The Golden Violin – Music of the 20s is Daniel Röhn’s tribute to one of the most prolific cultural eras of recent history. Daniel Röhn brings the jerky flickering images and the high spirited, extravagant hurly-burly to musical life with romantic sounds from Rachmaninoff through the evergreens of Kurt Weill to the jazzy echoes of Gershwin.

“That era was a positive melting pot of creativity and inventiveness,” explains Röhn. Jazz was emerging. Silent movies were being replaced by the talkies. And while Walt Disney’s Mickey Mouse was taking his first steps in 1928, the dream factories in Berlin and Hollywood were doing a roaring trade thanks to Fritz Lang and Charlie Chaplin. The violin virtuoso is focussing on a topic that has recently been in the public eye, not just as a result of popular TV productions. Röhn’s personal role model, the patron of violinists Jascha Heifetz, is both the inspiration and the godfather of The Golden Violin. At his New York debut in 1917 Heifetz provoked wildly enthusiastic cheering that would echo down five decades, especially in the Western world. Absolute perfection, paired with unique creative energy and an inimitable touch. “When I was six year old, I could just about (standing on a box on tip-toe) reach Vol. 1 of my father’s Heifetz collection. And that volume contained the complete acoustic recordings of 1917-1924, full of straight-to-the-heart arrangements and popular melodies.” It is precisely those melodious evergreens that he has now recorded with the Württemberg Chamber Orchestra under its American principal conductor Case Scaglione.

Röhn and the WKO are in perfect harmony on this recording. Most of the works were newly arranged especially for this formation. Among them are irresistibly catchy songs loved by generations of music lovers. They include Kurt Weill’s “The Ballad of Mack the Knife” from the Threepenny Opera and the sentimental melody “The Land of Might-Have-Been”, composed by the English songwriter and entertainer Ivor Novello, who was so popular in the 1920s and 1930s, a song that was revived for the soundtrack to the 2001 Robert Altman film, “Gosford Park”. There is also film music from the era: Friedrich Hollaender’s “Ich weiss nicht, zu wem ich gehöre”, written in 1932 for the film “Storms of Passion” and sung by Marlene Dietrich. And then there are of course songs like “Flower Shop” – from the final scene in “City Lights” (1931), and the theme from “Limelight” (1952) by the man who is associated like no other with the early days of the cinema: Charlie Chaplin.

“The ‘Roaring 20s’ were undoubtedly a golden age of human inventive talent, a time bubbling with creative energy, yet situated in between two of the darkest and most destructive periods of recent history. The most colourful and beautiful flowers can often grow in earth that has been devastated and torched. Mankind remembers its noble character principally through art.” (Daniel Röhn)

The Golden Violin Daniel Röhn & Württembergisches Kammerorchester Heilbronn & Case Scaglione

Artist

Daniel Röhn
Württembergisches Kammerorchester Heilbronn
Case Scaglione

Composer

George Gershwin

Kurt Weill

Sergei Rachmaninoff

Further information

Genre

Klassik

Publication date:

08.02.2019



The Golden Violin – Music of the 20s is Daniel Röhn's tribute to one of the most prolific cultural eras of recent history. Daniel Röhn brings the jerky flickering images and the high spirited, extravagant hurly-burly to musical life with romantic sounds from Rachmaninoff through the evergreens of Kurt Weill to the jazzy echoes of Gershwin.



"That era was a positive melting pot of creativity and inventiveness," explains Röhn. Jazz was emerging. Silent movies were being replaced by the talkies. And while Walt Disney's Mickey Mouse was taking his first steps in 1928, the dream factories in Berlin and Hollywood were doing a roaring trade thanks to Fritz Lang and Charlie Chaplin. The violin virtuoso is focussing on a topic that has recently been in the public eye, not just as a result of popular TV productions. Röhn's personal role model, the patron of violinists Jascha Heifetz, is both the inspiration and the godfather of The Golden Violin. At his New York debut in 1917 Heifetz provoked wildly enthusiastic cheering that would echo down five decades, especially in the Western world. Absolute perfection, paired with unique creative energy and an inimitable touch. "When I was six year old, I could just about (standing on a box on tip-toe) reach Vol. 1 of my father's Heifetz collection. And that volume contained the complete acoustic recordings of 1917-1924, full of straight-to-the-heart arrangements and popular melodies." It is precisely those melodious evergreens that he has now recorded with the Württemberg Chamber Orchestra under its American principal conductor Case Scaglione.



Röhn and the WKO are in perfect harmony on this recording. Most of the works were newly arranged especially for this formation. Among them are irresistibly catchy songs loved by generations of music lovers. They include Kurt Weill's "The Ballad of Mack the Knife" from the Threepenny Opera and the sentimental melody "The Land of Might-Have-Been", composed by the English songwriter and entertainer Ivor Novello, who was so popular in the 1920s and 1930s, a song that was revived for the soundtrack to the 2001 Robert Altman film, "Gosford Park". There is also film music from the era: Friedrich Hollaender's "Ich weiss nicht, zu wem ich gehöre", written in 1932 for the film "Storms of Passion" and sung by Marlene Dietrich. And then there are of course songs like "Flower Shop" – from the final scene in "City Lights" (1931), and the theme from "Limelight" (1952) by the man who is associated like no other with the early days of the cinema: Charlie Chaplin.

"The 'Roaring 20s' were undoubtedly a golden age of human inventive talent, a time bubbling with creative energy, yet situated in between two of the darkest and most destructive periods of recent history. The most colourful and beautiful flowers can often grow in earth that has been devastated and torched. Mankind remembers its noble character principally through art." (Daniel Röhn)

More videos from Berlin Classics

previous
next
The Zurich Chamber Singers & Christian Erny - Bruckner: Palestrina - Jesu, rex admirabilis
Matthias Höfs & The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen: Oskar Böhme - Entsagung, Op. 19
Matthias Kirschnereit - Piano Concerto in D Major, Hob.XVIII:11: III. Rondo all'Ungarese | #Haydn
Tassilo Probst & Maxim Lando: Bartók - Sonata for violin & piano in E Minor, III. Vivace
Tassilo Probst & Maxim Lando - Achron: Sonata for violin and piano, no. 2,  Op. 45 #berlinclassics
The Zurich Chamber Singers & Christian Erny - Anton Bruckner: Os justi, WAB 30 | #berlinclassics
Berlin Classics - Channel Trailer | Classical Music
Muffat | Armonico Tributo: Sonata II: I. Grave & II. Allegro | Concerto Copenhagen (Music Video)
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Ravel - Pièce en forme de Habanera (for Trumpet & Harp)
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Ibert - Entr'acte (For Trumpet and Harp) #Ukraine #Spenden
Eckart Runge & Jacques Ammon - Miles Davis: Blue in Green (arr. for cello & piano) #BerlinClassics
Sebastian Manz & Herbert Schuch - Gade - Fantasy Pieces, Op. 43: No. 2, Allegro vivace
Matthias Höfs & Anaëlle Tourret: Debussy - The Girl with the Flaxen Hair #Ukraine #Spenden
Spark & Valer Sabadus - Seemann (Rammstein Cover) #BerlinClassics
Sophie Dervaux & Mozarteumorchester Salzburg - Vanhal: Concerto in C Major

Other publications by Daniel Röhn & Württembergisches Kammerorchester Heilbronn & Case Scaglione

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com

The Golden Violin – Music of the 20s ist Daniel Röhns Hommage an eine der kulturell fruchtbarsten Zeiten der jüngeren Geschichte. Mit romantischen Klängen von Rachmaninoff über die Evergreens von Kurt Weill bis zu jazzikalen Anklängen von Gershwin lässt Daniel Röhn das aufgeregte Flimmern und den ausgelassenen, verschwendungssüchtigen Trubel dieser Zeit musikalisch erfahrbar werden.

„Jene Zeit war geradezu ein brodelnder Kessel aus Kreativität und Ideenreichtum“, so Röhn. Der Jazz kam auf. Stummfilme wurden von Sprechfilmen abgelöst. Und während Walt Disneys „Mickey Mouse“ 1928 die ersten Schritte machte, liefen die Traumfabriken in Berlin und Hollywood auch dank Fritz Lang und Charlie Chaplin auf Hochtouren. Der Geigenvirtuose widmet sich einem Sujet, das in jüngster Zeit nicht nur durch erfolgreiche TV-Produktionen an Interesse gewonnen hat. Röhns persönliches Vorbild, der geigerische Gottvater Jascha Heifetz, ist zugleich Ideengeber und Pate für The Golden Violin. Mit seinem New Yorker Debüt 1917 löste Heifetz ein halbes Jahrhundert lang vor allem in der westlichen Welt Jubelstürme aus. Vollkommene Perfektion, gepaart mit einer einzigartigen Gestaltungskraft und einem unvergleichlichen Ton. „Als ich 6 Jahre alt war, konnte ich gerade so eben (wenn ich auf einer Kiste auf Zehenspitzen stand) Vol. 1 der Heifetz-Collection meines Vaters erreichen. Und es war Band 1, der die kompletten akustischen Aufnahmen von 1917-1924 enthielt, voll von ins-Herz-gehenden Arrangements und beliebten Melodien“. Ebenjene melodienseligen Evergreens hat er sich zusammen mit dem Württembergischen Kammerorchester unter seinem US-amerikanischen Chefdirigenten Case Scaglione vorgenommen.

Dabei ergänzen sich der Zusammenklang von Röhn und dem WKO perfekt. Die meisten Werke wurden speziell für diese Besetzung neu arrangiert. Unter den Werken finden sich viele unwiderstehliche Ohrwürmer, die Generationen von Musikliebhabern begeisterten. Dazu gehört Kurt Weills „The Ballad of Mack the Knife“ aus der „Dreigroschenoper“ ebenso wie die sentimentale Melodie „The Land of Might-Have-Been“, die aus der Feder des in den 1920er und 1930er Jahren berühmten englischen Songwriters und Entertainers Ivor Novello stammt und 2001 im Soundtrack zu Robert Altmans Film „Gosford Park“ zu neuen Ehren kam. Aber auch Filmmusiken aus der Zeit sind zu hören: Friedrich Hollaenders „Ich weiß nicht, zu wem ich gehöre“, das er 1932 für den Film „Stürme der Leidenschaft“ und Marlene Dietrich geschrieben hat. Und nicht zu vergessen natürlich „Flower Shop“ – die Schlussszene aus „Lichter der Großstadt“ (1931), sowie das Thema aus „Rampenlicht“ (1952) desjenigen, der wie kein Zweiter für die ersten Schritte des Films steht: Charlie Chaplin.

„Mit Sicherheit waren die „Roaring 20s“ eine Glanzzeit des menschlichen Erfindergeistes, eine vor Kreativität schäumende Zeit, jedoch eingebettet in die zwei dunkelsten und zerstörerischsten Perioden der Neuzeit. Die buntesten und schönsten Blumen entspringen zumeist einer vollständig niedergebrannten Landschaft. Der Mensch erinnert sich hauptsächlich durch die Kunst an sein besseres Ich.“ (Daniel Röhn)

The Golden Violin Daniel Röhn & Württembergisches Kammerorchester Heilbronn & Case Scaglione

Komponisten

George Gershwin

Kurt Weill

Sergei Rachmaninoff

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Klassik

Erscheinungsdatum:

08.02.2019



The Golden Violin – Music of the 20s ist Daniel Röhns Hommage an eine der kulturell fruchtbarsten Zeiten der jüngeren Geschichte. Mit romantischen Klängen von Rachmaninoff über die Evergreens von Kurt Weill bis zu jazzikalen Anklängen von Gershwin lässt Daniel Röhn das aufgeregte Flimmern und den ausgelassenen, verschwendungssüchtigen Trubel dieser Zeit musikalisch erfahrbar werden.

„Jene Zeit war geradezu ein brodelnder Kessel aus Kreativität und Ideenreichtum“, so Röhn. Der Jazz kam auf. Stummfilme wurden von Sprechfilmen abgelöst. Und während Walt Disneys „Mickey Mouse“ 1928 die ersten Schritte machte, liefen die Traumfabriken in Berlin und Hollywood auch dank Fritz Lang und Charlie Chaplin auf Hochtouren. Der Geigenvirtuose widmet sich einem Sujet, das in jüngster Zeit nicht nur durch erfolgreiche TV-Produktionen an Interesse gewonnen hat. Röhns persönliches Vorbild, der geigerische Gottvater Jascha Heifetz, ist zugleich Ideengeber und Pate für The Golden Violin. Mit seinem New Yorker Debüt 1917 löste Heifetz ein halbes Jahrhundert lang vor allem in der westlichen Welt Jubelstürme aus. Vollkommene Perfektion, gepaart mit einer einzigartigen Gestaltungskraft und einem unvergleichlichen Ton. „Als ich 6 Jahre alt war, konnte ich gerade so eben (wenn ich auf einer Kiste auf Zehenspitzen stand) Vol. 1 der Heifetz-Collection meines Vaters erreichen. Und es war Band 1, der die kompletten akustischen Aufnahmen von 1917-1924 enthielt, voll von ins-Herz-gehenden Arrangements und beliebten Melodien“. Ebenjene melodienseligen Evergreens hat er sich zusammen mit dem Württembergischen Kammerorchester unter seinem US-amerikanischen Chefdirigenten Case Scaglione vorgenommen.

Dabei ergänzen sich der Zusammenklang von Röhn und dem WKO perfekt. Die meisten Werke wurden speziell für diese Besetzung neu arrangiert. Unter den Werken finden sich viele unwiderstehliche Ohrwürmer, die Generationen von Musikliebhabern begeisterten. Dazu gehört Kurt Weills „The Ballad of Mack the Knife“ aus der „Dreigroschenoper“ ebenso wie die sentimentale Melodie „The Land of Might-Have-Been“, die aus der Feder des in den 1920er und 1930er Jahren berühmten englischen Songwriters und Entertainers Ivor Novello stammt und 2001 im Soundtrack zu Robert Altmans Film „Gosford Park“ zu neuen Ehren kam. Aber auch Filmmusiken aus der Zeit sind zu hören: Friedrich Hollaenders „Ich weiß nicht, zu wem ich gehöre“, das er 1932 für den Film „Stürme der Leidenschaft“ und Marlene Dietrich geschrieben hat. Und nicht zu vergessen natürlich „Flower Shop“ – die Schlussszene aus „Lichter der Großstadt“ (1931), sowie das Thema aus „Rampenlicht“ (1952) desjenigen, der wie kein Zweiter für die ersten Schritte des Films steht: Charlie Chaplin.

„Mit Sicherheit waren die „Roaring 20s“ eine Glanzzeit des menschlichen Erfindergeistes, eine vor Kreativität schäumende Zeit, jedoch eingebettet in die zwei dunkelsten und zerstörerischsten Perioden der Neuzeit. Die buntesten und schönsten Blumen entspringen zumeist einer vollständig niedergebrannten Landschaft. Der Mensch erinnert sich hauptsächlich durch die Kunst an sein besseres Ich.“ (Daniel Röhn)

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

The Golden Violin
Daniel Röhn & Württembergisches Kammerorchester Heilbronn & Case Scaglione
1 An American in Paris (Arr. By Jascha Heifetz, Stephen Buck)
2 It Ain't Necessarily So (Arr. By Jascha Heifetz, Stephen Buck)
3 Tempo di Blues (Arr. by Jascha Heifetz, Stephen Buck)
4 Suite from Metropolis (Arr. Stephen Buck)
5 Moto Perpetuo, Op. 21, No. 4 (Arr. Dirk Beisse)
6 The Ballad of Mack the Knife (Arr. By Jarkko Riihimäki)
7 What Good Would the Moon Be? (Arr. By Jarkko Riihimäki)
8 The Terry Theme (From "Limelight") [Arr. By Jarkko Riihimäki]
9 The Flower Shop (From "City Lights") [Arr. By Jarkko Riihimäki]
10 The Land of Might-Have-Been (Arr. By Stephen Buck)
11 Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini, Op. 43: Variation XVIII - Andante cantabile (Arr. By Stephen Buck)
12 Chant d'Amour, Op. 7, No. 1 (Arr. by Stephen Buck)
13 Gweedore Brae (Arr. By Jarkko Riihimäki)
14 Ich weiß nicht, zu wem ich gehöre (Arr. by Jarkko Riihimäki)
15 When You Make Love to Me (Arr. By Stephen Buck)

Weitere Videos von Daniel Röhn & Württembergisches Kammerorchester Heilbronn & Case Scaglione

zurück
weiter
Daniel Röhn - The Golden Violin - Moto Perpetuo, Op. 21, No. 4
Daniel Röhn - The Golden Violin (Trailer)
Daniel Röhn - The Kreisler Story - Caprice No. 20 (Teaser)
Daniel Röhn - The Kreisler Story - Liebesfreud (Teaser)
Daniel Röhn
Daniel Röhn - The Kreisler Story - Caprice in A
Daniel Röhn - The Kreisler Story (Trailer)
Daniel Röhn about his new release
An American in Paris (Arr. By Jascha Heifetz, Stephen Buck)
It Ain't Necessarily So (Arr. By Jascha Heifetz, Stephen Buck)
Tempo di Blues (Arr. By Jascha Heifetz, Stephen Buck)
Suite from Metropolis (Arr. Stephen Buck)
The Ballad of Mack the Knife (Arr. By Jarkko Riihimäki)
What Good Would the Moon Be? (Arr. By Jarkko Riihimäki)
The Terry Theme (From Limelight) (Arr. By Jarkko Riihimäki)

Weitere Veröffentlichungen von Daniel Röhn & Württembergisches Kammerorchester Heilbronn & Case Scaglione

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}