At the tender age of nine, Felix Klieser dreamed of being able to play Mozart’s horn concertos. Today, 18 years later, that dream has finally come true and Felix Klieser now performs on the world’s foremost concert stages, playing the very works which are part of any horn player’s core repertoire. Yet he took his time before recording all four of Mozart’s horn concertos: only after releasing three successful CD albums and winning an ECHO Klassik award and the Leonard Bernstein Award did he go to Salzburg, in September 2018, to record them with the famous Camerata Salzburg ensemble. The album will be released on March 1, 2019.

Mozart always composed his works for wind instruments with a specific soloist in mind. Numerous anecdotes about those musicians and their relationship to Mozart abound. This goes for the horn concertos. The horn player Joseph Leutgeb, a close childhood friend of Mozart’s, was more than once the butt of the composer’s innate love of jests, mockery and similar sorts of nonsense. We know that Leutgeb once had to kneel in a corner until Mozart had finished composing, and was then ridiculed as an ass, ox and fool. Even in 1791, the year of his death, Mozart could not resist making fun of his friend, gleefully writing to his wife Constanze that he had called on Leutgeb as “a long-standing close acquaintance from Rome”, prompting Leutgeb to spruce himself up “like on a Sunday, putting on his finest clothes, and beautifully coiffed”. Nor could Mozart resist telling his “Stanzerl” how things had gone: “You can imagine how we laughed at him. I simply must have a fool on hand.”

Interpreting Mozart’s music is however not all fun; it requires hard work. Felix Klieser reports on his many years of studying and performing the music: “Sometimes, there is just half a bar between sorrow and joy. Working out the refinements of this music was perhaps the biggest challenge of this project. I consciously allowed myself plenty of time to familiarise myself over years with each little detail of this fantastic music and to work out my own interpretation of it, paying the greatest of respect to the composer.” The spirit of Mozart is nowhere more palpable than in Salzburg, the composer’s home city and nowadays something akin to a cult site. And there can hardly be a more suitable orchestra to play with than the Camerata Salzburg, since his music is in their blood. It is thanks to this constellation that Felix Klieser was able to present the perfect ideal of his take on Mozart’s music. “I am proud and immensely grateful that this childhood dream has now come true with the wonderful Camerata Salzburg. There can hardly be any other orchestra that gives such fantastic performances of Mozart’s works. Together we have explored the simply endless spectrum of the Mozartian sound world,” the hornist enthuses.

Camerata Salzburg is one of the leading chamber music orchestras worldwide. Their concert activities on home ground in Salzburg are enhanced by invitations to the great concert venues of the world, including New York and Beijing. The Camerata is one of the permanent ensembles at the Salzburg Festival and the Mozartwoche festival.

Hornist Felix Klieser (born in 1991) is an exceptional artist in every respect. He began learning to play the horn at the age of five. When he was seventeen he was a juvenile student at the College of Music and Drama in Hanover. Felix Klieser plays the valves of his horn with the toes of his left foot, having been born without arms. No easy task, one might think, but Felix Klieser sees this deficiency not as a burden but as a challenge. And in his successive phases of development the musician has risen to this challenge with perseverance and imagination.

Mozart’s Horn Concertos with the Camerata Salzburg represent his fourth album for the Berlin Classics label. Since 2013 Felix Klieser has released three recordings: his CD “Reveries – Romantic Music for Horn & Piano” features works by Glazunov, Glière, Rheinberger, Saint-Saëns, Schumann and Strauss. In 2015 this was followed by his first orchestral CD with the Württemberg Chamber Orchestra of Heilbronn under the baton of Ruben Gazarian, with horn concertos by Michael and Joseph Haydn, plus a Mozart fragment. Most recently, in 2017, he released his chamber music recording with Herbert Schuch (piano) and Andrej Bielow (violin). That recording features the famous Horn Trio by Johannes Brahms together with works by Frédéric Nicolas Duvernoy, Charles Koechlin and Robert Kahn.

Mozart: Horn Concertos 1-4 Felix Klieser & Camerata Salzburg

Artist

Camerata Salzburg

Composer

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Further information

Genre

Klassik

Publication date:

01.03.2019



At the tender age of nine, Felix Klieser dreamed of being able to play Mozart's horn concertos. Today, 18 years later, that dream has finally come true and Felix Klieser now performs on the world's foremost concert stages, playing the very works which are part of any horn player's core repertoire. Yet he took his time before recording all four of Mozart's horn concertos: only after releasing three successful CD albums and winning an ECHO Klassik award and the Leonard Bernstein Award did he go to Salzburg, in September 2018, to record them with the famous Camerata Salzburg ensemble. The album will be released on March 1, 2019.



Mozart always composed his works for wind instruments with a specific soloist in mind. Numerous anecdotes about those musicians and their relationship to Mozart abound. This goes for the horn concertos. The horn player Joseph Leutgeb, a close childhood friend of Mozart's, was more than once the butt of the composer's innate love of jests, mockery and similar sorts of nonsense. We know that Leutgeb once had to kneel in a corner until Mozart had finished composing, and was then ridiculed as an ass, ox and fool. Even in 1791, the year of his death, Mozart could not resist making fun of his friend, gleefully writing to his wife Constanze that he had called on Leutgeb as “a long-standing close acquaintance from Rome”, prompting Leutgeb to spruce himself up “like on a Sunday, putting on his finest clothes, and beautifully coiffed”. Nor could Mozart resist telling his “Stanzerl” how things had gone: “You can imagine how we laughed at him. I simply must have a fool on hand.”



Interpreting Mozart's music is however not all fun; it requires hard work. Felix Klieser reports on his many years of studying and performing the music: "Sometimes, there is just half a bar between sorrow and joy. Working out the refinements of this music was perhaps the biggest challenge of this project. I consciously allowed myself plenty of time to familiarise myself over years with each little detail of this fantastic music and to work out my own interpretation of it, paying the greatest of respect to the composer." The spirit of Mozart is nowhere more palpable than in Salzburg, the composer's home city and nowadays something akin to a cult site. And there can hardly be a more suitable orchestra to play with than the Camerata Salzburg, since his music is in their blood. It is thanks to this constellation that Felix Klieser was able to present the perfect ideal of his take on Mozart's music. "I am proud and immensely grateful that this childhood dream has now come true with the wonderful Camerata Salzburg. There can hardly be any other orchestra that gives such fantastic performances of Mozart’s works. Together we have explored the simply endless spectrum of the Mozartian sound world," the hornist enthuses.



Camerata Salzburg is one of the leading chamber music orchestras worldwide. Their concert activities on home ground in Salzburg are enhanced by invitations to the great concert venues of the world, including New York and Beijing. The Camerata is one of the permanent ensembles at the Salzburg Festival and the Mozartwoche festival.



Hornist Felix Klieser (born in 1991) is an exceptional artist in every respect. He began learning to play the horn at the age of five. When he was seventeen he was a juvenile student at the College of Music and Drama in Hanover. Felix Klieser plays the valves of his horn with the toes of his left foot, having been born without arms. No easy task, one might think, but Felix Klieser sees this deficiency not as a burden but as a challenge. And in his successive phases of development the musician has risen to this challenge with perseverance and imagination.



Mozart's Horn Concertos with the Camerata Salzburg represent his fourth album for the Berlin Classics label. Since 2013 Felix Klieser has released three recordings: his CD "Reveries – Romantic Music for Horn & Piano" features works by Glazunov, Glière, Rheinberger, Saint-Saëns, Schumann and Strauss. In 2015 this was followed by his first orchestral CD with the Württemberg Chamber Orchestra of Heilbronn under the baton of Ruben Gazarian, with horn concertos by Michael and Joseph Haydn, plus a Mozart fragment. Most recently, in 2017, he released his chamber music recording with Herbert Schuch (piano) and Andrej Bielow (violin). That recording features the famous Horn Trio by Johannes Brahms together with works by Frédéric Nicolas Duvernoy, Charles Koechlin and Robert Kahn.

More videos from Felix Klieser & Camerata Salzburg

previous
next
Felix Klieser & Zemlinsky Quartet - Mozart: Voi che sapete (Figaro) für Horn- & Streichquartett
Felix Klieser & CHAARTS Chamber Artists - Handel: Ombra mai fu | Arr. for French Horn (Music Video)
Johann Sebastian Bach - Wohl mir, dass ich Jesum habe | Felix Klieser (Official Music Video)
Felix Klieser - Beyond Words | Baroque Arias for Horn by Handel, Vivaldi & Bach (Official Trailer)
Felix Klieser - Der Fuß-Hornist macht Weltkarriere | Galileo | ProSieben
Klassik Radio trifft Felix Klieser
Weiter mit… Hornist Felix Klieser! Dranbleiben, mutig sein, weiterkommen
Felix Klieser - Fragenhagel (Interview)
Felix Klieser & Camerata Salzburg – Mozart: Horn Concerto, Nr. 4, KV 495 – III. Allegro vivace
Felix Klieser & Camerata Salzburg – Mozart: Horn Concerto, Nr. 3, KV 447 – II. Larghetto
Felix Klieser bei optimal in Röbel
Felix Klieser & Camerata Salzburg – Mozart: Horn Concerto, Nr. 1, KV 412 – I. Allegro
Felix Klieser & Camerata Salzburg - Mozart Horn Concertos 1 - 4 (Trailer)
Felix Klieser Horn Trios CD Präsentation & Interviews

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
www.berlin-classics-music.com

Schon im Alter von neun Jahren hatte Felix Klieser den Traum, die Hornkonzerte von Mozart spielen zu können. Heute, 18 Jahre später, ist dieser Traum längst in Erfüllung gegangen – er ist mit diesen Werken, die zum Kernrepertoire eines jeden Hornisten zählen, weltweit auf den großen Bühnen unterwegs. Felix Klieser hat lange gezögert, Mozarts vier Hornkonzerte auch in einer Aufnahme einzuspielen. Erst nach drei erfolgreichen CD-Alben inklusive ECHO Klassik und dem Leonard Bernstein Award begab er sich im September 2018 nach Salzburg, um zusammen mit der berühmten Camerata Salzburg alle vier Hornkonzerte von Mozart aufzunehmen. Das Album erscheint am 1. März 2019.

Hinter Mozarts Kompositionen für Bläser aller Art standen stets bedeutende Solisten. Zu diesen Musikern und ihrer Beziehung zu Mozart sind zahlreiche Anekdoten überliefert. So auch im Fall der Hornkonzerte. Der Hornist und enge Freund aus Kindertagen, Joseph Leitgeb, bekam Mozarts angeborene Lust an Späßen, Spott und anderem Unsinn nicht nur einmal zu spüren. Es ist überliefert, dass Leitgeb einmal so lange in der Ecke knien musste, bis Mozart mit seiner Komposition fertig war, um ihn dann gleich im Notentext als Esel, Ochs und Narren zu verhöhnen. Selbst in seinem Todesjahr 1791 konnte es Mozart nicht lassen, ihn gehörig auf den Arm zu nehmen. So schrieb Mozart seiner Frau Constanze höchst amüsiert, dass er sich als „ein alter guter Bekannter aus Rom“ bei Leutgeb angemeldet hätte. Worauf dieser sich flugs in Schale warf, sich „wie an einem Sonntag, das schönste Kleid anlegte, und prächtig frisiert“. Kein Wunder, dass die entsprechende Reaktion auf dem Fuß folgte, wie Mozart seiner „Stanzerl“ unbedingt mitteilen musste: „Du kannst dir vorstellen, wie wir dann ihn auslachten. Ich muss halt immer einen Narren haben.“

Nicht nur reiner Spaß, sondern auch harte Arbeit ist es, Mozarts Musik mit all ihren Nuancen zu interpretieren. So weiß auch Felix Klieser über die jahrelange Auseinandersetzung mit dem Oeuvre zu berichten:

„Zwischen Trauer und Freude liegt manchmal nur ein halber Takt. All diese Feinheiten herauszuarbeiten war vielleicht die größte Herausforderung dieser Aufnahme. Ich habe mir bewusst Zeit gelassen, um über Jahre jedes winzige Detail dieser fantastischen Musik kennenzulernen und mir mit großem Respekt meine eigene Interpretation erarbeiten zu können.“ Den Geist Mozarts spürt man wohl an keinem anderen Ort so gut wie in Salzburg, Heimatstadt und nahezu Kultstätte des Komponisten. Und eines der besten Orchester für dieses Repertoire ist die Camerata Salzburg, die Mozarts Musik einfach im Blut hat. In dieser Konstellation konnte Felix Klieser seine Idee von Mozarts Musik perfekt umsetzen. „Ich bin stolz und unendlich dankbar, dass dieser Kindheitstraum nun mit der wundervollen Camerata Salzburg Wirklichkeit wurde. Es gibt wohl kaum ein Orchester, das Mozarts Werke so fantastisch interpretiert. Gemeinsam haben wir uns dem schier unendlichen Spektrum der Mozartschen Klangwelt gestellt“, schwärmt der Hornist.

Die Camerata Salzburg zählt zu den führenden Kammerorchestern weltweit. Einladungen in die bedeutendsten Spielstätten von New York bis Beijing ergänzen die Konzerttätigkeit in der Salzburger Heimat. Die Camerata ist eines der Stammensembles der Salzburger Festspiele und der Mozartwoche.

Der Hornist Felix Klieser (*1991) ist in jeder Hinsicht ein außergewöhnlicher Künstler. Bereits mit fünf Jahren begann er mit dem Hornunterricht. Mit 17 Jahren wurde er Jungstudent an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Hannover. Felix Klieser bedient die Ventile an seinem Horn mit den Zehen des linken Fußes, denn er ist ohne Arme geboren. Kein leichtes Los, denkt so manch einer, doch Felix Klieser sieht in dieser Bürde vor allem eine Herausforderung. Einer Herausforderung, der der Musiker in seinen verschiedenen Entwicklungsphasen mit Fleiß und Ideenreichtum begegnet ist.

Mozarts Hornkonzerte mit der Camerata Salzburg sind sein viertes Album für das Label Berlin Classics. Seit 2013 veröffentlichte Felix Klieser drei Aufnahmen: Auf der CD „Reveries – romantische Musik für Horn & Klavier“ befinden sich Werke von Glasunow, Glière, Rheinberger, Saint-Saëns, Schumann und Strauss. 2015 folgte seine erste Orchester-CD mit dem Württembergischen Kammerorchester Heilbronn unter der Leitung von Ruben Gazarian mit Hornkonzerten von Michael und Joseph Haydn, sowie einem Mozart Fragment. Zuletzt wurde seine Kammermusik-Einspielung mit Herbert Schuch (Klavier) und Andrej Bielow (Violine) im Jahr 2017 veröffentlicht. Auf der Aufnahme sind neben dem berühmten Horntrio von Johannes Brahms Werke von Frédéric Nicolas Duvernoy, Charles Koechlin und Robert Kahn zu hören.

Mozart: Horn Concertos 1-4 Felix Klieser & Camerata Salzburg

Komponisten

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Jetzt kaufen auf

iTunes Amazon jpc

Weitere Informationen

Genre

Klassik

Erscheinungsdatum:

01.03.2019



Schon im Alter von neun Jahren hatte Felix Klieser den Traum, die Hornkonzerte von Mozart spielen zu können. Heute, 18 Jahre später, ist dieser Traum längst in Erfüllung gegangen – er ist mit diesen Werken, die zum Kernrepertoire eines jeden Hornisten zählen, weltweit auf den großen Bühnen unterwegs. Felix Klieser hat lange gezögert, Mozarts vier Hornkonzerte auch in einer Aufnahme einzuspielen. Erst nach drei erfolgreichen CD-Alben inklusive ECHO Klassik und dem Leonard Bernstein Award begab er sich im September 2018 nach Salzburg, um zusammen mit der berühmten Camerata Salzburg alle vier Hornkonzerte von Mozart aufzunehmen. Das Album erscheint am 1. März 2019.



Hinter Mozarts Kompositionen für Bläser aller Art standen stets bedeutende Solisten. Zu diesen Musikern und ihrer Beziehung zu Mozart sind zahlreiche Anekdoten überliefert. So auch im Fall der Hornkonzerte. Der Hornist und enge Freund aus Kindertagen, Joseph Leitgeb, bekam Mozarts angeborene Lust an Späßen, Spott und anderem Unsinn nicht nur einmal zu spüren. Es ist überliefert, dass Leitgeb einmal so lange in der Ecke knien musste, bis Mozart mit seiner Komposition fertig war, um ihn dann gleich im Notentext als Esel, Ochs und Narren zu verhöhnen. Selbst in seinem Todesjahr 1791 konnte es Mozart nicht lassen, ihn gehörig auf den Arm zu nehmen. So schrieb Mozart seiner Frau Constanze höchst amüsiert, dass er sich als „ein alter guter Bekannter aus Rom“ bei Leutgeb angemeldet hätte. Worauf dieser sich flugs in Schale warf, sich „wie an einem Sonntag, das schönste Kleid anlegte, und prächtig frisiert“. Kein Wunder, dass die entsprechende Reaktion auf dem Fuß folgte, wie Mozart seiner „Stanzerl“ unbedingt mitteilen musste: „Du kannst dir vorstellen, wie wir dann ihn auslachten. Ich muss halt immer einen Narren haben.“



Nicht nur reiner Spaß, sondern auch harte Arbeit ist es, Mozarts Musik mit all ihren Nuancen zu interpretieren. So weiß auch Felix Klieser über die jahrelange Auseinandersetzung mit dem Oeuvre zu berichten:

„Zwischen Trauer und Freude liegt manchmal nur ein halber Takt. All diese Feinheiten herauszuarbeiten war vielleicht die größte Herausforderung dieser Aufnahme. Ich habe mir bewusst Zeit gelassen, um über Jahre jedes winzige Detail dieser fantastischen Musik kennenzulernen und mir mit großem Respekt meine eigene Interpretation erarbeiten zu können.“ Den Geist Mozarts spürt man wohl an keinem anderen Ort so gut wie in Salzburg, Heimatstadt und nahezu Kultstätte des Komponisten. Und eines der besten Orchester für dieses Repertoire ist die Camerata Salzburg, die Mozarts Musik einfach im Blut hat. In dieser Konstellation konnte Felix Klieser seine Idee von Mozarts Musik perfekt umsetzen. „Ich bin stolz und unendlich dankbar, dass dieser Kindheitstraum nun mit der wundervollen Camerata Salzburg Wirklichkeit wurde. Es gibt wohl kaum ein Orchester, das Mozarts Werke so fantastisch interpretiert. Gemeinsam haben wir uns dem schier unendlichen Spektrum der Mozartschen Klangwelt gestellt“, schwärmt der Hornist.



Die Camerata Salzburg zählt zu den führenden Kammerorchestern weltweit. Einladungen in die bedeutendsten Spielstätten von New York bis Beijing ergänzen die Konzerttätigkeit in der Salzburger Heimat. Die Camerata ist eines der Stammensembles der Salzburger Festspiele und der Mozartwoche.

Der Hornist Felix Klieser (*1991) ist in jeder Hinsicht ein außergewöhnlicher Künstler. Bereits mit fünf Jahren begann er mit dem Hornunterricht. Mit 17 Jahren wurde er Jungstudent an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Hannover. Felix Klieser bedient die Ventile an seinem Horn mit den Zehen des linken Fußes, denn er ist ohne Arme geboren. Kein leichtes Los, denkt so manch einer, doch Felix Klieser sieht in dieser Bürde vor allem eine Herausforderung. Einer Herausforderung, der der Musiker in seinen verschiedenen Entwicklungsphasen mit Fleiß und Ideenreichtum begegnet ist.



Mozarts Hornkonzerte mit der Camerata Salzburg sind sein viertes Album für das Label Berlin Classics. Seit 2013 veröffentlichte Felix Klieser drei Aufnahmen: Auf der CD „Reveries – romantische Musik für Horn & Klavier“ befinden sich Werke von Glasunow, Glière, Rheinberger, Saint-Saëns, Schumann und Strauss. 2015 folgte seine erste Orchester-CD mit dem Württembergischen Kammerorchester Heilbronn unter der Leitung von Ruben Gazarian mit Hornkonzerten von Michael und Joseph Haydn, sowie einem Mozart Fragment. Zuletzt wurde seine Kammermusik-Einspielung mit Herbert Schuch (Klavier) und Andrej Bielow (Violine) im Jahr 2017 veröffentlicht. Auf der Aufnahme sind neben dem berühmten Horntrio von Johannes Brahms Werke von Frédéric Nicolas Duvernoy, Charles Koechlin und Robert Kahn zu hören.

Trackliste - Diese Titel hören Sie auf dem Album

Mozart: Horn Concertos 1-4
Felix Klieser & Camerata Salzburg
1 Concerto No. 4 in E-Flat Major, K. 495: I. Allegro Maestoso
2 Concerto No. 4 in E-Flat Major, K. 495: II. Romance. Andante Cantabile
3 Concerto No. 4 in E-Flat Major, K. 495: III. Rondo. Allegro Vivace
4 Concerto No. 3 in E-Flat Major, K. 447: I. Allegro
5 Concerto No. 3 in E-Flat Major, K. 447: II. Romance. Larghetto
6 Concerto No. 3 in E-Flat Major, K. 447: III. Allegro
7 Concerto No. 1 in D Major, K. 412/518: I. Allegro
8 Concerto No. 1 in D Major, K. 412/518: II. Rondo. Allegro
9 Concerto No. 2 in E-Flat Major, K. 417: I. Allegro
10 Concerto No. 2 in E-Flat Major, K. 417: II. Andante
11 Concerto No. 2 in E-Flat Major, K. 417: III. Rondo. Allegro

Weitere Videos von Felix Klieser & Camerata Salzburg

zurück
weiter
Felix Klieser & Zemlinsky Quartet - Mozart: Voi che sapete (Figaro) für Horn- & Streichquartett
Felix Klieser & CHAARTS Chamber Artists - Handel: Ombra mai fu | Arr. for French Horn (Music Video)
Johann Sebastian Bach - Wohl mir, dass ich Jesum habe | Felix Klieser (Official Music Video)
Felix Klieser - Beyond Words | Baroque Arias for Horn by Handel, Vivaldi & Bach (Official Trailer)
Felix Klieser - Der Fuß-Hornist macht Weltkarriere | Galileo | ProSieben
Klassik Radio trifft Felix Klieser
Weiter mit… Hornist Felix Klieser! Dranbleiben, mutig sein, weiterkommen
Felix Klieser - Fragenhagel (Interview)
Felix Klieser & Camerata Salzburg – Mozart: Horn Concerto, Nr. 4, KV 495 – III. Allegro vivace
Felix Klieser & Camerata Salzburg – Mozart: Horn Concerto, Nr. 3, KV 447 – II. Larghetto
Felix Klieser bei optimal in Röbel
Felix Klieser & Camerata Salzburg – Mozart: Horn Concerto, Nr. 1, KV 412 – I. Allegro
Felix Klieser & Camerata Salzburg - Mozart Horn Concertos 1 - 4 (Trailer)
Felix Klieser Horn Trios CD Präsentation & Interviews

Weitere Veröffentlichungen von Felix Klieser & Camerata Salzburg

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit markiert.

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}