We are standing in a picture gallery of music. All around us we can hear snippets of the great works for string quartets, along with unfamiliar things to delight the ear; it is truly a music-lover’s paradise. Chiaroscuro forms the conclusion of a rather special trilogy of albums by the Schumann Quartet and at the same time marks a journey’s end.

After searching for their own roots in Landscapes and engaging with their namesake Robert Schumann in Intermezzo, the four musicians complete their trilogy with the album Chiaroscuro, which in itself represents an equally exciting journey through time and temperament.

By way of Mozart’s arrangements of five selected fugues from Bach’s “Well-Tempered Clavier II” they look left and right into very different musical rooms. There are two early pieces for string quartet by Shostakovich, Philip Glass’s “Company” string quartet, a short fugue by Felix Mendelssohn, and the six Bagatelles op. 9 by Anton Webern. The whole promenade culminates in Janáček’s last work, his Second String Quartet.

“A few years ago we were even more inclined to do things ‘the right way’, or to fulfil other people’s expectations of us.” In recent years, the young musicians have progressively released themselves from these demands. And perfected their own. “We want our music to exist in the immediate moment, as we lose ourselves in it. For that to succeed, each of us must transcend their individual ego.” Their focus is on the concert, and that is the way they have approached Chiaroscuro: “We recommend everyone to listen to the whole album from beginning to end without a break.”

Chiaroscuro – Italian for “light and dark” – is the name of the programme. The Schumann Quartet combines works that could not be more different. They aim to show that despite the contrasts, the differences and discontinuities between such pairs as Mozart and Webern, Glass and Janáček, there are glimpses of common elements and evidence that many of the composers on display are brothers in spirit. It is a question of the “unity that the album forms”, perhaps not in spite of, but just because of the contrasts.

And when at the very end of the album, at the very end of the whole trilogy, we hear Gershwin’s Lullaby, we cannot shake off the feeling that all this is such stuff as dreams are made of …

Chiaroscuro Schumann Quartett

Composer

Dmitri Shostakovich

Leoš Janáček

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Further information

Genre

Klassik

Publication date:

10.05.2019





We are standing in a picture gallery of music. All around us we can hear snippets of the great works for string quartets, along with unfamiliar things to delight the ear; it is truly a music-lover’s paradise. Chiaroscuro forms the conclusion of a rather special trilogy of albums by the Schumann Quartet and at the same time marks a journey’s end.

After searching for their own roots in Landscapes and engaging with their namesake Robert Schumann in Intermezzo, the four musicians complete their trilogy with the album Chiaroscuro, which in itself represents an equally exciting journey through time and temperament.

By way of Mozart’s arrangements of five selected fugues from Bach’s “Well-Tempered Clavier II” they look left and right into very different musical rooms. There are two early pieces for string quartet by Shostakovich, Philip Glass’s “Company” string quartet, a short fugue by Felix Mendelssohn, and the six Bagatelles op. 9 by Anton Webern. The whole promenade culminates in Janáček’s last work, his Second String Quartet.

“A few years ago we were even more inclined to do things ‘the right way’, or to fulfil other people’s expectations of us.” In recent years, the young musicians have progressively released themselves from these demands. And perfected their own. “We want our music to exist in the immediate moment, as we lose ourselves in it. For that to succeed, each of us must transcend their individual ego.” Their focus is on the concert, and that is the way they have approached Chiaroscuro: “We recommend everyone to listen to the whole album from beginning to end without a break.”

Chiaroscuro – Italian for “light and dark” – is the name of the programme. The Schumann Quartet combines works that could not be more different. They aim to show that despite the contrasts, the differences and discontinuities between such pairs as Mozart and Webern, Glass and Janáček, there are glimpses of common elements and evidence that many of the composers on display are brothers in spirit. It is a question of the “unity that the album forms”, perhaps not in spite of, but just because of the contrasts.

And when at the very end of the album, at the very end of the whole trilogy, we hear Gershwin’s Lullaby, we cannot shake off the feeling that all this is such stuff as dreams are made of …

Tracklist - These are the tracks you will hear on the album

Chiaroscuro
Schumann Quartett
1 Five Fugues for String Quartet, K. 405: No. 3, Fugue in E-Flat Major
2 Fugue in E-Flat Major, Op. 81 No. 4
3 Five Fugues for String Quartet, K. 405: No. 1, Fugue in C Minor
4 String Quartet No. 2 "Company": I. —
5 String Quartet No. 2 "Company": II. —
6 String Quartet No. 2 "Company": III. —
7 String Quartet No. 2 "Company": IV. —
8 Five Fugues for String Quartet, K. 405: No. 2, Fugue in D Major
9 Two Pieces for String Quartet: I. Elegy. Adagio
10 Two Pieces for String Quartet: II. Polka. Allegretto
11 Five Fugues for String Quartet, K. 405: No. 4, Fugue in D Minor
12 Six Bagatelles for String Quartet, Op. 9
13 Five Fugues for String Quartet, K. 405: No. 5, Fugue in E Major
14 String Quartet No. 2 "Intimate Letters": I. Andante - Con moto - Allegro
15 String Quartet No. 2 "Intimate Letters": II. Adagio - Vivace
16 String Quartet No. 2 "Intimate Letters": III. Moderato - Andante - Adagio
17 String Quartet No. 2 "Intimate Letters": IV. Allegro - Andante - Adagio
18 Lullaby for String Quartet

More videos from Berlin Classics

previous
next
Matthias Höfs & Ensemble - Samuel Scheidt: Canzon Cornetto SSWV 56 (Arr. für vier Trompeten)
Marina Baranova, Serge Yushkevich - Carol of the Bells  (Offizielles Musikvideo) #berlinclassics
Matthias Höfs & Ensemble - Maria durch ein Dornwald ging (arr. by P.J. Lawrence) #berlinclassics
The Zurich Chamber Singers & Christian Erny - Anton Bruckner: Ave Maria | #berlinclassics #AveMaria
Marina Baranova - White Letters (Offizielles Musikvideo) #berlinclassics
The Zurich Chamber Singers - Locus Iste (Offizielles Musikvideo)
Matthias Höfs - Oskar Böhme: Liebeslied (Offizielles Musikvideo) #berlinclassics
The Zurich Chamber Singers & Christian Erny - Bruckner: Palestrina - Jesu, rex admirabilis
Matthias Höfs & The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen: Oskar Böhme - Entsagung, Op. 19
Matthias Kirschnereit - Piano Concerto in D Major, Hob.XVIII:11: III. Rondo all'Ungarese | #Haydn
Tassilo Probst & Maxim Lando: Bartók - Sonata for violin & piano in E Minor, III. Vivace
Tassilo Probst & Maxim Lando - Achron: Sonata for violin and piano, no. 2,  Op. 45 #berlinclassics
The Zurich Chamber Singers & Christian Erny - Anton Bruckner: Os justi, WAB 30 | #berlinclassics
Berlin Classics - Channel Trailer | Classical Music
Muffat | Armonico Tributo: Sonata II: I. Grave & II. Allegro | Concerto Copenhagen (Music Video)

Other publications by Schumann Quartett

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com

Wir stehen in einer Bildergalerie der Musik. Von überall ertönen Schnipsel aus den großen Werken für Streichquartette, aber auch Ungewohntes erfrischt das Hören, es ist das Paradies für jeden Musikliebhaber. Mit Chiaroscuro beschließt das Schumann Quartett eine besondere Album-Trilogie und das Ende einer Reise.

Nachdem sie auf Landscapes ihre eigenen Wurzeln untersuchten, sich auf Intermezzo mit ihrem Namensvetter Robert Schumann auseinandersetzten, krönen sie ihren Weg mit dem Album Chiaroscuro, das für sich genommen eine ebenso spannende Reise beinhaltet.

Entlang Mozarts Bearbeitungen fünf ausgewählter Fugen aus Bachs Wohltemperierten Klavier II blicken sie links und rechts in unterschiedliche musikalische Räume. Es erklingen zwei frühe Stücke für Streichquartett von Shostakovich, das „Company“-Streichquartett von Philip Glass, eine kurze Fuge von Mendelssohn-Bartholdy, sowie die sechs Bagatellen, op. 9 von Anton Webern. Der ganze Weg gipfelt in Janáčeks letztem Werk, seinem Streichquartett Nr. 2.

„Vor ein paar Jahren hätten wir noch mehr die Tendenz gehabt, es ‚richtig‘ machen zu wollen, oder Erwartungen zu erfüllen.“ Die jungen Musiker lösten sich in den letzten Jahren immer mehr von diesen Ansprüchen. Und perfektionierten die Eigenen: „Wir wollen, dass unsere Musik im Moment entsteht und wir uns darin verlieren. Dafür muss jeder sein Ego zurückstellen.“ Für sie steht das Konzert im Fokus, und so gehen sie auch an Chiaroscuro heran: „Wir empfehlen jedem, einfach von vorne bis hinten ohne Pause das Album anzuhören.“

Chiaroscuro – italienisch für „Hell und Dunkel“ – ist Name des Programms. Das Schumann Quartett kombiniert Werke, die unterschiedlicher nicht sein könnten. Sie möchten aufzeigen, dass trotz der Kontraste, der Unterschiedlichkeiten und Querstände zwischen einem Mozart und Webern, einem Glass und Janáček doch verbindende Elemente aufleuchten können und viele der vertretenen Komponisten Brüder im Geiste zu sein scheinen. Es geht um die „Einheit, die das Album bildet“, vielleicht nicht trotz, sondern wegen der Kontraste.

Und wenn ganz zum Schluss des Albums, ganz zum Schluss der gesamten Trilogie Gershwins Lullaby (Wiegenlied) erklingt, kommt man nicht umher sich zu fragen, ob nicht vielleicht alles ein Traum gewesen war…

Chiaroscuro Schumann Quartett

Komponisten

Dmitri Shostakovich

Leoš Janáček

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Klassik

Erscheinungsdatum:

10.05.2019



Wir stehen in einer Bildergalerie der Musik. Von überall ertönen Schnipsel aus den großen Werken für Streichquartette, aber auch Ungewohntes erfrischt das Hören, es ist das Paradies für jeden Musikliebhaber. Mit Chiaroscuro beschließt das Schumann Quartett eine besondere Album-Trilogie und das Ende einer Reise.

Nachdem sie auf Landscapes ihre eigenen Wurzeln untersuchten, sich auf Intermezzo mit ihrem Namensvetter Robert Schumann auseinandersetzten, krönen sie ihren Weg mit dem Album Chiaroscuro, das für sich genommen eine ebenso spannende Reise beinhaltet.

Entlang Mozarts Bearbeitungen fünf ausgewählter Fugen aus Bachs Wohltemperierten Klavier II blicken sie links und rechts in unterschiedliche musikalische Räume. Es erklingen zwei frühe Stücke für Streichquartett von Shostakovich, das „Company“-Streichquartett von Philip Glass, eine kurze Fuge von Mendelssohn-Bartholdy, sowie die sechs Bagatellen, op. 9 von Anton Webern. Der ganze Weg gipfelt in Janáčeks letztem Werk, seinem Streichquartett Nr. 2.

„Vor ein paar Jahren hätten wir noch mehr die Tendenz gehabt, es ‚richtig‘ machen zu wollen, oder Erwartungen zu erfüllen.“ Die jungen Musiker lösten sich in den letzten Jahren immer mehr von diesen Ansprüchen. Und perfektionierten die Eigenen: „Wir wollen, dass unsere Musik im Moment entsteht und wir uns darin verlieren. Dafür muss jeder sein Ego zurückstellen.“ Für sie steht das Konzert im Fokus, und so gehen sie auch an Chiaroscuro heran: „Wir empfehlen jedem, einfach von vorne bis hinten ohne Pause das Album anzuhören.“

Chiaroscuro – italienisch für „Hell und Dunkel“ – ist Name des Programms. Das Schumann Quartett kombiniert Werke, die unterschiedlicher nicht sein könnten. Sie möchten aufzeigen, dass trotz der Kontraste, der Unterschiedlichkeiten und Querstände zwischen einem Mozart und Webern, einem Glass und Janáček doch verbindende Elemente aufleuchten können und viele der vertretenen Komponisten Brüder im Geiste zu sein scheinen. Es geht um die „Einheit, die das Album bildet“, vielleicht nicht trotz, sondern wegen der Kontraste.

Und wenn ganz zum Schluss des Albums, ganz zum Schluss der gesamten Trilogie Gershwins Lullaby (Wiegenlied) erklingt, kommt man nicht umher sich zu fragen, ob nicht vielleicht alles ein Traum gewesen war…

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

Chiaroscuro
Schumann Quartett
1 Five Fugues for String Quartet, K. 405: No. 3, Fugue in E-Flat Major
2 Fugue in E-Flat Major, Op. 81 No. 4
3 Five Fugues for String Quartet, K. 405: No. 1, Fugue in C Minor
4 String Quartet No. 2 "Company": I. —
5 String Quartet No. 2 "Company": II. —
6 String Quartet No. 2 "Company": III. —
7 String Quartet No. 2 "Company": IV. —
8 Five Fugues for String Quartet, K. 405: No. 2, Fugue in D Major
9 Two Pieces for String Quartet: I. Elegy. Adagio
10 Two Pieces for String Quartet: II. Polka. Allegretto
11 Five Fugues for String Quartet, K. 405: No. 4, Fugue in D Minor
12 Six Bagatelles for String Quartet, Op. 9
13 Five Fugues for String Quartet, K. 405: No. 5, Fugue in E Major
14 String Quartet No. 2 "Intimate Letters": I. Andante - Con moto - Allegro
15 String Quartet No. 2 "Intimate Letters": II. Adagio - Vivace
16 String Quartet No. 2 "Intimate Letters": III. Moderato - Andante - Adagio
17 String Quartet No. 2 "Intimate Letters": IV. Allegro - Andante - Adagio
18 Lullaby for String Quartet

Weitere Videos von Berlin Classics

zurück
weiter
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Ibert - Entr'acte (For Trumpet and Harp) #Ukraine #Spenden
Eckart Runge & Jacques Ammon - Miles Davis: Blue in Green (arr. for cello & piano) #BerlinClassics
Sebastian Manz & Herbert Schuch - Gade - Fantasy Pieces, Op. 43: No. 2, Allegro vivace
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Debussy - The Girl with the Flaxen Hair #Ukraine #Spenden
Spark & Valer Sabadus - Seemann (Rammstein Cover) #BerlinClassics
Sophie Dervaux & Mozarteumorchester Salzburg - Vanhal: Concerto in C Major
Luisa Imorde - Couperin: Pièces de clavecin: Le Tic-Toc-Choc ou Les Maillotins
Sebastian Manz & Herbert Schuch - Schumann: Fantasy Piece, Op. 73, No. 1, Zart und mit Ausdruck
Danae Dörken - Odyssee (Official Albumtrailer) #BerlinClassics #DanaeDörken
Sophie Dervaux - Hummel: Grand Concerto in F Major: I. Allegro moderato (Teaser)
Luisa Imorde: François Couperin - Cinquieme Prelude (Offizielles Musikvideo) #BerlinClassics
Danae Dörken: Kinan Azmeh - Waiting for Friday (Offizielles Musikvideo) #BerlinClassics
Eckart Runge, Jacques Ammon - Bach: Allegro (From Gamba Sonata G Minor, BWV 1029) #BerlinClassics
Felix Klieser & Zemlinsky Quartett - Haydn: Horn Concerto No. 1: III. Allegro (Arrangement)

Weitere Veröffentlichungen von Schumann Quartett

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}