in D Major: II. Allegro
7 Concerto grosso, Op. 3, No. 1 in D Major: III. Adagio
8 Concerto grosso, Op. 3, No. 1 in D Major: IV. Allegro
9 Concerto grosso, Op. 2, No. 2 in C Minor: I. Adagio
10 Concerto grosso, Op. 2, No. 2 in C Minor: II. Allegro
11 Concerto grosso, Op. 2, No. 2 in C Minor: III. Adagio
12 Concerto grosso, Op. 2, No. 2 in C Minor: IV. Allegro
13 Concerto grosso after Corelli's Violin Sonata, Op. 5, No. 3: I. Adagio
14 Concerto grosso after Corelli's Violin Sonata, Op. 5, No. 3: II. Allegro
15 Concerto grosso after Corelli's Violin Sonata, Op. 5, No. 3: III. Adagio
16 Concerto grosso after Corelli's Violin Sonata, Op. 5, No. 3: IV. Allegro
17 Concerto grosso, Op. 3 (revised), No. 6 in E Minor: I. Andante
18 Concerto grosso, Op. 3 (revised), No. 6 in E Minor: II. Allegro assai - Andante
19 Concerto grosso, Op. 3 (revised), No. 6 in E Minor: III. Allegro - Andante
20 Concerto grosso, Op. 3 (revised), No. 6 in E Minor: IV. Allegro
21 Concerto grosso, Op. 4, No. 2 in B Minor after Violin Sonata, Op. 4, No. 11: I. Grave
22 Concerto grosso, Op. 4, No. 2 in B Minor after Violin Sonata, Op. 4, No. 11: II. Allegro - Grave - Allegro
23 Concerto grosso, Op. 4, No. 2 in B Minor after Violin Sonata, Op. 4, No. 11: III. Grave - Allegro - Andante - Allegro
24 Concerto grosso, Op. 2 (revised), No. 1 in C Minor: I. Andante
25 Concerto grosso, Op. 2 (revised), No. 1 in C Minor: II. Allegro
26 Concerto grosso, Op. 2 (revised), No. 1 in C Minor: III. Grave - Andante - Prestissimo - Andante
27 Concerto grosso, Op. 2 (revised), No. 1 in C Minor: IV. Allegro cantabile
28 Concerto grosso, Op. 7, No. 6 in B-Flat Major: I. Allegro moderato - Adagio - Andante - Andante
29 Concerto grosso, Op. 7, No. 6 in B-Flat Major: II. Adagio - Presto
30 Concerto grosso, Op. 7, No. 6 in B-Flat Major: III. Affetuoso - Adagio
31 Concerto grosso, Op. 7, No. 6 in B-Flat Major: IV. Allegro moderato
32 Concerto grosso, Op. 7, No. 6 in B-Flat Major: V. Andante
33 Concerto grosso, Op. 7, No. 6 in B-Flat Major: VI. Adagio - Allegro assai - Adagio
34 Concerto grosso, Op. 7, No. 6 in B-Flat Major: VII. Presto

More videos from Concerto Köln

previous
next
Concerto Köln - Locatelli: Concerto in F Major, Op. 4 No. 12: I. Allegro (Official Music Video)
Concerto Köln - Vivaldi: Concerto in B Minor, RV 580: III. Allegro (Official Music Video)
Concerto Köln - Valentini: Concerto in A Minor, Op. 7 No. 11 - V. Adagio (Official Music Video)
Concerto Köln - Op. 3, No. 6: IV. Allegro  (Official Music Video)
Jeanine De Bique & Concerto Köln - Handel: Se pietà di me non senti (Teaser) | MIRRORS
Concerto Köln - Geminiani: Quinta Essentia (Official Trailer) Concerto Grosso (Francesco Geminiani)
Midori Seiler & Concerto Köln  - La Venezia Di Anna Maria - Galuppi: Concerto No. 1. Grave e adagio
Midori Seiler & Concerto Köln - La Venezia Di Anna Maria - Vivaldi: Concerto RV 260: III. Allegro
Midori Seiler & Concerto Köln  - La Venezia Di Anna Maria - Albinoni: Concerto op. 10 Nr 1. Allegro
Midori Seiler & Concerto Köln - Vivaldi: La Venezia Di Anna Maria (Trailer)
Midori Seiler & Concerto Köln - Vivaldi: La Venezia Di Anna Maria (Interview)
Concerto Köln - Concerti Grossi After Scarlatti - Avison: Concerto  Nr. 6 D-Dur, II.
Concerto Köln - Concerti Grossi After Scarlatti (Trailer)
Concerto Köln - Bach: Brandenburgische Konzerte (Trailer)
G. F. Händel

Other publications by Concerto Köln

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Woran es liegt, dass Francesco Geminiani heutzutage nicht in einem Atemzug mit den anderen Größen des musikalischen Barock genannt wird, ist eigentlich nicht zu erklären. Neben Corelli und Händel war er es, der im Großbritannien des 18. Jahrhundert richtig Karriere machte. Concerto Köln hat ihn nicht vergessen, im Gegenteil, es verehrt ihn als einen der ganz Großen. Aus unterschiedlichen Teilen seines Œuvres wählte es seine persönlichen Lieblinge aus: Geminianis Quintessenz.

Komponist, Geigenvirtuose, reisender Künstler, ebenso Kunsthändler und -sammler, Musikschriftsteller und Musikwissenschaftler – Francesco Geminianis Leben und insbesondere seine Reisen lesen sich nicht wie die typische Geschichte eines mehr oder weniger sesshaften barocken Komponisten. Im Vergleich zu Johann Sebastian Bach, der in seinem Leben einen Radius von 200 km kaum überschritten hat, war Geminiani ein Weltreisender, unterwegs von Rom über Paris bis nach Dublin. Es scheint, dass sich diese Rastlosigkeit in seiner Musik niederschlägt. Er galt als kapriziös, als jemand, der häufig von feststehenden Regeln abwich.

Was heute schwer vorstellbar ist, war damals gang und gäbe: Werke anderer Komponisten, aber auch eigene Kompositionen wurden umgearbeitet und für andere Solo-Instrumente oder Orchester arrangiert. Bei Geminiani führte die Vielzahl seiner eigenen und fremder Bearbeitungen jedoch auch zu dem Ruf, unoriginell und fantasielos zu sein. Sein größter Fürsprecher und Schüler Charles Avison und auch andere Gelehrte der Zeit lobten ihn jedoch in höchsten Tönen. Durch die Herangehensweise, unaufhörlich zu komponieren und umzuarbeiten, teilt sich Geminianis Gesamtwerk in seine Concerti Grossi, deren Bearbeitungen, die Umarbeitungen seiner Sonaten zu Concerti Grossi und Umarbeitungen von Sonaten anderer Komponisten zu Concerti Grossi. Concerto Köln und für das Projekt federführend der Fagottist Lorenzo Alpert: „Wir haben aus jedem Opus von Concerti Grossi und den unterschiedlichen Sammlungen von umgearbeiteten Werken jeweils ein bzw. zwei Werke ausgesucht, die wir für die schönsten und gelungensten Kompositionen halten.“

Ausschlaggebend für die Interpretation war jedoch auch die Tatsache, dass Geminiani eine Vielzahl an spieltechnischen und interpretatorischen Lehrschriften hinterlassen hat. „Diese reichen Informationsquellen haben es uns ermöglicht, manch überraschendes und ungewöhnliches Stilelement bei der Interpretation seiner Concerti Grossi einzusetzen“, so Alpert. „Sie haben zu dieser besonderen und sehr persönlichen „Quinta Essentia“ geführt“, welche auf CD und Doppelvinyl erhältlich sein wird.

Geminiani: Quinta Essentia Concerto Köln

Künstler

Komponisten

Francesco Geminiani

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Klassik

Erscheinungsdatum:

20.09.2019



Woran es liegt, dass Francesco Geminiani heutzutage nicht in einem Atemzug mit den anderen Größen des musikalischen Barock genannt wird, ist eigentlich nicht zu erklären. Neben Corelli und Händel war er es, der im Großbritannien des 18. Jahrhundert richtig Karriere machte. Concerto Köln hat ihn nicht vergessen, im Gegenteil, es verehrt ihn als einen der ganz Großen. Aus unterschiedlichen Teilen seines Œuvres wählte es seine persönlichen Lieblinge aus: Geminianis Quintessenz.

Komponist, Geigenvirtuose, reisender Künstler, ebenso Kunsthändler und -sammler, Musikschriftsteller und Musikwissenschaftler – Francesco Geminianis Leben und insbesondere seine Reisen lesen sich nicht wie die typische Geschichte eines mehr oder weniger sesshaften barocken Komponisten. Im Vergleich zu Johann Sebastian Bach, der in seinem Leben einen Radius von 200 km kaum überschritten hat, war Geminiani ein Weltreisender, unterwegs von Rom über Paris bis nach Dublin. Es scheint, dass sich diese Rastlosigkeit in seiner Musik niederschlägt. Er galt als kapriziös, als jemand, der häufig von feststehenden Regeln abwich.

Was heute schwer vorstellbar ist, war damals gang und gäbe: Werke anderer Komponisten, aber auch eigene Kompositionen wurden umgearbeitet und für andere Solo-Instrumente oder Orchester arrangiert. Bei Geminiani führte die Vielzahl seiner eigenen und fremder Bearbeitungen jedoch auch zu dem Ruf, unoriginell und fantasielos zu sein. Sein größter Fürsprecher und Schüler Charles Avison und auch andere Gelehrte der Zeit lobten ihn jedoch in höchsten Tönen. Durch die Herangehensweise, unaufhörlich zu komponieren und umzuarbeiten, teilt sich Geminianis Gesamtwerk in seine Concerti Grossi, deren Bearbeitungen, die Umarbeitungen seiner Sonaten zu Concerti Grossi und Umarbeitungen von Sonaten anderer Komponisten zu Concerti Grossi. Concerto Köln und für das Projekt federführend der Fagottist Lorenzo Alpert: „Wir haben aus jedem Opus von Concerti Grossi und den unterschiedlichen Sammlungen von umgearbeiteten Werken jeweils ein bzw. zwei Werke ausgesucht, die wir für die schönsten und gelungensten Kompositionen halten.“

Ausschlaggebend für die Interpretation war jedoch auch die Tatsache, dass Geminiani eine Vielzahl an spieltechnischen und interpretatorischen Lehrschriften hinterlassen hat. „Diese reichen Informationsquellen haben es uns ermöglicht, manch überraschendes und ungewöhnliches Stilelement bei der Interpretation seiner Concerti Grossi einzusetzen“, so Alpert. „Sie haben zu dieser besonderen und sehr persönlichen „Quinta Essentia“ geführt“, welche auf CD und Doppelvinyl erhältlich sein wird.

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

Geminiani: Quinta Essentia
Concerto Köln
1 Concerto grosso, Op. 7, No. 2 in D Minor: I. Grave
2 Concerto grosso, Op. 7, No. 2 in D Minor: II. Allegro assai
3 Concerto grosso, Op. 7, No. 2 in D Minor: III. Andante
4 Concerto grosso, Op. 7, No. 2 in D Minor: IV. Allegro
5 Concerto grosso, Op. 3, No. 1 in D Major: I. Adagio
6 Concerto grosso, Op. 3, No. 1 in D Major: II. Allegro
7 Concerto grosso, Op. 3, No. 1 in D Major: III. Adagio
8 Concerto grosso, Op. 3, No. 1 in D Major: IV. Allegro
9 Concerto grosso, Op. 2, No. 2 in C Minor: I. Adagio
10 Concerto grosso, Op. 2, No. 2 in C Minor: II. Allegro
11 Concerto grosso, Op. 2, No. 2 in C Minor: III. Adagio
12 Concerto grosso, Op. 2, No. 2 in C Minor: IV. Allegro
13 Concerto grosso after Corelli's Violin Sonata, Op. 5, No. 3: I. Adagio
14 Concerto grosso after Corelli's Violin Sonata, Op. 5, No. 3: II. Allegro
15 Concerto grosso after Corelli's Violin Sonata, Op. 5, No. 3: III. Adagio
16 Concerto grosso after Corelli's Violin Sonata, Op. 5, No. 3: IV. Allegro
17 Concerto grosso, Op. 3 (revised), No. 6 in E Minor: I. Andante
18 Concerto grosso, Op. 3 (revised), No. 6 in E Minor: II. Allegro assai - Andante
19 Concerto grosso, Op. 3 (revised), No. 6 in E Minor: III. Allegro - Andante
20 Concerto grosso, Op. 3 (revised), No. 6 in E Minor: IV. Allegro
21 Concerto grosso, Op. 4, No. 2 in B Minor after Violin Sonata, Op. 4, No. 11: I. Grave
22 Concerto grosso, Op. 4, No. 2 in B Minor after Violin Sonata, Op. 4, No. 11: II. Allegro - Grave - Allegro
23 Concerto grosso, Op. 4, No. 2 in B Minor after Violin Sonata, Op. 4, No. 11: III. Grave - Allegro - Andante - Allegro
24 Concerto grosso, Op. 2 (revised), No. 1 in C Minor: I. Andante
25 Concerto grosso, Op. 2 (revised), No. 1 in C Minor: II. Allegro
26 Concerto grosso, Op. 2 (revised), No. 1 in C Minor: III. Grave - Andante - Prestissimo - Andante
27 Concerto grosso, Op. 2 (revised), No. 1 in C Minor: IV. Allegro cantabile
28 Concerto grosso, Op. 7, No. 6 in B-Flat Major: I. Allegro moderato - Adagio - Andante - Andante
29 Concerto grosso, Op. 7, No. 6 in B-Flat Major: II. Adagio - Presto
30 Concerto grosso, Op. 7, No. 6 in B-Flat Major: III. Affetuoso - Adagio
31 Concerto grosso, Op. 7, No. 6 in B-Flat Major: IV. Allegro moderato
32 Concerto grosso, Op. 7, No. 6 in B-Flat Major: V. Andante
33 Concerto grosso, Op. 7, No. 6 in B-Flat Major: VI. Adagio - Allegro assai - Adagio
34 Concerto grosso, Op. 7, No. 6 in B-Flat Major: VII. Presto

Weitere Videos von Concerto Köln

zurück
weiter
Concerto Köln - Locatelli: Concerto in F Major, Op. 4 No. 12: I. Allegro (Official Music Video)
Concerto Köln - Vivaldi: Concerto in B Minor, RV 580: III. Allegro (Official Music Video)
Concerto Köln - Valentini: Concerto in A Minor, Op. 7 No. 11 - V. Adagio (Official Music Video)
Concerto Köln - Op. 3, No. 6: IV. Allegro  (Official Music Video)
Jeanine De Bique & Concerto Köln - Handel: Se pietà di me non senti (Teaser) | MIRRORS
Concerto Köln - Geminiani: Quinta Essentia (Official Trailer) Concerto Grosso (Francesco Geminiani)
Midori Seiler & Concerto Köln  - La Venezia Di Anna Maria - Galuppi: Concerto No. 1. Grave e adagio
Midori Seiler & Concerto Köln - La Venezia Di Anna Maria - Vivaldi: Concerto RV 260: III. Allegro
Midori Seiler & Concerto Köln  - La Venezia Di Anna Maria - Albinoni: Concerto op. 10 Nr 1. Allegro
Midori Seiler & Concerto Köln - Vivaldi: La Venezia Di Anna Maria (Trailer)
Midori Seiler & Concerto Köln - Vivaldi: La Venezia Di Anna Maria (Interview)
Concerto Köln - Concerti Grossi After Scarlatti - Avison: Concerto  Nr. 6 D-Dur, II.
Concerto Köln - Concerti Grossi After Scarlatti (Trailer)
Concerto Köln - Bach: Brandenburgische Konzerte (Trailer)
G. F. Händel

Weitere Veröffentlichungen von Concerto Köln

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}